Ntu and Nus application

TSjame_slaw
post Oct 18 2017, 01:23 PM, updated 7y ago

53 posts

Application for nus and ntu has opened. For stpm.
Is it wise to register now even though my stpm exams haw not finished?
Advice plz thx...
Just Visiting By
post Oct 18 2017, 02:02 PM

1,828 posts

QUOTE(jame_slaw @ Oct 18 2017, 01:23 PM)
Application for nus and ntu has opened. For stpm.
Is it wise to register now even though my stpm exams haw not finished?
Advice plz thx...
I'm pretty sure you need your 3 semesters result to apply.

You can apply now but it'll be inadmissible and therefore I will advise against doing so.

STPM applicants have later deadlines. Usually, the application closes end of March, giving you one week time to submit all relevant forms and certificate after you get your final, full STPM results.
TSjame_slaw
post Oct 18 2017, 03:42 PM

53 posts

Would it be too late to wait for final result?
Just Visiting By
post Oct 19 2017, 12:50 AM

1,828 posts

QUOTE(jame_slaw @ Oct 18 2017, 03:42 PM)
Would it be too late to wait for final result?
No.

The application is not processed on a first come-first serve basis. Submitting early doesn't give you any advantage.

The deadline is usually one week after the release of your final result (traditionally it has been 31 March). You'll have a little time to submit the application but NUS/NTU understands that so you'll have to be quick.
TSjame_slaw
post Oct 19 2017, 09:26 AM

53 posts

Okay. One last question.
What if I want to take mechanical engineering with second major in physics or math?
Is this possible in ntu or nus?
Kcdw96
post Oct 19 2017, 09:18 PM

708 posts

QUOTE(jame_slaw @ Oct 19 2017, 09:26 AM)
Okay. One last question.
What if I want to take mechanical engineering with second major in physics or math?
Is this possible in ntu or nus?
Possible in NUS, but probably not recommended as either one does not add much value to your engineering degree? Unless its for interest, but you don't really need formal lectures if you are interested when there is so much resources online.

Kcdw96
post Oct 19 2017, 09:19 PM

708 posts

I am currently in the math dept, i have seen students taking math as a second major. http://www.nus.edu.sg/nusbulletin/faculty-...es/mathematics/

This post has been edited by Kcdw96: Oct 19 2017, 09:21 PM
TSjame_slaw
post Oct 19 2017, 09:53 PM

53 posts

Interesting......
Tbh im juggling on whether to take engineering or physic.
Im more interested in physics but worried about tge job prospects
Kcdw96
post Oct 20 2017, 10:38 AM

708 posts

QUOTE(jame_slaw @ Oct 19 2017, 09:53 PM)
Interesting......
Tbh im juggling on whether to take engineering or physic.
Im more interested in physics but worried about tge job prospects
This is the best advice a prof has given me

"Nowadays in uni, most of you are studying for jobs which probably don't exist. Gone are the days where an engineerIng Student will 99.9% become an engineer. The future is so uncertain, this tactic doesn't work. Just study anything you want, and be damn good in what you do. That's the only way to ensure you'll be employed regardless of the situation"
TSjame_slaw
post Oct 20 2017, 11:33 AM

53 posts

QUOTE(Kcdw96 @ Oct 20 2017, 11:38 AM)
This is the best advice a prof has given me

"Nowadays in uni, most of you are studying for jobs which probably don't exist. Gone are the days where an engineerIng Student will 99.9% become an engineer. The future is so uncertain, this tactic doesn't work. Just study anything you want, and be damn good in what you do. That's the only way to ensure you'll be employed regardless of the situation"
Thanks man.
This is encouraging.. I'll keep that in mine..
Jazlilong
post Oct 21 2017, 05:11 PM

101 posts

This post has been edited by Jazlilong: Oct 21 2017, 05:13 PM
Jazlilong
post Oct 21 2017, 05:11 PM

101 posts

hey im applying for august 2018 intake.. im currently taking a levels and my results are out on august 2018, so i will get my offer on august 2018.. I would just like to know will i be at a disadvantage to get a scholarship since i dont have my actual results yet?? will the scholarship interview be before my offer ?

iSean
post Oct 21 2017, 05:55 PM

iz old liao.
4,352 posts

QUOTE(Jazlilong @ Oct 21 2017, 05:11 PM)
hey im applying for august 2018 intake.. im currently taking a levels and my results are out on august 2018, so i will get my offer on august 2018.. I would just like to know will i be at a disadvantage to get a scholarship since i dont have my actual results yet?? will the scholarship interview be before my offer ?
Depends you're sitting in EdExcel board? hmm.gif
Normally most people apply during January timeframe.
Somemore it is better to apply knowing your results with more than 4A*s if not they hardly accept sweat.gif
Jazlilong
post Oct 21 2017, 06:12 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Oct 21 2017, 05:55 PM)
Depends you're sitting in EdExcel board?  hmm.gif
Normally most people apply during January timeframe.
Somemore it is better to apply knowing your results with more than 4A*s if not they hardly accept  sweat.gif
ya im taking edexcel.. well i took spm last year.. im predicted 4A* tho and my AS i got 99% UMS for both maths and physics.. but still i heard that u will only get scholarship interview after u get ntu offer.. but i wont be getting mine till august.. hermm hmm.gif
iSean
post Oct 21 2017, 06:32 PM

iz old liao.
4,352 posts

QUOTE(Jazlilong @ Oct 21 2017, 06:12 PM)
ya im taking edexcel.. well i took spm last year.. im predicted 4A* tho and my AS i got 99% UMS for both maths and physics..  but still i heard that u will only get scholarship interview after u get ntu offer.. but i wont be getting mine till august.. hermm  hmm.gif
Well you can try taking a gap year/holiday/working experience first? And apply for NTU/NUS during January?
Technically speaking EdExcel syllabus is kinda eh... *dumb down* really try to enhance your CCA/ECAs points through events.

Jazlilong
post Oct 21 2017, 07:03 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Oct 21 2017, 06:32 PM)
Well you can try taking a gap year/holiday/working experience first? And apply for NTU/NUS during January?
Technically speaking EdExcel syllabus is kinda eh... *dumb down* really try to enhance your CCA/ECAs points through events.
its kinda weird how i got offered for imperial.. but gonna struggle to get into ntu... rolleyes.gif
Jazlilong
post Oct 21 2017, 07:05 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Oct 21 2017, 06:32 PM)
im gonna just apply and hope for the best since i wanna get a degree as quickly as possible.. 1 more thing.. i emailed ntu and they said REP is open for singaporeans only.. but when i checked online it says open to all..
iSean
post Oct 21 2017, 08:05 PM

iz old liao.
4,352 posts

QUOTE(Jazlilong @ Oct 21 2017, 07:03 PM)
its kinda weird how i got offered for imperial.. but gonna struggle to get into ntu... rolleyes.gif
Trust me laugh.gif
Anyone can get into UK with a strings of Bs. But getting into NTU/NUS lands of the kiasus, don't have 4A*s susah nak masuk.
I have a friend who gotten 3A* and 1A got rejected even sweat.gif
iSean
post Oct 21 2017, 08:08 PM

iz old liao.
4,352 posts

QUOTE(Jazlilong @ Oct 21 2017, 07:05 PM)
im gonna just apply and hope for the best since i wanna get a degree as quickly as possible.. 1 more thing.. i emailed ntu and they said REP is open for singaporeans only.. but when i checked online it says open to all..
That I'm not sure but do PM around to see who studied NTU/NUS here can help you lah.
I remember someone named scgoh123 could brief you with that but she did SPTM not mistaken.
Jazlilong
post Oct 22 2017, 06:51 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Oct 21 2017, 08:08 PM)
That I'm not sure but do PM around to see who studied NTU/NUS here can help you lah.
I remember someone named scgoh123 could brief you with that but she did SPTM not mistaken.
'

have u met anyone who got offer in august because their a level result are out only on august??

0.0135sec    0.23    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 05:38 AM