4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

The Google Pixel 2/2 XL Official Thread V.1, New updates !

doppatroll
post Oct 23 2017, 01:35 PM

1,123 posts

QUOTE(EpsilonStar @ Oct 23 2017, 10:03 AM)
google did acknowledge this and request for replacement if user would find any hmm.gif
doppatroll
post Oct 25 2017, 10:18 AM

1,123 posts

QUOTE(ryanice8888 @ Oct 24 2017, 08:39 PM)
argh. i'm very interest in pixel 2 xl but apparently this display issue is hindering me from buying one. Just awful man.

I dont mind losing headphone jack but the most important element is still the display. Lack of saturation is fine but the burn-in and color shifting when tilted for a rm4k device.. I don't think i can pull that trigger lol.

So close to a perfect device sad.gif
Same here....i wont mind about the colour shift since i wont be looking at slight tilt angle but the burn in is kind of serious issue to me (I mean like after several days usage as some reported, imagine would have to return the phone and no phone to used)....that hinders my purchase on google 2 xl too and it looks like more and more problem popping out from pixel devices (New issue such as audio problem should and also black smear)

still monitoring how google would respond to the issue, google should had gone with HTC built instead of huawei built.....

QUOTE(rebus @ Oct 24 2017, 08:51 PM)
The display issue only on the XL? the small brother got no problem?
Smaller brother kena high pitch and clicking sound as reported and published by android authority.

as quote

beginning with the audio, there are dozens of reports hitting the internet about high-pitched noises and clicking from the Pixel 2 when it’s next to a person’s ear. This has appeared in the Google product forums — the company is aware of it — and it seems to be mostly affecting the HTC-made standard Pixel 2 rather than the Pixel 2 XL

Those of you who brought pixel 2 beware:

As quote by android authority

it has been reported that a Pixel 2 unit was sold to a customer “As New” despite failing testing due to cosmetic damage. How the mix up happened isn’t clear, though the customer is to receive a replacement device and $10 Google Play credit for the inconvenience.

This post has been edited by doppatroll: Oct 25 2017, 10:38 AM
doppatroll
post Oct 26 2017, 09:17 AM

1,123 posts

QUOTE(nsg86 @ Oct 25 2017, 11:22 PM)
you means from LG right? don't think there is Huawei build for pixel 2/xl
Yeah, Missquote right there... should be LG instead of huawei as i was view some huawei stuff before wrote this comment... biggrin.gif
doppatroll
post Oct 27 2017, 09:06 AM

1,123 posts

For me it is half good to know, but having the hassle return the phone is one thing but as we know software cant optimize burn in defect....but would still love having Pixel devices though

This post has been edited by doppatroll: Oct 27 2017, 09:08 AM
doppatroll
post Oct 30 2017, 05:26 PM

1,123 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Oct 30 2017, 03:24 PM)
Then not worth to get from them, rugi 1 year warranty.
but if they got cheaper price and faster stock, would you go for them rclxms.gif
doppatroll
post Oct 31 2017, 11:05 AM

1,123 posts

QUOTE(zubayr @ Oct 31 2017, 10:57 AM)
i believe the tilt blueish screen issue only happens to 2 XL and not 2..
Correcto ...that because pixel 2 using samsung panel while pixel 2 XL using LG panel...which not the best panel among all phone
doppatroll
post Oct 31 2017, 01:14 PM

1,123 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Oct 31 2017, 12:07 PM)
can't find it anywhere, kena take down liao?
hmm could it be reported for scamming ? hmm.gif
doppatroll
post Oct 31 2017, 04:18 PM

1,123 posts

QUOTE(kinwawa @ Oct 31 2017, 03:53 PM)
if got friends in US, do you think it's worth it to ask him to buy and send back to M'sia? Coz i check shipping + other fees...almost like 300-400++ using those courier services...fedex, ups etc.....
or got other cheaper alternatives?
not to forget sirim as well and time it took for sirim to approve and custom to release your item rclxms.gif
doppatroll
post Nov 2 2017, 09:07 AM

1,123 posts

seem like alot of ppl received their pixel 2 and 2 xl from local seller...but post seem kind of quiet ...hmm.gif
doppatroll
post Nov 2 2017, 11:38 AM

1,123 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Nov 2 2017, 09:15 AM)
From Lazada? Or where? I couldn't find much so far being sold locally
i mean local importer.

I notice Shirogawa list at least more then half of unit had been ship out (total 28 in order)
doppatroll
post Nov 2 2017, 01:36 PM

1,123 posts

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Nov 2 2017, 12:33 PM)
Those are shipped out from Google to US address. Not sure whether starting to ship yet to Malaysia. Good bet we might hear they get their units around next week.
Techbug ETA after mid of nov though hmm.gif

QUOTE(sembilan @ Nov 2 2017, 01:36 PM)
Thanks man. Voucher from qoo10 makes it quite attractive
So far, Qoo 10 only got pixel 2...XL is no where to be seen

This post has been edited by doppatroll: Nov 2 2017, 01:42 PM
doppatroll
post Nov 2 2017, 02:40 PM

1,123 posts

QUOTE(sembilan @ Nov 2 2017, 02:37 PM)
There's one selling 2 XL on Qoo 10, but a big portion of the description is in Korean.
you mean the kingphone dood ?but if you go to colour selection. it didnt stated XL all stated on pixel 2
doppatroll
post Nov 2 2017, 02:58 PM

1,123 posts

QUOTE(sembilan @ Nov 2 2017, 02:53 PM)
Oh ya you're right. I checked again and saw estimated shipping quote at RM 227.10 lol
with that price top up abit more you get pixel 2 xl 128GB.....
doppatroll
post Nov 3 2017, 08:20 AM

1,123 posts

QUOTE(Kagekiyo @ Nov 2 2017, 06:03 PM)
Yes, I originally purchased my defect-free OG Pixel XL from T&L previously upon first release and also recently, my Pixel 2 (it's been defect free so far which is great).

Their customer service is responsive. If you cannot wait, i suggest you to purchase from them.

If not, i suggest that you wait for Singtel in Singapore to sell it off contract (give them awhile to do so) or their AP sellers such as WhyMobile (http://www.whymobile.com/home.php) or Red White Mobile (https://redwhitemobile.com/) to bring it in.
T&L still havent sell Pixel 2 XL ...seem they only sell pixel 2...

Damm, late by one step, just about to place booking for pixel 2 XL on techbug but it was out of stock

This post has been edited by doppatroll: Nov 3 2017, 08:42 AM
doppatroll
post Nov 3 2017, 10:18 AM

1,123 posts

QUOTE(Kagekiyo @ Nov 3 2017, 10:04 AM)
1) Heavy blue tint when viewing at wide angles (especially obvious with white backgrounds) - It is unavoidable, we all know every XL 2 phone have them, so had to live with it those who are ready to buy XL devices but our eyes will get used to it after sometime of using it

2) Screen graininess at with screen brightness set to low on white backgrounds) - based on the review, you had to set it really low to get those screen graininess...if you using a normal brightness condition, it wont be noticeable ( unless your nit picking on it or purposely looking for it), i believe this is unavoidable too.
Here my take on those 2...not sure about burn in though...just mix in bag case but i believe google is doing some update to reduce the burn in effect

This post has been edited by doppatroll: Nov 3 2017, 10:19 AM
doppatroll
post Nov 6 2017, 08:06 AM

1,123 posts

QUOTE(irenic @ Nov 3 2017, 10:11 PM)
Techbug hehe
As expected, last week i did ask techbug on the stock availability and they mention that 2nd batch already received.... i assume your already the second batch.... book mine after your...i should be receiving mine after mid of nov...when did you book yours with techbug ?

QUOTE(yewfatt @ Nov 3 2017, 10:40 PM)
Still waiting my white to arrive from techbug. Seems like got delayed
Panda apparently had been sold off everywhere....so yeah, there is a delay because panda is in backorder mode

QUOTE(pluginbaby @ Nov 4 2017, 12:49 AM)
Why that note 8 is horribly red but no one make noise? 😂
Red tint ? hmm.gif
I though samsung had already put some improvement update on the red tint... same issue as S8 when it was launch.... hmm.gif

QUOTE(kinwawa @ Nov 5 2017, 12:33 PM)
T&L selling pixel 2 128gb @3899 now...got rm300 voucher to make it 3599...not a bad deal if buying locally and not buying from Google directly...11street
Buy T&L offer only 1 year warranty as suppose to 2 years given by google ... hmm.gif

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Nov 5 2017, 10:26 AM)
Looks like it is cheaper if buy direct from google and use forwarder. The estimated shipping+tax for Google Pixel 2 64GB:

Total cost is RM30xx.

Waiting for kinda blue come in stock.
Mind share the website ?

This post has been edited by doppatroll: Nov 6 2017, 08:12 AM
doppatroll
post Nov 7 2017, 08:44 AM

1,123 posts

Anyone know any local seller selling pixel 2 xl case ? im looking for spigen extra tough armor case...
doppatroll
post Nov 7 2017, 02:10 PM

1,123 posts

QUOTE(kinwawa @ Nov 7 2017, 12:02 PM)
get from techbug better. ...else T&L or shirogawa....

any pixel 2 xl updated the nov security patch...can tell big difference in the 'saturated' mode for the display??? from the video for pixel 2....saturated mode looks 'saturated'...lol...too 'cartoonish' for me...prefer boosted or natural....

wonder how about pixel 2 xl ....
After some survey, i would suggest to get it either from techbug or shirogawa... Both offer 2 years warrant provided by google ..... T&L only offer 1 year warranty
doppatroll
post Nov 8 2017, 11:24 AM

1,123 posts

QUOTE(Kagekiyo @ Nov 7 2017, 10:19 PM)
The camera on the Pixel 2 with OIS + EIS is just a minor upgrade from the Pixel XL (EIS only), in my opinion.

Where the Pixel 2 outperforms the Pixel XL is in low light shots with OIS.

You may refer to page 5 of this thread to view some comparison photos i took in low light between the Pixel 2 and Pixel XL.
For once, i think potrait mode on pixel almost similar to samsung S8 selective mode but better a bit due to google tweak / optimize them.... both have single lens camera that create bokeh effect.
doppatroll
post Nov 9 2017, 09:48 AM

1,123 posts

QUOTE(Kagekiyo @ Nov 8 2017, 05:56 PM)
November 2017 security patch has been released.

I downloaded it and installed it on my Pixel 2 and surprisingly it contains the new "Colors" option under "Display" that allows the user to tweak the saturation of the display. Google didn't wait to implement this in the 8.1 release scheduled for December 2017.

My take between the "saturated" and "boosted" (renamed from previous "Vivid colors") options, I prefer the latter. Saturated does make the colors on the screen pop like on Samsung AMOLED screens but I think I prefer the more natural/muted colors.

Anyone with a Pixel 2 XL, can you try out the new colors option and share if it improves the overall screen color output?
Just watch one of the youtube video as one of the reviewer mention that the colour still not calibrated properly by google

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Nov 9 2017, 12:33 AM)
https://goo.gl/forms/gxlIESSoxP2bfM9l1

irenic Kagekiyo

guys, for those who have own unit, just submit your units to the submission form that i created, if anything error, PLEASE LET ME KNOW !!

thumbup.gif
Hmm...Survey ? Any reason ? Done mine anyway even though getting the device yet

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0883sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 07:49 PM