Kidicarus
post Apr 30 2007, 09:53 AM

727 posts

QUOTE(jwrx @ Apr 30 2007, 09:43 AM)
alot of players dun understand that you dont GEAR UP in Kara....u must be geared up BEFORE u enter kara. Get all your hear in heroics and quest b4 entering.
QFMFT!
Quazacolt
post Apr 30 2007, 10:29 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Apr 30 2007, 09:53 AM)
QFMFT!
couldnt agree any less.
xiaosin
post Apr 30 2007, 10:40 AM

86 posts

i went kara before i know the existence of heroics brows.gif
TSmyremi
post Apr 30 2007, 11:07 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(xiaosin @ Apr 30 2007, 10:40 AM)
i went kara before i know the existence of heroics  brows.gif
I went in before even trying heroics. Attumen is alright but Moroes, yikes.

Back to the grind then. sad.gif
jwrx
post Apr 30 2007, 11:32 AM

515 posts

ahah....remi...there you go..no wonder your team having so much trouble. Dun bother wasting more time in kara unless you like multile wipes and have alot of gold to spend on repairs.

I grinded to +1200 heal b4 i even dared try moroes.
Quazacolt
post Apr 30 2007, 11:44 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(jwrx @ Apr 30 2007, 11:32 AM)
ahah....remi...there you go..no wonder your team having so much trouble. Dun bother wasting more time in kara unless you like multile wipes and have alot of gold to spend on repairs.

while i fully agree with jwrx, it isnt really has to be that extreme to be fully decked out in heroics/5man dungeon sets etc etc.

but of course, the more the better, it will only help and reduces the difficulty on the encounters.

for kara entry, id say +1k heal with ~9-10k mana pool for priests or 1.1-1.2k +heal and 9-11k mana for druids depending on specs. (tree = more heals, feral heart hybrids = more mana pool)
TSmyremi
post Apr 30 2007, 11:50 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(jwrx @ Apr 30 2007, 11:32 AM)

Honestly, I usually sit out until I get the healing and the gear. Just filling in the spots when healer is not around. I can tell you I'm also devious. Sometimes there is no arguing with people so I'd rather they go into Kara and get wiped. It helps to take down their confidence a bit so that they become more focus on gameplay.

The other thing is that we have an unusual mix of people who have raide before and who haven't. Also, the team composition changes a fair bit so it does take awhile. Then again we don't raid every night and only do 3 out of 7 days so the wipes are expected.

But yeah, I agree with you on your observation. Some folks are in denial that they're gear is already good enough for Kara and then say they only wanna do Heroics with certain guildies. Sigh. It's hard to tell them that one doesn't get better by hitting the limit. It's more of knowing that you're never going to get better until you chase for it.

Added on April 30, 2007, 11:53 am
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 30 2007, 11:44 AM)
while i fully agree with jwrx, it isnt really has to be that extreme to be fully decked out in heroics/5man dungeon sets etc etc.

but of course, the more the better, it will only help and reduces the difficulty on the encounters.

for kara entry, id say +1k heal with ~9-10k mana pool for priests or 1.1-1.2k +heal and 9-11k mana for druids depending on specs. (tree = more heals, feral heart hybrids = more mana pool)
yep. the funny thing about druids is that they have one of the lower stamina gear available to them out of all the healers methinks.

but the bigger problem would be the 3 raid nites raiding. doubt if kara would be that fast to learn.

This post has been edited by myremi: Apr 30 2007, 11:53 AM
Gladys
post Apr 30 2007, 11:54 AM

158 posts

QUOTE(jwrx @ Apr 27 2007, 06:32 PM)
Atumen = Gear check
Moroes = dps check
Maiden = healer check
Usher = tank check
curator = endurance check
Aran = Stupidity check(if u have dumb raiders...u dun pass Aran)

when everyone meets the requitement..it makes the kara run SOOOO much esier
i like this check !

too bad alots of ppl do not want to gear n wish got free loots @ kara..

doh.gif

This post has been edited by Gladys: Apr 30 2007, 11:55 AM
TSmyremi
post Apr 30 2007, 12:02 PM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(Gladys @ Apr 30 2007, 11:54 AM)
i like this check !

too bad alots of ppl do not want to gear n wish got free loots @ kara..

doh.gif
i like the way the guys analyze my posts. a lot of tips and tricks that aren't available online. brows.gif brows.gif

although one day, i'd like to join a more hardcore raiding guild just to see if I could progress more.
Kidicarus
post Apr 30 2007, 12:03 PM

727 posts

Just because you're undergeared doesn't mean you can't hit above your weight. Ya you have to know what your limits are but also how far you can push them with the willingness to farm for consumables, buffs and enchants.

I was having a chat over teamspeak last night about the fact that some people were using cheap gems and enchants. An undergeared tank kills groups.. So just because I put in the effort to get the best enchants/gems doesn't mean everyone else doesn't have to. After nearly 2 months of Kz still no tier 2 for me sad.gif which means I still consider myself undergeared. It's still an effort so i'm buffed up to the hilt with pots etc. With the effort i've put in I really expect everyone else to do the same as well.
jwrx
post Apr 30 2007, 12:11 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Apr 30 2007, 11:44 AM)

actually...yea, the other healers started kara with the stats that Qua posted, but I ended up shouldering most of the healing burden later on in kara, end of the day, the better geared u are, the esier the fights, my guild entred kara so geared that, most of us didnt get real upgrades till Curator onwards

3 nites of raiding is enough...my team raids 3 nites a week

1 st week - 1 nite on attumen, 2 nites on moroes
2 nd week - 1 nite on attumen, 1 nite moroes, 1 nite opera
3rd week - 1 nite attumen/morores, 2 nites opera
4th week - 1 nite attumen/moroes/opera, 2 nites curator

something like that lar...cant really remember....Aran ...took whole week to master.

team b, raids 4 nites a week, they already down prince, 1 boss ahead of my team
Gladys
post Apr 30 2007, 12:14 PM

158 posts

i also undergered ! not until i get my mace !!!

full buff consumeable n pot i hit 1.7k +healing with cheap ¼ enchant.

our kara team drops geared those rogue hunter n mage..t4 n many purple.. but we forgot the "stupidlity check" tat's y cant pass aran dry.gif

gotta quote ur check list to the guild forum eidi.. tanker piss off now no more kara soz..
jwrx
post Apr 30 2007, 12:15 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Apr 30 2007, 12:03 PM)
Just because you're undergeared doesn't mean you can't hit above your weight.  Ya you have to know what your limits are but also how far you can push them with the willingness to farm for consumables, buffs and enchants.

I was having a chat over teamspeak last night about the fact that some people were using cheap gems and enchants. An undergeared tank kills groups.. So just because I put in the effort to get the best enchants/gems doesn't mean everyone else doesn't have to.  After nearly 2 months of Kz still no tier 2 for me sad.gif which means I still consider myself undergeared.  It's still an effort so i'm buffed up to the hilt with pots etc.  With the effort i've put in I really expect everyone else to do the same as well.
agree. didnt mention this in my previous post, ALL raiders in my team has to have full enchants and gems.

No vendor gems, (its silly when AH is full of cheap gems)
No cheap enchants

My MT has spend 2k+ gold gearing up for kara, now at 16k hp with raid buff
Kidicarus
post Apr 30 2007, 12:20 PM

727 posts

QUOTE(Gladys @ Apr 30 2007, 12:14 PM)
tanker piss off now no more kara soz..
LOL That's from letting your tank die all the time!
jwrx
post Apr 30 2007, 12:25 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(Gladys @ Apr 30 2007, 12:14 PM)
i also undergered ! not until i get my mace !!!

full buff consumeable n pot i hit 1.7k +healing with cheap ¼ enchant.

our kara team drops geared those rogue hunter n mage..t4 n many purple.. but we forgot the "stupidlity check" tat's y cant pass aran dry.gif

gotta quote ur check list to the guild forum eidi.. tanker piss off now no more kara soz..
One....point.....seven.....+heal.... rclxms.gif wow...just...wow...

not just stupidity check...interuppt check also. try the fight with 2 rogues, melee shaman and 1 dps warriors....damn easy

Edit - oh ddint noticed that was buffed...whats unbuff?

This post has been edited by jwrx: Apr 30 2007, 12:26 PM
Gladys
post Apr 30 2007, 12:28 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Apr 30 2007, 12:20 PM)
LOL That's from letting your tank die all the time!
doh.gif i let him die only @ 5 man heroic.. coz its all among fren n 5 man matter..
n my timing is perfect, he die with mob.. so i can rez..
10/10 we playing wow together @ same n he flirting while sitting next to me..this is wat i so-called tai sei

i dont fail my target @ raid.. timer ticking on respawn n flask soz.. u hurt me shocking.gif

mad.gif vmad.gif rogue n mage can do their job. vmad.gif mad.gif
aran:stupidlity check.

Added on April 30, 2007, 12:34 pmunbuff 1590 or 1520 <trinket>
full buff needed to pot as well.. elixer n +44 healing food..

got 2 rogue... suppose 1 kick frost 1 kick fire ... but apa pa pun taklak..
no shaman no dps warr... latest attemp 13% n then GG... soz...

tanker sad no kara.... cry.gif

This post has been edited by Gladys: Apr 30 2007, 12:34 PM
Quazacolt
post Apr 30 2007, 12:41 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 30 2007, 11:50 AM)
Honestly, I usually sit out until I get the healing and the gear. Just filling in the spots when healer is not around. I can tell you I'm also devious. Sometimes there is no arguing with people so I'd rather they go into Kara and get wiped. It helps to take down their confidence a bit so that they become more focus on gameplay.

The other thing is that we have an unusual mix of people who have raide before and who haven't. Also, the team composition changes a fair bit so it does take awhile. Then again we don't raid every night and only do 3 out of 7 days so the wipes are expected.

But yeah, I agree with you on your observation. Some folks are in denial that they're gear is already good enough for Kara and then say they only wanna do Heroics with certain guildies. Sigh. It's hard to tell them that one doesn't get better by hitting the limit. It's more of knowing that you're never going to get better until you chase for it.

Added on April 30, 2007, 11:53 am

yep. the funny thing about druids is that they have one of the lower stamina gear available to them out of all the healers methinks.

but the bigger problem would be the 3 raid nites raiding. doubt if kara would be that fast to learn.
nah druids actually more stam in their healing gear than say priest... but shaman/paladins especially paladins have more tongue.gif

most prolly due to the fact that shamans and paladins dont have their points distributed to spirit.

and we dont raid that hardcore either, we used to do kara 2 days per week (fri and sat)
but since atm we're getting more and more serious on kara, and there is the demand by the majority of raiders to raid more, AND that we are REALLY lagging behind the general raiders of our realm in terms of progression, (kara is pretty much the thing of the past as people are pushing SSC/The eye) we're finally pushing out 4 days per week raids from friday to monday, really makes a big difference in terms of progressing/learning encounters.

at the end of the day, its up to your guild/raid to see how much effort they want to put in (eg: how many days/week to raid, flasking up the entire raid/partial raid/certain people, potion buffing raid to the max, individual members self gearing from say heroics/5mans etc etc), and of course, the more is put in, the more/faster you get in return, only logical.
tetsu
post Apr 30 2007, 12:42 PM

415 posts

does the tanker tank the adds when they spwn ?

you could always skip aran and go straight for chess event and prince ( around 1 hour to down prince b4 respwns) after curator. laugh.gif
Quazacolt
post Apr 30 2007, 12:45 PM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

QUOTE(myremi @ Apr 30 2007, 12:02 PM)
i like the way the guys analyze my posts. a lot of tips and tricks that aren't available online.  brows.gif  brows.gif

although one day, i'd like to join a more hardcore raiding guild just to see if I could progress more.
you would, as you cannot stay in said guild for long if you dont keep up, and if your really dedicated, you WILL keep up, and of course ultimately everything will fall into place.

i was in a hardcore raiding guild before anyways tongue.gif
things was very different to what i am now...

Added on April 30, 2007, 12:47 pm
QUOTE(Kidicarus @ Apr 30 2007, 12:03 PM)
Just because you're undergeared doesn't mean you can't hit above your weight.  Ya you have to know what your limits are but also how far you can push them with the willingness to farm for consumables, buffs and enchants.

I was having a chat over teamspeak last night about the fact that some people were using cheap gems and enchants. An undergeared tank kills groups.. So just because I put in the effort to get the best enchants/gems doesn't mean everyone else doesn't have to.  After nearly 2 months of Kz still no tier 2 for me sad.gif which means I still consider myself undergeared.  It's still an effort so i'm buffed up to the hilt with pots etc.  With the effort i've put in I really expect everyone else to do the same as well.
yeap, very discouraging to know the fact that your teammates are slacking and shit while ur pulling the weight of others...
thats what raiding is when ur not in the really hardcore guilds.

oh and its t4 tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Apr 30 2007, 12:47 PM
Kidicarus
post Apr 30 2007, 12:56 PM

727 posts

My guild is still pretty casual, although technically we only raid 3 days a week atm, 2 days on kara and 1 learnin day at gruul's, we still have surprise learning days... pain in the ass but you have to if you want any kind of progress.

QUOTE(tetsu @ Apr 30 2007, 12:42 PM)
does the tanker tank the adds when they spwn ?
I try to grab the attention of 2 of the adds at least, because they tend to like focus firing on my healers. The other 2 are banished/feared. I'm sure a lot of other people just fear them or something but i prefer to do it this way as less things tend to go wrong if their attention is focused on me. I'm still dual wielding in dps gear while tanking them though so i can go back to aran for some execute pew pew.

QUOTE(tetsu @ Apr 30 2007, 12:42 PM)
you could always skip aran and go straight for chess event and prince ( around 1 hour to down prince b4 respwns) after curator. laugh.gif
Which is what we used to do before when we couldn't kill aran. Like last night, somehow we weren't gelling together for the aran fight so we went straight to chess and prince. We came back to aran after killing prince so we wouldn't have to go back there tonight and got him down.

Then the officers got itchy and decided to go for nightbane+illhoof tonight.. no holiday for me cry.gif

12 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0201sec    0.50    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 09:09 PM