Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

Enquiries/Recommendations Should I try getting a MSI laptop through Amazon?

views

TSIzzatuw
post Oct 15 2017, 10:37 PM, updated 7y ago

1 posts

Hi, just want to know if it's worth the hassle trying to get this MSI laptop through Amazon. I've personally never tried buying from Amazon so I have zero experience with it however considering MSI's or Malaysia's overall lack luster variety of gaming laptops compared to US this does seem tempting enough/

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B074V4QB3...=A15EHDQVYNLON8

Even if you check MSI's official Malaysia online store there cheapest GE raider variant with a 1060 costs RM7000~

I've also checked around local stores and so far the only models for the GE Raider they have only include a 1060, however I'm personally looking for a 1070 variant which is becoming relatively scarce here.

I would like to know if anyone has any first hand experience in buying from Amazon. If you have how long does it usually take for something to ship and if there are any huge additional charges on top of the costs up front.

titanmelvin
post Oct 16 2017, 11:40 AM

Getting Started
141 posts

"My Macbook is subject to 6% GST and will require a SIRIM approval as I was importing a wireless device. The Customs Clearance forwarded me the necessary and pre-filled (thank goodness!) airway bill, SIRIM K1 form, and the email address of the SIRIM officer to forward them to.

SIRIM was top-notch here. Everything was done via email (even more forms, copy of IC, Amazon invoice, my Macbook’s technical specs), and although they did overlook my application (yes, I called to check), I received my SIRIM approval in 2 days instead of the usual 24 hours. Isn’t that impressive?
The approval was immediately sent to the Customs Clearance team, who immediately proceeded to claim my laptop from Customs.
My SIRIM approval cost me an additional RM106 (including GST)."