Can't Take Photos At A Government Area?

TSIvanKang
post Apr 16 2007, 08:41 PM, updated 19y ago

238 posts

I'm in my senior year at my high school. I usually bring a camera to school to take photos of my classmates mainly for my school's senior page magazine.

Recently there was a fire incident at my school, since I've my camera along with me, I took a few photos of it.

After that, I took the photo and send it to The Star newspaper and it got published.
Soon, the school caught me mentioning that you are not allowed to take photograph at a government building. I want to know if this facts are true.
Anyone??
shinobikit
post Apr 16 2007, 08:51 PM

Honey Bunny
900 posts

QUOTE(IvanKang @ Apr 16 2007, 08:41 PM)
I'm in my senior year at my high school. I usually bring a camera to school to take photos of my classmates mainly for my school's senior page magazine.

Recently there was a fire incident at my school, since I've my camera along with me, I took a few photos of it.

After that, I took the photo and send it to The Star newspaper and it got published.
Soon, the school caught me mentioning that you are not allowed to take photograph at a government building. I want to know if this facts are true.
Anyone??
unsure.gif LoL... the priciple of your school kena sound by upper from education ministry, then he/she beh syok, then he/she come to sound you lo...
why cannot take? ridiculous la......
greyPJ
post Apr 16 2007, 08:51 PM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

doesnt matter, they can make it true if its not true now.
mfa333
post Apr 16 2007, 09:00 PM

Huhah!
2,588 posts

he's the man.. what to do.. sleep.gif
kimhoong
post Apr 16 2007, 09:03 PM

5,154 posts

QUOTE(greyPJ @ Apr 16 2007, 08:51 PM)
doesnt matter, they can make it true if its not true now.
rclxms.gif ya agree... talking about being grey (not black not white)

Personally, I think it's not true (yet). If it's still haunting you, I suggest you to challenge the school to let you see the proof or rules saying it's illegal.

Who knows, if your school is "powerful" enough, there maybe a new rules set because of you tongue.gif Be proud of it icon_rolleyes.gif
scorgio
post Apr 16 2007, 09:03 PM

4,695 posts

Go ask your HM, which govt act prohibits photograph taking of a government building?

I think most probably they're are angry cos the 'malu' part of the school was on newspaper.
TSIvanKang
post Apr 16 2007, 09:04 PM

238 posts

QUOTE(shinobikit @ Apr 16 2007, 08:51 PM)
unsure.gif LoL... the priciple of your school kena sound by upper from education ministry, then he/she beh syok, then he/she come to sound you lo...
why cannot take? ridiculous la......
Well, actually the principal is a she and she made the announcement during assembly today and scolded me indirectly too , the picture was published on saturday's paper...
kjin
post Apr 16 2007, 09:04 PM

227 posts

you can only take government buildings which are NICE and BEAUTIFUL (that's what i was being told)
Jackieboy
post Apr 16 2007, 09:08 PM

268 posts

Ignore her, anymore picture just publish. If not suppose to publish, ask her to sue The Star since the newspaper publish not you. I think the Star should know the rules better. She just bullshitting the students so as to not highlight situations that show the school in a "bad" light.

Sweep everything under the carpet and hope it will go away by itself laa.

This post has been edited by Jackieboy: Apr 16 2007, 09:10 PM
ckeng2002
post Apr 16 2007, 09:18 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(IvanKang @ Apr 16 2007, 09:04 PM)
Well, actually the principal is a she and she made the announcement during assembly today and scolded me indirectly too , the picture was published on saturday's paper...

I think it is very clear that you have make your principle lost face biggrin.gif (fire alarm system is no good), that 's y he came up this statement that you shall not take any photo.

Only certain government departments are not allow to take any photo, and yet they will stick a big big warning sticker out side the main entrance.

Just tell your headmaster that to stick a big big sticker outside your school gate. and make sure he/she shut down photography society (if any) in your school. tongue.gif biggrin.gif
lilputos
post Apr 16 2007, 11:42 PM

36 posts

one word - LOL.
aichiban
post Apr 17 2007, 12:49 AM

pot yia thee keh tai lang!!
1,994 posts

I took photos of the istana, museum, zoo, masjid negara, even the majistret....

im doomed
sad.gif
cjtune
post Apr 17 2007, 01:00 AM

Melancholic frog
3,544 posts

Besides, if it was illegal, would a BN-owned newspaper even publish it?
goldfries
post Apr 17 2007, 01:13 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

ok - how about taking photos at Putrajaya? smile.gif

nice buildings. gov't offices. but not gov't buildings, after all the rented it from some private company.

so yeah gov't are there but building not owned by gov't - and yet there are people who sez cannot take photo of building at Putrajaya.

sorry didn't manage to get the officer's name though. rather silly IMO. if Putrajaya is a Tourist Attraction, then they'd better allow photography.
yewkhuay
post Apr 17 2007, 02:07 AM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

shyuh..........u guys are being watched by ISA ppl oready..........
clemong_888
post Apr 17 2007, 06:40 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

bulls*** , if a reporter was there covering the event/incident, they won't be shut out or harassed. if the parliment was to go up in flames, they can't be any pictures of it?

if you really have nothing to do, i suggest you challenge you HM.

yewkhuay
post Apr 17 2007, 09:34 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(clemong_888 @ Apr 17 2007, 06:40 AM)
bulls*** , if a reporter was there covering the event/incident, they won't be shut out or harassed. if the parliment was to go up in flames, they can't be any pictures of it?

if you really have nothing to do, i suggest you challenge you HM.
i suggest CHANGE the HM... rclxms.gif
vincent_audio
post Apr 17 2007, 11:05 PM

1,161 posts

Some hotel, restaurant and clubs strictly DOES NOT allow photography althought most don't have the No Photography sign shown.

Even in my own company I can't take photo unless i got a written permission from management.

As a normal code of conduct, I will ask the owner if i'm in their territory for their permission (in this case ur headmaster).

if i'm at a public place, of course no one can stop me.

This post has been edited by vincent_audio: Apr 17 2007, 11:11 PM
MR.Syxo
post Apr 18 2007, 10:01 AM

367 posts

how come it be like that..u should ask ur principal to show u any "akta" or signboard that show u cant take the pic at government area..goverment building is like our building..unless it non goverment building that totally wrong if u take anything even photo of their building
yewkhuay
post Apr 18 2007, 05:06 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(MR.Syxo @ Apr 18 2007, 10:01 AM)
how come it be like that..u should ask ur principal to show u any "akta" or signboard that show u cant take the pic at government area..goverment building is like our building..unless it non goverment building that totally wrong if u take anything even photo of their building
come on la, we all schooling b4, we all understood how our discipline teacher n HM n penolong kanan SCHOOLLLLL us for things they don't want us to do...... vmad.gif

0.0163sec    0.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:33 PM