Discussion A 'real fan', How do we become one?
aw13
Apr 16 2007, 02:57 PM
Forgive and Forget, Living in the Past is Time Consuming
IMO;
1. Know the history of the club. no need to know all, but at least from the period when you started supporting that club. 2. Be aware of the latest happenings in and around your club, and form your own opinion on such news. don't just regurgitate the facts. 3. Try to watch EACH and EVERY game - live or otherwise. 4. PERSONAL PREFERENCE - try to get the official merchandise of the club. it looks really sad if you said you are supporting a particular club whilst sporting an unofficial (aka 'AAA' or lower grade) kit/shirt/etc.
aw13
Apr 16 2007, 04:45 PM
QUOTE(Duke Red @ Apr 16 2007, 04:41 PM) Well we all have to start somewhere. What matters is that they continue their support even if they get relegated. What also matters is that they bother to read up on a little history. yup i agree there, we all have to start somewhere. share the highs and lows, be there where-ever the team is, Championship, 1st division, etc. as for crying, well that's a very subjective matter. i won't cry but i will feel sad and will pick up when the next game comes along!
aw13
Apr 16 2007, 05:23 PM
QUOTE(penew @ Apr 16 2007, 05:16 PM) we did gather with other Italian clubs fans as well.. such as Juventus & Inter... especially during WC... and during matches like Milan vs Juve or Milan vs Inter matches.. We also have other clubs fans on our webforum such as Interisti, Romanista & a Deportivo fan..and its good to discuss things with fellow non-EPL fans.. confession - besides Chelsea, i follow Milan as well, my 2nd team if you may. Since the heydays of our famous Dutch trio. actually i started supporting Milan first then Chelsea, but given the media exposure of the English league then as compared to the Italian league, my support for Chelsea grew at a faster pace than that of Milan's. i do lookout for their results nowadays incl their comings and goings for the past few seasons. was thrilled and sad when Sheva made his move to the Bridge but that sort of paved the way for other big signings to join Milan after that, most notably il fenomeno. good to see that Milan also has a strong following here in KL/Malaysia...
aw13
Apr 16 2007, 05:56 PM
QUOTE(Chrisky @ Apr 16 2007, 05:55 PM) edit the 1st post ?  hey Duke Red, how about those with tattoo ah? hardcore?
aw13
Apr 16 2007, 06:12 PM
QUOTE(Duke Red @ Apr 16 2007, 06:05 PM) Ok done, thanks boys. Added on April 16, 2007, 6:06 pmNo man and I didn't get a tattoo just to prove I want to be one. I got it for personal reasons but this is between me and Liverpool  . A lot of serious fans I know don't have one, it doesn't matter. no hard feelings man just a joke actually was thinking about it a few years back, procrastinated and didn't do it in the end. yours look cool tho
aw13
Apr 16 2007, 06:23 PM
QUOTE(easypeasy @ Apr 16 2007, 06:11 PM) My opinion: Hardcore is very subjective. Before this I think I'm a passionate fan; I stayed up watching my team, get to know the players, spent time on the club' s website etc etc until I went to Anfield. I met a guy who is about a year younger than me. He knows almost everything about Liverpool and remembers the dates for future fixtures and against whom. He bought stuff from the club, has his club shirt and scarf. I can say he is more passionate than me, eventhough he is not from Liverpool. We all might not be hardcore supporters unless we're born and breed from the club where we support like the locals IMHO BUT we can be real and loyal supporters. Hardcore, Real and Loyal supporters cry when their team lost. They win together and they lose together. Glory Hunters win together with the others but when the team is losing they don't feel anything. you're right very subjective. and IMO, most of us don't quite feel the attachment as we're not born and bred there, unlike the locals over there. I too thought that I was a hardcore until I met up with some BLUES fans over here, and I'm way down that list. but whatever it is, I still think of myself as a true supporter, given my personal history with the club over these years. i guess all that i'm trying to say that we all have our ways of supporting our favourite teams. and we all hate the glory-hunters/band-wagoners/punters! but one thing i might add, watching your team play at their stadium must the ultimate dream of a supporter, hardcore or not. and trust me, it is worth everything that you will or had sacrificed...
aw13
Apr 17 2007, 10:06 PM
QUOTE(Duke Red @ Apr 17 2007, 12:13 PM) Well procrastinate no longer then. If we win our 6th this season, you have to promise to get one! No i dont think so man, when we win our third in a row maybe but not when you win your 6th...btw i changed my avatar maybe that's why u didn't 'recognise' me... and sure had a lot of replies for this thread my friend, very popular indeed. I must speak up for those who support more than 1 team, as I am one of them who supports 2 teams from 2 different leagues, it's something that stuck with me since my school days, can't explain why and won't even attempt to do so here. but i also cannot tahan those who support more than one team in the same league...blasphemy! as for some of the other posts here about to each his own, i totally agree with that. some collect jerseys, official merchandise, watch every game, etc. fair enough. but all i'm saying is get a little backup info/history first, i fully subscribe to fact if you know something better, the better you love it. anyway my 2 cents lah This post has been edited by aw13: Apr 18 2007, 01:39 AM
aw13
Apr 18 2007, 12:36 PM
QUOTE(Duke Red @ Apr 18 2007, 12:30 PM) You're right man, didn't notice you changed avatar. If you're afraid of someone seeing, get one on your ass. Nope not afraid of someone seeing very much like you an exhibitionist! haha no worries man definitely will re-think when we win our third in a row AND the Quad this season!
aw13
Apr 18 2007, 12:51 PM
QUOTE(Duke Red @ Apr 18 2007, 12:43 PM) I'm not shy to show my allegiance if that's what you are getting it. Anyone can swap kits when they decide to jump onto another bandwagon. I derive extreme pleasure from displaying my loyalty especially to glory hunters  haha that's cool with me man. say NO to glory hunters!
aw13
Jan 17 2008, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(Jonno @ Jan 17 2008, 01:21 PM) There are no difficult years for man U in the past 15 years or so. FACT. I second that. QUOTE(Jonno @ Jan 17 2008, 01:21 PM) They don't bother learning about the club, don't bother to get to know the team / club more, they might own a hundred jerseys, all with their own name on it, but because of that they are not a real fan to me, they are what the owners want, spenders. Since we are on the love analogy, the gloty hunters to me are just a a guy who claimed that he love the girl when he sees her or about to sleep with her. He doesn't call her, doesn't take her out for dates or anything, he loves her just for the bedroom romps. Like the glory hunters, they don't learn about the club, knows practically next to zero about the club, but would proclaim their undying love come match day and would congregate at wherever to watch the game. If their team lose, they would normally trod to the car to change into their nice shirt before going clubbing.  Precisely. Too many of that going round nowadays actually. Hey! I read that line about owning a hundred jerseys...let's face it, if the guy/gal owns up to 100 jerseys of the same team, then more or less would've been around for quite some time, of which is hopefully well spent on researching about the team, it's history, etc.
aw13
Jan 21 2008, 03:53 PM
Just wanted to put in my 2 cents' worth on the 'gathering' part... Sometimes it's hard to get in the numbers as well, as there will be some ppl who always has a cause to complain. Drinks expensive la, no atmosphere la, location bad la, etc etc. Damn hard to please everyone wei. But I do hope you guys do get one gathering coming along, as it will be well worth it come end of the day. Of course, make sure the participants are the really diehards and hardcores, and those who can commit over the long run, not the bunch of fence sitters seen in this forum, not naming names though.
aw13
Jan 21 2008, 04:07 PM
QUOTE(Jonno @ Jan 21 2008, 04:06 PM) aw13, you guys had the advantage of everyone is still relatively young within your fellow supporters, it's a good time to grow together and become the hard core crazy ones like meself, Duke, JonC, Zypher and a few others.  ah but then again, I'm not that young, and would prefer the hardcores anytime over the noobs. and the questions they ask.... but we are growing no doubt about that. and it's always nice to watch with ppl who shares the same sentiments.
aw13
Mar 1 2008, 11:57 PM
QUOTE(Duke Red @ Mar 1 2008, 09:16 AM) Point is however, here was a girl, a hot one at that, and she bothered to read up on our past. It was like talking to another bloke to be honest. not very frequent, that happening. it's even worse for me as a Chelsea fan, cos most of the fans now tend to be the younger ones, it's very hard to find someone who knows about Chelsea...let's say, pre-RA?!
aw13
Mar 3 2008, 12:12 AM
QUOTE(clayclws @ Mar 2 2008, 10:01 AM) I used to respect Chelsea fans...but after RA...and JM, all of sudden fans sprout like wild mushrooms. I was like, "Huh? What the heck? Were you all hiding before?" Then, I get to know that most of them aren't that passionate with football. They just hate Man Utd and wanted to support a team that is winning...so...no respect for those kind of people. My course mate for instance...  But as a friend is alright... bro, i get that feeling too! i mean, where the hell were they when we under CR, almost going bust under Bates? all busy supporting Arsenal/Man U? @Duke Red - u were being too kind to that guy who defected from Liverpool to Chelsea...I would personally  that guy myself, and maybe even strip him of that Chels kit that he obviously attach no value to it. This post has been edited by aw13: Mar 3 2008, 12:13 AM
aw13
May 11 2010, 12:54 PM
Actually Blue Day is quite a good chant/song, esp the earlier parts. Too bad only the chorus part is being repeated to death, making it sounding to be a tedious song with only "Chelsea Chelsea" etc etc.
aw13
May 11 2010, 01:01 PM
haha sorry mate, haven't heard of the Calypso. but will def make a point to at least hear it once la!  For me being a fan does not mean having to learn all the songs by heart, but at least 1 or 2 la, and not just the chorus! haha. of course, fans nowadays (esp in Malaysia) are too blinded with other things, and only supporting for the sake of showing support i.e. belonging. that's just sad IMO. not for the game or the club, but for that person.