4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Discussion A 'real fan', How do we become one?

TSDuke Red
post Apr 16 2007, 02:40 PM, updated 16y ago

6,112 posts

In light of the fact that some fans look at others as being of the glory-hunting variety and so on, I thought it would be appropriate to get some views on what people perceive as being a hard-core fan. It's not for us to judge or discriminate as everyone has the right to support their club in any manner they see fit. While I admit this, I still find it annoying when fair-weather fans try to put up an argument with weak points.

Let me ask you then, what is your definition of a hard-core fan?

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Apr 16 2007, 06:04 PM
TSDuke Red
post Apr 16 2007, 03:09 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(bwan @ Apr 16 2007, 03:04 PM)
I ain't hardcore fan. But, I will watch every match my team play. It doesn't matter if I have to wake up at 3.30am and after finished the game, get shower and napping in my office. I know some other team played good football and they have some very exciting players but I don't feel like to watch them play unless it's against my team. So, the hardcore fan must be more than that.
That's an honest answer. I don't make it a point to stay up for matches of other clubs either, but I will watch if it happens to be on when I turn it on. I just like to know my opponents a little better. biggrin.gif
TSDuke Red
post Apr 16 2007, 04:06 PM

6,112 posts

There are few posts involving how often you watch your team play. That is one of the more obvious traits. Verx touched on knowing at least a little of his clubs history, and this to me is key. Many people claim to love their clubs but how can you love something you don't know about? Why you ask why they love their clubs, they say things like, because we play good football (so if another team plays better football, you'd switch?), we have super players (and if another team has better ones?) and then you have really really insightful reasons like, "because we are the best!". Erm... ok... whatever that means. Most of the reasons are pretty superficial. There is no reference to the clubs history, it's traditions, values or culture.

Let me use an analogy to explain myself.

You walk into a club, see a girl and are immediately captivated by her stunning good looks. You also notice that every bloke with a penis is looking at her and vying for her attention. She is the center of attention and it's really obvious. You think you are in love but then you realise, "heck I don't even know her". You then realise that you thought you were in love with her either because; a) Her appearance is stunning or b) Everyone else wants her and you don't want to lose out. Then you tell yourself, "ah, I'd better get to know her first too see if I really am in love". "If she doesn't have any substance, it'll just be a free shag and I'll move on to the next good looking chick".

Hope you get my point.

Added on April 16, 2007, 4:07 pm
QUOTE(arrowhead @ Apr 16 2007, 03:48 PM)
Based on the 1st post, I think the question is more like... what makes a REAL fan rather than a glory hunter? If we're looking for HARDCORE fans then it's different answer already, like sell car to fly to the stadium every year, sacrificing makan/minum to collect expensive merchandise, etc...

Being a real fan is quite simple - being aware of your team, know who's who, latest results, etc. You don't have to be rich, or join clubs, or buy their shirts, etc. Do whatever it is within your limits, then you're good.

A glory hunter, well, only knows when they've won a major trophy and go singing "WE'RE THE CHAMPS" but don't even know who are the players.
Good point. How do I edit the thread title?

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Apr 16 2007, 04:09 PM
TSDuke Red
post Apr 16 2007, 04:41 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(befitozi @ Apr 16 2007, 04:37 PM)
90% of chelsea fans i know , cant even name a line up for year 2000

infact ... almost all football fans i know , didnt even bother about chelsea abromovich came along
Well we all have to start somewhere. What matters is that they continue their support even if they get relegated. What also matters is that they bother to read up on a little history.
TSDuke Red
post Apr 16 2007, 04:47 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(penew @ Apr 16 2007, 04:43 PM)
I'm a Milan ultra...and there's not many of us here in Malaysia...but thats cool...and watching the likes of Franco Baresi & Demitrio Albertini and Dutch trios (MVB, Rijkaard, Gullit) worth everything then... and still have the chance to watch il Capitano Maldini on the pitch is a superb experience...
Were you at Hartamas Square of the Champions League final in 2005? I noticed a number of AC Milan supporters that morning.
TSDuke Red
post Apr 16 2007, 05:06 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(Chrisky @ Apr 16 2007, 05:03 PM)
at least u guys got ur own local based fans club n get to hav gatherings. I had never met with any other true local Romanista in my life so far. that make me feel like an alien sometimes.
How did you become one anyway?
TSDuke Red
post Apr 16 2007, 05:48 PM

6,112 posts

Someone help me change the topic wei. I want to change it so 'real fan' and not 'hardcore supporter'. I don't think any of us fall into the latter category.
TSDuke Red
post Apr 16 2007, 05:54 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Apr 16 2007, 05:52 PM)
u asking for real help or it's just a metaphore.. tongue.gif
seriously lah... can't find the option man.
TSDuke Red
post Apr 16 2007, 06:05 PM

6,112 posts

Ok done, thanks boys.

Added on April 16, 2007, 6:06 pm
QUOTE(aw13 @ Apr 16 2007, 05:56 PM)
hey Duke Red, how about those with tattoo ah?  hardcore?  smile.gif
No man and I didn't get a tattoo just to prove I want to be one. I got it for personal reasons but this is between me and Liverpool biggrin.gif . A lot of serious fans I know don't have one, it doesn't matter.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Apr 16 2007, 06:06 PM
TSDuke Red
post Apr 17 2007, 12:13 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(aw13 @ Apr 16 2007, 06:12 PM)
no hard feelings man just a joke

actually was thinking about it a few years back, procrastinated and didn't do it in the end.  yours look cool tho
Well procrastinate no longer then. If we win our 6th this season, you have to promise to get one! biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Monstar @ Apr 16 2007, 11:47 PM)
It is sad to see that some supposing fans don't even know what their clubs been through to be where it is now. I have friends who has all the MU shirts in the world, but when I asked him "how many European Cups have you won?" (obviously trying to shut him up), he told me he is not too sure. And I spent the rest of the day laughing at him.

And this is not the only case, I've met people who don't even know who was the manager prior to GH. And they call themselves Liverpool fans.

I totally agree. If you love a girl, you will eventually ask her questions about her past, no?

QUOTE(Monstar @ Apr 16 2007, 11:47 PM)
As for me, I consider myself a proper fan. Not hardcore. But definately not a casual fan. I watch all Liverpool games, I read a lot about the history of the club. I even tried learning songs of Youtube. I sing when I watch games. I even sing YNWA when I play Fifa. tongue.gif I don't call my own players useless after they had 1 bad game. I worship Fowler, Biscan and Garcia.  biggrin.gif The only bad part is I am too far away from Liverpool. It is really hard for me to absorb the culture. The only way for me to try absorb the local culture is by reading forums with a lot of scousers (RAWK is good).

To me, supporting the club is not only about the football, it is also about supporting the values that the club holds dear upon. Not only on the pitch, but values off the pitch as well. I daresay supporting Liverpool has made me a better person. Shankly has rub a bit of his humillity onto me. Carra showed me that being a honest man would get you far in life as well. The Liverpool way has thought me to be humble and unassuming.

I owe a lot to LFC and the only way I can repay them now is by giving them my unconditional support.
That's the word for it, proper fan. I totally get you on the values bit though some people may scoff at it. It wasn't the quality of football that attracted me, it was the values instilled in the club. This is why I can honestly say I love LFC, because like knowing a girl's personality and traits, I know Liverpool's.

QUOTE(air_mood @ Apr 17 2007, 12:33 AM)
Basically, you need to be there for your team, win or lose. Stick with your team whther they're at the tops or in the shits. Full of trophies or no trophies at all. Bandwagon jumpers i.e. glory hunters are definitely out of this list. However, this is Malaysia so bandwagon jumpers are a common theme here. That's why you see the sudden influx of Chelski 'fans' this past few years. Same as it was with Man United and Arsenal back in the 90's. I have a friend who was a Man United fan in 02, Real Madrid fan in 02-04 and a Chelski fan in 03-now. I mean I rather my club have less fans than have these kind of people.

Oath! Off with their heads! biggrin.gif

Obviously you have to know about the history of the club. None of this "I never lived during the time, so I dont need to know about it". I mean, I came across so called Man united fans who asked what's the Munich tragedy is before,I mean what kind of bull question is that???Internet was created,google it.

Exactly, information is just a click away. It's not that I'm judgmental of fans and how they choose to support their club. What gets me is fans who claim to be really into their clubs but have no knowledge prior to being fans. If you claim to love your club, how can you not know about your club? If on the other hand you claim to be a regular supporter, then fair play. It's annoying when you get into arguments with fans of rival clubs who think they know it all when if fact, you probably know more about their club than them. This is why when I visit forums such as RAWK, I go there to learn and not argue, unless I know my stuff. No point going on these forums to make a fool of myself. Problem is that most people are not willing to learn and when you tell them something about their club, they take it as though you are challenging them and they get all defensive.

And this is another personal thing. Anyone who supports more than 1 club should be shot in my opinion. My days on this forum, I came across people who are supporting Man United, Arsenal and Liverpool. How the hell can you support 3 team that are bitter rivals and are usually genuine contenders for titles is well beyond me. I can actually understand people who maybe support us and Barca or us and Real or us and Milan(although I still maintain they should be shot,haha) since they are clubs from 2 different leagues, but supporting 3 clubs out of the usual top 4??? That's just plain idiocy IMO.

I've met such supporters. I share the same opinion as you. It's ok to have a soft spot for another team though, I had one for West Ham back in the day and I still do.

I don't see needing to watch a certain percentage of games as a sign of true fan. Me personally, I never missed any United games be at whatever time it is. When it is not  shown on TV I'll find ways to watch it. But who knows,we may have a Man United fan in Timbaktu who has no access to TV,who just happen to fall in love with the footie that the club plays while catching a glimpse of it on TV during a trip to town and make it a point to go some distance to check newspapers to find out results. There just might be these sort of fans.
Precisely, not everyone is free all the time. People have commitments. I have encountered though fans who don't even know when or who their club has played (past tense). Ok fair play if you couldn't watch the game but aren't you at least curious to know if the won???

QUOTE(Soulsareworthless @ Apr 17 2007, 12:53 AM)
Agreed. From all your opinions a true fan has the following traits:

1. Watches all his club's games unless absolutely impossible.
2. Knows a fair bit about the club's history and culture.
3. Emotionally attached to the club. (Can't sleep after a bad game, curses at the TV, etc.)
5. Only supports ONE club during their entire life time.

How about fans who support like let's say MU and England? If John Terry plays for England how?  hmm.gif
I personally could care less about England though Carra, Gerrard and Crouch are in the team. All I want is for my boys to come back fit.

QUOTE(Chrisky @ Apr 17 2007, 11:03 AM)
i find to b rather amusing that someone measure 'how much' they support n love their team by counting the amount of games they watch, how much they know abt their team, n how much they spent on their mechandise, etc.

i love my team is not bcoz of their history n past glory. I love them... juz simply bcoz i fell in love in them without apparent reason. i never hav any doubt that they are the team for my life.  biggrin.gif
Well everyone is entitled to their opinion. Mine is you can't love something you know nothing about. You don't have to watch ALL your games as we all have commitments. I hate people who have wedding or birthday functions of Saturdays biggrin.gif . It's also not about how much you spend on the club, not everyone has money trees growing in their gardens. To me though, it's about how much you know your club. That's how you start a love affair.

I'm not judging you mate, just voicing my opinion. Fair play to you for supporting an Italian team given the amount of people that support those in the EPL. I myself used to watch Inter Milan play during the days of Mattheus, Brehme, Klinsmann, Zenga, Bergomi, Serena and Sosa but my I started to lose interest when the EPL started getting more coverage.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Apr 17 2007, 12:15 PM
TSDuke Red
post Apr 17 2007, 02:11 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Apr 17 2007, 01:55 PM)
Not trying to take the piss out of but I couldn't help it. A discussion about a real/true/proper fan and only one Chelski fan to be seen about. No pun intended to the likse of esca_flo and Kidscode as those who has supported the club a hell of long time though( I still hate you guys though,hahaha), to name a few.
Well the positive thing is there has been a fair number of views, if not posts. It's ok not to post if you have nothing to say, just as long as you learn something from this. Fans in Malaysia are not as pressured to know about their clubs mainly because a huge majority don't. If you visit foreign forums though, it helps to know a little at least. If you actually visit Liverpool, Manchester or whatever, trust me, it's crucial to know something especially when you strike up a conversation with one of the locals. They will be apprehensive of course thinking you are one of those tourist type fans, but they will warm up to you when you show them you can hold your own.
TSDuke Red
post Apr 17 2007, 02:44 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(johnjenin @ Apr 17 2007, 02:18 PM)
actually when watching football match at mamak, i felt insulted if anyone 'kutuk' my club and i'll try to find back point to shoot back at their club..
I'm sure most fans will because it is a common reaction. It's the same if someone were to 'kutuk' the car you were driving. You get offended. Seldom do you see Malaysian fans engage in friendly banter like in the UK. Everyone here takes it personally as though someone just insulted their mother.
TSDuke Red
post Apr 17 2007, 02:55 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(ellimist @ Apr 17 2007, 02:46 PM)
Definately knowing some form of history/culture/whatever u wanna call it would be a good indicator,but I don't think it's particularly necessary.Some have been using the whole girlfren analogy as an example,but some ppl just like their girl for her present that they couldn't be too bothered bout digging up the past.So to speak.
Don't misunderstand. It's not only knowing about her past, it's knowing about her. Similarly it's not only knowing about the history of your football club, it's knowing about their 'personality'. Also if someone claims to be a serious/real/hardcore/whatever supporter, would they not want to find out about their club?

There is no right and wrong here. I just think the term "hard core fan" or "real fan" is often overused. Again I have to use the who relationship analogy and point out that it can only be a serious relationship if you get to know her.
TSDuke Red
post Apr 17 2007, 03:06 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Apr 17 2007, 03:02 PM)
well, imo, it's always good to know a lil bit of history about the club. It makes you look less ignorant when another person ask you about your club. just my opinion
It's ok to be ignorant and to learn from another, even if it's a rival fan. What bites me is when ignorant people pick an argument and get their facts wrong. It's ok not to know too much, just be humble.
TSDuke Red
post Apr 17 2007, 03:33 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(glozz @ Apr 17 2007, 03:30 PM)
To me; the most important criteria of being a hard-core fan would be a dedicated support to the team, but a belief in the club's principles (both football and non) as well.
I agree thoroughly with this. Supporting a club as they say, is a way of life.
TSDuke Red
post Apr 17 2007, 04:02 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Apr 17 2007, 03:54 PM)
I would say he's no Man United fan. A real/proper/hardcore/insert others here/ wouldn't even have the slightest inkling to abandon your club. Be it they're at the top or in the shits. That friend oof yours, should be shot. Would be shot I think if he's actually lived in the UK if he has that sort of principle. If you don't mind me asking, how old is your friend??? This switching club/glory hunting principle is most commonly found among kids anyways. If he's an adult, then as you said, sad, sad case...
That is the mentality of some people sadly. I was at the gym and this dude caught sight of my LFC tattoo. He obviously knows enough about football to recognise it. He then asked me, "What if you were to change clubs?". Basically says a lot about the quality of fan he is. Anyway I asked him, "Why would I ever want to change clubs?". He just shrugged his shoulders and that was that.
TSDuke Red
post Apr 18 2007, 12:30 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(befitozi @ Apr 17 2007, 05:56 PM)
start watching football at 2003 ... he dislikes ManUtd so first team he support is Milwall ... coz that time FA Cup final was manutd vs milwall.
Who the heck supports Millwall man??? biggrin.gif They are a bunch of thugs and their fans, worse! If ever there is a stadium aways fans should avoid, it's The Den. Makes the Ali Sami Yen look like a daycare centre.

QUOTE(schmeichel7 @ Apr 17 2007, 07:00 PM)
Previously during United's succesful era in early 90s, most rival fans blame United fans as full of glory hunters. From their rants in United's magazine and football magazines such as Shoot and Match, they say that most United fans are glory hunters because of the sudden increase of supporters. They say these type of fans will behave like rats deserting a sinking ship later...
Can't be helped unfortunately. Man Utd has been marketed as a brand especially in Asia and most fans treat the club like one. I've seen many people wearing Man Utd kits walking about when their game is on. Dare I say it's cool to be seen wearing a Man Utd kit. The same will happen to other clubs like Chelsea, Liverpool and Arsenal as more and more businessmen enter the league and try to raise the commercial value of their teams. It's sad for football but good for business.

QUOTE(johnjenin @ Apr 17 2007, 07:37 PM)
i have my friend who truly supporting leeds even though they playing in League One.  notworthy.gif
Yeah I myself know supporters of Ipswich, Norwich, Wolves, Leeds and Southampton.

QUOTE(TheWhacker @ Apr 17 2007, 08:57 PM)
Based on all the replies here (and throughout the forums), one can tell if someone is a glory-hunter who knows nuts about football (let alone the club the person is suppporting) or a true fan.

Most of the time in the forum, you'll across members posting things like "Yeeaa, club XYZ win again! rclxms.gif rclxms.gif", "Club ABC will win 9-0" "OMMGGXASDD !!!! What is coach 123 doing? We Lost !!!!"

There's notthing wrong with posting the above replies. IMHO, a glory-hunter will only post this kinda stuff. Why ? It doesn't related to the club at all.

Why did the team took all 3 points ? It because the right tactics was deployed ? Right team selection ?

Why did the team lost ? Players getting tired ? Key players missing ?

Why will the team win 9-0 ? The other team got injury problems or missing key players ? Player ABC is super on form now ?

Only a true fan can answer those questions above because the person knows inside and outside of the club.

Like what air_mood posted, supporting a football club is like dating a girl. Why is she angry ? Why is she being quiet ? A true BF will take all this question into account if those things did happen to the girl .... instead of going around bragging "I have a hot chick man !!!"

That's just my 2 cents  smile.gif
I thoroughly agree with everything you've posted. It doesn't just happen in the football forum though. These days forums are being treated like chat channels. Less and less effort is put into posts. I remember certain posters beaming with pride at the amount of posts their thread has but to me, it's more about the quality of posts rather than the quantity.

QUOTE(aw13 @ Apr 17 2007, 10:06 PM)
No i dont think so man, when we win our third in a row maybe but not when you win your 6th...btw i changed my avatar maybe that's why u didn't 'recognise' me...
You're right man, didn't notice you changed avatar. If you're afraid of someone seeing, get one on your ass.

QUOTE(air_mood @ Apr 18 2007, 11:06 AM)
Why and oh God why must you tempt me like this?? See, I can't resist having a go at them now.

Does anyone not see the irony of a Chelski fan on this thread agreeing with the fact that knowing history is 1 of the non important things???hahaha
Well as TS I have to be diplomatic.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Apr 18 2007, 12:38 PM
TSDuke Red
post Apr 18 2007, 12:37 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(jdreamer @ Apr 18 2007, 12:18 PM)
Roman's take over is like a dream to me and I'm pretty sure that all of us, the Chelsea supporters are delighted about it. It's not our fault for Roman to buy over. It's not us who ask him to buy the club. We can't stop him either.

Alright. I maybe young and probably one of the youngest supporters here but I start to support Chelsea before Roman comes. Call me glory hunter or not, as you like. But you know.. to call all of the Chelsea fans as glory hunters is simply too unfair for those who start supporting them before they start winning cups like the other clubs do.

P/s: Blue is the colour! smile.gif
I understand the excitement over having bags of money to spend on transfers. I'd be lying if I said I'm not looking forward to who Rafa brings in next season now that we have a reasonable amount in the transfer kitty. My first reaction though was one of disappointment. By selling the club to Americans, I felt as though we were selling our soul. The same can be said about many Man Utd fans. My uncle who lives in the UK sold his shares immediately. I've said before that I support LFC for it's traditions and values, all which could be forgotten under new ownership, especially when we accumulate more and more fans. Even the infamous 'Bootroom' is no longer and now the Moores family legacy has come to an end. It said a lot when Moores wept after selling the club he loves but he knew he had to do it for it's best interest. My only consolation is that Mr. Hicks and Mr. Gillett have promised to preserve the clubs tradition, culture and values. Only time will tell if they live up to it.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Apr 18 2007, 12:44 PM
TSDuke Red
post Apr 18 2007, 12:43 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Apr 18 2007, 12:34 PM)
C'mon Duke, join the dark side...you know you want to.

And what's with the praising C. Ronaldo on the PFA Player Of The Year thread?? As a pool fan, you're obligated to say Gerrard/Crouch/Alonso/Agger/Carragher is the best. Although credit to you for giving credit where credit is due.

You must be really hating yourself ehh?? Next we know you'll be singing Glory,Glory Man United. Haha.
I may be a Liverpool fan but I am also a football fan. As a football fan, I have to give credit where it's due. I understand fans are supposed to be biased but being deluded is quite another thing. Perhaps that's why they say Liverpool fans are the most knowledgeable tongue.gif I hate you mancs with passion but I do respect you.

QUOTE(aw13 @ Apr 18 2007, 12:36 PM)
Nope not afraid of someone seeing very much like you an exhibitionist!  haha no worries man definitely will re-think when we win our third in a row AND the Quad this season!  smile.gif
I'm not shy to show my allegiance if that's what you are getting it. Anyone can swap kits when they decide to jump onto another bandwagon. I derive extreme pleasure from displaying my loyalty especially to glory hunters biggrin.gif

Added on April 18, 2007, 12:46 pm
QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Apr 18 2007, 12:42 PM)
why ppl here comparing football club with gf/wife.Aren't they totally different thing at all?
It's called an analogy:

"An analogy is a comparison between two different things, in order to highlight some form of similarity."
- wikipedia

QUOTE(verx @ Apr 18 2007, 12:43 PM)
If that happened Liverpool fans would be up in arms!
Just noticed that! Have corrected myself. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Apr 18 2007, 12:46 PM
TSDuke Red
post Apr 18 2007, 01:00 PM

6,112 posts

QUOTE(air_mood @ Apr 18 2007, 12:55 PM)
Haha, that's the difference between us fans in Malaysia and those in UK. We love our clubs to bits but we'll give credit where credit is due. And we don't see the need to kill fellow fans or players over disagreement on club rivalry like that taxi driver you met on your trip there earlier this month.
That was one scary dude. I can understand why the rivalry over in the UK is so intense. When fans take the piss out of each other, it often touches a nerve, like when they sing songs that make fun of the Munich Air Disaster or Hillsborough. Many of these fans have lost family members or friends to these tragedies and you can't blame them for wanting to pummel the opposition for disrespecting them.

Added on April 18, 2007, 1:01 pm
QUOTE(7chai @ Apr 18 2007, 12:56 PM)
Let just say I support Liverpool for like 12 years till now so its that count as real fan ?
Hard to say, it's not about how long you've been a fan. Read some of the posts and come up with your own conclusion.

This post has been edited by Duke Red: Apr 18 2007, 01:01 PM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0371sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:31 AM