advise needed, handshaking, dslr

TSzeroexz
post Apr 15 2007, 11:15 PM, updated 19y ago

283 posts

hi

i m new n would wan to try dslr. however due to my health problem(i hv hyperthyroidism), my hand will always be slighty shaking.

so izzit possible for me if i wan to play dslr? i asked this question around in another forum and i was advised not to use slow shutter speed if i m taking pics with hand or just go for camera which hv stabilizer, ie sony a100. however tats out of my budget as i oni hv enough money to get nikon d40(partly bcoz i m a newbie too, dun wan to buy so good camera 1st tongue.gif )

can u guys advise me abit? thkz in advance smile.gif
TeraPox
post Apr 15 2007, 11:17 PM

961 posts

dear noobie...

altho' i'm not a pro (yet). but i advice u to go for either canon 400d or sony a100...
D40 is for created to cheat students money la... alot of limitation..must well. buy a prosumer from fujifilm...
Evirober
post Apr 15 2007, 11:22 PM

636 posts

TeraPox: wah... careful u might get flamed for what you just said. I for 1 dont think Nikon cheated peoples money. I believe you get what you paid for.
yewkhuay
post Apr 15 2007, 11:28 PM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

QUOTE(zeroexz @ Apr 15 2007, 11:15 PM)
hi

i m new n would wan to try dslr. however due to my health problem(i hv hyperthyroidism), my hand will always be slighty shaking.

so izzit possible for me if i wan to play dslr? i asked this question around in another forum and i was advised not to use slow shutter speed if i m taking pics with hand or just go for camera which hv stabilizer, ie sony a100. however tats out of my budget as i oni hv enough money to get nikon d40(partly bcoz i m a newbie too, dun wan to buy so good camera 1st tongue.gif )

hold with 2hands oso shake? then if slow shutter speed use tripod loo....smile.gif
other than tht, VR or IS lens is handy...but pricey....
welcome to then dark side , anytime...smile.gif
TSzeroexz
post Apr 15 2007, 11:46 PM

283 posts

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Apr 15 2007, 11:17 PM)
dear noobie...

altho' i'm not a pro (yet). but i advice u to go for either canon 400d or sony a100...
D40 is for created to cheat students money la... alot of limitation..must well. buy a prosumer from fujifilm...
oic...
how bout the hand shaking issue, u hv any idea bout it?

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Apr 15 2007, 11:28 PM)
hold with 2hands oso shake? then if slow shutter speed use tripod loo....smile.gif
other than tht, VR or IS lens is handy...but pricey....
welcome to then dark side , anytime...smile.gif
yea...both hand shaking
lolx~yea...its really pricey...
how bout wut if i pick a100, does the stabilizer help?but if m not mistaken a100 got more limitation in selecting lenses rite?
yewkhuay
post Apr 15 2007, 11:58 PM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

stabilizer just fine for normal shake while pressing shutter , don't think hand shake can be stabilised. i suggest u go try out the camera urself to find out if it really help...if not...tripod...
goldfries
post Apr 15 2007, 11:59 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

zeroexz, hand-shake issues happen to all of us.

even with the IS on A100 / K100D - it only helps to a certain extent. using tele lens and having the shutter open too long would still result in blurry images.

that said, don't let your hands limit you. there's always a tripod. if not, just use any stable object to support it.

i don't think you should worry about your hand issue, just fiddle around to find how to set the camera to work for your weakness, find out kind of shots are those settings good for. smile.gif

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Apr 15 2007, 11:17 PM)

i personally think you're talking crap. for an RM 2.1k camera - what else are you expecting? you still can use AF-I / AF-S lens.

it would've been better off to forward the reader to http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/363309
TeraPox
post Apr 16 2007, 12:03 AM

961 posts

dear nikon users...

i apologize for i've said.. actually... its a guy from a photo shop told me this... and his pushed me to get a 400D..(and he success)

so i just relay his opinion only bah.. dun flam me arr..
scorgio
post Apr 16 2007, 12:47 AM

4,695 posts

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Apr 16 2007, 12:03 AM)
dear nikon users...

i apologize for i've said.. actually... its a guy from a photo shop told me this... and his pushed me to get a 400D..(and he success)

Probably Canon offered more incentive.
Btw, don't say something so extreme without trying it out 1st.
The D40 kit comes with a very good kit lens (much better compared to what Canon has to offer). It's light, it's cute, it's user-friendly, it's adequately built.
If you're a new to Nikon without any old screw-driven lenses, it's not a bad choice.
Cos a D40 + 18-200mm VR makes the best travel combo.
goldfries
post Apr 16 2007, 12:50 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

what i liked about the D40 is the size, smaller body compared to D70 / D80. smile.gif
greyPJ
post Apr 16 2007, 07:19 AM

artificially stupid
3,169 posts

hi

this guy John_Reed has the same medical condition as you, see this thread
http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp...essage=21507038

the OIS in panasonic really makes a difference.
clemong_888
post Apr 16 2007, 07:31 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

@threadstarter

i suggest you to go to any camera shop and try out the cameras there. fiddle with, press the shutter, take a few pics, etc.. see if the images turn out alright.

if hand-shake is either, i suggest a tripod with remote setup, reduces handshake alot, but u'll be confined to more stationary shots.

nothing is impossible smile.gif
TSzeroexz
post Apr 16 2007, 08:06 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Apr 15 2007, 11:58 PM)
stabilizer just fine for normal shake while pressing shutter , don't think hand shake can be stabilised. i suggest u go try out the camera urself to find out if it really help...if not...tripod...
hmm...ic... thkz for ur advice biggrin.gif
i will spend sum time playing around cameras in the shop before end up purchasing

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 15 2007, 11:59 PM)
zeroexz, hand-shake issues happen to all of us.

even with the IS on A100 / K100D - it only helps to a certain extent. using tele lens and having the shutter open too long would still result in blurry images.

that said, don't let your hands limit you. there's always a tripod. if not, just use any stable object to support it.

i don't think you should worry about your hand issue, just fiddle around to find how to set the camera to work for your weakness, find out kind of shots are those settings good for. smile.gif
i personally think you're talking crap. for an RM 2.1k camera - what else are you expecting? you still can use AF-I / AF-S lens.

it would've been better off to forward the reader to http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/363309
ic....i will visits cam shop to have a try 1st n see how it works then
thkz for ur advice which encourage me more to getting dslr smile.gif

QUOTE(scorgio @ Apr 16 2007, 12:47 AM)
Probably Canon offered more incentive.
Btw, don't say something so extreme without trying it out 1st.
The D40 kit comes with a very good kit lens (much better compared to what Canon has to offer). It's light, it's cute, it's user-friendly, it's adequately built.
If you're a new to Nikon without any old screw-driven lenses, it's not a bad choice.
Cos a D40 + 18-200mm VR makes the best travel combo.
i like the D40 combo + 18-200mm VR combo u mentioned, but the VR lense is like 3k rrite...its kinda expensive
but to certain extend, i also like the compact size which d40 would offer

QUOTE(greyPJ @ Apr 16 2007, 07:19 AM)
this guy John_Reed has the same medical condition as you, see this thread
http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp...essage=21507038

the OIS in panasonic really makes a difference.
oh...thkz for sharing
i think it really make a difference....

QUOTE(clemong_888 @ Apr 16 2007, 07:31 AM)
@threadstarter

i suggest you to go to any camera shop and try out the cameras there. fiddle with, press the shutter, take a few pics, etc.. see if the images turn out alright.

if hand-shake is either, i suggest a tripod with remote setup, reduces handshake alot, but u'll be confined to more stationary shots.

nothing is impossible smile.gif
thkz for ur advice....i will make an atempt to try cameras 1st before purchasing.

p/s i like the nothing is impossible motto tongue.gif
Gadget_Freak
post Apr 16 2007, 08:40 AM

414 posts

Get the D40, dun worry if u are newbie. The kit lens is very good (sharp and fast AF) and if u are in tight budget, this camera suit u well and probably u can invest on 55-200VR if u can't afford 18-200VR but u lose the conveniency.

And the D40 is designed for consumer from PnS or prosumer. The JPEG processing quality is very good, better than D80, good WB and good ISO performance.

sinister
post Apr 16 2007, 10:36 AM

963 posts

If i were u just get a tripod or monopod if ur hand shakes to much
scotty
post Apr 16 2007, 12:17 PM

THX Certified Conman
4,380 posts

QUOTE(TeraPox @ Apr 16 2007, 12:03 AM)
dear nikon users...

if i'm the store owner. i'll sell you whateva make the most profit out of it.

dear TS. get the sony alpha 100. it will help alot
vincent_audio
post Apr 16 2007, 06:08 PM

1,161 posts

get a tripod + remote, should solve ur problem
aba9785
post Apr 16 2007, 09:10 PM

el aba9785
743 posts

QUOTE(zeroexz @ Apr 15 2007, 11:46 PM)
oic...
how bout the hand shaking issue, u hv any idea bout it?
yea...both hand shaking
lolx~yea...its really pricey...
how bout wut if i pick a100, does the stabilizer help?but if m not mistaken a100 got more limitation in selecting lenses rite?
well...i would suggest that u use tripod most of the time
get a good tripod, but it will be pricey

then something like Xtend-a-View
http://photosolve.com/main/index.html
http://www.bermangraphics.com/coolpix/cpsunlight.htm

dont forget to use a remote or the self-timer to trigger the shutter button.
enjoy photography
g88
post Apr 16 2007, 11:02 PM

1,631 posts

like been said, don't worry..as long you still have hands than you can play DSLR tongue.gif. (joking and no offence to anyone)
macg
post Apr 17 2007, 09:29 AM

20 posts

My hand shakes a bit too, so to sort of overcome it I used tripod and timer to take those shots.

0.0251sec    0.28    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:47 AM