6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Personal Trav's snipe & snap with D40, Honda F1 Roadshow, model pic uploaded!

ac98
post May 5 2007, 11:31 AM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

I shot Mei Koay when it wasn't raining ... when it rained I shot Cheryl wub.gif
ac98
post May 7 2007, 01:03 AM

3,758 posts

A very tiring but meaningful event shoot doesn't it? I had lotsa fun too. You really had to work on the dancing part, not easy as well, but it takes lotsa eye-to-hands coordination. I've done crap like podium dancing for clubs and it's even worst than this ... these are non-dancers shaking their bom-boms, wait till you see professional dancers!

Thanks for sharing! smile.gif
ac98
post May 7 2007, 01:45 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ May 7 2007, 01:09 AM)
FYI the USTC is one of the most challenging photography events i ever participated, apart of playing night shots with a DSLR, and of coz the dancing queens event which really i pushed my cam to the max.

Apart of my shutter speed not enough my focusing is also suffered as well. Due to these weakness proves an justification that my my D40 has reached its limitations and i may need a mid range DSLR in the future.

Still i enjoy my photography session. smile.gif Thanks for ur views and comments and in few weeks time i shall post again my pics from bangkok! notworthy.gif
I second that as well. That is one of the learning curve of photography. You will never know your camera's limitations until you worked it to the max, that was one of the reasons why I chose the Canon EOS 1D with my limited budget instead of getting a mid-range Canon DSLR. On one hand I can buy a used professional model and on the other hand I can get a brand new mid-range Canon DSLR or a entry level Canon DSLR with extra used lenses. I chose the former coz it really helps in various shooting conditions and the camera had stood its test of time (the Canon EOS 1D is 6-years old and still have first hand owners all over the world).

It is when a man had hit a wall that he will consider to either move on or stay put. Are you happy with what you have now? If not ... then upgrade! brows.gif
ac98
post May 7 2007, 07:50 AM

3,758 posts

USTC in Bangkok? OMG!! laugh.gif
One event why cannot hit the wall ? D40 what you think what! The earlier you hit the wall the faster Nikon can make your money tongue.gif
ac98
post May 7 2007, 03:14 PM

3,758 posts

If you're waiting for someone to throw a D2X at you, most probably it will only happen in your dreams but dun wake up with your forehead bengkak laugh.gif

Shinchan is not a promoter ... but can consider a hardcore user, haha! He dun promote only by mouth but by result and so far so very good! laugh.gif
ac98
post May 7 2007, 04:41 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ May 7 2007, 03:30 PM)
used for one event and say reach limitation? i have so many grudges with my 350D and i'm still using it eventhough i'm itching to upgrade.
That is becoz you didn't goto USTC haven't hit a wall ... tongue.gif

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ May 7 2007, 03:31 PM)
but i m seeing myself jumping backwards instead of upgrading laugh.gif
You different ... can shoot well with ANY (camera) model whistling.gif
ac98
post May 8 2007, 02:10 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(diwant @ May 7 2007, 11:08 PM)
Well, it seems that u've set your foundation very clear already.. happy shooting and keep posting..
P/s: Pls dun say 'I want to improve', and then disappear after 3 weeks.. tongue.gif  joking mate
How to disappear ... gi vacation pun datang forum posting .. whistling.gif laugh.gif
I would do the same if I were you also, haha! rclxm9.gif
ac98
post May 9 2007, 04:46 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(diwant @ May 8 2007, 09:52 PM)
hahha... semangat photography. that's what we want..! rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
I still remember last time I have two shooting buddies and they came out with these terms :

1. Ppl who swear by Av and TV - The Aperturians and Shutterians
2. Ppl who scorns both and uses only the Manual Mode - The MANUALIST!

I make one more term now for everyone to use ... "Semangat Kefotografian" laugh.gif
ac98
post May 17 2007, 11:51 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ May 17 2007, 11:03 PM)
Guys i just back from an amazing trip in Bangkok! For sure i will upload some of the pics taken from my 5 day adventures from bangkok, Thailand.

For starters, here one black and white pic taken at the river, on route to wat Arun.
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/1148/bangkok1no8.jpg
So dark one? Bad weather?
ac98
post May 20 2007, 01:52 AM

3,758 posts

Ohhhhhh you're hiding somewhere there it seems, never tegur me also, action-lar dry.gif
ac98
post May 20 2007, 02:02 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ May 20 2007, 01:58 AM)
Next time must join u for such events liao, i dont wanna be lone wolf aledi. Btw u stayed until the finals? Who won the cover girl?
You didn't see me? I was the one with the light brown camera vest ... somemore Canon EOS 1D, oldest camera in the entire Autofiesta! dry.gif

ac98
post May 20 2007, 02:04 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ May 20 2007, 02:00 AM)
lol blowing that time
he was there
I told jokes and everyone laughed like shit, many photographers are so damn quiet and tensed like shooting a FUNERAL doh.gif
ac98
post May 20 2007, 02:47 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ May 20 2007, 02:17 AM)
Are you in red shirt? I saw there one dude in red shirt with a huge canon cam.
Well photographers wanted to focus mah, unlike u pro aledi whistling.gif
Canon cameras closest to my size are newer EOS 1-series or 10D/20D/30D with battery grip .. also cannot recognize meh? We're supposed to have fun during shoots, dun put on a flat expression or sulky face when you shoot girls, create a happy environment ... then baru amoi wanna pose more for you mah tongue.gif
ac98
post May 20 2007, 07:38 PM

3,758 posts

Wahhh ... you bohsui-lar you .... shoot other girls all blur and shakey, shoot minachi soooooooooooooooo sharp! tongue.gif
ac98
post Jun 17 2007, 09:06 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Jun 16 2007, 10:19 PM)
NEW: SUPER GT ROADSHOW, Berjaya Times Square!

Vol 1: 50mm 1.8D in action
Vol 2: Local race queens
Vol 3: Super Gt race queens: Aki & Momo

now i present u Vol 1: 50mm 1.8D in action. This contains pics taken using the 50mm prime lens, and i using it for the 1st time. I would appreciate some C&C coz i need to learn what i lacking from my pics. Seriously i have a hard time taking pics using 50mm lens. sweat.gif

As u can see the last 2 pics i was suffering from overexpose. I wonder what i need to prevent this?
My advice to you is use P-mode, dun dabble with Manual mode and manual focusing if you're working under stressful environments like event portraits coz if you're not extremely familiar with your camera, it'll wreck your images.
ac98
post Jun 17 2007, 10:18 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(diwant @ Jun 17 2007, 10:01 PM)
yeah i believe so.. but why play around with Manual mode in the first place? issit becoz the D40 built-in motor thing??

Your pictures were ruined quite bad it seems.. wait to the next roadshow.. hehe
Oh he is using Nikon D40 I forgot doh.gif
Patutlah manual focusing adoii ... time to change body already brows.gif
ac98
post Jun 17 2007, 10:42 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Jun 17 2007, 10:19 PM)
I was using p mode and A mode most of the time while using the 50mm lens. I did tried using M mode which make me puke blood.

As afs mentioned, the problem is its hard to focus when the subject  is keep on moving and posing different pose constantly. That explains only the pros can use 50mm lens for such events, and the majority uses zoom/kit lens for such shoots.

Lesson learn. Thanks for ur words smile.gif
Next one, PC Fair, hope it is much better coz the models will stand rather than constant posing. Also hope my skills will improve. sweat.gif tongue.gif

Added on June 17, 2007, 10:22 pm
Will other cams have auto focusing for 50mm lens? unsure.gif
Professionals dun use only 50mm lenses, they're very familiar with all their lenses and their camera bodies, hence they have 1001 ways to capture good images, that's the difference between amateur and professional photography ... 'common sense' tongue.gif
ac98
post Jun 18 2007, 09:19 AM

3,758 posts

Seems like the girls enjoy getting shot by you man Travis laugh.gif
ac98
post Jun 19 2007, 10:39 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Jun 19 2007, 10:13 AM)
The next PC Fair i estimate is on August, and since most promoters are standing stationary, it will be my good oppurtunity to use my 50mm. Dont worry, we will make a "rombongan sambil belajar", ok? brows.gif (belajar improve photographylah whistling.gif )
When the promoter girls see 10 photographers pointing their camera at her and clicking away I think she will cabut lari! laugh.gif
ac98
post Jun 19 2007, 10:47 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Jun 19 2007, 10:20 AM)
Even thought the subject is stationary,

PC Fair
------------
1#. White Balance - Most of the time will be out. Carefull
2#. Indoor it is considered Low Light. Need to handheld low shutter speed
3#. Flash photography brings out attention to the surrounding and create oily face on the subject, dark background.
4#. ISO boast brings up high amount of Noises.
5# Tight area. Need lens with winder focal length.

Happy shooting .
You frighten them no point, let them come back with all the spoiled shots then only they will learn laugh.gif

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:02 PM