Whoops, wrong thread. Sorry.

This post has been edited by verced: Apr 20 2007, 06:34 PM
verced
post Apr 30 2007, 08:46 PM

168 posts

Bro,

You can add me to the list.

Error 1012, replaced the xclamp with the standard stuff.

A big thanks to Jaylike for providing the place and part no for the screws and washer. That saves me a lot of trip to the hardware store. smile.gif

The whole process is pretty simple like everyone said. There's tons of detailed guides on xbox-scene to guide you through the whole procedure.

I noticed that my xclamp's a bit off center... maybe that's why it's causing it to 3ROD? That shuriken thingy seriously looks like a stupid idea to hold the whole thing together. Maybe they're trying to save a bit of money on the screws and washers?

One question guys, after replacing the xclamp via lawdawg0931's method (non-drill), is it still safe to put it in vertical position since the CPU and GPU's section is not screwed to the metal case anymore? Mine's always in the horizontal mode, so I guess that's a non issue to me.
verced
post Apr 30 2007, 08:56 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(Gurdian @ Apr 30 2007, 08:49 PM)
just wondering,

those of you who've had the fix, is your 360 still working?

anyone have their console go back being 3ROD? or is this a 100% solution?
Can't say for sure but I guess this nails down the most popular issue most people are having with the 360, which is the xclamp. It causes the motherboard to flex around the GPU and Processors area.

However, just bear in mind that this is not the ONLY hardware problem with the 360.

verced
post Apr 30 2007, 09:05 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(Eisenmeteor @ Apr 30 2007, 08:57 PM)
Verced,how's ur console? Still got probz...
I've tested it with the ultimate stress test, GRAW2 session with silen5er, rayrossi, tonmy for around 9 hours straight. And I turned it on way before that to download some stuff from the marketplace.

The Xbox seems cooler too. Maybe it's caused by the thermal paste. The put like a gunk of it on the gpu and it's everywhere. Took me forever to clean it up.

So I guess it's working all right now. Let's just hope it stays that way. smile.gif
verced
post Apr 30 2007, 09:10 PM

168 posts

Oh yeah, just to add. Mine's less than 3 months old, not used that much, but a lot of looooooooooooong gaming hours. Then it died.

IMO, the warranty is pretty much non existent around here. It's either you go down to SG yourself (call them, they'll prepare it in 10 working days [2 weeks] : RM 160++) or you let them send it in for you (1.5 months ++ : RM 250++). If you go down yourself, you won't loose your saved games. If you send it in, they will need the whole package.

If you decided to fix it, cost is around 30++ (if you include the tools and the thermal paste), but you can kiss your warranty bye bye.

It's all up to you. smile.gif Decisions decisions.

My name's Verced, and I'm a warranty voider. Hi guys!

This post has been edited by verced: Apr 30 2007, 09:13 PM
verced
post Apr 30 2007, 09:23 PM

168 posts

If you were to send in for warranty, will you get an extension?

If you were to send it now, you will get it back in ... erm... let's say around early July. If you're really unlucky, then you xbox might not make it here and they they send it back to SG again (like what happened to Leenaz)

I don't know man, if you're gonna void your warranty, be mentally prepared that it might die. If you're not prepared to accept that, go the long road and send it in to SG.

///--

So urs already died and u fix it by xclamp instead of sending it back rite?..

My console is still ok for the moment...Hmm same manufac date as urs..Aihz..

No worries lar. Like I mentioned earlier, my xclamp a bit senget, that's why it died. If yours is still OK, don't worry about it. I don't think you should hang out in this topic too much. You're worrying over nothing.

Go get GRAW2, join us play that stupid map, then we have tons of things to worry about. smile.gif Just ask Silen5er. 9 hours man!!!! I still can't believe it.

This post has been edited by verced: Apr 30 2007, 09:26 PM
verced
post May 3 2007, 05:00 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(chinsc @ May 3 2007, 12:50 AM)
but there is no picture at all... or should i change back to normal composite cable?
http://www.llamma.com/xbox360/repair/Xbox-...error-codes.htm

You need to press the wireless + eject button to view the error code, need not to change cable.
verced
post May 6 2007, 03:59 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(tifosi2401 @ May 5 2007, 11:35 PM)
WTF!!!!! My 360 just got 3ROD...n i've been taking care of it better than i took care of my gf...f**k B***h.....

i've checked the error code...it's error 0102...n  i've went thru this thread and it's the error code which (so far) can be fixed using the x-clamp thingy....my console is 9 mths old by the way...i bought it on Gamer's Hideout soft opening day along wh Zeliant and Imsiebel IINM....i've read this whole thread n it's a pain in the ass to send the thing back to SG based on what Verced went thru....

so i've decided to try with the x-clamp operation n void the warranty....go to H*** wh MS warranty...if it cannot be fixed i'll retire from gaming for a while...i cant do the operation myself cos i'm very not technically fluent...i just know how to use but dunno about the ins n out of the system i'm using....in short i'm a computer dummy  smile.gif

bro tot31, metalgrindsolid n Djinn....i'm gonna PM you after this on how to send my 360 to u...nway my no is 012 604 8725 and my yahoomail is rizal1912@yahoo.com....please do sms me/call me about how to send my 360 to u....tension la b4 this streamyx down soo many times so wasted already my xbox live now this 3ROD pulak....haiya....
Aik, you pun kena ke? Sorry to hear that man.
verced
post May 18 2007, 02:20 PM

168 posts

Bro, you're not in Malaysia now?
verced
post May 18 2007, 10:27 PM

168 posts

It's one way to confirm that your machine's fixable via xclamp replacement.

If you can make it work for a while, that means it's just the flexing doing its thing. If you were to replace the xclamp, your xbox should be fine.
verced
post Jun 7 2007, 03:26 PM

168 posts

Where do you guys get Arctic silver from?
verced
post Jun 7 2007, 03:31 PM

168 posts

Can you gimme the name of the shop?

Went to Lowyat once (quite some time ago), had a hard time finding the dang thing. Thanks!

0.0423sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:54 PM