Technical LIVE after Death...Revival SPELL?, Revived=80 3ROD Again=9 R3RODR=7

SUSMightySmiter
post Apr 24 2007, 09:03 PM

471 posts

hi fellas,
ive been missing from the xbox scene for quite a while already due to a heavy semester
unfortunately, today when i turned my baby on, my 360 started displaying whitish transparent verticle lines.

VGA problem?HD problem? rclxub.gif
This happens during gameplay only and not during the blade menu interface...any idea whats wrong? i already pmed bro tot, now hope he can help..lol

360 not even 1 year old, bought june 6th last year from Djinn laugh.gif
asian console, so no transformer
pls point me in the right direction if there is any notworthy.gif

-----------------------

lol latest update, now when i turn on my machine, theres a red light on the lower right quadrant of the 360 (Horizontal position) and Error 74 code is displayed....already tried running it without the HD...still the same doh.gif

This post has been edited by MightySmiter: Apr 24 2007, 09:51 PM
SUSMightySmiter
post Apr 25 2007, 02:13 AM

471 posts

QUOTE(-= Virgil =- @ Apr 25 2007, 01:42 AM)
No problem... Its for the Xbox Community afterall, if this can help it grow then i really dont mind helping out.

@mightysmiter - When did you get the white thick lines? Issit when you are playing a game halfway and the lines appear, then once you off-on it, the 1 ROL lights up? I read from the xbox.com forum that one person gotten it and it eventually lead to 3ROL.. Maybe you can try the x-clamp but then i think only use the method as a last resort. If it is still under warranty why dont just exchange it...
well, the fuzzy verticle lines only appear during gameplay
but as already said above, i cant even turn on my machine anymore..lol
when i turn it on, straight away got 1 red light at the lower right quadrant of the rings
warranty gone liao...this june 6th will be one year..lol my machine died even before its birthday tongue.gif
SUSMightySmiter
post Apr 25 2007, 09:23 AM

471 posts

QUOTE(zc_squash @ Apr 25 2007, 02:14 AM)
i started a thread here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/445019

i posted some of the photos too. check them out and see if that is wot u mean by the vertical lines. and we might juz be in the same boat man.
hehe, the status of my machine now is its unable to even start, but instead of the 3 ROD i get 1 red flashing light on the lower right quadrant of the rings

im guessing the HaNa/Ana chips Djinn mentioned earlier are busted...or maybe even the GPU coz i already tried it with a friends AV cable...no luck doh.gif

any one here who can fix 1ROD instead of 3ROD?should be 3 times simpler right?lol
SUSMightySmiter
post Apr 25 2007, 10:16 AM

471 posts

QUOTE(judge-the @ Apr 25 2007, 09:30 AM)
alamak... why one by one lah all of us... it's like a time bomb lah sad.gif
lol yealah judge...its actually an atrocity that so many 360s break and its not like we play catch with the damn console...heck, im so kiasu about mine that i never play more than 3 hours at one go(hence ive never got some achievments like dead risings 16 hour real life thingy)

anyways, ive already posted up in the pasar malam..see who wants to buy my broken console for 900 bucks and go fix it themselves...mircrosoft, u lost a customer right here.
why? well, explain to me how isit that my Atari still works fine laugh.gif
SUSMightySmiter
post Apr 25 2007, 05:28 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(-= Virgil =- @ Apr 25 2007, 11:55 AM)
Actually if you dont mind speedy work, i can take a look at your console. So if you can leave your console with me for a week, i will remove the x-clamp and see how it goes.
whats "speedy work"? lol im not familiar with xbox360 repairing jargon, wheres ur location btw?

anyways, i just wanted to ask u guys, because actually dunno if my case can be considered as a 3ROD case...like i already said, its 1ROD
can the x-clamp method work on this too?
SUSMightySmiter
post Apr 26 2007, 08:32 PM

471 posts

hehe...sending in my machine for resuscitation tmrw to bro virgil and hope that i get a zombie console like u guys cool2.gif

maybe im just paranoid, but due to the fact the 1ROD seems so rare, ive got this feeling its more dangerous the 3ROD sweat.gif
SUSMightySmiter
post Apr 26 2007, 09:41 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Apr 26 2007, 09:33 PM)
any sifu can enlighten me abit. after removing the x-clamp, did you guys run the console for 2 minutes without the heatsink? according to the LAWDAWG0931 method, this will repair the solder. this is for console already hit by 3ROD.
what i heard is your console is back alive already. whistling.gif
lol what?? back from the dead already?? no way brudder..its sitting pretty on my table right now..and the both of us are staring at one another with the utmost contempt...stupid sexy flimsy machine!! mad.gif can we like all chip in to hire a lawyer to sue microsoft for producing defected machines...or rather..machines that seem softer than tissue paper?
SUSMightySmiter
post Apr 28 2007, 02:19 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(-= Virgil =- @ Apr 28 2007, 01:14 PM)
laugh.gif Finally you found out eh tongue.gif I heard that your console got 3ROD? You want me to fix it for you? I can give you special friend discount biggrin.gif thumbup.gif  rclxms.gif

Btw, look who is back in action?

No better stress test than Dead Rising !!  rclxms.gif

Error E74 solved! Hurray!
Btw, i am risking my scratch-less and super shiny Dead Rising disc on your console, if anything happens.... i am gonna feed you to the zombies  brows.gif

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

@Bro Silencer - Please add 2 console to the list. All fixed by me nod.gif

1st console - 3ROD Error 0020
2nd console - Error E74 (dont bother to check for error code tongue.gif )
ZOMG Virgil! cry.gif
u fixed it....u keep it thumbup.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
isit currently running a stress test?
*dances to the Raindrops keep falling on my head song*

This post has been edited by MightySmiter: Apr 28 2007, 02:20 PM
SUSMightySmiter
post Apr 28 2007, 03:01 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(hikaru_x @ Apr 28 2007, 02:40 PM)
wow, many ppl resurrected... much respect to those who helped the 3rod victims.

i'd like to contribute too... anyone need x-clamp replacement supplies (im in Penang btw) can PM me. I can get those nylon washers, stainless steel washers & machine screws (Philips or Allen) at bulk price. I'm not offering the actual x-clamp replacement service tho, nvr repair 3rod before  blush.gif
Vivaldi's and my machines were actually 1ROD...lower right quadrant

and im just curious, now that the X-clamp is not longer there....err...no side effects?
if not...why the heck was it there in the first place?
its like having a square shaped spare tire in the booth of your car
SUSMightySmiter
post Apr 28 2007, 05:49 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(zc_squash @ Apr 28 2007, 04:55 PM)
the x-clamp was actually an ingenious design from MS.
It's actually a timebomb... And they designed them in such a way that it will only 'explode' a year from date of purchase.
SMART  blush.gif
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif well, if thats true then the fuse on my time bomb must have been too short...my console is barely 10 months old rclxub.gif
no one knows what those clamps are actually for huh...perhaps i'll write to microsoft nod.gif

err virgil?do i get back those X-clamps?they would be quite useful to throw at those darn cats who come into my compound to take a crap laugh.gif
SUSMightySmiter
post Apr 28 2007, 06:32 PM

471 posts

@ Djinn and Imsiebel
lol obviously the both of you have never experienced this huh
tell u what...the both of you are in luck..i should get back TWO X-clamps..i'll pass em to both of u..and everymorning, i'll drop by your place to take a dump, and lets see if u can hold on to those clamps..lol laugh.gif

on a more serious note, ive just been browsing on the ways people are fixing their 360s, and i saw one dude using erasers as heat absorbants! shocking.gif
trying to look for how long the X-clamp method lasts..but no luck yet hmm.gif
SUSMightySmiter
post Apr 28 2007, 06:41 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(DjiNn @ Apr 28 2007, 06:35 PM)
doh.gif you can't take a joke izzit ? tongue.gif 

anyway, teh eraser fix is for the memory only. and its simple smile.gif

I put heatsink for my fix. laugh.gif
laugh.gif they do look like they could fly if u know how to throw a boomerang.
i know its a joke leh icon_rolleyes.gif
would u recommend putting the erasers there just as a precaution? even tho there is no problem with the 360s memory?
so far the longest surviving 360 zombie from the x-clamp fix is apparently a month nod.gif
just pray Frank West doesnt turn up sweat.gif

This post has been edited by MightySmiter: Apr 28 2007, 06:41 PM
SUSMightySmiter
post Apr 30 2007, 07:19 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Apr 30 2007, 05:10 PM)
hallelujah!
hallelujah!
hallelujah!
hallelujah!

finally my 360 is back from the dead! i'm going out now so no time to do the stress test. later tonite will do it.

thanks alot to bro Virgil will all the advise and guidance, otherwise i'm sure lost on how to do it. look for him if you need fix on 3ROD. notworthy.gif

again, YES!!! biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Added on April 30, 2007, 5:30 pmbtw, error code 0102. fixed using without drill method.
hah...i just got mine back today from Virgil too...if only i had a hat id lift it off to him notworthy.gif notworthy.gif also didnt use the drill method
great price, and and really friendly laugh.gif
i got back the X-clamps from him and i must admit..im friggin surpised at how bent that piece of metal is shocking.gif shocking.gif

This post has been edited by MightySmiter: Apr 30 2007, 07:21 PM
SUSMightySmiter
post May 1 2007, 11:45 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(shumaky @ May 1 2007, 09:12 PM)
send my unit to go under the knife torx screwdriver with virgil.
Hoping for the best.
Virgil did an excellent job turning my 360 into a stinking undead 360, but hey, at least its still crawling around laugh.gif should be fine Shumaky, hes already fixed quite a few as far as i know nod.gif

SUSMightySmiter
post May 2 2007, 12:47 AM

471 posts

QUOTE(Gurdian @ May 2 2007, 12:18 AM)
i'm located at ss1, pj.

any 'ressurectors' to recommend?
again...Virgil...lol if im not mistaken he stays around that location...
SUSMightySmiter
post May 4 2007, 08:39 AM

471 posts

QUOTE(shumaky @ May 3 2007, 11:48 PM)
Sweet.. got back my unit from -virgil-, thx for sending it to my place man.
Its up n running now..smile.gif downloading the C&C documentary now.. will play some games later.
grats shumaky thumbup.gif zombie 360s ftw! laugh.gif
SUSMightySmiter
post May 5 2007, 10:05 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(XP750 @ May 5 2007, 09:37 PM)
AARGGGGGHHHHHHH!!!!!!! WTF!!!!!!!???????
MY SECOND 360 GOT 3ROD JUST NOW WHEN I TURNED IT ON!!!!!!!
damn it....two 360s in a row....really bad luck...
what should i do? its still under warranty..
should i bring it back to singapore or just do the x-clamp method?
so damn pissed.... vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
didn't even get to play the new maps i've downloaded..
-------------------------> Virgil
im gonna ask him to pay me for this advertisement

anyways...pm him, he did a pretty good job reviving my 360, but seeing that yours is still under waranty, why not go for a 1 to 1 exchange? whats the error code btw?
SUSMightySmiter
post May 5 2007, 10:22 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(XP750 @ May 5 2007, 10:16 PM)
the error code is 0102, just like my previous 360
oh ya, need to know some things,
will the one to one exchange be done in a day?
any procedures to be done?

haha just get one, its worth the risk biggrin.gif
it depends on the error code, but most error codes seem to be fixable with replacing the x-clamp.
Virgil did mine in a day..but i dont think rushing would be wise nod.gif
and the way i saw my x-clamps bent, i think its a matter of time before the 360 gets busted again (the heat makes the x-clamps bend, yea they are made of metal so the expand/contract depending on extreme temperatures, thus they press/pull against the motherboard causing the 3ROD or in my case 1ROD to happen)

im not sure about the 1 to 1 exchange...i think it should be a day, just bring ur machine and change for a new one right? laugh.gif
SUSMightySmiter
post May 7 2007, 08:55 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ May 7 2007, 07:44 PM)
The shop that I usually buy from has altogether 26 units of XBOX 360  with the 3ROD problems, all 26 of them lying on the floor in ICU corner. The boss also pening. I also pity him lah. It is costly to send the console back to the supplier in HK since it's freaking heavy. I guess XBOX 360 is the least profitable console of all, plague with tons of problems. They're much happier selling Wii and PS3 instead. Hahaha.
wow 26.....he can play dominoes with those....does he plan on fixing or selling any of them off?
SUSMightySmiter
post May 9 2007, 12:50 AM

471 posts

QUOTE(-= Virgil =- @ May 8 2007, 10:36 PM)
Bro Silencer, plz update,

I manage to revive chinsc's 3rol console error 0020.

icon_rolleyes.gif
nice one...grats chinsc flex.gif

0.0466sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:12 PM