Slightly "dodgy" question.....
TSBahir.
Apr 15 2007, 03:42 PM, updated 19y ago

Hey guys..i dont know if this topic will get me in trouble or anything, but im gonna ask it anyway...A long while back, I was watching an un-original DVD in my macbook when it locked up..I had to take it to a service centre, who after taking the guilty DVD out and charging me for it, told me that the macbooks cant play fakes..So my two questions are this..
1) is that true..?
2) if it is, is there anyway i can get around this "security feature" or maybe even just rip the DVD fast and store it into my HD..?
If this is a trouble topic of discussion, then please just delete it and we shall never speak of it again. Thanks.
kwekeugene
Apr 15 2007, 03:44 PM
hehe... if that's the case, wouldn't that mean that you also can't read data DVDs that let's say, u brought back from work?
TSBahir.
Apr 15 2007, 03:50 PM

Thats true but i have no problem with that....Data discs that have been burned are fine, and admittedly, after that incident, ive never tried playing a fake dvd again..any thoughts...?
xaw5126
Apr 15 2007, 03:56 PM
its basically cos the thickness of fake DVD is not guaranteed. that's the real reason the discs get stuck. too thick or too thin...  take the risk yourself
TSBahir.
Apr 15 2007, 04:00 PM

Damn...that doesnt make me feel any better..
But assuming i did try it, and it did get stuck, is there any way i can get it back out again...? Like a magical key combination or something.....?
prasys
Apr 15 2007, 04:11 PM
Heros Never Die
1) iNo.....Again , those service centre here in malaysia....<not going to say it out anyway> 2) Its just that sometimes the disc gets stucked....Read here http://guides.macrumors.com/Force_Eject_a_Stuck_CD_or_DVDhttp://silvermac.com/2006/dvd-stuck-in-macbook-pro/I suggest you to read both of them
Timber
Apr 15 2007, 05:00 PM
i got a cd-r stuck on my drive once....the key is...let the gravity does it work. While pressing the eject button, tilt your lappie sideways (the disc drive opening facing down) and it'll pop out with gravity's help.
TSBahir.
Apr 15 2007, 08:45 PM

Sorry Timber but that sounds real risky...I dunno if i wanna do that to my Macbook..but thanks for the thought though mate.
prasys
Apr 15 2007, 08:56 PM
Heros Never Die
I suggest to read up
Another method is to press The mouse key when the PC boots up , it will force the DVD out. I had this problem once. Then with the help of thick cardboard , i managed to pull it out....Thats life
xaw5126
Apr 16 2007, 10:29 AM
yes, prasys, i also used my business card to do that
Bad Cyborg
Apr 16 2007, 10:48 AM
Yeah that's one of the quirks of slot loading mechanism.
Fake DVDs... Just what did the "fake" people make these things out of? Snot, cow gum or what?
kwekeugene
Apr 16 2007, 03:41 PM
^ What do you expect? It's 8 bucks a pop ^
szekeiemme
Apr 16 2007, 05:11 PM
fake dvd wif those printed pic on it.. sometimes de print it too thick.. i accounter 1 dvd i watch.. when it spins.. it create a sound.. so i decided not to continue watchin it anymore...but lasttime my college time.. when got disc stuck.. my lec took a small pin n pose it bside de disc slot.. den it pop out like out normal disc driver its a imac.. but this mb dun hav datbutton i htink? or does it ?
xaw5126
Apr 16 2007, 05:37 PM
the slot-loading drives don't have an emergency eject button anymore.
wei
Apr 16 2007, 05:44 PM
which i still wonder why they remove it. :think:
benQue
Apr 16 2007, 05:49 PM
well ive encountered it many times before..
just restart ur mac..then when it boot, just push the eject button many times. work most of the time
TSBahir.
Apr 16 2007, 05:50 PM

Man...this sounds like its a frequent problem..Does this happen to regular disk drives..?
wei
Apr 16 2007, 05:52 PM
No, it does not happen to all my powermac tray drive. all eject fine. there's still an emergency eject button if i needed to do so.
tinkerbel
Apr 16 2007, 06:06 PM
Fanaddict!
I don't know how 'sound' what I'm gonna say is gonna be but perhaps you can exercise discretion before putting the disc into the slot - if the CD/DVD feels thicker or thinner than the norm, then don't take the risk I haven't had any problems with my CD slot thus far, *thank God*
ChopSuey
Apr 16 2007, 07:51 PM

I have always wished Apple would abandon the slot-loading drive. Sure it's cool and convenient but ... as you know.
-yap