Should I get a volvo?

TSlockheed90
post Oct 3 2017, 11:46 AM, updated 8y ago

272 posts

Currently using proton inspira..been using for 5 years now..am thinking of getting a 2nd hand volvo S60..is it worth it?

Attached image(s)
HonMun
post Oct 3 2017, 11:47 AM

Professor
1,052 posts

Yes.....god car......please proceed
MeToo
post Oct 3 2017, 11:52 AM

9,338 posts

is it worth it?

how we know if you didnt give car details and price?
teikboon
post Oct 3 2017, 12:00 PM

1,384 posts

geely you mean?
SUSdD_se7en
post Oct 3 2017, 12:02 PM

Ang! Ang! Ang!
887 posts

Volvo XC40
AmenoJaku
post Oct 3 2017, 12:09 PM

39 posts

Yes
Jackofree
post Oct 3 2017, 12:10 PM

165 posts

no, its a Geely in disguise means some parts is from china
heavenly91
post Oct 3 2017, 12:10 PM

Follow One Course Until Successful.
1,717 posts

If you're used to the affordable maintenance cost of Japanese car.
I wonder will there be a sudden surge of maintenance cost since it is a Continental car.
TSlockheed90
post Oct 3 2017, 12:12 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Oct 3 2017, 11:52 AM)
is it worth it?

how we know if you didnt give car details and price?
thats why I asked for opinion..currently surveying for the 2012-2013 models price range about RM75-90k..
TSlockheed90
post Oct 3 2017, 12:13 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(Jackofree @ Oct 3 2017, 12:10 PM)
no, its a Geely in disguise means some parts is from china
is it? meaning the car isnt reliable?
ZintanthraX
post Oct 3 2017, 12:18 PM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

QUOTE(lockheed90 @ Oct 3 2017, 11:46 AM)
Currently using proton inspira..been using for 5 years now..am thinking of getting a 2nd hand volvo S60..is it worth it?
if you can afford the maintenance and parts, go for it! used to be the car that i aimed for last time, but i don't think that i can afford to maintain it.
SUSTheHitman47
post Oct 3 2017, 12:20 PM

Nuke
1,053 posts

can i compare S60 with V60?, other than class different?.
TSlockheed90
post Oct 3 2017, 12:28 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(ZintanthraX @ Oct 3 2017, 12:18 PM)
if you can afford the maintenance and parts, go for it! used to be the car that i aimed for last time, but i don't think that i can afford to maintain it.
that got me thinking is it really expensive to maintain? because my sis use honda civic and the maintenance is also quite expensive.

looking for this car's thread in F&F but found none so far..really hope I can hear advice from the experienced owner itself
TSlockheed90
post Oct 3 2017, 12:28 PM

272 posts

QUOTE(TheHitman47 @ Oct 3 2017, 12:20 PM)
can i compare S60 with V60?, other than class different?.
I think its the same car..dont like wagons though biggrin.gif
ZintanthraX
post Oct 3 2017, 12:42 PM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

QUOTE(lockheed90 @ Oct 3 2017, 12:28 PM)
that got me thinking is it really expensive to maintain? because my sis use honda civic and the maintenance is also quite expensive.

looking for this car's thread in F&F but found none so far..really hope I can hear advice from the experienced owner itself
based on my research here in F&F and facebook, parts wise if you were to compare to civic, should be higher.

maintenance wise, if you send to their service center, should be as per the attached picture.

due to the fact that the scheduled maintenance is set at 20k, owners will send for normal oil & filter change at 10k. so this should also be calculated.

MeToo
post Oct 3 2017, 12:46 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(ZintanthraX @ Oct 3 2017, 12:42 PM)
based on my research here in F&F and facebook, parts wise if you were to compare to civic, should be higher.

maintenance wise, if you send to their service center, should be as per the attached picture.

due to the fact that the scheduled maintenance is set at 20k, owners will send for normal oil & filter change at 10k. so this should also be calculated.
Actually based on the maintenance schedule (this is all in I suppose including labour etc?) then is affordable.. no issue..

ANyone knows if Volvo sell pre-registered cars at a discount? I know Merc sometimes sellin prereg older about to discontinued model at upto 100k off for E class etc...

If I can get such deal form Volvo for S60 etc.. I'll grab it for my wife..
sitescope
post Oct 3 2017, 12:56 PM

4,499 posts

Go for it but dun servis at sc
Find bwh pokok wshop n buy part urself
netmatrix
post Oct 3 2017, 01:30 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

If you think your Civic is expensive to maintain, then you SHOULD NOT buy a Volvo. Among all continental brands, Volvo is most expensive to maintain. I have a friend that works in Federal Auto. He says jangan persoal when comes to price. The next most expensive to maintain is Audi. Then its a tie between BMW & Merc.
Ginny88
post Oct 3 2017, 04:14 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Oct 3 2017, 01:30 PM)
If you think your Civic is expensive to maintain, then you SHOULD NOT buy a Volvo. Among all continental brands, Volvo is most expensive to maintain. I have a friend that works in Federal Auto. He says jangan persoal when comes to price. The next most expensive to maintain is Audi. Then its a tie between BMW & Merc.
Really agree with you. If TS finds a Honda Civic is expensive to maintain he has no idea what maintaining an old Volvo is like. And the cost of maintenance is not just servicing; it is also repairs for breakdown and replacement of wear and tear parts.

theanswer
post Oct 3 2017, 04:16 PM

1,024 posts

QUOTE(TNTroXxor @ Oct 3 2017, 01:20 PM)
If you dont send to sc to check...it kinda defeat the purpose of having a Volvo don't you think? A safe and reliable car is only all that if they're maintained properly...
depends. if the owner is well versed enough regarding volvos (or contis)..no problem..as long as the bawah pokok mechanic is contis specialist.
V12Kompressor
post Oct 3 2017, 04:18 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

If it comes with Powershift transmission, good luck.
amscouzach57
post Oct 3 2017, 10:21 PM

535 posts

To make it simple for you.

If you can afford to fork out roughly about rm15k per year for maintenance; you are eligible to own second hand premium cars such as volvo, bmw, mercedes & audi
SonnyCooL
post Oct 4 2017, 02:01 AM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

Those Maintance is ok, problem is idiot mech and sparepart fellow .....
They can easily quote u 5* to 50x oversea prices, if u plan to own this car u must have a lot patient n time to find right part, right supplier n mech .,,, else ur head will kena chop of in six month time ,,!
nebula87
post Oct 12 2017, 02:17 PM

Fg = mg
1,420 posts

wait for Volvo XC40
vince_teh
post Oct 12 2017, 07:29 PM

70 posts

This generation Volvo using ford power shift gearbox...can be problematic...just beware
ascension
post Oct 12 2017, 09:05 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Oct 3 2017, 12:46 PM)
Actually based on the maintenance schedule (this is all in I suppose including labour etc?) then is affordable.. no issue..

ANyone knows if Volvo sell pre-registered cars at a discount? I know Merc sometimes sellin prereg older about to discontinued model at upto 100k off for E class etc...

They do, rarely see it advertised though.
jmts
post Oct 13 2017, 02:13 PM

S60 turning circle is like a truck. Can forget about making some u-turns
MeToo
post Oct 13 2017, 05:12 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(ascension @ Oct 12 2017, 09:05 PM)
They do, rarely see it advertised though.
Droped by their showroom to check.

Pre-reg. Demo car. Discount only a measly 10%.

Even merc/BMW gives way more discount.

Volvo pre-reg is a bad deal.
ascension
post Oct 13 2017, 05:17 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Oct 13 2017, 05:12 PM)
Droped by their showroom to check.

Pre-reg. Demo car. Discount only a measly 10%.

Even merc/BMW gives way more discount.

Volvo pre-reg is a bad deal.
Which model? They offered me 20% discount for the v40 t5 drive-e before, probably to get rid of it before the facelift arrived.

I agree though, BMW much better deals if you ask me. No experience in buying pre-reg Merc.

This post has been edited by ascension: Oct 13 2017, 05:20 PM
TSlockheed90
post Oct 16 2017, 08:23 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(jmts @ Oct 13 2017, 02:13 PM)
S60 turning circle is like a truck. Can forget about making some u-turns
Really?understeer a lot?
jmts
post Oct 16 2017, 01:47 PM

QUOTE(lockheed90 @ Oct 16 2017, 08:23 AM)
Really?understeer a lot?
nothing to do with understeer. just be prepared to take either a wider u-turn or to do a 3 point turn when other cars can make the u-turn doh.gif
SlomoX
post Oct 16 2017, 06:23 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(lockheed90 @ Oct 16 2017, 08:23 AM)
Really?understeer a lot?
he meant the turning radius is equivalent to truck
sonyman
post Oct 16 2017, 08:09 PM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(lockheed90 @ Oct 3 2017, 12:13 PM)
is it? meaning the car isnt reliable?
Cars made in Shah alam. Anyway. Why Volvo? Why not a used 3 series or c class. Same price.

You must answer this question before you decide on Volvo
sonyman
post Oct 16 2017, 08:30 PM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Oct 3 2017, 12:46 PM)

They have. You just need to walk in and ask.
TSlockheed90
post Oct 17 2017, 08:20 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Oct 16 2017, 08:09 PM)
Cars made in Shah alam. Anyway. Why Volvo? Why not a used 3 series or c class. Same price.

You must answer this question before you decide on Volvo
ive surveyed a few and found that used S60 are a bit cheaper than 3 series or c class
sonyman
post Oct 17 2017, 08:33 AM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(lockheed90 @ Oct 17 2017, 08:20 AM)
ive surveyed a few and found that used S60 are a bit cheaper than 3 series or c class
I see. Of course Volvo is cheaper in used market. But then again. You have to understand Volvo has less 3 rd party parts. Mercand BMW you can still get potong

But if you can pay like 4k for a service the its fine. Or 1.2k for a lube change. 2.4k for lube and gear change.

But if you compare. It's stil, cheaper the merc service outlets.

Wellmy s40 visits the glenmRie. So far so good.
TSlockheed90
post Oct 17 2017, 08:56 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Oct 17 2017, 08:33 AM)
I see. Of course Volvo is cheaper in used market. But then again. You have to understand Volvo has less 3 rd party parts. Mercand BMW you can still get potong

But if you can pay like 4k for a service the its fine. Or 1.2k for a lube change. 2.4k for lube and gear change.

I guess you're right, parts must be difficult to find since not many cars on the road. Makes me rethink my decision hmm.gif
MeToo
post Oct 17 2017, 10:41 AM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Oct 16 2017, 08:30 PM)
They have. You just need to walk in and ask.
Alredy did. The pre-reg/demo car S60 discount $30k.....

Definitely NOT a good deal. Considering how crap the 2nd hand value is for Volvo.... even Pre-Reg/Demo merc gives a much better deal.
sonyman
post Oct 17 2017, 06:45 PM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(lockheed90 @ Oct 17 2017, 08:56 AM)
I guess you're right, parts must be difficult to find since not many cars on the road. Makes me rethink my decision  hmm.gif
Buy the Volvo with warranty then OK
sonyman
post Oct 17 2017, 06:51 PM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Oct 17 2017, 10:41 AM)
Alredy did. The pre-reg/demo car S60 discount $30k.....

Definitely NOT a good deal. Considering how crap the 2nd hand value is for Volvo.... even Pre-Reg/Demo merc gives a much better deal.
New c class is nice. Also the new e class is superb.

Otherwise the total package BMW is better for best buy.
analyze88
post Dec 8 2017, 06:56 PM

QUOTE(lockheed90 @ Oct 17 2017, 08:56 AM)
I guess you're right, parts must be difficult to find since not many cars on the road. Makes me rethink my decision  hmm.gif
did you manage to get the car?
I was in the same dilemma currently.
But I like the v40 better. Waiting for used v40 pre-facelift with drive e.
lin@lowyat
post Dec 8 2017, 09:19 PM

155 posts

it's a volvo..
go for it.
geraldT
post Dec 28 2017, 05:13 PM

hi guys, I know it's kinda old thread already but maybe I can give my 2 sen worth as well.
I currently own a Volvo S60 T5 2006 which I bought 2nd hand for wifey when she was pregnant.
Reason i bought was to give myself peace of mind as she used to drive back home (outstation) when she was pregnant.
In terms of reliability, I found that it was so so compared to Merz C180 that I used. Things would fail more regularly on the volvo. You definitely need to get an ex-volvo mechanic or continential specialist as those jap mechanics would have totally NO idea
Maintenance cost is higher coz there are less "REM" parts (less demand so no point copying) whereas Merz had more "REM" parts available. Some rubber parts you would find was produced in 3rd world europe eg czekoslovakia,hungary,etc..but price would be high due to our lousy exchange rate..
Resale would definitely be shitty as Volvos have no resale value.
Fuel consumption is higher as it's a heavy car compared to Japanese. But for power, it was addictive.
For peace of mind, nothing beats it.
So in the end, you can't have your cake and still eat it!
Oh, by the way, wifey LOVES the car and won't part with it! hahaha.
LordBean
post Dec 30 2017, 09:06 AM

Why not a Camry? I have a Camry 2.5V and it's been nothing but reliable. The ride is smooth and there is enough power.maintenance is not expensive too. I highly recommend Japanese cars if you're buying used.
chuakz
post Dec 30 2017, 12:44 PM

1,192 posts

According to someone I know who sells used cars, Volvos are much sought after in the used car market. Firstly because they have shit resale so second hand buyers get better deals and secondly they are more reliable than the more popular BMWs. In fact this dealer that I know stocks a big range of Volvos and sell more Volvos than they do any other marque...
TSlockheed90
post Jan 1 2018, 08:26 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(chuakz @ Dec 30 2017, 12:44 PM)
According to someone I know who sells used cars, Volvos are much sought after in the used car market. Firstly because they have shit resale so second hand buyers get better deals and secondly they are more reliable than the more popular BMWs. In fact this dealer that I know stocks a big range of Volvos and sell more Volvos than they do any other marque...
do you mind share this dealer?

mitzero
post Jul 3 2018, 07:10 PM

QUOTE(lockheed90 @ Jan 1 2018, 08:26 AM)
do you mind share this dealer?
May i get the dealers detail as well?
Looking for a v60 2014
BigMan123
post Jul 3 2018, 10:02 PM

2,470 posts

Xc60 looks like a wagon...the rear lights. Cannot bring myself to accept
Fat & Fluffy
post Jul 4 2018, 11:22 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(BigMan123 @ Jul 4 2018, 12:02 AM)
wait for s60 then...
DrPitchard
post Aug 6 2019, 11:46 PM

2,094 posts

Looking forward to the new S60 T5 and hoping the price is max RM260k.....><"

If within that range, will pull the trigger. Currently, am driving a 10 year old Civic, so its certainly a big upgrade for me.
EnergyAnalyst
post Aug 7 2019, 10:32 AM

4,138 posts

Anythoughts on Volvo leasing, anyone have any experience. Mind sharing?
RigerZ
post Nov 16 2019, 04:21 PM

On the way on the way
1,016 posts

I'm curious about Volvo too since they are a minority in our market. How are their current models and aftersales service doing?
SKYjack
post Nov 18 2019, 08:16 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(BigMan123 @ Jul 3 2018, 10:02 PM)
Hahaha........me too. Volvo appears to move back to its boxy models, 144 series! Had one in the family, reliable & built like a tank!
barca96
post Jul 8 2020, 09:24 PM

980 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Oct 17 2017, 08:33 AM)

How often for those services?
How much cheaper would it be to change outside at a Volvo specialist workshop?
KSMMA
post Jul 8 2020, 09:25 PM

144 posts

volvo vs concrete barrier

volvo wins
InitialB
post Jul 8 2020, 09:41 PM

700 posts

New...dont second hand
empire
post Jul 9 2020, 02:03 AM

2,549 posts

AUDI 's maintenance is the worst and most mahal. Second is Volvo.
Dont play with these cars.

If you want to use a Volvo, buy the old 940 model. Yes they are old...but the maintenance for it is a lot lower than S60. My good buddy has a 940 which he bought 3 years ago. Spent RM4000 to fully touch up the body and the engine parts. His car is almost like showroom condition.
little cutie
post Jul 30 2020, 08:52 PM

511 posts

How about buying a new s60 2020
Chuanmok
post Oct 31 2020, 10:20 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(ZintanthraX @ Oct 3 2017, 11:42 AM)

There is a reason for servicing at 20k km, coz the oil tank is big and filter is huge. Why send in at 10l km when it can last until 20k km? Its like sending a BMW every 4k-5k km only. I wonder why, coz the main reason im getting volvo is for its 20k km service, half my time compared to BMW which i super fed up with.

0.0412sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:00 PM