Should I get a volvo?

V12Kompressor
post Oct 3 2017, 04:18 PM

No carrots here
2,141 posts

If it comes with Powershift transmission, good luck.
amscouzach57
post Oct 3 2017, 10:21 PM

535 posts

To make it simple for you.

If you can afford to fork out roughly about rm15k per year for maintenance; you are eligible to own second hand premium cars such as volvo, bmw, mercedes & audi
SonnyCooL
post Oct 4 2017, 02:01 AM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(lockheed90 @ Oct 3 2017, 12:28 PM)
that got me thinking is it really expensive to maintain? because my sis use honda civic and the maintenance is also quite expensive.

looking for this car's thread in F&F but found none so far..really hope I can hear advice from the experienced owner itself
Those Maintance is ok, problem is idiot mech and sparepart fellow .....
They can easily quote u 5* to 50x oversea prices, if u plan to own this car u must have a lot patient n time to find right part, right supplier n mech .,,, else ur head will kena chop of in six month time ,,!
nebula87
post Oct 12 2017, 02:17 PM

Fg = mg
1,421 posts

wait for Volvo XC40
vince_teh
post Oct 12 2017, 07:29 PM

70 posts

This generation Volvo using ford power shift gearbox...can be problematic...just beware
ascension
post Oct 12 2017, 09:05 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Oct 3 2017, 12:46 PM)
Actually based on the maintenance schedule (this is all in I suppose including labour etc?) then is affordable.. no issue..

ANyone knows if Volvo sell pre-registered cars at a discount? I know Merc sometimes sellin prereg older about to discontinued model at upto 100k off for E class etc...

If I can get such deal form Volvo for S60 etc.. I'll grab it for my wife..
They do, rarely see it advertised though.
jmts
post Oct 13 2017, 02:13 PM

S60 turning circle is like a truck. Can forget about making some u-turns
MeToo
post Oct 13 2017, 05:12 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(ascension @ Oct 12 2017, 09:05 PM)
They do, rarely see it advertised though.
Droped by their showroom to check.

Pre-reg. Demo car. Discount only a measly 10%.

Even merc/BMW gives way more discount.

Volvo pre-reg is a bad deal.
ascension
post Oct 13 2017, 05:17 PM

101 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Oct 13 2017, 05:12 PM)
Droped by their showroom to check.

Pre-reg. Demo car. Discount only a measly 10%.

Even merc/BMW gives way more discount.

Volvo pre-reg is a bad deal.
Which model? They offered me 20% discount for the v40 t5 drive-e before, probably to get rid of it before the facelift arrived.

I agree though, BMW much better deals if you ask me. No experience in buying pre-reg Merc.

This post has been edited by ascension: Oct 13 2017, 05:20 PM
TSlockheed90
post Oct 16 2017, 08:23 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(jmts @ Oct 13 2017, 02:13 PM)
S60 turning circle is like a truck. Can forget about making some u-turns
Really?understeer a lot?
jmts
post Oct 16 2017, 01:47 PM

QUOTE(lockheed90 @ Oct 16 2017, 08:23 AM)
Really?understeer a lot?
nothing to do with understeer. just be prepared to take either a wider u-turn or to do a 3 point turn when other cars can make the u-turn doh.gif
SlomoX
post Oct 16 2017, 06:23 PM

63 posts

QUOTE(lockheed90 @ Oct 16 2017, 08:23 AM)
Really?understeer a lot?
he meant the turning radius is equivalent to truck
sonyman
post Oct 16 2017, 08:09 PM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(lockheed90 @ Oct 3 2017, 12:13 PM)
is it? meaning the car isnt reliable?
Cars made in Shah alam. Anyway. Why Volvo? Why not a used 3 series or c class. Same price.

You must answer this question before you decide on Volvo
sonyman
post Oct 16 2017, 08:30 PM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Oct 3 2017, 12:46 PM)
Actually based on the maintenance schedule (this is all in I suppose including labour etc?) then is affordable.. no issue..

ANyone knows if Volvo sell pre-registered cars at a discount? I know Merc sometimes sellin prereg older about to discontinued model at upto 100k off for E class etc...

If I can get such deal form Volvo for S60 etc.. I'll grab it for my wife..
They have. You just need to walk in and ask.
TSlockheed90
post Oct 17 2017, 08:20 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Oct 16 2017, 08:09 PM)
Cars made in Shah alam. Anyway. Why Volvo? Why not a used 3 series or c class. Same price.

You must answer this question before you decide on Volvo
ive surveyed a few and found that used S60 are a bit cheaper than 3 series or c class
sonyman
post Oct 17 2017, 08:33 AM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(lockheed90 @ Oct 17 2017, 08:20 AM)
ive surveyed a few and found that used S60 are a bit cheaper than 3 series or c class
I see. Of course Volvo is cheaper in used market. But then again. You have to understand Volvo has less 3 rd party parts. Mercand BMW you can still get potong

But if you can pay like 4k for a service the its fine. Or 1.2k for a lube change. 2.4k for lube and gear change.

But if you compare. It's stil, cheaper the merc service outlets.

Wellmy s40 visits the glenmRie. So far so good.
TSlockheed90
post Oct 17 2017, 08:56 AM

272 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Oct 17 2017, 08:33 AM)
I see. Of course Volvo is cheaper in used market. But then again. You have to understand Volvo has less 3 rd party parts. Mercand BMW you can still get potong

But if you can pay like 4k for a service the its fine. Or 1.2k for a lube change. 2.4k for lube and gear change.

But if you compare. It's stil, cheaper the merc service outlets.

Wellmy s40 visits the glenmRie. So far so good.
I guess you're right, parts must be difficult to find since not many cars on the road. Makes me rethink my decision hmm.gif
MeToo
post Oct 17 2017, 10:41 AM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Oct 16 2017, 08:30 PM)
They have. You just need to walk in and ask.
Alredy did. The pre-reg/demo car S60 discount $30k.....

Definitely NOT a good deal. Considering how crap the 2nd hand value is for Volvo.... even Pre-Reg/Demo merc gives a much better deal.
sonyman
post Oct 17 2017, 06:45 PM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(lockheed90 @ Oct 17 2017, 08:56 AM)
I guess you're right, parts must be difficult to find since not many cars on the road. Makes me rethink my decision  hmm.gif
Buy the Volvo with warranty then OK
sonyman
post Oct 17 2017, 06:51 PM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Oct 17 2017, 10:41 AM)
Alredy did. The pre-reg/demo car S60 discount $30k.....

Definitely NOT a good deal. Considering how crap the 2nd hand value is for Volvo.... even Pre-Reg/Demo merc gives a much better deal.
New c class is nice. Also the new e class is superb.

Otherwise the total package BMW is better for best buy.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0301sec    1.08    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:36 AM