~Sojen's Gallery of Mixtures~, Update - Redang Island Page 2

TSsojen
post Apr 15 2007, 01:08 AM, updated 19y ago

115 posts

Hey guys. I'm new to photography. Hope to learn some techniques and tips from the experienced people in this forum.

Just got myself a digicam early April 2007.

These are my shots of the Fashion On 1 in 1 Utama.

Do forgive my shaky hands. Some shots were were excessively cropped and blurred due to extreme blurriness.

These shots are the lineup by G&H. Tomorrow morning maybe I will post up more of the other lineups by Miss Selfridge, Guy, and Tangoo

Added on April 15, 2007, 1:08 am#6

Added on April 15, 2007, 1:11 amhmm, cant seem to post up anymore photos.. Anyone know why?

This post has been edited by sojen: Jun 16 2007, 08:46 AM
goldfries
post Apr 15 2007, 01:29 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

you have a limit for # of images per post.

when you add a new post after your own post, remember to TICK the box for
Do not combine with previous post?

after that you can add more posts.

----

as to your shots - great that you manage to capture them in pairs.

it's just your picture editing needs a little work, for example the soften-effect makes your pictures look dark.

for other pictures, you can crop a little here and there to cut out the unwanted background.

those darkened pictures shouldn't be shown in the first place. smile.gif sorry la, i mean seriously only put up those you think that's good. biggrin.gif

anyway, nice try!!

EDITED : typo. again. arrghh.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Apr 15 2007, 01:30 AM
TSsojen
post Apr 15 2007, 08:08 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 15 2007, 01:29 AM)
you have a limit for # of images per post.

when you add a new post after your own post, remember to TICK the box for
Do not combine with previous post?

after that you can add more posts.

----

as to your shots - great that you manage to capture them in pairs.

it's just your picture editing needs a little work, for example the soften-effect makes your pictures look dark.

for other pictures, you can crop a little here and there to cut out the unwanted background.

those darkened pictures shouldn't be shown in the first place. smile.gif sorry la, i mean seriously only put up those you think that's good. biggrin.gif

anyway, nice try!!

EDITED : typo. again. arrghh.
Thanks. Those dark pictures not because of soften effect, it's because I didn't use flash in the beginning... Next time I put up those ones I think which good ones only. Ok here goes..
Miss Selfridge lineup:

These shots were taken from Ground floor, 1 floor directly above the podium.

This post has been edited by sojen: Apr 15 2007, 08:23 AM
goldfries
post Apr 15 2007, 09:50 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(sojen @ Apr 15 2007, 08:08 AM)
Thanks. Those dark pictures not because of soften effect, it's because I didn't use flash in the beginning... Next time I put up those ones I think which good ones only.
what i meant was that it's already dark enough, soften it makes it doesn't help. smile.gif dark pictures look darker.

hrmm. i was there at Miss Selfridge shots too. smile.gif at LG.
clemong_888
post Apr 15 2007, 12:05 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

lacks sharpness even without the softening.

either u did alot of pp or the models skII until become plastic tongue.gif
ac98
post Apr 15 2007, 12:51 PM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

Sojen ... your images lack sharpness, colour details, white balance, composition and angle. The post processing is not working and everything lacks impact. Please work on your photography first, impress us with your Photoshop skill later wink.gif
TSsojen
post Apr 15 2007, 06:37 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 15 2007, 09:50 AM)
what i meant was that it's already dark enough, soften it makes it doesn't help. smile.gif dark pictures look darker.

hrmm. i was there at Miss Selfridge shots too. smile.gif at LG.
Noted.

QUOTE(clemong_888)
lacks sharpness even without the softening.

either u did alot of pp or the models skII until become plastic tongue.gif
It was the photoshop gausian blur at 50% opacity...

QUOTE(ac98)
Sojen ... your images lack sharpness, colour details, white balance, composition and angle. The post processing is not working and everything lacks impact. Please work on your photography first, impress us with your Photoshop skill later wink.gif
Thanks for the honest comments guys. Just starting out photography, hope to learn plenty from you guys.

Take a look at this picture(No cropping, only resizing). The closest I can stand from the upper floor balcony with 4x optical zoom maxed out with my A540. This was my best shot for sharpness (for the girl on the left at least...) even though it's still not up to par.

Can you guys suggest me some settings or techniques to improve my image sharpness and lighting? I'm not really sure what kind of settings to use...

I want to improve myself before the next shooting that is held next week.

This post has been edited by sojen: Apr 15 2007, 07:08 PM
ac98
post Apr 15 2007, 08:42 PM

3,758 posts

Ohhhhhhhhh you are using point-and-shoot digicam, no wonder ...
shinchan^^
post Apr 15 2007, 08:54 PM

K66
21,256 posts

need to upgrade cam joh
ac98
post Apr 15 2007, 09:22 PM

3,758 posts

Yalah, no point tipping P&S user jor ... later upgrade to DSLR have to tip and comment again tongue.gif
wlcling
post Apr 15 2007, 09:53 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

hahah.. poison ppl... whistling.gif
TSsojen
post Apr 15 2007, 10:40 PM

115 posts

Eh.... so fast upgrade to DSLR? I just bought this camera 2 weeks ago only...

somemore now the shops I see no more selling my model... Only sell A550 and A560..

i buy A540 dunno for what... the uncle tell me dun buy A530 because model no more in production but he sell me A540... doh.gif

Nvm, i think i will train my composition and angle first. Other things when got money only worry about it hahaha laugh.gif
goldfries
post Apr 15 2007, 11:25 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ Apr 15 2007, 09:22 PM)
Yalah, no point tipping P&S user jor ... later upgrade to DSLR have to tip and comment again tongue.gif
can wan. even P&S people can learn shots. smile.gif

don't be so discouraging la.

EDITED : Sojen, you don't worry. P&S / prosumer can snap nice shots wan la. smile.gif don't worry. even now i'm guiding my honey to use Prosumer cam. she got quite some shots from 1-U FO1 too.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Apr 15 2007, 11:38 PM
diwant
post Apr 16 2007, 01:16 AM

295 posts

Yeah lah, that's right too. ac98's comments are poisonous and a bit harsh i think.. tongue.gif . maybe some comments on composition could be helpful, and the technical aspects can keep until he buys a dSLR.. biggrin.gif
ac98
post Apr 16 2007, 04:23 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(sojen @ Apr 15 2007, 10:40 PM)
Eh.... so fast upgrade to DSLR? I just bought this camera 2 weeks ago only...

somemore now the shops I see no more selling my model... Only sell A550 and A560..

i buy A540 dunno for what... the uncle tell me dun buy A530 because model no more in production but he sell me A540...  doh.gif

Nvm, i think i will train my composition and angle first. Other things when got money only worry about it hahaha  laugh.gif
Then you'll be spending even MORE brows.gif
Okay okay dun wanna poison you anymore. P&S is best to learn up composition since you have an advantage of a viewing LCD. But keep in mind, the world of a VIEWFINDER is much more wonderful and of course more stable than a off-body LCD. Best to keep your camera closer to your body for more stability.
TSsojen
post Apr 16 2007, 08:05 AM

115 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ Apr 16 2007, 04:23 AM)
Then you'll be spending even MORE brows.gif
Okay okay dun wanna poison you anymore. P&S is best to learn up composition since you have an advantage of a viewing LCD. But keep in mind, the world of a VIEWFINDER is much more wonderful and of course more stable than a off-body LCD. Best to keep your camera closer to your body for more stability.
I din use the LCD for taking pictures oh.. I see through the optical viewfinder, plus it helps me to save battery. biggrin.gif . Can squeeze 300+ shots with 2300 AA battery.

I try to press my hands against my body and face against the screen to reduce shakiness, but somehow sometimes my pictures still blur, not sure its still my shakiness or the models walking.

Now I just have to figure out some good settings for the manual mode biggrin.gif

Time to add in more pictures...

I tried to overcome my dark shots by timing my shots with the sifus flash at the podium. My flash cannot reach from the top floor tongue.gif

This post has been edited by sojen: Apr 16 2007, 08:40 AM
shinchan^^
post Apr 16 2007, 09:19 AM

K66
21,256 posts

QUOTE(sojen @ Apr 16 2007, 08:05 AM)
I tried to overcome my dark shots by timing my shots with the sifus flash at the podium. My flash cannot reach from the top floor  tongue.gif
time to upgrade to G7 or D series
for the external flash 430ex | 580ex
TSsojen
post Apr 20 2007, 11:35 PM

115 posts

Went to Batu Caves with some friends. Here are some shots trying different stuff.

Taking a different approach as opposed to the Fashion photography

Outdoor shots now

Heaven and Hell

Trying silhouttee shot

An attempt to use natural frames like the wall, bar and poles...

By the way, for the last shot. I was wondering how some of you do those awesome bokeh shots? I want to focus only on the monkey and the background behind the poles to be blurred...

diwant
post Apr 21 2007, 02:04 AM

295 posts

the first image of the batu caves series is one of the most common angle ppl use to describe batu caves, but nothing wrong with that.. and why the second image is named 'heaven and hell'?
ac98
post Apr 21 2007, 04:24 AM

3,758 posts

Good attempts Sojen ... I have a shot of 'Heaven and Hell' too tongue.gif

0.0308sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:35 AM