Videography choices of camera for video, newbie need your guide

TSscarlion
post Oct 2 2017, 01:39 PM, updated 9y ago

102 posts

hi guys, really newbie to the dslr world..
i would like to ask which dslr would you recommend..

Type of camera/lens/accesories : DSLR / mirrorless / GoPro ?
Budget: roughly 2k
Your Location: Bukit Mertajam, Penang
Preferable brand : Canon, Nikon, etc. (any also can)
Type of photography u want to do : do some travelling video (vlog) , maybe start own youtube channel hmm.gif
Any specific models in mind? : not sure
Any specific features u want? : not really know because newbie to dslr products

appreciate your time..tq

This post has been edited by scarlion: Oct 2 2017, 01:39 PM
Fzeo
post Oct 2 2017, 01:51 PM

455 posts

budget around 2k + traveling
I think you can start with Sony A6000

and start collecting Sony mount.

Upgrade to A7s or A7sII when you got money.
blableu
post Oct 2 2017, 02:04 PM

60 posts

since ure opting for travel/vlog use , I think its better mirrorless . DSLR too big to carry around . Sony I must say an interesting pick , but have you got Fujifilm on your hands before?

Take some time , go to the showroom , and test 'em out.

DS_Legacy
post Oct 3 2017, 11:27 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

Most of the vloggers use mirrorless to do the jobs. But a famous youtuber Peter Mckinnon (perhaps you already know him, his videos/tutorials are very helpful and interesting to watch) uses a Canon 1DX for vlogging. I have tested quite a number of entry level dslr and mid range dslrs. The autofocus is decent in higher ends dslrs. But not in the lower end dslr. They are just so bad sad.gif

If you plan to do underwater stuff, go for the GoPro. If you up for something better other than just vlogging, just go for mirrorless. You can at least mount the mirrorless on a tripod and do some great hyperlapse or timelapse. They are lighter and most of the time offers a flippable screen. So you can see yourself during vlogging. thumbup.gif

Sony A6000 seems like a choice for your current budget. Despite having just a 180 degree tilted screen, it is okay for vlogging. But get extra batteries and you are good to go. biggrin.gif

mr_zobody
post Oct 7 2017, 06:06 PM

21 posts

The A6000 is a pretty good camera for video. Like Fzeo said, start with that and if you wanna get serious, then move up to an A7 or A7s
OOtaii
post Oct 8 2017, 01:01 AM

576 posts

fuji X-A3 also not bad
goldfries
post Oct 8 2017, 04:06 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Fzeo @ Oct 2 2017, 01:51 PM)
Upgrade to A7s or A7sII when you got money.
Don't even need to upgrade, the A6000 is plenty sufficient for vlogging / Youtube channels.

Loseeker
post Oct 8 2017, 05:06 PM

Apa Macam
899 posts

My vote goes to canon eos 200d. For Dual pixel cmos AF for live view. Fully articulated screen and small size make it ideal for beginner to make it into a dslr world. Especially for the fact that the TS mentioned he is looking for a DSLR and for the purposes of vlogging. After all, eos 200d is a real DSLR, a6000 on the other hand is a mirrorless and not a slr (strictly speaking).
Don't get me wrong, I got myself an a6000 myself. Photo quality wise, I have no complain. A lot of the time, I wish the screen can be fully articulated and touch sensitive. Given the choice again, I'd still go for the smaller size of the a6000 over any dslr counterpart.
goldfries
post Oct 8 2017, 08:21 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Loseeker @ Oct 8 2017, 05:06 PM)
My vote goes to canon eos 200d. For Dual pixel cmos AF for live view. Fully articulated screen and small size make it ideal for beginner to make it into a dslr world. Especially for the fact that the TS mentioned he is looking for a DSLR and for the purposes of vlogging. After all, eos 200d is a real DSLR, a6000 on the other hand is a mirrorless and not a slr (strictly speaking).
    Don't get me wrong, I got myself an a6000 myself. Photo quality wise, I have no complain. A lot of the time, I wish the screen can be fully articulated and touch sensitive. Given the choice again, I'd still go for the smaller size of the a6000 over any dslr counterpart.
Yeah correct also but I believe it's just in case, many people come here without knowledge of camera or assume all cameras are DSLR.

I'm using the EOS 200D now, really toy-like but nice size and weight.

Canon lenses are affordable.
meamth
post Oct 9 2017, 10:19 AM

328 posts

Sony is tad expensive, get a Canon with kit lens. For starters, it's not about the gear, it's about the content you're trying to shoot.

This post has been edited by meamth: Oct 9 2017, 10:20 AM
goldfries
post Oct 9 2017, 10:37 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(meamth @ Oct 9 2017, 10:19 AM)
Sony is tad expensive, get a Canon with kit lens. For starters, it's not about the gear, it's about the content you're trying to shoot.
This part. biggrin.gif

I was eyeing on A6000 already, it looks fine and well until I look at price of lenses.

Some people will suggest using metabones converted and pair it with Canon lenses though.
TrialGone
post Oct 9 2017, 11:33 AM

603 posts

A bit confuse why nobody recommend a5100? It got touchscreen and flip up for selfie/vlogging. In fact, why not m43 with flip up with wide lens choices which met budget?
kidmad
post Oct 9 2017, 11:53 AM

4,483 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 8 2017, 08:21 PM)
Yeah correct also but I believe it's just in case, many people come here without knowledge of camera or assume all cameras are DSLR.

I'm using the EOS 200D now, really toy-like but nice size and weight.

Canon lenses are affordable.
Goldfries where you got your 200D? price?
goldfries
post Oct 9 2017, 12:42 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

No I didn't buy, this one review sample. biggrin.gif
kidmad
post Oct 9 2017, 01:53 PM

4,483 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 9 2017, 12:42 PM)
No I didn't buy, this one review sample. biggrin.gif
i see.. but yeah good enough was browsing for it a 2-3 months back.. now i can see it's selling in 11street! 2.7k though.
hutbephotmb24h
post Oct 25 2017, 11:06 AM

23 posts

I am currently using the D700 canon. I feel it is quite amazing and produces good quality pictures.
ervinlew
post Oct 25 2017, 01:54 PM

86 posts

Camera: 2nd Hand Canon 700D - 1250-1450
Lens: 18-55 STM lens - 300-400
Extra battery - 60-80
Tripod - get something like octopus tripod which can convert into a monopod.
Bag - lowest can find in lazada about 60

2k will get you all this stuff smile.gif should be enough for vlogging
sitescope
post Oct 26 2017, 04:20 PM

4,501 posts

Better buy yi 4k + gimbal
Video w/out gimbal is like shit, kepala pusing when watching
lwliam
post Oct 26 2017, 06:22 PM

Your friendly neighborhood photographer
6,075 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Oct 9 2017, 10:37 AM)
This part. biggrin.gif

I was eyeing on A6000 already, it looks fine and well until I look at price of lenses.

Some people will suggest using metabones converted and pair it with Canon lenses though.
I would recommend MC-11 instead.

0.0175sec    0.50    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 09:58 PM