> Story of 99 Speedmart

TSriver.sand
post Oct 1 2017, 10:01 PM, updated 9y ago

3,816 posts

Sin Chew interviews Lee Thiam Wah, founder of 99 Speedmart. Full story (in Chinese) here...
http://sinchew.com.my/node/1687279/%E7%A8%...%AB%98%E5%B3%B0

Excerpt:
- 99 Speedmart celebrates its 30th anniversary.
- It opened its 1,000th store last August.
- It has outlets in Selangor, KL, N. Sembilan, Melaka, Johor, Perak, Pahang & Sabah.
- The founder is eyeing the next 1,00 stores within 5 years, with an average of 4 new stores every week shocking.gif
- It reported a revenue of RM3 bil in 2016; the projected revenue for this year is RM3.5 bil.
- Currently, it has no plan to go public sad.gif

The 1,000th outlet in Shah Alam
saintnotsinner
post Oct 1 2017, 10:03 PM

72 posts

Fresh Milk. Nice!
yeezai
post Oct 1 2017, 10:05 PM

-using no way as way-having no limitation as limitation-
2,531 posts

Not even a datuk ? Wahh very low profile ... Btw the mart have quite alot of robbery cases
kamfoo
post Oct 1 2017, 10:06 PM

846 posts

Nice interview from poor to rich
smallcrab
post Oct 1 2017, 10:07 PM

140 posts

KR1M shld let them run

Sure better than Maideenn.
CyrusWong
post Oct 1 2017, 10:08 PM

1,643 posts

very reasonable and competitive price

sometime their discount even greater than shopping like giant/tesco/mydin

they target at residential area, very smart, unlike shopping, ppl need drive a distance
SUSAzurues
post Oct 1 2017, 10:08 PM

▲▲▲▲
958 posts

Kkmart and speedmart both awesome

But how the hell do u track all your stores hmm
ar188
post Oct 1 2017, 10:09 PM

9,206 posts

some of their price tag even cheaper than the promotion printed prices on packaging lol..
SUS2feidei
post Oct 1 2017, 10:10 PM

Ayam tatau, ayam virgin (c)
3,158 posts

klang taiko wash moneh
rudduan
post Oct 1 2017, 10:10 PM

37 posts

Goodingla...just opened new branch at mitc area...
MoonRider
post Oct 1 2017, 10:12 PM

It's Me That Sound Cute
2,296 posts

the most important .. they hired all locals .. malay/chinese and indian ..

not like itu 7/11 ..

This post has been edited by MoonRider: Oct 1 2017, 10:13 PM
thelws
post Oct 1 2017, 10:13 PM

291 posts

at this lvl 1000 stores they got benefit of bulk purchase.

undercut kau kau. I bet the start was quite tough.
mekboyz
post Oct 1 2017, 10:13 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(MoonRider @ Oct 1 2017, 10:12 PM)

not like itu 7/11 .. sometime i nampak bangla
yeah 99 all local staff

7/11 literally all bangla. since last 2 years i didnt see any local staff
vassilius
post Oct 1 2017, 10:14 PM

494 posts

respect this guy... nothing is impossible
dadurtyz
post Oct 1 2017, 10:17 PM

658 posts

Their making money at warehouse, buy soooo many tons and tons, distribute to all 1000 outlet.

Their mineral water is so cheap! 24bottle just RM6
TSriver.sand
post Oct 1 2017, 10:18 PM

3,816 posts

not like itu 7/11 ..
The outlet near my place, the staff's BM accent is different. Possibly East Malaysians.
dadurtyz
post Oct 1 2017, 10:20 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 1 2017, 10:09 PM)
some of their price tag even cheaper than the promotion printed prices on packaging lol..
Their run the business with cheapskate style, their lorry all buy second hand and really old lorry.
The 99building HQ at klang is no CF last time because build too near with main road.

This post has been edited by dadurtyz: Oct 1 2017, 10:20 PM
SUSLancewood
post Oct 1 2017, 10:21 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(thelws @ Oct 1 2017, 10:13 PM)
at this lvl 1000 stores they got benefit of bulk purchase.

undercut kau kau. I bet the start was quite tough.
Already buying bulk since business started. All excess sold thru another outlet called Nison.
SUSbig[1]
post Oct 1 2017, 10:21 PM

632 posts

i heard mama also got share......

bik mom
SUSLancewood
post Oct 1 2017, 10:22 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ Oct 1 2017, 10:20 PM)
Their run the business with cheapskate style, their lorry all buy second hand and really old lorry.
The 99building HQ at klang is no CF last time because build too near with main road.
Meanwhile Mara Digital Mall complain kaw kaw because sole distributor....???...???
You should know your answers well by now.
SUSbig[1]
post Oct 1 2017, 10:22 PM

632 posts

QUOTE(Lancewood @ Oct 1 2017, 10:21 PM)
Already buying bulk since business started. All excess sold thru another outlet called Nison.
why digital mall did not follow this concept?

hmm.gif
ar188
post Oct 1 2017, 10:23 PM

9,206 posts

so? as long got savings for the item i wanna buy, good la.
rooney723

596 posts

the owner really geng, expand until so fast yet he duneed to franchise it out
SUSLancewood

79 posts

QUOTE(big1 @ Oct 1 2017, 10:22 PM)
hmm.gif
Semua mau baru
Mesti appoint CEO
High overhead high salary high pay
Sound familiar?

This post has been edited by Lancewood: Oct 1 2017, 10:23 PM
SUSsdin3269

64 posts

Kimak have to edit as this is drug king doh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by sdin3269: Oct 1 2017, 11:06 PM
nagflar
post Oct 1 2017, 10:25 PM

1,813 posts

QUOTE(2feidei @ Oct 1 2017, 10:10 PM)
klang taiko wash moneh
many still doono the inside story of the tauke of speed 99, come tell them biggrin.gif
dadurtyz
post Oct 1 2017, 10:25 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(Lancewood @ Oct 1 2017, 10:22 PM)
Meanwhile Mara Digital Mall complain kaw kaw because sole distributor....???...???
You should know your answers well by now.
So your point is? Is not relevant.
dadurtyz
post Oct 1 2017, 10:27 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 1 2017, 10:23 PM)
Yes is good, their try do that to BK as well, but end up failed in audit because too much un approve product been used
SUS2feidei
post Oct 1 2017, 10:28 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(nagflar @ Oct 1 2017, 10:25 PM)
many still doono the inside story of the tauke of speed 99, come tell them biggrin.gif
kennot....either LOD inkambing, or tong simen inkambing.....choose one sweat.gif

dadurtyz
post Oct 1 2017, 10:31 PM

658 posts

Dont tell la better, let their wishingfull for success than negative things should we?
SUShuaweie5830
post Oct 1 2017, 10:31 PM

967 posts

QUOTE(smallcrab @ Oct 1 2017, 10:07 PM)
KR1M shld let them run

Sure better than Maideenn.
Lol

Mana bumiputera

Later all boycott
cringe
post Oct 1 2017, 10:32 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(2feidei @ Oct 1 2017, 10:28 PM)
kennot....either LOD inkambing, or tong simen inkambing.....choose one  sweat.gif
QUOTE(dadurtyz @ Oct 1 2017, 10:31 PM)
Dont tell la better, let their wishingfull for success than negative things should we?
Money laundering?
SUSweretiger
post Oct 1 2017, 10:32 PM

FuuSuperuSenioruyuh
1,123 posts

When taking over by force by bigmama??
Imp Bron
post Oct 1 2017, 10:34 PM

143 posts

kennot....either LOD inkambing, or tong simen inkambing.....choose one  sweat.gif
All i heard is the founder is oku since little
https://enterpriseasia.org/apea/malaysia/aw.../lee-thiam-wah/

Never heard other side of story, why no share?
SUS2feidei
post Oct 1 2017, 10:37 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(Imp Bron @ Oct 1 2017, 10:34 PM)
All i heard is the founder is oku since little
https://enterpriseasia.org/apea/malaysia/aw.../lee-thiam-wah/

Never heard other side of story, why no share?
yes...that's is the story they want everyone to know......

but, you ask around Klang people, you will know the "real" story whistling.gif
herojack41
post Oct 1 2017, 10:38 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(sdin3269 @ Oct 1 2017, 10:23 PM)
Well done, last time when macro, etc invaded Malaysia we  see no future in mini markets, but now it striving instead.
you mean makro?

itu langsi lan yong...

that explains why they become history
PrinceHamsap
post Oct 1 2017, 10:40 PM

Legendary
1,637 posts

when your daily cash flow is too big ... then you will attract many 'people'
especially a very big one ...
freakingringo
post Oct 1 2017, 10:40 PM

41 posts

When you are this size you can dictate price and credit term with supplier, selling the item on credit and get money immediately but pay supplier 3 months later...
Panda
post Oct 1 2017, 10:41 PM

360 posts

how much working as a cashier at 99speedmart?

anyone knows?
Sycamore
post Oct 1 2017, 10:43 PM

334 posts

I didn't know they have 30 years of history.
They just springing up like mushrooms after the rain in the past 10 years.
Imp Bron
post Oct 1 2017, 10:49 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(2feidei @ Oct 1 2017, 10:37 PM)

but, you ask around Klang people, you will know the "real" story  whistling.gif
This? and this?

thelws
post Oct 1 2017, 10:49 PM

291 posts

tell story la. i not from klang
SUSsdin3269
post Oct 1 2017, 10:51 PM

64 posts

Oic now can recap back, http://anotherbrickinwall.blogspot.my/2013...crime-pays.html

No wonder they can grew fast, washing machine in operations. hmm.gif hmm.gif
Then mydin also cant compete wink.gif wink.gif
Imp Bron
post Oct 1 2017, 10:56 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(sdin3269 @ Oct 1 2017, 10:51 PM)
Oic now can recap back, http://anotherbrickinwall.blogspot.my/2013...crime-pays.html

No wonder they can grew fast, washing machine in operations.  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Then mydin also cant compete  wink.gif  wink.gif
As a 99 regular
Now I feel bad cry.gif
DValentine
post Oct 1 2017, 10:56 PM

773 posts

since he also owns Burger king

just fukkin every 99 beside a BK outlet
Imp Bron
post Oct 1 2017, 10:58 PM

143 posts

Underworld $$ > kroni $$
SUSPLOUFFLE
post Oct 1 2017, 11:02 PM

442 posts

wat is cf?
SUSLancewood
post Oct 1 2017, 11:02 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ Oct 1 2017, 10:25 PM)
So your point is? Is not relevant.
Hahahahaha
So sensitive. Ppl run their biz as they like, it's their money not yours. You can run yours as you like as well.

Jangan slalu dengki.
SUSsdin3269
post Oct 1 2017, 11:05 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(big1 @ Oct 1 2017, 10:22 PM)
hmm.gif
QUOTE(Imp Bron @ Oct 1 2017, 10:56 PM)
As a 99 regular
Now I feel bad cry.gif
I feel bad now too, but this two monkey (below) still proud doh.gif doh.gif
QUOTE(Lancewood @ Oct 1 2017, 11:02 PM)
Hahahahaha
So sensitive. Ppl run their biz as they like, it's their money not yours. You can run yours as you like as well.

Jangan slalu dengki.
SUSb3ta
post Oct 1 2017, 11:07 PM

responsible poster stormtrooper
685 posts

rumour say 99speedmart is rosmah mya
urnicksux2
post Oct 1 2017, 11:07 PM

78 posts

mr diy boss also damn rich,so many shopping mall got
SUSLancewood
post Oct 1 2017, 11:09 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(sdin3269 @ Oct 1 2017, 11:05 PM)
I feel bad now too, but this two monkey (below) still proud  doh.gif  doh.gif
We all know who hasad dengki everyday. Incompetence breeds jealousy.
GuyM
post Oct 1 2017, 11:14 PM

1,787 posts

No wonder they can grew fast, washing machine in operations.  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
For some k/tards whom have not got the liberty to deal with Lee himself and sees how he actually operates his company in real life, think they'd better go jump 14th floor

Those in fmcg will attest to how hard it is to deal with him and how hands on he is with the whole operation despite his weaknesses.
SUSempstar
post Oct 1 2017, 11:15 PM

100 posts

CF = certificate of fitness
certificate fitness

can stay in that building after obtain this.
SUSsdin3269
post Oct 1 2017, 11:16 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(GuyM @ Oct 1 2017, 11:14 PM)
For some k/tards whom have not got the liberty to deal with Lee himself and sees how he actually operates his company in real life, think they'd better go jump 14th floor

Those in fmcg will attest to how hard it is to deal with him and how hands on he is with the whole operation despite his weaknesses.
yeah not easy to be King of underworld. Rule no 1 is hands on
SUSempstar
post Oct 1 2017, 11:22 PM

100 posts

http://anotherbrickinwall.blogspot.my/2013...crime-pays.html

A typical Mike Spillane TV series or movie loves to use the line "crime doesn't pay". As long as the long arm of the law does not catch-up, crime pays well and pays really well for school droputs and kids from wrong neighbourhood and urban slums.

Tian Chua's political portal, Malaysia Chronicle here reported or spinned a study by a French researcher, Sophie Lemiere claiming that the majority of the underworld support BN, thus the blame on underworld activities could be deviated from Pakatan Rakyat.

Whether Lemiere has the credential or expertise to talk, she delivered a public talk at USM. Maybe it is a spin by MChronicle. If MChronicle is in the know of her study, did they helped to bring her in contact with the local hoodlums?

It is pointless to bring politics in because underworld is about making illegal money and their superficial political support will naturally be to individuals with authority and access to resources.

How would Tian Chua answer to the drastic rise in underworld-suspected businesses in Selangor and Penang since Pakatan Rakyat took over?

PR support organised crime?

When ISA and EO was repealed, there was an increase in gangland war death. Online journal, Globe has a good article of what happened here. The article gave a mention of our fellow blogger Dave Avran.

The public was scared and worry for their safety. They just realised the need for preventive laws. However, the opposition were blaming it on police incompetence. The opposition demanded law enforcement "should be resolute and ruthless in dealing with the leaders and key players of these evil syndicates."

Opposition and their lawyers were first to offer legal assistance and political support in any arrest of gangsters and organised crime members. In the first raid at a gangster's hideout, opposition immediately question law enforcement procedures and accused them of infringing on human rights.

PKR Vice President, Surendran wanted to monitor a police raid but eventually coward pulled out when police requested him to sign an indemnity release.

After much public outcry and calls from the police, government submitted to Parliment to amend the Prevention of Crime Act (1959) to allow for preventive clauses but power remain with the courts.

The opposition goes to the street to claim PCA was ISA 2.0. When asked for a solution to organised crime, their answer was to abolish the Special Branch (SB) and reassigned them to Criminal Investigation Department (CID) work.

It was a political answer meant to discredit SB, which monitor and gather information on securitiy issues and internal threat. CID dealt with crime.

Then they cook up the excuse that BN cannot be trusted. Who then? Trust the minority pro-crime Pakatan Rakyat politicians? It is obvious that Tian Chua-controlled MChronicle is trying to accuse others for an offense to deviate the heat. It is typically Anwar style of psywar.

It served to propagate the leak of Dato Zahid Hamidi's meeting with Pekida as a collusion with Malay gangsters. With most members working for Chinamen businessman, Pekida is hardly worthy to be called as gangsters or underworld.

It is because earlier, Zahid released a list of 49 names of organised crime groups, which are mostly Chinese and Indians. Read also this study on Chinese underworld here.

If that is the intention, the logic should be that the underworld should support DAP and their allies. Reason being 97% Chinese votes gave them support and Anwar claim Pakatan has majority of popular votes.

So put aside politics.

Deny honest Malaysians

The underworld business is inextricably linked to corruption and relate to dishonest individual in power. Unless the government deals with them as the root cause, they will destroy the legitimate economy and those hardworking common people.

We've written before of how Malay and honest working retailers could not make a living because of competition of money laundering operation using retail businesses as front.

Several Malay bloggers had identifed 99 Speedmart as a Chinese-owned convenience store that should be boycotted in retaliation to 97% Chinese boycotting UMNO and BN candidates in the last general election. Little did they know that even if the boycott was successful, it will have minimal impact.

According to a street source and the information is reproduced verbatim, 99 Speedmart have a 350-400 outlets network built over 4-5 years but it does not really rely on retail sales. The outlets are front for money laundering or money cleaning machine.

The owner is a still young Chinese man on wheelchair but words are he is churning almost a billion worth of laundered money. This is an example of an elusive big fish MACC would want to get their hands on.

For the time being, the latest two catches yesterday by MACC and Police on two veteran Chinese police sargeants in their 50s, Lim Ah Bah and Tan Kim Hoi are good start for AMLA cases.

Big business

Talking about big fish, this blog had written an article in 2010 here about the anomosity against Tan Sri Musa Hassan.

While much was revealed about BN politicians association with criminals, it is not sufficient to support the notion of associating the underworld with BN. However, it proves how powerful they are, thus it indicate the big instant pay-off from dealing with underworld.

The posting should provide a background information on the current lawsuits by Dato Ramli Yusof and his lawyer, Rosli Dahlan against him, Tan Sri Gani Patail, Tan Sri Abu Kassim, Police and MACC.

When Ramli was CCID Director, the portfolio of organised crime came under him. His association with organised crime is legendary in the police community. It is obvious that he and his lawyer is trying to play innocent by suing for defamatory investigation.

The underworld is really big business that do not pay tax, thus anyone with the power to hold back investigation can reap wealth out of it. It explains his unexplained wealth.

In the article, a credible source estimate the local black economy to be worth RM500 billion. That estimate does not mention whether it in terms of "GDP" generated or "asset" worth.

However, in a Kinibiz article dated November 19 of a 3-part series on underground economy, the number is clearer. [Read it here.]

Stephanie Jacob wrote:
For example in 2010, then home minister Hishammuddin Hussein said that the government believed that the illegal or illicit segment of the informal economy alone had grown to almost RM10 billion and included a slew of activities.
More recently the country’s deputy finance minister, Ahmad Maslan was quoted in The Star newspaper as saying that the country’s so called ‘black economy’ stood at 30% of GDP.
The "official" estimate could still be an underestimate.

An Aljazeera report here quoted a UN studies claimed organised crime is worth US$90 billion a year in East Asia. As much as US$16.3bn worth of heroin and US$15bn of methamphetamine are traded annually in the region.

Malaysia used to be a major centre for drug trafficking till government made a drastic step to make drug trafficking offense as punishment by death sentence. Yet a DAP MP had recently described it as cruel. It only goes back to DAP's traditional association with drug trafficking.

Back in the late 70s, Karpal Singh made a name for himself as a lawyer by turning several sure lose drug cases. It attract attention also because Karpal Singh broke the "picket line" to an agreed boycott of drug cases by Bar Council.

Apathy

To most Malaysians, they feel organised crime like drug only affects few. Consumer don't care. They will go to 66 Speedmart for cheap good. Those Bundle used cloth stores are also sourced from drug addicts stolen goods, yet they buy their cheap cloth.

On one hand, they complained on house break-in, drugs, prostitution, counterfeiting, smuggling, etc, but on the other hand, they contribute to the money flow which support illegal activities.

In a study mentioned in the Kinibiz article, it was highlighted that the negative impacts of black economy include inefficient goods and workers being deprived of their rights and guarantees.

The impact of the illicit informal economy is far reaching and beyond criminal activities but into lives of common people and businesses. Thus, government have to recognise the damaging impact of the illegitimate economy on the legitimate economy.

Until that money tap is turned off and crime does not pay, it only takes 4-5 years to see the devastation on the nation.
at 11/27/2013 05:55:00 PM

SUSLancewood
post Oct 1 2017, 11:24 PM

79 posts

'Several Malay bloggers had identifed 99 Speedmart as a Chinese-owned convenience store that should be boycotted in retaliation to 97% Chinese boycotting UMNO and BN candidates in the last general election. Little did they know that even if the boycott was successful, it will have minimal impact.

According to a street source and the information is reproduced verbatim, 99 Speedmart have a 350-400 outlets network built over 4-5 years but it does not really rely on retail sales. The outlets are front for money laundering or money cleaning machine.

The owner is a still young Chinese man on wheelchair but words are he is churning almost a billion worth of laundered money. This is an example of an elusive big fish MACC would want to get their hands on.'

I rather believe the hardworking crippled than believe some monkey blogger.
Dyson Jin
post Oct 1 2017, 11:27 PM

960 posts

i always curious about their Gardenia Delicia Butterscotch Bread..macam got subsidy de..
the price is 4.60 but i always paid 4.4 for it only..
but when go 7-11 or any convenience stores..must pay full price oh..
brapa?
post Oct 1 2017, 11:31 PM

154 posts

done a survey of groceries among mydin, 99, tesco, nsk etc

each has different products that are cheapest in their stores

reason giant is not in the list is cos none of its things are the cheapest compared to the above
sukhoi35mk
post Oct 1 2017, 11:32 PM

420 posts

LOL... i also hear from my friend father uncle grandfather mother sister the same story as well..... every successful Chinese sure got underworld connection... even tan sri liew.... from a manager in bank for 5 yrs became a small time developer within few yrs form SP setia... also washing some money.... another myth is how tan sri vincent tan got his gambling license... he "gave" some high level politicians a toto result slips... they just fill in the winning numbers so that they can collect the money berjaya toto sport... Bina puri founder and the main place mall in subang..
SUSLancewood
post Oct 1 2017, 11:35 PM

79 posts

Some depend on donasi leh
2x5.
Pot calling kettle black.
damonlbs
post Oct 1 2017, 11:36 PM

487 posts

like that lazada also washing washing ohmy.gif
cringe
post Oct 1 2017, 11:38 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(PowerHour @ Oct 1 2017, 11:34 PM)
Gonna fully support him

Nvr ever go to mydin
I went to Mydin USJ, their price is cheaper than lousy tesco and Giant

Some people at here want to boycott him because of crony etc.
But yeah, who cares, as long as their item is cheap I will support.

pandah
post Oct 1 2017, 11:41 PM

719 posts

99 is 1000 times better than kr1m

cringe
post Oct 1 2017, 11:47 PM

330 posts

QUOTE(brapa? @ Oct 1 2017, 11:31 PM)
done a survey of groceries among mydin, 99, tesco, nsk etc

each has different products that are cheapest in their stores

reason giant is not in the list is cos none of its things are the cheapest compared to the above
Giant is trash.
Their hypermarket layout design is so 90's and yet they still charge price higher than Tesco.

My area got Tesco and Giant, but Giant in my area is like a dead place. Not many people. Everyone going to Tesco.

tvcat
post Oct 2 2017, 12:14 AM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,920 posts

QUOTE(Dyson Jin @ Oct 1 2017, 11:27 PM)
i always curious about their Gardenia Delicia Butterscotch Bread..macam got subsidy de..
the price is 4.60 but i always paid 4.4 for it only..
but when go 7-11 or any convenience stores..must pay full price oh..
kesian, never buy bread at kedai runcit b4
dadurtyz
post Oct 2 2017, 12:17 AM

658 posts

QUOTE(cringe @ Oct 1 2017, 11:38 PM)
I went to Mydin USJ, their price is cheaper than lousy tesco and Giant

Some people at here want to boycott him because of crony etc.
But yeah, who cares, as long as their item is cheap I will support.
Im also, feel mydin is alot better in product stock up and price is even more competitive than tesco and giant.

But u know la when it come to mamak /k always talk bad and cronyism

This post has been edited by dadurtyz: Oct 2 2017, 12:18 AM
dadurtyz
post Oct 2 2017, 12:19 AM

658 posts

QUOTE(Lancewood @ Oct 1 2017, 11:02 PM)
Hahahahaha

Jangan slalu dengki.
My statement that u replied is not sentsitive or dengki,
What im telling is how their operates. How that argueable with u?
SUSlamb steak
post Oct 2 2017, 12:25 AM

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 1 2017, 10:23 PM)
apasal lu butthurt confused.gif
mwafi1998
post Oct 2 2017, 12:25 AM

19 posts

bought 1 box of 1.5l mineral water bottle, cost below rm10. really competitive price, used to be my favorite store to buy stuff but now, the closest 99 speedmart here is a town away.. sigh
SUSLancewood
post Oct 2 2017, 12:34 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ Oct 2 2017, 12:19 AM)
My statement that u replied is not sentsitive or dengki,
What im telling is how their operates. How that argueable with u?
You work for them before? You know the company well?
First hand dealing or heresy?
ar188
post Oct 2 2017, 12:36 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(lamb steak @ Oct 2 2017, 12:25 AM)
apasal lu butthurt  confused.gif
ppl talk about value for money items inside, so what if they use old lorry lol
hotjake
post Oct 2 2017, 12:36 AM

194 posts

Please kam to penang please
SUSLancewood
post Oct 2 2017, 12:38 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 2 2017, 12:36 AM)
Some idiots think big business must use new Lori and hire high pay CEO. Deswai those biz lingkup cepat.
dadurtyz

658 posts

QUOTE(Lancewood @ Oct 2 2017, 12:34 AM)
You work for them before? You know the company well?
You work for them before?
Same organisation with different role

You know the company well?
I do, kapar, meru and shah alam people know him

U think?

SUSlamb steak

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 2 2017, 12:36 AM)
so scary cry.gif
otakotak
post Oct 2 2017, 12:40 AM

280 posts

my got everything, nsk, java grocer, village grover, 99speedmart, 7-11, kkmart, tesco, giant, aeon ...
i go every of them depending time and mood. mostly visit bigger mall to eat on weekend.

who care if owner is washing money or not..?
each shop got price diff and the diff is only 20-30 cent la.. stock monthly item (>rm300 purchase) also wont save you rm10
...max 2-3 ringgit only. straight lazada is better.
ar188
post Oct 2 2017, 12:41 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(lamb steak @ Oct 2 2017, 12:38 AM)
so scary  cry.gif
laugh.gif your area there got 99 also right?
SUSlamb steak
post Oct 2 2017, 12:44 AM

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 2 2017, 12:41 AM)
laugh.gif your area there got 99 also right?
u very scary cry.gif
SUSLancewood
post Oct 2 2017, 12:45 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ Oct 2 2017, 12:38 AM)
You work for them before?
Same organisation with different role

You know the company well?
I do, kapar, meru and shah alam people know him

U think?
Then you should know how he runs his biz efficiently. It's a Chinese trait. Unlike some who boros before even making a profit.
dadurtyz
post Oct 2 2017, 12:47 AM

658 posts

QUOTE(Lancewood @ Oct 2 2017, 12:45 AM)
Then you should know how he runs his biz efficiently. It's a Chinese trait. Unlike some who boros before even making a profit.
Isnt that what im tell before?
Im not sure what seek your attention to argue that statements. LOL
olman
post Oct 2 2017, 12:50 AM

1,998 posts

not like itu 7/11 ..
They have been doing that.

All the 99 i went to only have locals employed.

This post has been edited by olman: Oct 2 2017, 12:51 AM
SUSLancewood
post Oct 2 2017, 12:52 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ Oct 2 2017, 12:47 AM)
Isnt that what im tell before?
Im not sure what seek your attention to argue that statements. LOL
He likes to use old Lori that's his biz, you kecoh apa haha. He using your money?
SUSLancewood
post Oct 2 2017, 12:53 AM

79 posts

QUOTE(olman @ Oct 2 2017, 12:50 AM)
They have been doing that.

All the 99 i went to only have locals employed.
And yes, job goes back to the local community.
potatobanana
post Oct 2 2017, 12:54 AM

453 posts

rclxms.gif

pro
arsenwagon
post Oct 2 2017, 01:06 AM

all ur bass are belong to usa
2,227 posts

Hires locals. Prices less than promo price by the fukken manufacturer themselves

In the end it doesnt even mater.

Because bangsa tipu and cutthroat in biznis... Hanya pentingkan keuntungan.

Thats the mentality of orang kite.. Meanwhile kr1m tipu so many ppl lowest price.. Takpe.. Asalkan orang kite pegang. Kuikuikui
arsenwagon
post Oct 2 2017, 01:11 AM

all ur bass are belong to usa
2,227 posts

Dei this guy king of underworld? What.

Yeah.. Legend says stevie wonders was a great sharpshooter
SUSempatTan
post Oct 2 2017, 01:23 AM

1,678 posts

QUOTE(sukhoi35mk @ Oct 1 2017, 11:32 PM)
LOL... i also hear from my friend father uncle grandfather mother sister the same story as well..... every successful Chinese sure got underworld connection...  even tan sri liew.... from a manager in bank for 5 yrs became a small time developer within few yrs form SP setia... also washing some money....  another myth is how tan sri vincent tan got his gambling license... he "gave" some high level politicians a toto result slips... they just fill in the winning numbers so that they can collect the money berjaya toto sport...  Bina puri founder and the main place mall in subang..
Ya, and FLOM menabung sejak kecik for cincin...owai ...owai
kendo88
post Oct 2 2017, 01:34 AM

45 posts

so when be4 some dengki org kite set their target on the owner's empire and forcibly seize the whole biz from him?

Percival II
post Oct 2 2017, 02:16 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(Azurues @ Oct 1 2017, 10:08 PM)
Kkmart and speedmart both awesome

But how the hell do u track all your stores hmm
by dividing into region, headed by area manager.
Anime in HD
post Oct 2 2017, 02:47 AM

1,511 posts

99 speedmart murah.
Boleh beli jajan banyak & jimat duit... rclxm9.gif

Tips: sila tengok tarikh luput sebelum beli. Harap tidak terbeli yang dah luput.. smile.gif
cringe
post Oct 2 2017, 06:19 AM

330 posts

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ Oct 2 2017, 12:17 AM)
Im also, feel mydin is alot better in product stock up and price is even more competitive than tesco and giant.

But u know la when it come to mamak /k always talk bad and cronyism
I don't see any reason why I should pay more for the same item.

Mydin always stock up their item, their stocks are more organised compared to Tesco. No wonder their sales is going down.

Tesco staffs are lazy i guess. So many item they didn't topup especially drinks section.
q135
post Oct 2 2017, 06:32 AM

40 posts

QUOTE(weretiger @ Oct 1 2017, 10:32 PM)
When taking over by force by bigmama??
U r slow
K.I.T.T
post Oct 2 2017, 07:17 AM

672 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 1 2017, 10:09 PM)
U should try tanya barang yang takde price tag. Last week speedmart99 my place sell listerine cool.mint rm15 . I terus take 2 hehehehe
Aqidah
post Oct 2 2017, 07:37 AM

No Gender
730 posts

Hmm.. Dont rili care how the owner establish 99 Mart.

But i do know he help us (middle income) to get basic stuffs at reasonable price.

U go big Marts like 7e or SuperMart like Tesco.. Giant.. All cekik darah sometime barang expired also didnt bother to keep track. Shame laa..
xpole
post Oct 2 2017, 07:41 AM

Rain on me baby
1,410 posts

QUOTE(Aqidah @ Oct 2 2017, 07:37 AM)
Hmm.. Dont rili care how the owner establish 99 Mart.

But i do know he help us (middle income) to get basic stuffs at reasonable price.

U go big Marts like 7e or SuperMart like Tesco.. Giant.. All cekik darah sometime barang expired also didnt bother to keep track. Shame laa..
Next time, check the item before u buy rolleyes.gif
If the item is already expired, that means it is a slow moving item, not many people purchased or they have tons of stock inside the warehouse and need to do the clearance rolleyes.gif
eligible
post Oct 2 2017, 07:43 AM

858 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Oct 1 2017, 10:01 PM)
Sin Chew interviews Lee Thiam Wah, founder of 99 Speedmart. Full story (in Chinese) here...
http://sinchew.com.my/node/1687279/%E7%A8%...%AB%98%E5%B3%B0

Excerpt:
- 99 Speedmart celebrates its 30th anniversary.
- It opened its 1,000th store last August.
- It has outlets in Selangor, KL, N. Sembilan, Melaka, Johor, Perak, Pahang & Sabah.
- The founder is eyeing the next 1,00 stores within 5 years, with an average of 4 new stores every week  shocking.gif
- It reported a revenue of RM3 bil in 2016; the projected revenue for this year is RM3.5 bil.
- Currently, it has no plan to go public  sad.gif

The 1,000th outlet in Shah Alam
my fav store. reasonable price
Lyu
post Oct 2 2017, 09:24 AM

772 posts

Didn't know the co-founder is cina
internaldisputes
post Oct 2 2017, 09:26 AM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

i don't like how they put the counters at the entrance. it's hard for people to enter/queue. plus they give handleless plastic bags and i have to hug my things once i buy them. sweat.gif
Drian
post Oct 2 2017, 09:35 AM

4,999 posts

but if they were to take it public , i won't buy their IPO
Don't think it is very profitable despite the huge revenue.

upcars
post Oct 2 2017, 09:37 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(Drian @ Oct 2 2017, 09:35 AM)
but if they were to take it public , i won't buy their IPO
Don't think it is very profitable despite the huge revenue.
bigmama owns this. plenty of money no need go listing
nghj
post Oct 2 2017, 09:51 AM

1,790 posts

i'm impressed how much goods that they can put into one shop, the aisle are placed so closed together that you can hardly walk when there are more ppl around.

This post has been edited by nghj: Oct 2 2017, 09:51 AM
suikod3n
post Oct 2 2017, 09:53 AM

34 posts

always prefer them over KK/7-11, their prices are quite low. way to go thumbup.gif
buysellaccount
post Oct 2 2017, 09:57 AM

127 posts

99speedmart seems to hire the worst employees. all like indentured servants muka mati bapak like that.
TSriver.sand
post Oct 2 2017, 10:04 AM

3,816 posts

QUOTE(nghj @ Oct 2 2017, 09:51 AM)
i'm impressed how much goods that they can put into one shop, the aisle are placed so closed together that you can hardly walk when there are more ppl around.
Some shops are better than the others.
Near my place there is one outlet which occupies two shoplots. Quite spacious.

This post has been edited by river.sand: Oct 2 2017, 10:16 AM
adie82
post Nov 12 2018, 09:38 PM

please count my stars
3,532 posts

is it true that 99speedmart sold to another company?

spacelion
post Nov 12 2018, 09:44 PM

Ada Liu
1,692 posts

QUOTE(adie82 @ Nov 12 2018, 09:38 PM)
is it true that 99speedmart sold to another company?
i heard they bought over burger king

so i dont think sold to another company
ohman
post Nov 12 2018, 09:46 PM

1,178 posts

QUOTE(2feidei @ Oct 1 2017, 10:10 PM)
klang taiko wash moneh
Bodo.
You go open sm97 and wash money la

SUS2feidei
post Nov 12 2018, 10:12 PM

3,158 posts

QUOTE(ohman @ Nov 12 2018, 09:46 PM)
Bodo.
You go open sm97 and wash money la
bodo...go necro my post last year
kamfoo
post Nov 12 2018, 10:17 PM

846 posts

Always no price label
EatFriesEggs
post Nov 12 2018, 10:18 PM

91 posts

uec holder too
tisuepaper
post Nov 12 2018, 11:48 PM

248 posts

the only things i hate about speedmart is..numerous branch must have a rat piss smell.... smh
fu'house
post Nov 12 2018, 11:55 PM

553 posts

QUOTE(yeezai @ Oct 1 2017, 10:05 PM)
Not even a datuk ? Wahh very low profile ... Btw the mart have quite alot of robbery cases
So far no headline involve robbery and gang rape of 99 staff, recorded in cctv.

Sensational news pipul crave.
JRocket
post Nov 13 2018, 12:15 AM

banyak cuci duit
yed
post Nov 13 2018, 07:42 AM

375 posts

I feel bad now..it’s like supporting underworld activities
miromiro
post Nov 13 2018, 07:53 AM