New Mid-Range Vivo V6+ Has A Rather Good Camera

TSryder_78
post Sep 30 2017, 10:31 AM, updated 9y ago

2,077 posts

I just recently read a review of the latest Vivo V7+ which was just recently launched. It is a mid-range phone though the price of the phone was not listed on the page.

Link here : https://www.lowyat.net/2017/142487/closer-l...llview-display/

What interests me are the sample photos of this mid-range phone. Although the quality of camera is not expected to shine, I was rather surprised by the performance of the camera in good daylight. The sample images show good clarity, colours and sharpness. The enlarged crops do not show smearing and the details are preserved as well. In comparison to some costlier phones which are claimed to have a good camera, the Vivo V6+ appear to take comparable if not better pictures. There was a recent comparison of image quality between the Vivo V6+ and LG G6 and from limited samples posted by users, the V6+ appear to produce better image quality.

I was looking at this photo at 100% and it's not too bad really .

These are the crops whereby the lines do not break up and show smearing. Details are still good and intact when the image was enlarged.

However, low light photo is not good, which is sort of expected, judging from this indoor shot below.

With this enlarged crop, the pixels on the faces are visible with smearing of details.

Baconateer
post Sep 30 2017, 10:36 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

Midrange? It wasnt using midrange chip tho..
TSryder_78
post Sep 30 2017, 10:39 AM

2,077 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Sep 30 2017, 10:36 AM)
Midrange? It wasnt using midrange chip tho..
The definition of midrange phones is based on price, not specs. At RM1,500+ the Vivo V6+ is considered to be midrange. If it is using an inferior chip, you can refer to the chip alone as inferior or low-range etc. Ditto with other spec if it's using a low-spec screen.
Baconateer
post Sep 30 2017, 10:41 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(ryder_78 @ Sep 30 2017, 10:39 AM)
The definition of midrange phones is based on price, not specs. At RM1,500+ the Vivo V6+ is considered to be midrange. If it is using an inferior chip, you can refer to the chip alone as inferior or low-range etc. Ditto with other spec if it's using a low-spec screen.
err.. midrange can also be based on spec..

in this case.. low spec phone with midrange price..
TSryder_78
post Sep 30 2017, 10:44 AM

2,077 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Sep 30 2017, 10:41 AM)
err.. midrange can also be based on spec..

in this case.. low spec phone with midrange price..
Okay, whatever floats your boat.
TSryder_78
post Sep 30 2017, 10:46 AM

2,077 posts

Any comments on the quality of the camera of the Vivo V6+ other than the argument whether it's mid-range or low-range?
TSryder_78
post Sep 30 2017, 11:07 AM

2,077 posts

This post has been edited by ryder_78: Sep 30 2017, 11:09 AM
Limpehken
post Oct 5 2017, 04:26 PM

I am currently using the vivo v7+
One week old phone and I have no complaints so far.
Camera sibeh sui
For the price of 1499 that I paid I must say it's a value for money phone.

-cmi-
post Oct 5 2017, 08:45 PM

664 posts

Low range or mid range should be based on spec and features.
Pricing just too manipulative, which doesn't affect user exp and usability.
For me, Vivo Malaysia just trying to sell their phones with marketing hype (bigger MP for camera, big budget for media advertisement, using very popular artists as ambassador etc)
They even try to hide the chip name that they actually used in their phones on their advertising, instead they advertised it by using the term like "octa-core processor".
There are way more better brands & models in the same price range out there compared to Vivo.

0.0145sec    0.70    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:28 PM