fz150i (new/used) vs pulsar ns200 new ?, recommended for 70 /30 (city,highway)

TSzedyll
post Sep 29 2017, 12:31 AM, updated 6y ago

193 posts

Hi guys, based on title, whats best for me if the usage is 70/30 (city-highway)?

My current workplace distance is about 10km from my home, therefore i feel bigger size bikes would be awkward for daily commute. However, I would like to travel long distance (kedah -penang,perak,kl) once in a while like weekends or public holidays.

But the price of new fz150i vs modenas pulsar ns200 is not much of a difference. hmm.gif

Hope to hear your opinions! icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by zedyll: Sep 29 2017, 12:33 AM
magnesium
post Sep 29 2017, 12:39 AM

1,130 posts

what is the price for both model?

never see any pulsar near my place
HeartR0bber
post Sep 29 2017, 01:12 AM

137 posts

both almost in the 9k to 10k bracket OTR

fz150i
-around RM9500
-low maintenance
-spare part easy to find
-small size,ez cilok
-lightweight
-old dated design,update for new version so slow

ns200 (naked)
-around RM 9800
-more to low speed highway cruise and some mid level traffic in the city
-some major spare part got at modenas service centre,other thing can custom since its based on ktm duke
-got looks,not a fan for their tail light (include RS200)
-for CC per ownership cost still considered as cheap (except if u compare with naza N5 naked which got many issue)
-still early in the market,most owner still drove below 10k kilometer range,so far no big issue with the engine
-after sale is good with 2 year warranty

rs200 (full fairing)
- around RM 12800
-same as ns200 in term of engine,warranty and parts
-got ABS which is the biggest reason to get for long commute bike
-in india its considered as super though bike available for long range highway commute
- design is great with caveat which also related to design. ex : to do some simple maintenance need to pry open most of the cover set and put it back can be a tricky if not align correctly
-some ppl just dont like this bike tail light
-limited stock

conclusion :
up to you,if got money to spare get a better bike

value per money rs200 and ns200 is the best choice for now,otherwise used naza N5 can get around 6k cash

i prefer newest duke 250,even better duke 390

if got suzuki gsx-r150 or mslaz 150 sure im gonna get that one,much smaller city ride kapcai

This post has been edited by HeartR0bber: Sep 29 2017, 01:15 AM
TSzedyll
post Sep 29 2017, 07:00 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(HeartR0bber @ Sep 29 2017, 01:12 AM)
both almost in the 9k to 10k bracket OTR

fz150i
-around RM9500
-low maintenance
-spare part easy to find
-small size,ez cilok
-lightweight
-old dated design,update for new version so slow

ns200 (naked)
-around RM 9800
-more to low speed highway cruise and some mid level traffic in the city
-some major spare part got at modenas service centre,other thing can custom since its based on ktm duke
-got looks,not a fan for their tail light (include RS200)
-for CC per ownership cost still considered as cheap (except if u compare with naza N5 naked which got many issue)
-still early in the market,most owner still drove below 10k kilometer range,so far no big issue with the engine
-after sale is good with 2 year warranty
rs200 (full fairing)
- around RM 12800
-same as ns200 in term of engine,warranty and parts
-got ABS which is the biggest reason to get for long commute bike
-in india its considered as super though bike available for long range highway commute
- design is great with caveat which also related to design. ex : to do some simple maintenance need to pry open most of the cover set and put it back can be a tricky if not align correctly
-some ppl just dont like this bike tail light
-limited stock

conclusion :
up to you,if got money to spare get a better bike

value per money rs200 and ns200 is the best choice for now,otherwise used naza N5 can get around 6k cash

i prefer newest duke 250,even better duke 390

if got suzuki gsx-r150 or mslaz 150 sure im gonna get that one,much smaller city ride kapcai
thanks for the opinion! thumbsup.gif

i'm thinking of y1zr or rs150, but kapchai price can buy pulsar... sweat.gif
while the thought of keeping my old kapchai while having a big pulsar can be waste of space (no parking..) and resources. moneyflies.gif sweat.gif

therefore i thought about fz150i... between old fz150i and new one (2014++), whats the difference?
if i take used old model fz150i (2013 or older), does it still capable of going long distance?
HeartR0bber
post Sep 29 2017, 08:10 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(zedyll @ Sep 29 2017, 07:00 PM)
thanks for the opinion!  thumbsup.gif

i'm thinking of y1zr or rs150, but kapchai price can buy pulsar... sweat.gif
while the thought of keeping my old kapchai while having a big pulsar can be waste of space (no parking..) and resources. moneyflies.gif  sweat.gif
therefore i thought about fz150i... between old fz150i and new one (2014++), whats the difference? 
if i take used old model fz150i (2013 or older), does it still capable of going long distance?
FZ thought :

every new fz update its either just cosmetic or minor improvement,

new model meaning higher price than before,you still having no problem with long distance due to its big fuel tank

dont even bother get 2nd fz unless you really have to

unless the previous owner already done major service and he really take care his bike

its all in the end about you and your surrounding environment

if you bought y15 or LC and live in low cost apartment with bad parking facility you need to think twice about security even for big bike

Pulsar thought

modenas really break the market barrier with their new model with pulsar especially the price

with that move other bike dealer start to bring newer model into the market but nothing beat the price

that why some ppl really took their time either buy kapcai or just jump to pulsar

big bike meaning u need extra care,extra equipment,bigger road tax and insurance price

that's why your money determine what to get

My Thought

Long term get a cheap good bike,then buy a car for best of both world

if you rarely use car,then be a smart guy lend it to rent car company for extra income
TSzedyll
post Sep 30 2017, 08:59 AM

193 posts

QUOTE(HeartR0bber @ Sep 29 2017, 08:10 PM)
FZ thought :

new model meaning higher price than before,you still having no problem with long distance due to its big fuel tank

unless the previous owner already done major service and he really take care his bike

if you bought y15 or LC and live in low cost apartment with bad parking facility you need to think twice about security even for big bike
Pulsar thought

modenas really break the market barrier with their new model with pulsar especially the price

with that move other bike dealer start to bring newer model into the market but nothing beat the price

that why some ppl really took their time either buy kapcai or just jump to pulsar

big bike meaning u need extra care,extra equipment,bigger road tax and insurance price

My Thought

if you rarely use car,then be a smart guy lend it to rent car company for extra income
Thanks bro! thumbup.gif
I already have a car.... as you know, travelling by car is a high expenses...i would prefer not using it when I travel alone. smile.gif

Whats the approx cost of roadtax and insurance for 250cc bikes vs pulsar/ 200cc bikes vs. fz150i/150cc bikes?
HeartR0bber
post Sep 30 2017, 10:30 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(zedyll @ Sep 30 2017, 08:59 AM)
Thanks bro! thumbup.gif
I already have a car.... as you know, travelling by car is a high expenses...i would prefer not using it when I travel alone. smile.gif

Whats the approx cost of roadtax and insurance for 250cc bikes vs pulsar/ 200cc bikes vs. fz150i/150cc bikes?
roadtax is cheap

0 to 150 cc – RM2
151 cc to 200 cc – RM3
201 cc to 250 cc – RM50

insurance based on bike price (insurance covered)

for pulsar between 500-600

my friend r25 cost about 700-800

next year dont know since there is a change how insurance is calculated
TSzedyll
post Sep 30 2017, 02:29 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(HeartR0bber @ Sep 30 2017, 10:30 AM)
roadtax is cheap

0 to 150 cc – RM2
151 cc to 200 cc – RM3
201 cc to 250 cc – RM50

insurance based on bike price (insurance covered)

for pulsar between 500-600

my friend r25 cost about 700-800

next year dont know since there is a change how insurance is calculated
Then fz150i it is. Thanks bro! thumbup.gif
HeartR0bber
post Sep 30 2017, 03:54 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(zedyll @ Sep 30 2017, 02:29 PM)
Then fz150i it is. Thanks bro! thumbup.gif
in think better wait for the new r15 if u like fairing bike
chikuera
post Sep 30 2017, 04:24 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(HeartR0bber @ Sep 29 2017, 08:10 PM)
FZ thought :

Pulsar thought

My Thought

QUOTE(HeartR0bber @ Sep 30 2017, 03:54 PM)
i have the new fz (year 2014)

improvement over the previous model is fuel injection compared to carbs, which fuel consumption is quite good

pulsar is good but maybe wait for a year until the community and spare part availability is improved

new r15 is based on the new vixion (fz in indonesia) which has vva (a bit like vtec in cars term) and also slipper clutch. yes, if you like fairing and a bit aggressive riding position, you may consider that

however, i got some feeling that HLYM will bring in the new FZ/Vixion here in malaysia next year.. Got Vixion R with 155cc
amar_arifin
post Oct 4 2017, 02:43 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(HeartR0bber @ Sep 30 2017, 03:54 PM)
R15 coming to Msia??
basilisk
post Oct 4 2017, 03:01 PM

30 posts

QUOTE(amar_arifin @ Oct 4 2017, 02:43 PM)
R15 coming to Msia??
the bike was photographed testing on msia roads, u can find the shots online...

so there is a chance ... biggrin.gif
amar_arifin
post Oct 4 2017, 05:01 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(basilisk @ Oct 4 2017, 03:01 PM)
the bike was photographed testing on msia roads, u can find the shots online...

so there is a chance ...  biggrin.gif
aiyo..couple months ago also looking fr r15..
then bought ktm rc...

anyway price range 11,500 - 13,000

this artc from motomalaya...

"Sekeping gambar intipan sekilas penampakan jentera Yamaha YZF-R15 yg sedang diuji di Sungai Buloh dikirim oleh pembaca, Haziq.

Telah lama peminat motosikal di Malaysia menginginkan jentera ini, tetapi belum ada perkhabaran mengenainya. Kali ini, ia sedang diuji. Mungkin hanya sekadar ujian dalaman atau ujian jalanan untuk pelancaran pada masa depan. Kami pun tak pasti."
adamhzm90
post Oct 11 2017, 02:54 PM

1,269 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Sep 30 2017, 04:24 PM)
i have the new fz (year 2014)

improvement over the previous model is fuel injection compared to carbs, which fuel consumption is quite good

pulsar is good but maybe wait for a year until the community and spare part availability is improved
new r15 is based on the new vixion (fz in indonesia) which has vva (a bit like vtec in cars term) and also slipper clutch. yes, if you like fairing and a bit aggressive riding position, you may consider that

however, i got some feeling that HLYM will bring in the new FZ/Vixion here in malaysia next year.. Got Vixion R with 155cc
fz150i always have fi since the beginning (round headlamp model)

never had carbs
ikram_p
post Oct 11 2017, 03:17 PM

969 posts

Yup always fi.. i have the earliest model. Sold already. Now looking for wave 125i more economic at long distance.
chikuera
post Oct 11 2017, 05:23 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(adamhzm90 @ Oct 11 2017, 02:54 PM)
fz150i always have fi since the beginning (round headlamp model)

never had carbs
QUOTE(ikram_p @ Oct 11 2017, 03:17 PM)
Yup always fi.. i have the earliest model. Sold already. Now looking for wave 125i more economic at long distance.
yeah sorry for the mislead information tongue.gif

i'm also using future 125 (carb). quite disappointed with the quality of assembly..vibration and loose part everywhere..
ikram_p
post Oct 11 2017, 06:48 PM

969 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Oct 11 2017, 05:23 PM)
yeah sorry for the mislead information  tongue.gif

i'm also using future 125 (carb). quite disappointed with the quality of assembly..vibration and loose part everywhere..
I have read about it. They rebrand under wave family but i dont see any second hand. So they must have improve somehow.
chikuera
post Oct 12 2017, 03:07 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(ikram_p @ Oct 11 2017, 06:48 PM)
I have read about it. They rebrand under wave family but i dont see any second hand. So they must have improve somehow.
strangely, on boonsiew website they are still sold side by side. i think they need to upgrade the Dash with 125cc engine and phase out the future/125i already. the Dash look is quite sporty but only 110cc
salimbest83
post Oct 12 2017, 03:11 PM

♥PMS on certain day♥
8,548 posts

saw one early this month.
damm.. this pulsar looks good in real life
ikram_p
post Oct 12 2017, 08:05 PM

969 posts

Yup saw one. Very cantek.. but dont know the quality if have issue or not