Samsung Samsung Note 8 Discussion Thread v4

bobowyc
post Oct 7 2017, 01:31 PM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(aaron80 @ Oct 7 2017, 01:23 PM)
i found some soft tp of few brands which is full adhesive (shared the videos at here before)
but seem like can only get it at US for the moment
Hmm. I've seen on websites too. But I'm not sure. I don't wanna go for it first at the moment. Already wasted rm99 on spigen SP which came out once I drop My phone. Nope. Lol. And since I'm using flip case I think I'm good. Still have to be careful also lor. Haha..
bobowyc
post Oct 7 2017, 07:30 PM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Oct 7 2017, 06:41 PM)
Actually i liked this wireless charging stand even more than the convertible one i bought. laugh.gif
The bottom is at least rubberized, producing more grip when placing vertically.
Hahah! I wanted to buy the convertible, but looking at the RM300+ price tag I change my mind. haha. Good thing I saw the deal on lazada, its and old model, but still, works flawlessly with Note 8. With my flip cover case on it still charges. xD
bobowyc
post Oct 7 2017, 07:43 PM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(aaron80 @ Oct 7 2017, 04:47 PM)
this video show that note 8 take lesser than 3 hours from 0-100% if charge with wireless charger
i am using the older model wireless charger, for 50-100% around the same time as the video test

Oo. This old model, the one i just bought, takes 2hr30min to charge from 18%. But somehow after 10mins, the battery dropped to 16% and then it takes 2hr50min to fully charge. lol. I switched to cable. LOL.
bobowyc
post Oct 7 2017, 09:19 PM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(aaron80 @ Oct 7 2017, 07:55 PM)
drop to 16% within 10 minutes? wow, what did you do?
i am using the old quick charge stand model every night, happy with
my phone battery normally still have 50-60% battery before i charge, so it only took me lesser than 1.5 hours every night
I was doing nothing. Lol. It was left there unattended while i browse lowyat. hahah.. Not sure why, maybe cause got background apps running? lol
bobowyc
post Oct 7 2017, 11:49 PM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(aavth65 @ Oct 7 2017, 11:11 PM)
Thank you for the compliment.

No offence to HAO early adopters but as I did not see anyone share a detail experience on the product, I thought maybe I could with mine which is what this thread is for; Sharing.
Totally agree with you but do we not always hope for the best?
For peace of mind, “Do what you can, with what you have, where you are” until something better comes along.
It is semi coverage.
Np bro. haha
bobowyc
post Oct 7 2017, 11:50 PM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

Btw, why isnt my wireless charger working? Battery was 95% and now its 90%. ohmy.gif
bobowyc
post Oct 8 2017, 02:39 PM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(yang90 @ Oct 8 2017, 12:47 PM)
Thank you Samsung
ooohhh Yet to redeem this. hahaha.. xD
bobowyc
post Oct 8 2017, 08:45 PM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(Max2006 @ Oct 8 2017, 08:21 PM)
I see. But if my memory serves me right, I didn't encounter such issue on my ex-S8+. All the other apps are smooth like butter on my Note 8, except whatsapp. So I suspect it's whatsapp's fault. May be they will fix it in next update. Not too sure. Anyway, I reinstalled whatsapp. So far so good. Will observe it for next few days and see if it's already fixed.

Thanks for the reply, bro.
I believe you love your pixel due to the speed and smoothness, right? If you really love your  pixel and already get used to the pure android experience, you may feel difficult  to cope with Samsung Touchwiz/experience UI. Don't get me wrong. It's been a long way before Samsung could get this far, and their latest system UI is much faster and smoother compared to previous years. But still, there are some rooms to be improved compared to pixel.

So the choice is up to you. Stick to pure android for supreme smoothness and wait for pixel 2, or change to Samsung for variety of features and excitements. If you love simplicity, then go for pixel 2 or oneplus 5 (alternate cheaper option). If you love features and functions, go for Note 8. As for me, I love features, so I always stick to Samsung flagships because they are the expert in this area. thumbsup.gif
Haha. True bro. Im a samsung fan the moment I used their Note 2. haha. Got it when it was just launched about 2.3k i think. Then upgraded to note 4 2 years ago. And now upgrade to note 8 a month ago. tongue.gif hehehe..
bobowyc
post Oct 8 2017, 11:07 PM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(Max2006 @ Oct 8 2017, 09:02 PM)
Haha.  As people said, once you go for Note, there's no turning back, you will always go back to Note. When I sold my S8+, the buyer asked me why opt for Note 8 while my S8+ is still new and pristine? There's not much difference mah. I said, no matter which brand or model I switched to, I would always go back to Note series no matter what. And he was like "huh?". LOL.

Anyway, I guess I will stick to the Note 8 until next year.  Next few months no more switching phone anymore. However, I am not sure whether I will go for Note 9 next year. The economy is getting bad nowadays. By that time Note 9 sure will exceed RM4000, which is a lot to swallow. Unless there's a breakthrough, if not, better stay with Note 8. Must tahan my desire.... tongue.gif
Hahahah! Yeaa! I didnt even look at other series. haha. Stayed with Note all the way. But I did get a j2 prime for my hotlink number ahaha. so far that phone ok la, OS a bit like our Note 8. But Note 8 is better.. Wayyyy better.. haha.. Nah, i wont get it too, my note 2 lasted me for 4 years before the mobo died a few months ago. Sad, but thinking to change the mobo when it gets cheaper. ahaha! Note 4 screen also cracked ad. sad.gif Less than a year I used then crack, then last till i got my note 8. x) Usually in 2 years time can upgrade. I see the features and hardware of the phone (note series). haha. So far all the notes I bought got its feature, note 4 debuted (right word/term? rclxub.gif ) finger print. Then only S5 came with the finger print, more advanced. Note 2 was the first one after the first note. I saw their advertisement and loved it man. Forgot what it was good for. haha. But the SPen was the main feature. Some advanced function pen during that time. And then the Note 8. A pretty huge jump from my Note 4. New OS, new hardware, new features. Just. Wow! lol

QUOTE(kding2 @ Oct 8 2017, 10:55 PM)
Out of curiosity, what kind of security system that you guys are using for your Note 8?

PIN? Password? Touch ID? Iris? Face?
Er. I use all. Fingerprint Iris and Pin. If my phone horizontally down i use pin, if im holding it either iris or fingerprint, which ever unlocks first. ahahha. tongue.gif
bobowyc
post Oct 8 2017, 11:08 PM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Oct 8 2017, 10:28 PM)
Anyone here got the problem where Bixby automatically starts when playing video?
Could be the key word or term used in the video. I dont think its a bug, my note 4 also does the same thing, pops up the google search something lol. annoying at times. lol
bobowyc
post Oct 9 2017, 09:19 PM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(xHj09 @ Oct 9 2017, 07:48 PM)
Yeah I know, but I have slight OCD. It's a must for me to edit the songs with lyrics/artwork/song title/artist/year/album etc.

Without iTunes, I have to download multiple softwares to do these. If you're an iPhone user previously you'd understand the experience  tongue.gif

Other than this, Note series is definitely better than iPhones hands down.

My first smartphone was 4S. Had it 8 years ago. Upgraded from that to 5 > 6 Plus > Note 5 in 2015. So you can probably know how familiar I was with iPhone. Tough experience swapping platform but a great one definitely.
Haha.. I use both, Note 8 and 5S. Ive just recently updated my 5S to iOS 11.0.1. Seems good. Some issues were solved. I generally dont really like apple because of the no SD card slot. Thats a major for me, and during that time (2years+ ago) there was only the 16GB option and 32GB. So its very limited and apple have their icloud which after certain GB must pay monthly. My friend switched from 5S to 6(i think) to Google Pixel XL. hahaa. And my very first smartphone was the Samsung Galaxy Ace. HAHAHA. Then only upgraded to Note 2, Note 4 and now Note 8. biggrin.gif
bobowyc
post Oct 9 2017, 10:54 PM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(citacitata @ Oct 9 2017, 10:52 PM)
Anyone experiencing the Contacts app crashing? I can't seem to to dial out. The app freezes and says Contacts has stopped working.
Nope.. No problems with it.. Probably try to restart the phone.
bobowyc
post Oct 11 2017, 10:17 AM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Oct 11 2017, 10:08 AM)
try turn off Video Enhancer settings.
however, it is the nature of HDR. it needs a peak brightness of 1000nits to produce the visuals, which is why the phone's brightness is absolutely maxed out.
Oh. No wonder when I open YouTube it always gets brighter. Hahaha
bobowyc
post Oct 11 2017, 12:23 PM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

Hi guys. Anyone tried this TG?

bobowyc
post Oct 11 2017, 03:04 PM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Oct 11 2017, 02:37 PM)
Ordered it. ETA by mid or end of October.
Will review once i received and installed it.
Cool. Keep me posted bro. But then now it's on sale. Ahahha.. and my room is dusty. Lmao. I scared got dust then GG. Lol.
bobowyc
post Oct 11 2017, 06:37 PM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(samsungXP @ Oct 11 2017, 04:31 PM)
u paste wrongly then gone liao.some more not case friendly for some cases
Haha. Ya lo. I watch the video walao.. Need at least 30min to fix the TG. lol. Then i went on lazada and saw it. ahhaha
bobowyc
post Oct 11 2017, 06:55 PM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Oct 11 2017, 06:43 PM)
Rm199 for a TG is a bit on the expensive side. But then that is just me.
haha. yea, but I think in the video i watched its quite expensive there too. I think less than 100USD. Or whatever currency he is using. lol. I mean it it lasts long, durable and is tough, why not? I dont mind spending on it if its really tough. haahha.. I also got buy that day spigen RM99 one. now come off ad, so i want to look for another one lor.. Summore SP/TG no warranty one.. lol. Right?
bobowyc
post Oct 11 2017, 09:53 PM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Oct 11 2017, 09:24 PM)
So spigen didnt improve on their sp. Same thing happened to my S6E and S7E. I think we can forget about using spigen sps on our phones.
Yeah.. But then I think it was also due to the fact that i asked the guy at samsung to adjust the SP a bit after he installed it, probably made the glue weaker. I dropped my phone and the SP came flying out like a rockstar. lol.
bobowyc
post Oct 11 2017, 11:56 PM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Oct 11 2017, 11:53 PM)
my 1+3 cant install smart switch, how leh?
play store say not compatible...
Hm. Install on pc/laptop? then back up to your pc/laptop and restore to note 8?
bobowyc
post Oct 13 2017, 12:47 PM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

Hi guys. Anyone want to try this case? Hahaha $9.99 lol promo price. Not sure about website. Haha.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0240sec    0.76    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:20 PM