A very gimmicky piece of art, I am not a fan of it

TSendymeon
post Sep 27 2017, 10:44 AM, updated 7y ago

193 posts

I feel this art is more gimmicky than what i think is art. After all, she may just paint some random shape claiming she encrypted it.

Pozanti has three paintings hung around the Peter J. Sharp building and one mural applied directly to an upstairs wall. Each one looks like an abstract shape, but actually has a meaning that’s private to her. “I didn’t want anybody to be able to decipher it,” she tells me. “I wanted some sort of personal input. It’s like an encryption machine.” To that end, Pozanti has created her own alphabet, which she calls “Instant Paradise.” It’s a series of 31 shapes, each one representing either a number, a letter, or both. All of her paintings are combinations of the symbols, cast in vivid colors. So to convey a single piece of data, she’ll weave together symbols that correspond to a set of numbers that add up to the value she wants to express.

For more reading : Source
teikboon
post Sep 27 2017, 10:46 AM

1,384 posts

maybe i not high class enough, tak faham langsung
dewill
post Sep 27 2017, 10:54 AM

1,716 posts

those days, icon or shape as you name it. mayan use it for prediction rather than this artist for emotional meaning.
internaldisputes
post Sep 27 2017, 11:17 AM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

they're not bad-looking paintings. i find myself drawn towards them tbh.
nebula87
post Sep 27 2017, 11:19 AM

Fg = mg
1,308 posts

I thought that is Jawi word...
TSendymeon
post Sep 27 2017, 11:23 AM

193 posts

QUOTE(internaldisputes @ Sep 27 2017, 11:17 AM)
they're not bad-looking paintings. i find myself drawn towards them tbh.
probably you got painter blood in your vein
avrilmae
post Sep 27 2017, 02:09 PM

1,039 posts

i'm not a fan either...
Or maybe I dunno how to 'appreciate' this type of art.
Zot
post Sep 27 2017, 02:13 PM

7,592 posts

I can put small black dot on the left top corner of big piece white paper and let everyone decipher it. I 'm not going to tell what it meant. smile.gif
NeoMnemonic
post Sep 28 2017, 03:34 PM

760 posts

anyone can brag about their piece of crap now a days

0.0204sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 08:23 PM