Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages  1 2 3 >Bottom
Bump TopicReply to this topicRSS feed Start new topic Start Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Ikea Kitchen Cabinet - Anyone Installed One?, How Long Does It Last?

ryder_78
post Sep 21 2017, 10:40 AM, updated 4 months ago

Enthusiast
Group: Senior Member

I just got to know that the kitchen cabinet from Ikea does not come with granite top and concrete framework. For this reason I am doubtful on the quality of the kitchen cabinet, whether it can last for a long time.

Only wood top is offered, and in terms of practicality it will not match granite tops as you cannot put hot pots or pans on the wood top and one will have to be careful not cut the wood surface with sharp objects that may cause a dent or cut lines on top of the wood surface.

Since there is no concrete framework and top, the cabinet itself may not be so secure or lasting. Though all these are my thoughts since I have no real world experience. Hence the purpose of this post.

Has anyone installed an Ikea kitchen cabinet at your homes? I would appreciate if you can share your experience on the reliability or quality of the cabinet, whether the quality is good or the wood top is practical etc. I am just not sure about the reliability in the long-term when compared to conventional kitchens with granite top and concrete framework which can usually last for a long time up to 20 years or more without much issues other than the wooden doors showing some wear or stains etc.
pff
post Sep 21 2017, 10:52 AM

Getting Started
Group: Junior Member

All I can say is you get what you pay for. Ikea is marketed as being cheap and available for all, so you're never going to get premium quality for cheap prices.
hanknives
post Sep 21 2017, 10:57 AM

Getting Started

QUOTE(pff @ Sep 21 2017, 10:52 AM)