Stamp duty on on strata title transfer, paying twice?

TSlookie
post Sep 18 2017, 11:24 AM, updated 9y ago

852 posts

Let's say I bought a property under development. So I sign S&P with the developer and pay the stamp duty based on the sales price of say 500k. Ok no issue.

3 years later take possesion of the property and live in it.

Strata title comes out in another 3 years. By this time, lets say that property price has gone up to 800k.

The developer say I have to pay another round of stamp duty before the title can be transfered to me, but this time the calculation will be based on 800k valuation.

So is this true that we have to pay stamp duty to the HASIL twice on every property transaction?
midmay
post Sep 18 2017, 11:29 AM

145 posts

during sign snp with developer, normally stamp duty on strata tittle is not paid, but is the stamp duty for the loan agreement.

So you pay for loan agreement stamp duty or strata tittle stamp duty?

From what i understand the strata tittle valuation should be always based on SnP amount but not the market value, but maybe some sifu here can confirm on this?
hanhanhan
post Sep 21 2017, 01:44 PM

(͡ ͡° ͜ つ ͡͡°)
1,203 posts

if u buy under development u dont pay stamp duty of the transfer.

u only pay when title is issued, but stamp duty payable is still based on ur purchase price (S&P price).

must be new staff..give wrong info.

0.0117sec    0.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:47 AM