Credit Cards Maybankard 2 Gold & Platinum Cards V19, 5% with M2 Amex on ALL WEEKEND spend

Current Events guy
post Oct 15 2017, 08:32 PM

966 posts

I had a negative experience using my Amex card today. I was buying a big ticket item (in the thousands of ringgit) but I couldn't complete my transaction at the store after 3 attempts. After switching to my Mastercard, I had no problems with completing my payment.

The Cashback and 5xTP were one of the main reasons I chose to have the Amex card in the first place but if I can't take advantage of these two features, what's the point?

I'm going to lodge a complaint to see if I can get the remaining TP that I am owed.
Current Events guy
post Oct 16 2017, 11:13 AM

966 posts

QUOTE(Lego Warfare @ Oct 15 2017, 08:57 PM)
That has nothing to do with Maybank, more like a problem with the merchant's terminal instead
QUOTE(digidigi @ Oct 15 2017, 09:29 PM)
don't think so, this kind of problem do happen sometimes, even with visa/master
QUOTE(savvyaunty @ Oct 15 2017, 11:14 PM)
Most likely terminal problem. Don't think Maybank need to compensate anything
I used the same terminal for both Amex and MC. Amex payment didn't go through but MC transaction was successful.
How is that a terminal issue?

To the guy that said if the merchant accepted Amex, yes they did and still do.
Current Events guy
post Nov 19 2017, 12:58 PM

966 posts

I just used AMEX on Paypal for transaction in Japan Yen.

How much is the additional service charge, 2.5%?

0.0209sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:08 AM