The Official iPhone 8/8+ Thread, User & Discussion for all

attw
post Sep 14 2017, 07:55 AM

32,264 posts

7 reasons to upgrade to the iPhone 8/8 Plus (and a couple not to)

attw
post Sep 14 2017, 06:22 PM

32,264 posts

QUOTE(amroll @ Sep 14 2017, 04:46 PM)
Not sure but I got feeling iphone 8 will end up like iphone 5c. People will jump to x and only some will opt for 8.
Unless the price difference is too big.
attw
post Sep 14 2017, 07:23 PM

32,264 posts

QUOTE(amroll @ Sep 14 2017, 07:19 PM)
Yes but ppl who buy apple product usually want the best,and latest tech.if want cheaper 7/7+ doesnt hv much tech diff with 8/8+.iphone processors already fast enough.just my opinion.
And I agree smile.gif
attw
post Sep 14 2017, 08:14 PM

32,264 posts

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Sep 14 2017, 08:10 PM)
Ya, exactly that smile.gif
attw
post Sep 15 2017, 07:28 AM

32,264 posts

QUOTE(sugen @ Sep 14 2017, 11:20 PM)
waiting for Malaysia telco package on 8 plus.. plan to change away my 3 YRS old 6 Plus due to home button insensitivity. Touch ID working fine, but home button sometimes not functioning..
You would choose the 8 Plus over the X?
attw
post Sep 15 2017, 03:17 PM

32,264 posts

QUOTE(xisan @ Sep 15 2017, 12:15 PM)
I will choose 8+ first, then in December when iphone x arrived here officially, I will sell that 8+ and take ipX laugh.gif
Qoo10, we're counting on you!
attw
post Sep 15 2017, 03:20 PM

32,264 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Sep 15 2017, 01:35 PM)
IPhone 6 will facing a lot battery drain issue.
There is not lasting anymore.
If battery is the only concern then you do have the option to get a replacement battery. Since the iPhone 6 is probably out of warranty and has no water resistance, you can get it done at a third party shop for relatively cheap.

This post has been edited by attw: Sep 15 2017, 03:20 PM
attw
post Sep 15 2017, 03:29 PM

32,264 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Sep 15 2017, 03:22 PM)
Already , but is 3rd party battery, still not last enough.
Only iPhone 7 will do long lasting battery life.
I am using my iPhone non stop.
Since start from early morning till night time 12am.
This is daily usage.
My colleague had the same problem with his iPhone 6 (not +) then he bought a battery case at the recent machines warehouse sale for RM50.00. He's a happy camper now.
attw
post Sep 15 2017, 10:40 PM

32,264 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Sep 15 2017, 08:19 PM)
Yup crazy, not only similar to our MBP, A11 also as fast as MBP processor, I read somewhere yesterday..
Ya, they mentioned it's as fast as an i7. That is definitely faster than my MBA, ha ha...

In fact, most flagship smartphones these days have more RAM than my MBA as well.
attw
post Sep 17 2017, 10:08 AM

32,264 posts

QUOTE(Lynixx @ Sep 17 2017, 09:49 AM)
Seems like a trend. Everyone is harping on chipset efficiency and giving us smaller batteries biggrin.gif
attw
post Sep 18 2017, 06:53 PM

32,264 posts

QUOTE(boarulez @ Sep 18 2017, 09:09 AM)
Guys I'm using iPhone 6
Worth upgrading to 8? Or 7?
X to expensive can't afford
7, if you don't need wireless charging.
attw
post Sep 18 2017, 06:59 PM

32,264 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Sep 18 2017, 06:55 PM)
7 still gooding leh... i am so disappointed of the current resell price dropping soon cry.gif
Why, you expected a steeper drop? Unlikely coz it's Apple.
attw
post Sep 19 2017, 08:40 AM

32,264 posts

QUOTE(wjleong15 @ Sep 18 2017, 09:18 PM)
I found Apple is unfairly charge high in iPhone

iPad Pro 12.9" Wi-Fi sold USD 799 in US Store
https://www.apple.com/shop/buy-ipad/ipad-pro

SGD 1188 in Singapore Store
https://www.apple.com/sg/shop/buy-ipad/ipad...space-grey-wifi

RM 3499 in Malaysia Store
https://www.apple.com/my/shop/buy-ipad/ipad...space-gray-wifi

But iPhone 8 Plus price 799 in US Store
https://www.apple.com/shop/buy-iphone/iphone-8

Singapore store is sell SGD 1308
https://www.apple.com/sg/shop/buy-iphone/iphone-8

SGD 120 extra

I think Malaysia will be either RM 3999 or RM 4099

Unfair price tag!
I believe it has a lot to do with currency exchange rates as well as taxes.

Lets look at the current base model for iPhone 7 Plus (32GB).

US - USD 669 (not including taxes)
Malaysia - USD 799 or RM3,349 (inclusive 6% GST)
Singapore - USD 808 or SGD$1,088 (inclusive 7% GST)

So in terms of pricing in the region, we're not very far off. Of course, you can't compare to the US.

attw
post Sep 20 2017, 08:31 AM

32,264 posts

QUOTE(wjleong15 @ Sep 19 2017, 12:51 PM)
Even 799 add gst only 48
50 usd the most only 230
If we buy from online store
They locate in Singapore
Doubt need to pay GST
Even pay gst but price tag is not match
iPhone exchange rate roughly 5
In directly charge for DHL shipping if we buy from online store Malaysia
For one, you can't buy from a country specific Apple website unless you have a credit card and a delivery address in that said country. Also tax structures could be different as there could also be import taxes imposed in different countries.
attw
post Sep 21 2017, 08:36 AM

32,264 posts

QUOTE(Jit @ Sep 21 2017, 12:58 AM)
Guys. Need some opinion here.
I am using 7 atm. Always wanting a 7 plus.
Since 8 plus coming out. Should I change to 7 plus or just go for the 8 plus.

Thanks for reading !
Might as well just go for 8 Plus since you're upgrading anyway
attw
post Sep 22 2017, 12:13 PM

32,264 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 22 2017, 11:54 AM)
All holding out for iPhone X.
attw
post Sep 22 2017, 01:03 PM

32,264 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Sep 22 2017, 12:33 PM)
As expected. I wont buy the same phone with a design I have been using since 3 years ago.  laugh.gif
Sometime back in the 7/7 Plus thread when it was just rumoured that there will be three iPhones launched, two of which followed the current design and one brand new design, I predicted that Apple would be killing themselves and looks like I'm being proven to be not wrong smile.gif

The good news is that we will get the 8 and 8 Plus here sooner rather than later, haha

This post has been edited by attw: Sep 22 2017, 01:04 PM
attw
post Sep 22 2017, 09:50 PM

32,264 posts

QUOTE(PeeEl @ Sep 22 2017, 01:13 PM)
My take on this. Apple simply made a wrong marketing decision. If they did not introduce the X, the demand for the 8 and 8Plus will be there much like the 7's from the Sixes. Just look at previous launches where they moved from one iteration to another without any aesthetic changes.
Well, the 7 Plus introduced dual lens for the first time, and also the Jet Black color had a novelty feel about it, but beyond that the aesthetics were similar to the 6S. I think there's a bunch of people who held on to their 6S and 6S Plus and skipped the upgrade to 7, and were likely to upgrade to 8 but now probably thought hmm, might as well wait and see what the X looks like in real life first.
attw
post Sep 22 2017, 09:57 PM

32,264 posts

QUOTE(KaiHD @ Sep 22 2017, 07:45 PM)
New articles out after iPhone 8 launches worldwide:

DxOMark: iPhone 8 Plus is the best smartphone camera
(iPhone 8 is #2)

TomsGuide: iPhone 8 is world’s fastest phone
(Apple now makes the world’s top 3 fastest phones: X, 8/8+)
The latter is not unexpected, iPhone's chip and iOS optimization blows any high end Android out of the water in synthetic benchmarks on any given day. In fact even the iPhone SE holds its own against some top end 2017 Androids. But I must say the DXOmark reviews were a bit surprising considering how every other shootout I've read online keeps giving the edge to the Galaxy phones. Anyways, Pixel 2 beckons in a couple of weeks. Let's see.

This post has been edited by attw: Sep 22 2017, 09:58 PM
attw
post Sep 23 2017, 11:54 AM

32,264 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Sep 23 2017, 11:45 AM)
Iphone 8 and 8+ should still have marker for those who cannot afford iphone x. I think Apple has thought through this.

If they solely launch one iphone x, they will lose the mid and low tier market.
Don't think the 8 and 8 Plus target the low or mid-tier market either, well at least not in Malaysia biggrin.gif

17 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0897sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 02:46 AM