The Official iPhone 8/8+ Thread, User & Discussion for all

YoungMan
post Oct 1 2017, 08:48 PM

6,793 posts

- What is the difference between SG set and official MY set actually?
- Is the supported telco band all the same for both SG and MY set?
- MY set will be using intel's modem instead of qualcom, how about Sg set, and does that make any difference?

My hand very itchy wanting to get the 8 Plus now. I am struggling with battery life for the 5S which is almost 4 years old. Planning to use the 8 Plus for 4 or 5 years.
YoungMan
post Oct 2 2017, 02:27 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(GamaX320 @ Oct 1 2017, 09:52 PM)
I believe SG set same as MY set both work with all telco in MY and SG. Both set are using intel modem

QUOTE(John.Cena @ Oct 1 2017, 11:11 PM)
Wait got iPhone x
iPhone X too expensive. out of budget already. Also, any difference between HK set and SG or MY set? it seems so many forumers bought HK set.

YoungMan
post Oct 4 2017, 12:13 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Oct 4 2017, 01:03 PM)
I see.. then maybe the screen+ those camera features seems like kinda worth the extra. But need to wait.. arrgh
If repair is gonna be expensive, get a cheap android to use for few months, while waiting for iPhone X to reach Malaysia. Battery alone should cost you below 100 which is reasonable, but the other problem I don't know.
YoungMan
post Oct 4 2017, 12:55 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Oct 4 2017, 01:20 PM)
The touch ic i asked at kk around 350, then batt rm150. If change touch screen need 400-500 here. Oh ya, also my camera like got burn out pixel, cos 1 black patch when taking photo 😂😂 so this phone is defintely a goner but luckily camera no much issue for me becos i have dedicated camera for my travelling later.

Total if touch ic and batt around 500.. tough decision. Probably just gonna wait out x smile.gif Thanks for the advise
I see. because I found few shopscan change battery for around RM80-100. I don't know if there's any cheap iPhone repair in KK though, but touch IC is gonna cost hundreds. If your phone really cannot use, then no choice. either you get another phone and sell back later, or just settle for iPhone 8 Plus.

QUOTE(KaiHD @ Oct 4 2017, 01:37 PM)
iPhone 6+ has a repair program to fix screen: https://www.apple.com/my/support/iphone6plus-multitouch/

Will cost you rm 670, especially if they detect that it has been dropped or bent
expensive I would say, especially considering he's not going to use that phone for a long time.
YoungMan
post Oct 4 2017, 08:21 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(Holyboy27 @ Oct 4 2017, 09:00 PM)
That won't work would it? The phone will determine the charging rate no matter what the supplied power is.
Exactly. you can use 29 or 87W charger, in the end the phone will determine the charging rate. So if you already have bMacbook, you got the high speed charger already.
YoungMan
post Oct 9 2017, 08:35 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(raptar_eric @ Oct 9 2017, 05:07 PM)
i bought from their store in taman maluri cheras.. they have another store in ss2 opposite murni...
Which set is this store selling? US or HK set or SG set?
Also, to those who get the non plus version, can share your battery life experience? Can last a day or not?
YoungMan
post Oct 12 2017, 01:08 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(jumpstat @ Oct 12 2017, 12:25 PM)
This contract is the worrying part. If we default, can Celcom block the phone?
I believe they can, just like how Maxis do. So in the end the person who got your phone cannot use it if you default.
YoungMan
post Oct 12 2017, 02:31 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(chaukeng @ Oct 12 2017, 02:48 PM)
i have an extra sealed msia set Iphone 8 256GB silver color to letgo. selling near cost price. serious buyer pm me. thank you.
iPhone 8 Plus have or not? Near cost price? that would be insane cheap!
YoungMan
post Oct 17 2017, 03:20 PM

6,793 posts

Sigh... If only the iPhone pricing is not that expensive. Really miss those time few years back when you could get an iPhone without any plan at below 3k.
YoungMan
post Oct 18 2017, 09:17 AM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(rebus @ Oct 18 2017, 12:14 AM)
our best glory days were IP5 16G at RM 2199 then 5S and 6 both 16G was RM2399! how sweet this price sounds now.
Apple maintained the price from 5S to newly designed 6. (16G)

6S onwards all shot up - RM1K jump for the 16G  - RM3199! what a jump. since then prices have onion effect.
QUOTE(Jit @ Oct 18 2017, 12:27 AM)
Miss those days. I still remember paying rm1000 for my iPhone 5 with 2 years contract @ 75 a month
Yeah... that was the time I bought my 5S 32GB with RM200 discount from Lazada, use until now.

This post has been edited by YoungMan: Oct 18 2017, 09:19 AM
YoungMan
post Oct 20 2017, 01:56 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(Chrono-Trigger @ Oct 20 2017, 01:09 PM)
It was RM1300 with RM100/month plan 7 years ago.
Is Umobile package cheaper compare to Digi this time? Anone have info?
YoungMan
post Oct 21 2017, 12:13 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Oct 21 2017, 11:10 AM)
Been doing that for the last three years with iPhone 6. It charges faster and the battery health is still above 80% with more than 1000 cycles after three years.
What app you use to check battery cycle?
YoungMan
post Oct 21 2017, 02:10 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Oct 21 2017, 02:46 PM)
coconut battery for mac

need to connect your iphone to Mac, then it'll show both the mac's and iphone's battery health. See the 'Design capacity'
Too bad I don't have mac.
YoungMan
post Oct 26 2017, 01:01 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(ic no 851025071234 @ Oct 26 2017, 01:57 PM)
Does it have dual sim function?
No.
YoungMan
post Oct 26 2017, 09:11 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(AaronLJW @ Oct 26 2017, 06:23 PM)
It's good to be back to iPhone after 4 years leaving.. biggrin.gif
Interesting. What makes you do not stick with Android?
YoungMan
post Nov 1 2017, 10:07 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(brianccg @ Nov 1 2017, 06:10 PM)
And i checked most of the telco online store, they dont have stock shortage issue, why only their center having issue?  Very funny
Because the online order ship from somewhere their hq, not from your nearest telco store. I think they anticipate the sale is low, but they really get it wrong by having too little in stock.

QUOTE(brianccg @ Nov 1 2017, 06:12 PM)
I asked already and they told me 1 week.  Now thinking to port back to Digi.  Celcom customer service is kanasai.  Very poor and cannot even give me a suggestion.

And I sent complaint to their facebook respond. After asking my details then silent..... mad.gif  mad.gif  mad.gif
Have to wait 30 days baru can port back I think. Why not try and let us know.
YoungMan
post Nov 2 2017, 10:51 AM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(alikato94 @ Nov 2 2017, 11:31 AM)
its been 2 week, i cant port out from maxis to celcom, pissed off af  mad.gif
i come to their centre and end up they keep blaming each other instead of telling me wtf happen
im not sure what to do anymore. tired of waiting lol. even iphone X already out  mega_shok.gif

for stock, here in ipoh, still lot of stock, fast selling is the gold one
There is only one problem. They actually try to hold you from porting out. You should try complain to MCMC.
And yeah, can also get iPhone from Lazada rather than telco.
YoungMan
post Nov 6 2017, 01:25 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(dayangheimy @ Nov 6 2017, 01:32 PM)
totally pissed off with Celcom online store.
Now they told me to wait between 7-14 days wtf???
should i have known, maybe wait a bit and travel to KL to find one

this is just like courts mammoth in iphone x thread
at least they can get refund
Demand for refund. Then get from Lazada with RM450 discount, Malaysia set sold and fulfil by Lazada.
YoungMan
post Nov 6 2017, 09:18 PM

6,793 posts

QUOTE(dayangheimy @ Nov 6 2017, 09:58 PM)
I did asked them to refund but you know lah Celcom CS very dimwit. There is no dedicated person that is handling the Celcom online like why you care to sell online if can’t manage.

I think that Lazada deal is much better deal, no contract some more. Need to harass Celcom again till I get my money back
You need to pursue your request hard, otherwise they just play the waiting game.
YoungMan
post Nov 14 2017, 08:14 PM

6,793 posts

Write your bad experience at their page. So at least future ppl who want to deal with this company can see review.

0.1221sec    0.14    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 01:42 AM