Do NOT Get Super Paper Mario, if you're expecting a new mario game.

TSmarauderz
post Apr 12 2007, 09:46 AM, updated 19y ago

Windows Tablet War Veteran
3,390 posts

For those of you unfamiliar with the Paper Mario series, it was basically a RPG with Mario elements, every game was packed full to the brim with interesting stories and characthers, and the battle system for each game became more and more twitch based.

I guess if the previous Paper Marios could be associated with RPGs like Final Fantasy, Super Paper Mario could be probably termed as an action RPG. So there's gonna be more adventuring, backtracking, and... in typical Nintendo RPG form, lots and lots of text.

So if you're thinking that SUper Paper Mario will be another traditional Mario platforming outing, it's not. But if you're familiar with the Paper Mario series or you're willing to try out a fun action RPG, with a pretty well written script, then by all means.. Super Paper Mario is for you!

This post has been edited by marauderz: Apr 12 2007, 09:48 AM
hafez13
post Apr 12 2007, 10:21 AM

excited nintendo switch fanboi
1,274 posts

ait so long u don online.. tongue.gif
and thx for the comment smile.gif
sihumchai
post Apr 12 2007, 10:35 AM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

SPOILERIFIC FOR J00:

Basically, this Mario game(SPM for short) is not your basic Mario outing. It's not like Paper Mario GCN, it's not like NEW SMB for the DS.. It's a frankenstein mix of both.

I guess this new style of gameplay is watered-down for the blue-ocean market(not hardcore gamers), as I'm currently playing Paper Mario GCN, it's not a cakewalk. Infact, it's friggin harder than Superstar Saga and Partners in Time.

I think SPM is a little more light-hearted, but as Marauderz mentioned, there are some(maybe alot) Nintendo-ish/Zelda-esque puzzles in the game, and I guess that's where the main challenges are held(I hate getting stuck with ridiculously simple puzzles which I can't do).

But I do have to say, it is refreshing. This, "switching dimension" stuff is really cool, as you'd never expect things to appear there when it always has been there. The whole "paper" element and this 2d-to-3d thing is pretty wicked, and out of this world. Guaranteed to make you go "wtf" at times wink.gif A good "wtf" that is. HAHA. It's just so great to multiply 1 coin into 5.. or more, hahaha..

Worst part is, I like a little challenge, bopping enemies on the head is childsplay. Paper Mario is kicking my ass badly.
practice2004
post Apr 12 2007, 11:14 AM

i still find it fun to play =)
sihumchai
post Apr 12 2007, 11:18 AM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

It's because I'm comparing it with Paper Mario for GCN. It's taking up most of my time, and I unwrapped SPM with hope that it's gonna best Paper Mario(GCN)! .. But I was wrong, I should have waited sad.gif

I'm not saying this game ain't fun, while I did have fun with all those vibrant colours, and gameplay elements. And I have yet to see so much more! Maybe I'll change my mind about this game once I get to control the other party members wink.gif

In Paper Mario GCN there's a stage where you can take Bowser to world 1-1 of Mario Bros., damn funny wei. And oh, in SPM I kena mega-star already, damn fun also, giant 8-bit Mario ramming down the place.
TSmarauderz
post Apr 12 2007, 11:25 AM

3,390 posts

QUOTE(hafez13 @ Apr 12 2007, 10:21 AM)
ait so long u don online.. tongue.gif
and thx for the comment smile.gif
Not much Nintendo releases I'm interested in lately mar.. next month.. OUUUEEEEENNDAAAAANNN 2!!! wink.gif
SWATwolf
post Apr 12 2007, 11:27 AM

431 posts

QUOTE(marauderz @ Apr 12 2007, 11:25 AM)
Not much Nintendo releases I'm interested in lately mar.. next month.. OUUUEEEEENNDAAAAANNN 2!!! wink.gif
wad?! next month meh?
bidfordun
post Apr 12 2007, 11:29 AM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(SWATwolf @ Apr 12 2007, 11:27 AM)
wad?! next month meh?
yala, u dunno meh? outdated edy. tongue.gif
penman
post Apr 12 2007, 11:54 AM

142 posts

QUOTE(bidfordun @ Apr 12 2007, 11:29 AM)
yala, u dunno meh? outdated edy. tongue.gif
PA stopped taking pre-order oredi... 'cos they think we've spent too much last month and this month.

icon_question.gif
hamtarox
post Apr 12 2007, 12:25 PM

281 posts

already know it will be rpg...play the 1st paper mario on N64 before...woo....want to buy WII la....but need buy new tv 1st sad.gif ....

This post has been edited by hamtarox: Apr 12 2007, 12:27 PM
Phoenix_Cypher_K1
post Apr 12 2007, 12:36 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(penman @ Apr 12 2007, 11:54 AM)
PA stopped taking pre-order oredi... 'cos they think we've spent too much last month and this month.

icon_question.gif
Stop taking preorders for what O.o? SPM or Ouendan 2?
penman
post Apr 12 2007, 12:38 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(Phoenix_Cypher_K1 @ Apr 12 2007, 12:36 PM)
Stop taking preorders for what O.o? SPM or Ouendan 2?
everything~!!!

icon_rolleyes.gif
Sheep319
post Apr 12 2007, 06:29 PM

how do i post
6,364 posts

lol, so what IS so bad about this game?
bidfordun
post Apr 12 2007, 06:31 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(hamtarox @ Apr 12 2007, 12:25 PM)
already know it will be rpg...play the 1st paper mario on N64 before...woo....want to buy WII la....but need buy new tv 1st sad.gif ....
not reli a rpg i think.
penman
post Apr 12 2007, 06:37 PM

142 posts

subject to individual preference~lah.

no right nor wrong...

ppl's choices.

cool2.gif
TSmarauderz
post Apr 12 2007, 09:22 PM

3,390 posts

I'm not saying it's bad, its just that if you're expecting a Mario action game, it's not going to be what you expected. Paper Mario is different it's more an action rpg than a platform game... although it has very heavy platform flavoring... arrggg.. it defies classification!!
Sheep319
post Apr 12 2007, 10:25 PM

how do i post
6,364 posts

QUOTE(marauderz @ Apr 12 2007, 09:22 PM)
I'm not saying it's bad, its just that if you're expecting a Mario action game, it's not going to be what you expected. Paper Mario is different it's more an action rpg than a platform game... although it has very heavy platform flavoring... arrggg.. it defies classification!!
lol, are you saying:

Super Paper Mario not equal to Super Mario?
TSmarauderz
post Apr 12 2007, 11:13 PM

3,390 posts

oh god.. thats exactly why I put this thread up, Hey, SimHum you wanna help me out here?

The thing is.. Super Paper Mario is more an Adventure game than a straight forward linear action/platform game you might expect a Super Mario game to be. In your usual Super Mario game, all you do is finish the level and that's it.

Paper Mario, is more an adventure game, yes, it's a Mario based title so you can expect lots of jumping, Goomba stomping, Coin collecting. But because it's an adventure game, there'll be brain teasing puzzles, and textual clues, plots, subplots, lots and lots of fun text to read on screen.

So it's 2 different type of games, My purpose of posting this post is.. say a loving parent wanted to buy his young son a new game for the Wii, and he sees a new Mario game, and he knows.. hey.. it's Super Mario, it's a pretty straight forward platform game, what could go wrong? Well if you bought Super Paper Mario for a young child who can't quite read properly yet... well... it's not gonna end beautifully..
practice2004
post Apr 13 2007, 03:12 AM

oo yeah, to PAL Wii owners (if your Wii has been modded to play other region games), if you got the Super Paper Mario game, and your PAL Wii has not been updated to the latest update, beware. Super Paper Mario (NTSC/U) comes with an NTSC/U update that will brick your PAL Wii. This update has also been reported to damage NTSC/J consoles as well.

So if you want to play the game, make sure your Wii has been updated to the latest update (use Wifi connection to download the latest update) and you should be good to go.
sihumchai
post Apr 13 2007, 09:30 AM

Yate Haugan WOOSH!
538 posts

SPM truly defies classification.. It's not a standard 2d-platformer, it isn't a twitched and turned based RPG like Final Fantasy or any other Super Mario RPGs, it is a mix of both.

It's mixed in such a way, you get two parts of the game. First, the storyline, which will have you adventuring and scouting towns, talking to townsfolks gathering info, and maybe finding new things and secrets on the way. Then, later the game breaks down onto the platformer side, you get to visit these "worlds" just like in Mario Bros, and you'll start out in Chapter 1-1.

Just like World 1-1, it's a platformer. You'll run around, killing enemies and collecting coins, very similar to New Super Mario Bros and the original Mario Bros game. Only difference is, added puzzles in the level. Don't expect to see a castle and a flag pole waiting for you at the end, as it's not all "run all the way to the end to win" kind of thing. Puzzles will be presented along the way, mostly inscribed in text, and if you ever miss out on the FINER details, you just might not pass the stage.

And after Chapter 1-1, there's of course 1-2.. and so forth, and at the end of the chapter, there's usually a boss, and the compulsary collection of a Pure Heart. (that's triforce shards or shine sprites if you didn't get it!) .. And after that, repeat, back to town, do a little shopping, open the next "world" and continue adventuring smile.gif

Of course, the added elements of Pixls and RPG-ish elements helps the game stand-out more than just a standard fare of 2d-platformer. Instead of pointless points/score in the older Mario games, they are now experience points, so running around killing every enemy you see is more rewarding now.

Hope you all understand what SPM is all about now.

0.0180sec    0.70    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:27 PM