Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Bump TopicReply to this topicRSS feed Start new topic Start Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> How to migrate windows 10 to SSD, From Hard disk to SSD (OS)

frontier2002
post Sep 11 2017, 09:28 PM, updated 2w ago

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 32

Joined: May 2008
I have just got my Sandisk 240GB SSD and i would like to migrate my windows 10 from the old harddisk direct to the SSD. What is the best software out there anyone have tried before?

FYI i don't want to reinstall my windows bcos its windows 7 and no more free upgrade to win 10
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kiritoffx
post Sep 11 2017, 09:37 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 239

Joined: Feb 2013
From: Malaysia


AOMEI Partition Assistant Standard Edition 6.5
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
kiritoffx
post Sep 11 2017, 09:37 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 239

Joined: Feb 2013
From: Malaysia


AOMEI Partition Assistant Standard Edition 6.5
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
alextan99
post Sep 11 2017, 09:43 PM

Wassup
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,179

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Somewhere in the world

QUOTE(frontier2002 @ Sep 11 2017, 09:28 PM)
I have just got my Sandisk 240GB SSD and i would like to migrate my windows 10 from the old harddisk direct to the SSD. What is the best software out there anyone have tried before?

FYI i don't want to reinstall my windows bcos its windows 7 and no more free upgrade to win 10
*
You can use any clone software, plus you are wrong, once your windows 10 had been activated you can always reinstall windows 7 and do an upgrade and it will be activated or just plain format install windows 10 and it will do the same.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
hustlerism
post Sep 11 2017, 10:43 PM

Devil In Disguise
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 964

Joined: Jun 2011
From: Sin City



By using a third party migration tools.
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
TheMrBinary
post Sep 11 2017, 10:51 PM

63 72 69 70 70 6c 69 6e 67 20 64 65 70 72 65 73 73 69 6f 6e
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,158

Joined: Dec 2011
From: 27.132481, 73.086548


http://www.todo-backup.com/backup-resource...s-10-to-ssd.htm
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
island
post Sep 12 2017, 05:44 AM

Regular
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,527

Joined: Jan 2007


Just install Windows 10. And signed in your Microsoft account, if you previously linked your Windows 10 with your Microsoft account, it should be activated.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
COOLPINK
post Sep 12 2017, 08:42 AM

Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 397

Joined: Oct 2010
i use EaseUS last time.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sHawTY
post Sep 12 2017, 11:23 AM

Frequent Reporter
********
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 10,110

Joined: Jul 2005

Sign in a Microsoft account to your Windows 10, then the Windows 10 key will be associated to that Microsoft account
After you reformat your computer and relogin the same Microsoft account, Windows 10 will automatically detect the Windows 10 key that has been associated the same account that you've used before you format
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
omg7788
post Sep 12 2017, 03:28 PM

Getting Started
**
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 279

Joined: May 2010
From: Kelantan / Petaling Jaya, Selangor


QUOTE(COOLPINK @ Sep 12 2017, 08:42 AM)
i use EaseUS last time.
*
Can try EaseUS cloning software, using this for very long time already. So far don't have any issue. Highly recommended.

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Shoot@M3
post Sep 13 2017, 03:12 PM

=|| elf ||=
******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 1,271

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Kota Kinabalu, Orang Utan Clan o.O



Cloning would be the fastest way.

Else do what the rest told you above, signed in and linked the digital license to your MS account (version 1607 and above). If in case it failed to activate still, you can goto MS support site, open the chat and do ready your COA -certificate of authenticiy stickers or proof of purchase...
I had to do that but mine was because i upgraded my Mobo and even though my license is Retail, it gave me so much problem before when trying to reactivate..
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Celestial Crystal
post Sep 13 2017, 03:13 PM

New Member
*
Group: Newbie
Posts: 1

Joined: Sep 2017
QUOTE(frontier2002 @ Sep 11 2017, 09:28 PM)
I have just got my Sandisk 240GB SSD and i would like to migrate my windows 10 from the old harddisk direct to the SSD. What is the best software out there anyone have tried before?

FYI i don't want to reinstall my windows bcos its windows 7 and no more free upgrade to win 10
*
You can try AOMEI Partition Assistant!

This post has been edited by Celestial Crystal: Sep 13 2017, 03:14 PM
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
frontier2002
post Sep 13 2017, 11:51 PM

New Member
*
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 32

Joined: May 2008
QUOTE(alextan99 @ Sep 11 2017, 10:43 PM)
You can use any clone software, plus you are wrong, once your windows 10 had been activated you can always reinstall windows 7 and do an upgrade and it will be activated or just plain format install windows 10 and it will do the same.
*
Thanks for info i thought that after reinstall the windows 7 i can never upgrade back to windows 10 again...but can you guarantee 100% this is the case so that i can proceed confidently
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
alextan99
post Sep 14 2017, 09:26 AM

Wassup
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 2,179

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Somewhere in the world

QUOTE(frontier2002 @ Sep 13 2017, 11:51 PM)
Thanks for info i thought that after reinstall the windows 7 i can never upgrade back to windows 10 again...but can you guarantee 100% this is the case so that i can proceed confidently
*
I have done it few times to upgrade on the same machine. Do note its better to just install Win10 from scratch rather than upgrade as it takes double the time before completion.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
raydenex
post Sep 15 2017, 09:31 AM

Casual
***
Group: Junior Member
Posts: 437

Joined: Jan 2003
From: Puchong & PJ


I used Acronis True Image to do a cloning before. I'm sure any reputable disk cloning utility can get the job done.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0834sec    4.85    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th September 2017 - 01:33 PM