Any recommended android box for Astro Go?

joeaggas
post Oct 2 2018, 07:45 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ Sep 11 2018, 12:38 PM)
Thank you very much for your opinion!  Guess i will just go for Minix u9-h then.

by the way, i was wondering and google search what is Asterruk Go, what kind of app is it? hahaha....  stupid me tongue.gif

Do you know any other good app can watch LIVE and also asterruk channels?
Did Axxxo work on the Minix u9-h?

joeaggas
post Oct 3 2018, 03:36 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Oct 2 2018, 01:03 PM)
It works.. Same on the Neo U1 as well.
Is this the Lollipop version? Playstore is it official google?

QUOTE(Dozz @ Oct 2 2018, 11:09 PM)
Yes its working well!
Do you have to occasionally re-login?
joeaggas
post Nov 14 2018, 03:54 PM

363 posts

Hi. Who here manage to install AOTG in their Minix u9-h? Can pm tips? Thanks
joeaggas
post Nov 27 2018, 03:50 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 14 2018, 07:32 PM)
Download apk on or transfer to box.. Install.. Enjoy.
Via Playstore or alternative source? Play store geo restrict installation. Assuming if I am in Danok Thailand or Singapore.
joeaggas
post Oct 23 2019, 10:37 AM

363 posts

Just try out the A95X Max as it arrived this week. (21 Oct 2019)
Here are my findings.

- The official AOTG from playstore been disabled for download & search
- Apkmirror or alt apk download sites version unable to run as it detected it is a root device even after I have reboot with root switch toggle off.
- the AOTG-mod version by linglang.my - WORKS! OMG it worked after so many moons of searching. I'm happy for now.

Hope this update helps.

This post has been edited by joeaggas: Oct 23 2019, 10:38 AM
joeaggas
post Oct 23 2019, 03:31 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 23 2019, 10:45 AM)
it will be good if u can somehow share this modded apk.

i don't need it... but i think there are many others having problem with official apk... they will be thankful if they can at least try it.
Hi all,
Sorry didn't see the notices.
Here you go -> https://s3-ap-southeast-1.amazonaws.com/www...AstroGoMod4.apk

Good luck.
joeaggas
post Oct 23 2019, 05:15 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 23 2019, 04:08 PM)
Haha sounds like linglang is either a lowyat forumer or has a friend in lowyat forum.
I'm just a customer lah. But they are quite responsive to questions.
joeaggas
post Oct 25 2019, 11:14 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 24 2019, 07:41 AM)
Okay. I tried it myself. I can't install it over my existing one. The app is carrying a different signature, so either it a mod of the modded, or it is a different mod. So it is not the same. It will give you a different link in PM. You can try to see if there is any difference.
This could likely mean there are two different modded APK. Your vs Linglang.my since the signatures are different.
The one I have is : MD5 hash of 4str0GoMod4.apk:
5a44aa0dcdcbd55892a756be538cfa4e

Confession, I don't know how to mod stuff. Need experts like @puchongite to dwell into low level code to block these checks.

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 24 2019, 10:07 AM)
2 common problems with the new app version(s):

.. some boxes root not totally closed, root detected, can't install.
.. (some) ATV devices like mibox and smart TVs report judders on live HD channels.

the second problem... post #747, a user of sony ATV reported current official version works good for him.
as mibox is also on ATV, u can try that.
do report in if it works on yr box.
Root checking is one measure, but I suspect there should be some kind of handshake between 4str0 streaming service to their client (mobile app).
Having say that, there could be on schedule basis, 4str0 changes the key and updates the mobile app. Rendering all older version with stale keys.
Maybe @puchongite can verify this claim or could be just conspiracy.
However, service providers like linglang, will just have to keep up with 4str0 interval updates.

Disclaimer. I only tried that apk on the A95X max with the root switch toggled off (means software unrooted) and that worked for me.

Another confession. I ordered the 2GB/16GB variant on 5hopee, but linglang send me 4GB/32GB instead.

This post has been edited by joeaggas: Oct 25 2019, 11:19 AM
joeaggas
post Oct 25 2019, 04:54 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 25 2019, 02:29 PM)
boy... another update...

Astro GO - Watch TV Shows, Movies & Sports LIVE 2.193.4/AC19.3.4/fb47f62 Update
2019-10-24
- Improvements and fixes
https://apkpure.com/astro-go-watch-tv-shows...com.astro.astro

3 months, 6 updates.
easiest way is to install APTOIDE (independent appstore) app.
it will prompt u to update online, easy enough.
https://aptoide.en.aptoide.com/
I suspect they are monitoring us. jaga jaga people.
Will check again tonight to see if it still works and update further.

This post has been edited by joeaggas: Oct 25 2019, 04:55 PM
joeaggas
post Oct 29 2019, 12:33 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 27 2019, 07:02 AM)
Is there at all a version of AstroGo which runs on Apple TV ? You can try using the browser.

Astro has never intended AstroGo to run on TV, any TV !

Astro is trying very hard to block AstroGo to be viewed on TV, any TV !
Yes. Is an internal battle for innovation versus revenue.
They want the marketshare of mobile penetration but unintentionally open a new battleground for piracy.
joeaggas
post Oct 29 2019, 04:35 PM

363 posts

Update:
AOTG Mod still working fine but,
I realize one thing about the App. It was design for swipe capable devices i.e. tablet, smartphones. Which brings me to use an Air Mouse.
Currently for those using TX3 or A95x, any experience or tips on the Air Mouse?

I'm currently using an old Bluetooth keyboard with touch pad, but it isn't really responsive with the TVBox. Not sensitive at all.

joeaggas
post Oct 29 2019, 04:54 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 29 2019, 04:40 PM)
Swiping in the air is something we are not very used to.

I think it is far better by using just an normal usb wireless optical mouse. Need a mousepad or something flat to reflect the light. But it is far easier to navigate than using an air mouse - to me. Because that's something we are used to when using computer mouse. Find a wireless optical mouse which has a button turn on and turn off. Save battery.
Ini macam the Minority Report fella type of swipe. lol. Last time Nintendo Wii started this airswipe thingy, well wonder if the technology has improve over the decade?
joeaggas
post Oct 31 2019, 12:06 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Oct 30 2019, 08:37 AM)
I don't think it has much to do with the choice of air mouse. We can't anchor an air mouse cursor properly to a particular point on the TV screen properly when using air mouse. When using an traditional optical mouse, you get to achieve the accuracy easily.
I agree with @puchongite on the accuracy. Sometimes while relaxing, have get up to get better signal & improve the precision. Years ago, I used a BT keyboard DiNovo Mini to control a minitower Desktop PC i put in the hall as 'HTPC'
Sadly logitech never continue this product line.
ATM I'm getting subpar performance from this Mini BT3 keyboard bought 2013

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 30 2019, 05:34 PM)
nostalgic... reminds me also of...  laugh.gif
Welcome home Nebuchadnezzar. <-- If this word come out in Spelling-B confirm x boleh for me.

QUOTE(wyh @ Oct 31 2019, 11:13 AM)
though of buying tx3mini  for parents to use.

is there any good apps reinstalled easily navigate for Movies ?
UI friendly to use ?

* no aotg sad.gif else things would be easier
IMO, if you still living with them or they are non techno-phobia, go ahead. I try to avoid when there are problems like unable see WLT310, call me at work to help troubleshoot.
joeaggas
post Nov 3 2019, 08:23 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 3 2019, 07:37 AM)
Yes I use Astro Go on a daily basis.. Why would I hang in here if I don't.. pfft.. Anyways, Yes.. I have done all these actions you've mentioned.. Several times in the past and after your posting. None pose any issue whatsoever to the Neo airmouse and or a good airmouse. I can just as easily drag, point, click, disable and re-enable the airmouse function with ease.. Switching back and forth even to the keyboard behind.. no issues. So perhaps, you might not want to blame a user problem on the hardware and or implementation. All drivers and cars can go from point A to B as per default specs, but it takes a little extra to be able confidently handle on a race track.

Lastly, my hands are steady.. And as for the old folks argument, there are none in here..So moot point. And I've always advocated to not give android boxes to the elderly. Especially ones you hint at.. If your old folk or any folk is that old and or that disadvantaged.. Please get them a decent IPTV app and or use Kodi's Live TV feature. Both allowing for smooth, easy directional button usage..OR my favorite.. Just give them the darn Asterruk decoder and remote. They'll live and breathe easier.  icon_idea.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
Really? Wow. Can share the details / pictures of that airmouse? The Aotg needs air swyping feature. If that airmouse ada will be good.

joeaggas
post Nov 13 2019, 05:47 PM

363 posts

Hi all,
This maybe off topic a bit, subtopic redirection welcomed, do let me know. Do you guys use Network Attach Storage (NAS) at home to store some shows so no need to stream all the time? If yes, do you DIY or buy NAS specific unit add HDD yourself?

joeaggas
post Jan 19 2020, 10:06 AM

363 posts

seems like there was an update to AOTG last week. Just now I tested, it needed an update. Since I use the MOD version from linglang's APK stash, cannot update over playstore.

Anyone facing this same issue with A95-MAX?
joeaggas
post Mar 20 2022, 02:00 PM

363 posts

Dear kawan kawan,

Been awhile until I even forgot my password into this forum.
Time for an update to my A95x which is still working like a horse (hope don't jinx by saying this).
Only trouble is the 3rd party Air mouses is not reliable. I have changed at least 8.

In regards of AOTG, been using AOTG from apk mirror. Yes, is risky but for me is just home network no mission critical servers here.
Linglang has stop providing any s/w assistant and focusing on just h/w trading. Nevertheless, they did take the effort to chat respond.

Pretty happy with A95X Max Plus, as it has withstood 24 months of constant usage (old ppl never miss WLT).
Furthermore, Disney Hotstar APK can also run here. Just a bummer that Astro forces me to pay extra 5RM, might as well use it.

Thought to just share my experience.

QUOTE(joeaggas @ Oct 29 2019, 04:35 PM)
Update:
AOTG Mod still working fine but,
I realize one thing about the App. It was design for swipe capable devices i.e. tablet, smartphones. Which brings me to use an Air Mouse.
Currently for those using TX3 or A95x, any experience or tips on the Air Mouse?

I'm currently using an old Bluetooth keyboard with touch pad, but it isn't really responsive with the TVBox. Not sensitive at all.
This post has been edited by joeaggas: Mar 20 2022, 02:05 PM
joeaggas
post Mar 23 2022, 11:42 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Mar 23 2022, 08:15 AM)
since u have so many experience with remote, have your tried G20S remote before? i plan to buy it.
actually, what is preventing Astro OTG to not run smoothly?
Unfortunately nope. I have not experience G20S., but pricing seem reasonable.

I have already given up on airmouse. Common problems I faced were;
1) battery
2) Inability to recharge.
3) Component fragility. If dropped something a component on the circuit board dislodged. Is like the soldering quality is at minimal.

Currently using the highlight BT keyboard. The rest of the airmouse, kapoot or defective.

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Mar 23 2022, 08:15 AM)
actually, what is preventing Astro OTG to not run smoothly?
1) Slower chipset
2) Internet connection reliability
3) Too many other app running in background.
{hope that helps}

This post has been edited by joeaggas: Mar 23 2022, 11:45 PM
joeaggas
post Mar 30 2022, 11:10 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Mar 29 2022, 11:55 AM)
Apparently you can now get Astro Multiroom for Smart TV for an addition of RM30 per month (compared to RM50 for a multiroom box). So you don't need to use AotG hack anymore. Only limitations are

- Limited to only one device/smart tv
- Need to have supported Widevine DRM (meaning at least, an Android TV device, and NOT an Android Box)
Is it? That's good news. Guess when & if my current box dies, may just switch over to this Multiroom and pay RM381/year. My multiroom setup is one in Ipoh and another in Selangor. drool.gif drool.gif

joeaggas
post Apr 1 2022, 10:33 PM

363 posts

QUOTE(juzmafia @ Mar 31 2022, 12:12 AM)
No idea..
When her friend ask Astro on why the 2nd box stop working and they informed her that they know the 2nd box is not at the registered address.
So her friend got scared(worried about penalty) and she cancelled her multiroom subscription..😄
Now this is intriguing. Maybe the As***box has a GPS radio to also track location or reports back telemetry information of user's ISP public address. Since is an Android app, it does have certain permission (unknowingly enabled) to snoop.

0.0243sec    1.09    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 08:40 AM