Any recommended android box for Astro Go?

SUSCandy12
post Aug 13 2019, 10:18 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 12 2019, 03:15 PM)
that's good to know.

looks like they are hell bent to stop casting from any mobile device, whether android or ios.

pc's, laptops, macbooks... casting still allowed.
With so much IPTV competition today, ASTRO intending to bury themselves is it?
SUSCandy12
post Aug 15 2019, 01:28 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 15 2019, 12:25 PM)
thanks for info.

yr experience with new astrogo on shieldtv is not good.

does seem to confirm astro has done "a great job" to stop all ATV devices from using new astrogo app nicely.
What dumb marketing strategy they have to shut themselves out from the competition.

They should join the IPTV players sell subscriptions to any Android user to install and view their live TV app on any device regardless of phones, tv boxes or PC. The programmer behind their app must be a idiot who only follows instructions directly from his dumb managers.

Won't last if they continue to force everyone to use only their desired platform/device for their own interests. Even their content partners will distance away from them for introducing silly ideas to limit their market.
SUSCandy12
post Jan 3 2020, 01:19 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jan 3 2020, 08:41 AM)
yes. suggest u pick the 4+32gb variation.

detailed info on this box:
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4722095/+960
Be careful when buying TV boxes above 2GB, correct me if I'm wrong most chipsets out in the market can only optimally support up to 2GB addressing. So if you're buying higher RAM it's just a gimmick, the box cannot utilize the extra RAM properly or will just go to waste.

This is true particularly with Allwinner H6 boxes.

https://linux-sunxi.org/images/5/5c/Allwinn...asheet_V1.1.pdf

https://forum.armbian.com/topic/10174-since...sd-card/page/5/

Same can be similarly said with Amlogic series of processors.

That's why you see why big companies such as TM are only sourcing 2GB variant boxes instead of 4GB which just costs a little more so why not future proof their products?
SUSCandy12
post Jan 5 2020, 10:33 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jan 4 2020, 08:27 AM)
Wrong.. TM is just being a cheapskate company. That's why.. Think about it, since when they gave a decent router? Despite all the complaints people have given about the TM provided routers such as the C1200... Still they'll just replace with a similarly performing or shit router. TM offers 800Mbps plan and yet the provided router can only go up till 3xxMbps over Wi-Fi.. Anyways, it's the same thing with their STB.. Look at theirs, look at Astro's and you tell me which is the obvious better box? With significantly better HD Audio and UHD support.

Regarding higher RAM usage.. I can attest to higher than 2GB usage in certain 4GB RAM equipped boxes. Allwinner, RK, etc.. I'm not a fan of those.. Since past few years AMLogic SoCs on the other hand, just need manufacturers or custom ROM chefs to build proper firmwares and kernels to tap into the hardware.
From what I understand is that most of the cheap TV boxes out there running Android have DRAMs which are only limited to 32-bit wide bus.Despite boasting that their CPUs are 64-bit capable, their DRAM memory only restricts them to 32-bit addressing because their memory circuits are only that wide.

Moreover, most Android apps out there are only 32-bit based so they will not take advantage of utilizing more than 2GB of RAM.As described by this Wiki article:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2_GB_limit

I've tried maximizing my 4GB TV box memory utilization and despite opening as many apps as possible, it never reaches anywhere near 4GB but only around 2GB.
Never even close to 75%.

Think of it, why does Nvidia's latest Shield TV 2019 and Shield TV Pro 2019 don't even have more than 3GB of RAM for its Pro variant? They could have conquered the market and place like 8GB of RAM or more into their boxes. Why the regular Shield only has 2GB of RAM and the Pro have 3GB?

So these China cheap TV boxes with 4GB are just pushing some marketing gimmick to consumers which we'll never get to utilize put need to pay more so that they can push DRAM chips out into the market due to oversupply.
SUSCandy12
post Jan 7 2020, 09:48 AM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Jan 6 2020, 06:07 AM)
You say marketing gimmick, others who can maximize or at least appreciate the bigger working table will say otherwise. smile.gif  So I'll try to keep things simple... It's all back to the Super Car vs say an Axia. Both take you from point A to B differently. One clearly has more than enough power to chug along effortlessly. Whilst the other may or may not be enough. Who needs what, depends on the driver's needs.

There are RAM and there are high quality RAM. High quality RAM can be quite expensive. The Nvidia Shield sports 3GB RAM cuz they don't want to be caught with their pants down shipping with 2GB RAM. Why need more RAM? This is a case by case basis. Some or shall I say most can get away with just 2GB RAM and others who do more serious stuffs.. Such as high graphics gaming, whilst simultaneously running a pseudo-NAS and or torrents or home server, etc in the background will benefit with having higher than 2GB RAM. Heck, I prefer setting up as much free RAM as I can to run Kodi smoothly. Caching/buffering high bitrates videos using memory equals smoother uninterrupted playback. These are just examples of use case scenarios where one can exceed 2GB RAM usage on Android.

Android is pretty efficient where RAM management is concerned. However, other factors come into play. You need a decent firmware, RAM and processor. These in combination makes all the difference in launching apps, keeping more in a "saved state" or running, or exiting and opening/switching faster between apps.

Summarily, can 2GB RAM be enough? Yes. But just because it can, doesn't mean one can't do better with more than 2GB RAM. The Nvidia Shield with their excellent processor could have shipped with only a high quality 2GB RAM. But they didn't. I assume they knew and or pictured scenarios where their users will be limited by insufficient RAM. Who knows, the next one might just be equipped with at least 4GB RAM. Like phones of today, bet 5 years ago.. We didn't think we'd be seeing or needing phones with 12GB RAM. I'm sure a ton of people today will still argue that it's useless and 3GB RAM or less is more than enough.. But hey, here we are. Granted a TV Box and a phone are different beasts. But you get my point. Will I ever use up the entire 4GB and want more in a TV Box? High chance, nope. But I know for certain, I fill up 2GB and cry for more very easily. So yeah, contrary to popular beliefs, I'd rather have more than enough than just enough or not enough.
Here are some hidden facts.

1)The TV boxes out in the market currently despite having 64-bit capable processors are limited to only 32-bit wide system bus.
2)Also they are running on 32-bit Android OS with 32-bit apps.

These are the bottlenecks restricting the current design.Also it is very rare to find 64-bit based Android TV apps that could utilize more than 2GB of RAM.
Games probably but if I wanted to play games, I'd either choose a high performance game console or a gaming PC.
SUSCandy12
post Jun 11 2020, 07:51 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(dvng @ Jun 11 2020, 07:41 PM)
Astro Go doesn't work on Tanix TX3 anymore. It says app outdated although I have the latest version
One shouldn't be just restricted to Astro Go on a tv box just because they sell cheap shared accounts online.
There are so many IPTV providers out there for generic boxes with much more interesting contents.

My recommendation is just buy a considerably powerful TV box according to your pocket, if you can pay the extra get the Google certified ones such as Shield, Mibox then subscribed to IPTV plans. If they get busted after a shortwhile at least you won't end up with a useless box immediately.

Instead of buying a 1-time unlimited subscription, save the money buy a cheaper generic box and renew your IPTV annually/half-yearly.

SUSCandy12
post Jun 24 2020, 05:47 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jun 24 2020, 05:12 PM)
these axteruk guys have been so good to make so much trouble for box users.

a lot of resources must hv been used to f' ATV devices, make some others non-full screen, some lose audio, some lose video, some buffer often...

now u see why they keep charging rm200 pm.

really, what kind of biz model is this?

i will gladly pay rm50 pm for 2 devices if all is good and reliable.

but guess no.... they want rm2xx.
Have you been to Azteruk Broadcast station before? It's like a little India/Bangladesh inside there.
SUSCandy12
post Jun 26 2020, 10:27 PM

1,878 posts

QUOTE(sulimc @ Jun 26 2020, 07:53 PM)
They sent me a link https://product.astro.com.my/tvapp-beta
From the FAQ, says app will be for Sharp and Sony TV and ios devices. Must pay additional fee of RM 1.06 during beta program (if accepted). Only one smart TV allowed per account with 4 other access on small screen devices. So it's the same old game lah!

Cheers!
Only with very limited Android TV devices allowed.Cannot install on generic Android TV boxes. They scared many people will be reselling shared Astro accounts after this with cheap prices or use with hacked apps which are modded.

0.0693sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:02 AM