Xiaomi Xiaomi Mi A1 - A Pure Stock Android Experience V1, Discussion & Opinion - OREO UPDATE!

bakajiat
post Sep 22 2017, 10:42 AM

31 posts

**NEW to Lowyat Forum**
(sorry my english not really good, so dont be mad after reading those things below) biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

Review made based on redmi note 4g user(MIUI 8 global stable ROM)
1st day using really cant use to it, not sure is because I tend to memorize all the location of the settings, so really unfamiliar with Pure Android, is also my 1st time using Pure Android smartphone, need time to adapt to it. For me ,pure android & MIUI really a big gap , required time to learn up everything from zero. The settings that come with MIUI really useful and unavailable in MI A1 such as :
- Display does not have other option to change colour (eg warm , standard , cool)
- Don’t have app lock
- Don’t have pocket mode
- Don’t have one handed mode
- Cant Lock home screen layout
- Don’t have slide 3 fingers to take screenshot
- Don’t have settings for LED notification light (by default only white, not sure can change to other colour or not , charging also white colour all the time)
- Don’t have settings for navigation button light to light on how long (minor)
- Don’t have settings for long press navigation button (minor)
- Cant set lock , wifi icon button on homescreen ( which is really useful, lock the screen without pressing power button, and no need to access wifi icon through scrolling down the status bar)
- Although there is setting for battery percentage, but it totally cant view it clearly , too small and also cant view it after battery percentage start to drop to 50 below, as the word is grey , the background of the icon also grey.
- The Google search bar at homepage seems like cant be removed.

Apps that don’t come with default like MIUI:
• Voice Recorder
• FM Radio
• Scanner
• Compass
• Notes
• File Explorer

Hope u guys can guide me to choose which app is nice to replace and other features which dont have in Mi A1.

One last thing, my unit got abit problem for the headphone jack ,not sure is the headset problem or the port problem. I plug in then after 7second it auto disconnect. By the way, i dont think is my headset problem,because it can work normally on my old phone and computer. I need to plug in and wait for 7seconds then the icon appear on the status bar, then only ok. If i plug in then appear the icon, then surely got problem of auto disconnect.

bakajiat
post Sep 22 2017, 02:45 PM

31 posts

From 24% charge up to 100% , time taken is 1 hour and 46min.

12:52 : 24%
01:16 : 42%
01:58 : 84%
02:22 : 96%
02:31 : 98%
02:38 : 100%
bakajiat
post Sep 23 2017, 10:20 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Sep 23 2017, 09:01 AM)
doesn't just apply to thise actually
all android phone that has a google account logged in will be entitled for unlimited full res photo backup
I dont think so, if you refer to the settings in Google Photo, it just provides Free Unlimited Storage at high quality , which is not at full resolution(original).
bakajiat
post Sep 23 2017, 10:47 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Sep 23 2017, 10:28 AM)
if am not wrong is unlimited(with resolution limitation) when google mention its unlimited
16MP resolution if not wrong
which i think refers to "high quality" there
oo , yup u are correct, i also saw somewhere else say that over 16MP will only be compressed. I try out le , found that it really no different in the resolution in choosing high quality or original. If u set your camera frame 4:3 , you will always get 12MP , while 16:9 will get 9MP.

Google Photos "High quality" vs "Original": What's the difference and should you care
https://www.phonearena.com/news/Google-Phot...ou-care_id93938
bakajiat
post Sep 23 2017, 07:06 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Sep 23 2017, 02:36 PM)
Guys, anyone bought from Qoo10?

They say on delivery and gave GDEX number but is invalid!!
Quite worry. I check  Qoo10 tracking but error occur. I cheeck Gdex and is invalid number
Buy from which seller? Butterworthmobile? You click the link on shipping info on Qoo10 website? or u copy the code and paste on GDEX e-tracking page? If u face something like the photo attach , you might try to copy & paste the tracking number and try on GDEX e-tracking page.
bakajiat
post Sep 23 2017, 07:23 PM

31 posts

Anyone got try this casing? It look like very slippy.
bakajiat
post Sep 24 2017, 08:50 AM

31 posts

I found something interesting, when using 2x zoom actually is just using the left side camera (wide angle) , maybe it could be misunderstand. I thought it was changing from wide angle lens to telephoto lens during zooming . In the end I found out , it use telephoto camera lens during portrait mode only.
.Attached Image
bakajiat
post Sep 24 2017, 10:37 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(eidrag @ Sep 24 2017, 09:19 AM)
Oh wow that's bad if true. So you have to use portrait mode first before zooming to actually use telephoto? No wonder camera comparison doesn't make sense when comparing this phone zoom with some other phone digital zoom, both actually digital zoom.
No, choose portrait mode , it will automatically change to telephoto lens , and it is unable to zoom in portrait mode.
bakajiat
post Sep 24 2017, 06:58 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(megakeygen_zero @ Sep 23 2017, 10:50 AM)
thanks for the clarifications
For more information.... https://support.google.com/photos/answer/6220791?hl=en
bakajiat
post Sep 24 2017, 07:22 PM

31 posts

Anyone know how to erase the data after quit this hardware test , on my redmi note 4g just press back key, then after exit will auto erase the data. Attached Image
bakajiat
post Sep 25 2017, 06:52 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(strannger @ Sep 24 2017, 09:29 PM)
Did you test the 2x zooming indoor or with poor lighting? I've read somewhere before that the real 2x will only works in good lightning condition (i.e. outdoor). This is when the camera will switch to the telephoto lens. Maybe any owner of the phone can test this out to verify this problem?
Yup , you are right, i test it indoor.
bakajiat
post Sep 26 2017, 08:35 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(lowyard @ Sep 25 2017, 08:26 PM)
I bought at DirectD. Both a simple case and full screen glass sp cost RM 50. I was willing to pay coz he it asap. I don't wanna buy the accessories online cuz not willing to wait.

[attachmentid=9172342]
[attachmentid=9172343]
How is the casing? Good? Button at the side can easily pressed? slippery or not?
bakajiat
post Sep 27 2017, 03:35 PM

31 posts

Anyone know how to get rid of the Google assistant and get back the Google now which long press the home button straight give u search thing instead of through noobie Google assistant, Google assistant is really unnecessary to me.

I try to untick this one, but it still Google assistant pop out after long press home button.

This post has been edited by bakajiat: Sep 27 2017, 03:43 PM

bakajiat
post Sep 27 2017, 06:57 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Japanties @ Sep 27 2017, 05:51 PM)
btw guyz can go grab free SP for mi a1.,,in fact any phone at here https://www.facebook.com/Ninjaz-sri-petalin...92520060928408/
i just got  1  FREEEEEEEEEEE wei

and bought 1 type C otg rm8
Do they sell on the internet?
bakajiat
post Sep 27 2017, 07:07 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(Japanties @ Sep 27 2017, 07:05 PM)
i dun know...my friend recormand me here...so i go the wanting to buy SP...and they tell me to like thier fb and get 1 for free... haha
Ohh i see , it's ok. I try to check with them on facebook.
bakajiat
post Sep 28 2017, 01:04 AM

31 posts

Vibration during fingerprint unlock is gone after update? Or I remember it wrongly …
bakajiat
post Sep 28 2017, 07:20 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(kingvui78 @ Sep 28 2017, 05:26 AM)
Vibration during fingerprint unlck still got, after system update
OK thanks, after power off and on again then OK already .
bakajiat
post Sep 28 2017, 10:11 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(lleihuan @ Sep 28 2017, 09:20 AM)
can please explain why Google Now works better than Google Assistance, for you?
I am using Google Assistance, and like to know the differences.
Because i need quick search instantly by quick activate the Google Now when something come in my mind . For me Google Now i more user friendly, as I say so is because I dont even i want search through speech, this is the main point. So I may conclude that Google Assistant does not help me,and yet make more troublesome or steps to proceed to where i want. Actually, it just based on individual usage to decide which one is better.
bakajiat
post Sep 29 2017, 07:59 PM

31 posts

By the way, anyone use it without screen protector?
bakajiat
post Sep 29 2017, 08:07 PM

31 posts

QUOTE(boneyM @ Sep 29 2017, 07:31 PM)
I tried to insert my headphone into the audio jack and I found that the connection is not tight and made the sound coming into the headphone distorted. Anyone encountered the same problem? Anyway, I am using ATH MX40 with the original cable provided by Audio Technica.
I am having some issue when plugging in earphone , I use just normal headset. My issue is after plug in need to wait for 7sec then the icon only appear at the notification bar ,then only won't face any auto disconnection. If I straight plug in see got the icon up there ,later on it will auto disconnect after few second . Compare to.my Redmi Note 4G, it won't plug in all the way, after abit twisting it will pop out from the port. By the way, I didn't face any audio distortion.

0.0270sec    0.50    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 07:30 PM