How does uber fare work?

TSxVentrusx
post Sep 3 2017, 08:08 PM, updated 9y ago

233 posts

Firstly i wanna say sorry if this is not the right place to ask.

Im going on a trip next week so i wanted to use either uber or grab to go to my destination.

For Grab it quoted me around RM236 while for uber Rm143. Why is Uber fare really cheap compared to Grab fare?

i know uber charge by km and minutes but will i need to pay extra amount for the uber fare if the road is jammed or anything? Im going from KLIA to Johor btw
1to3for
post Sep 3 2017, 08:10 PM

115 posts

lol
Baconateer
post Sep 3 2017, 08:10 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(xVentrusx @ Sep 3 2017, 08:08 PM)

Im going on a trip next week so i wanted to use either uber or grab to go to my destination.

For Grab it quoted me around RM236 while for uber Rm143. Why is Uber fare really cheap compared to Grab fare?

i know uber charge by km and minutes but will i need to pay extra amount for the uber fare if the road is jammed or anything? Im going from KLIA to Johor btw
Problem is..got any driver willing to take you from KLIA to Johor???

that is a very very long trip sweat.gif
nate_nightroad
post Sep 3 2017, 08:20 PM

Endless numbered days...
3,639 posts

why dont u take a flight from klia to johor?
TSxVentrusx
post Sep 3 2017, 09:42 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Sep 3 2017, 08:10 PM)
Problem is..got any driver willing to take you from KLIA to Johor???

that is a very very long trip  sweat.gif
when i said johor not JB area sweat.gif only at Tangkak. I'm not familiar with the service so thats why i asked. Really hard to get driver to drive there is it? Regarding the fare will it be higher than stated? Sorry for all the questions

QUOTE(nate_nightroad @ Sep 3 2017, 08:20 PM)
why dont u take a flight from klia to johor?
My cousin bought flight tickets to KLIA so too late to change sweat.gif
Baconateer
post Sep 3 2017, 09:51 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(xVentrusx @ Sep 3 2017, 09:42 PM)
when i said johor not JB area  sweat.gif only at Tangkak. I'm not familiar with the service so thats why i asked. Really hard to get driver to drive there is it? Regarding the fare will it be higher than stated? Sorry for all the questions
My cousin bought flight tickets to KLIA so too late to change  sweat.gif
still in the state of Johor..so..i highly doubt u can find one driver to fetch you all the way there..
nate_nightroad
post Sep 3 2017, 10:15 PM

Endless numbered days...
3,639 posts

QUOTE(xVentrusx @ Sep 3 2017, 09:42 PM)
when i said johor not JB area  sweat.gif only at Tangkak. I'm not familiar with the service so thats why i asked. Really hard to get driver to drive there is it? Regarding the fare will it be higher than stated? Sorry for all the questions
My cousin bought flight tickets to KLIA so too late to change  sweat.gif
Just buy another ticket la. Airasia from klia2 to johor only about 85 bucks.
azbro
post Sep 3 2017, 11:53 PM

4,403 posts

Hmm.. Uber area has some restrictions, you sure KL to JB got Uber?
shirley_andy
post Sep 3 2017, 11:57 PM

VR Hardware Solution Provider
2,631 posts

Uber and Grab only work within City, not inter-city.
Utopia Angel
post Sep 4 2017, 12:58 AM

QUOTE(xVentrusx @ Sep 3 2017, 08:08 PM)

The fare difference is quite absurd btw.
Do you happen to have any promo code applied ?
Or discount for using certain bankcard ?

Anyway, no driver from KV is going to drive you there with the stated fare.
Because he/she needs to drive back alone and bear all the petrol and toll costs him/herself.

bcombat
post Sep 4 2017, 10:53 AM

998 posts

if want to save money, take the long distance bus inside the airport. Get another grab/uber once in the Johor bus station.

Pls call the uber driver to alert them on your destination....driver will appreciate that. Prepare to top up additional fare because driver need to come back empty car from Johor.

Otherwise driver may ask you to get down the car after loading your luggage in the car is like no very nice.

Just my 1 cent suggestion from driver point of view.
TSxVentrusx
post Sep 4 2017, 06:29 PM

233 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Sep 3 2017, 09:51 PM)
still in the state of Johor..so..i highly doubt u can find one driver to fetch you all the way there..
QUOTE(nate_nightroad @ Sep 3 2017, 10:15 PM)
Just buy another ticket la. Airasia from klia2 to johor only about 85 bucks.
QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Sep 3 2017, 11:57 PM)
Uber and Grab only work within City, not inter-city.
QUOTE(Utopia Angel @ Sep 4 2017, 12:58 AM)
The fare difference is quite absurd btw.
Do you happen to have any promo code applied ?
Or discount for using certain bankcard ?

Anyway, no driver from KV is going to drive you there with the stated fare.
Because he/she needs to drive back alone and bear all the petrol and toll costs him/herself.
QUOTE(bcombat @ Sep 4 2017, 10:53 AM)
if want to save money, take the long distance bus inside the airport. Get another grab/uber once in the Johor bus station.

Pls call the uber driver to alert them on your destination....driver will appreciate that. Prepare to top up additional fare because driver need to come back empty car from Johor.

Otherwise driver may ask you to get down the car after loading your luggage in the car is like no very nice.

Just my 1 cent suggestion from driver point of view.
thanks for all the replies notworthy.gif

0.0147sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:31 AM