pmmonkey's lil mods (updated 1/5/2008), Custom length sata power n molex light

TSpmmonkey
post Apr 20 2007, 01:28 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(lolhalol @ Apr 20 2007, 09:20 AM)
hey ur amazing foir ur age and especially ur a gal.... looks like uglyvamps gf got competition...lol.... she can sleeve but can she mod like u ?  maybe we can have a girls modding showdown... lol...that be cool....
Don't need the showdown lar... This will probably be my only mod. I had too much time in hand.

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Apr 20 2007, 10:04 AM)
uik makcik.. u not going to polish ure casing??
if not going to look ugly...
u want the uv thingy u better polish..

hahah u dont need to do sleeving first
more like really think of ure cable management first...
if i can hide all my wires with the op1000 on my stacker 830 with all that hardware then ... no excuse for  u.
hmm get some uv fans.. vizo's
and then some alu plate and try to cover the psu.. from view.. also then u cant see all the wires...

but seriously u need to polish ure case.

instead of using the 2 blue strips.
much cooler if u can get ure hands on some uv reactive acrylic.
then go to the metal shop cut the stripes and then use the acrylic...

http://forums.bit-tech.net/showthread.php?...9&page=18&pp=20
example of stacker mod using uv reactive acrylic on the mesh.. awesome
Oi PAK CIK, who are you to call me mak cik har? mad.gif
As far as I know, you're older than I am!!

And FYI, I'm not a UV fan. Which part says that I have anything UV inside my computer? That blue is metallic, nothing is UV at all. And I don't plan to add UV, only blue LEDs.

Sleeving is for cable management. It won't look nice even if the red and yellow cables are straight but can be seen. There's also no space behind the mobo, so nothing goes behind.

Alu plate to cover PSU? You mean like this?
@__@ Pakcik, that piece is black now.

Acrylic stripes? Go to metal shop and cut? If you wanna cut acrylic, can DIY. Don't have to pay people to do it.
And why acrylic stripes? It'll be two additional pieces on the base of my casing.
(If I want it UV, I can also spray UV paint or there's even the reflective tape.) But no... I don't like UV.

As for polishing, I've already done a piece before this.
That's the touch up part, which is meant to be done when everything is completed.
But if you meant polishing the insides, then NO!! It's meant to be matt black.

QUOTE(MetalZone @ Apr 20 2007, 11:07 AM)
okay... I too... in the words of allngap...
biggrin.gif Thanks. No matter what, they're just small minor mods.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 20 2007, 01:30 PM
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 20 2007, 03:03 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Apr 20 2007, 02:42 PM)
my bad..
uik u have no clue whats my age...
u'd might even be surprised..

ok didnt mean any offence just suggestion

the psu part i meant u enclose it... the whole top...
idea of modding to do a concentration on the mobo with ure hardware.

second not cut the acrylic...for what just square.. i meant the case... so there will be a see true and the bottom and the whole thing will be glowing blue...
much more cooler..and ten times better than the strip
matt black is meaningless for inside..
its going to be dark anyway...i wonder about ure mobo grounding...interesting...
did u check the grounding on ure mobo where it is located?? curious..

thats a first.
u want the cable to dangle about but with led's???

y got me there...lets see how everything turn out
last post from me.
didnt meant to disturb u anyways..
if i am not helping then i am just disturbing.. so in this case better to be neither..
sad.gif Sorry if I've offended you in anyways, just not happy with you addressing me that way. (Deduced that from what you've mentioned in some other threads. I'm waiting for my Uni application. So I guess that you're older than me)

I have an acrylic side panel. I have to take into consideration of the alignment of my DVD drives, the PSU and the acrylic panel. It's fine for the PSU to be there.

The casing wouldn't be dark. I've bought this 2 blue CM CCFL (there's no switch!) and at night, it glows like nobody's business!
I've got the switch and modding the CCFL.
Later there's gonna be LEDs everywhere, so I'm very sure it'll light up brightly.

I meant cable management with sleeving kit. Before I even took apart my computer, the cables are bundled together and nicely tied. It didn't curl here and there like worms. But even so, the colours of the wires, especially the 24pin isn't pleasant at all. Those colourful wires don't look neat even if they're managed nicely. Plus, I've got no space behind the mobo to hide the wires. Incase you didn't realise, look at the pic below. Only about 5mm from the piece of metal, to the cover.
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 20 2007, 08:48 PM

485 posts

Whee~ the sleeving kit arrived when I was napping. My mom signed it. laugh.gif
Tried on the 4 pin first. Really hard to take out the pins.(no tools!!) rclxub.gif
Gonna spend the whole of tonight sleeving. nod.gif
And going to Penang to get my LEDs tomorrow!! drool.gif

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 20 2007, 08:49 PM
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 23 2007, 04:39 PM

485 posts

I've got my sleeving stuffs on Friday and I started working from 11pm till about 3am. Cannot tahan...
So after being on holiday for 2 days, here are some pics of what I did last Friday and this morning.

Since it's my first time sleeving... I don't wanna screw up and end up frying anything. So I did some labelling.

Removing the 24pins was tedious as I don't have the right tools and was using a tiny screwdriver to do the job. Finally...

After some time... it's the HDD power's turn. I can't fit the sleeve and the heatshrink in cos it's factory sealed. Took my scissors... *snips*

So PSU and front cover completed, time to start on some other cables.
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 23 2007, 08:48 PM

485 posts

Thanks guys.
Made quite a few mistakes, especially on the heatshrink part.
Now working on my sata cable cos it's the only red cable around.

@cstkl1
Saw your uber 1337 rig. That's like everyone's super dream rig and you're the proud owner of it. Will see what the magic hands of ianho can make of your great rig.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 23 2007, 08:48 PM
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 24 2007, 02:22 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Apr 24 2007, 03:34 AM)
hmm i do sleeving of my own psu's usually but err dont mess with the 24 pin
hey i hope u remember to push the pins back the wing shape .. make sure u didnt snap them and get them back to the correct orientation back in the molex...
dangerous waters here girl..
when u push it back to the mobo make sure u dont see any of the pins coming out.....scary yo...
Still not that stupid to make such lousy mistakes. Plus... I've labelled every pin with a number. When pushing back the pins in, can even hear a soft click indicating it's in and then pulled it a little to make sure it's secured.

Now...a small little update,
Inspired by Ianho's mod... (I don't know why you guys call him Uncle)

TSpmmonkey
post Apr 24 2007, 05:36 PM

485 posts

Heehee~

Since I've cut the HDD power - warranty void, might as well do more onto the PSU. nod.gif

Plain PSU's backside... sad.gif (didn't take many "before" pics)

Give it some make up. tongue.gif

Fixed 'em back. rolleyes.gif

And here comes the fun part... rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

Black PSU + LED fan = pwns (well... you may think otherwise, but let me perasan abit lar blush.gif )

Please give your comments so that I can further improve on my PSU. But please don't tell me to change the cover to acrylic. I'm not good with bending it, (I either boil it, or never bent it nicely). And without the right tools... I'm gonna go through hell making all those holes on the PSU.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 24 2007, 05:39 PM
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 24 2007, 09:12 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Apr 24 2007, 09:01 PM)
Wow, cool work girl  icon_rolleyes.gif especially like what you did with the SATA cables.

How about mod the lower 80mm fan to a 120 mm like i did? About acylic case for PSU, how about you jonly replace the lower case panel like what allngap did, join seperate pieces of acrylic at right angles rather than bending. I doubt acylic can be bent to a perfect right angle in the first place-if not right angle you'll have to cut the metal case's corner to fit.
Cutting those acrylic pieces to size and putting them together would be a no sweat job. The big problem which made me drop the idea is because I would have to make lots of holes, including 2 fan holes.
Doing this without a jigsaw or any rotary tool (I just have a cheapo drill) will be a pain...

Am now adding LED to fans... super hardworking today... brows.gif brows.gif

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 24 2007, 09:13 PM
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 25 2007, 12:16 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(LittleLinnet @ Apr 25 2007, 04:01 AM)
Just wondering, you just have one blue LED fan inside the PSU?

The other one is still plain black fan?
Yes, just one. The other is facing the back and it's not like I'm gonna see the back of my compy always... so no point. Anyways, it can be easily chaged like the other fan too, just no use...

QUOTE(Fomisa @ Apr 25 2007, 11:38 AM)
wah, good job!

for tools, maybe you want to get some needles and some other sharp instruments.

as last resort, destroy the original molex and the replace the molex when the sleeving is done. i am sure shops sell molexes quite cheap.  smile.gif
Screwdriver ftw!
No destroying sweat.gif please have mercy over those poor little molex.
Realised it's cheap, RM1 each. But if it's possible to save, even better.

Now some small update...
MY MOUSE IS FINALLY COMPLETED

The components:
user posted image/

The mouse:

rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif rclxms.gif rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 25 2007, 12:16 PM
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 25 2007, 06:40 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(mwkh_hope @ Apr 25 2007, 01:48 PM)
ur mouse optical using blue led, can work kah?
Yep... so far no difference. Works as smooth and fine as before.
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 25 2007, 07:52 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(kalakatu @ Apr 25 2007, 07:48 PM)
btw pmmonkey, i suggest u to update ur first post with all of ur completed mod..juz like what uncle did with his modding sales thread.. smile.gif
It's already full with so many pics. Too bad didn't reserve any. So will prolly make a post with all completed mods, when everything is done.
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 26 2007, 08:43 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(AllnGap @ Apr 25 2007, 11:52 PM)
oh man......there are still so many forummers not capable of modding so many things, some not even dare to attempt  doh.gif
They don't wanna try, or maybe don't wanna take the risk. Imagine if they screw up... they'll have to fork out money to buy new stuffs.

An update now to bring you the blue LEDs minus the CCFL.

The components for the HDD fan cooler.

And... wala!!

Front gap between two DVDs.

PSU, HSF and back fan

Closer look on the HSF

Just beginning to put back everything into the casing. Waiting for some stuffs to finialize my work.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 26 2007, 08:45 PM
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 27 2007, 10:24 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Apr 26 2007, 10:30 PM)
Btw pmmonkey, very nice LED work. Especially like what you did with the HSF. I'm planning to light my case with LEDs too eventually, but I'll carefully tune the intensity to my liking-I'm not a person who likes excessively gaudy lighting.
If both CCFL are on, it'll be very bright... that's why have to add switch to my CM CCFL which doesn't come with one.

I love lights everywhere. Don't have to be bright, as long as they highlight certain places which I want them to.

Here's a small update on my 120mm iCute fan on the side panel + duct.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Apr 27 2007, 10:27 PM
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 28 2007, 09:37 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(Daywalker @ Apr 28 2007, 12:20 AM)
hmm.gif ...... very rare to see ppl modding the mouse......  sweat.gif  anyway it very nice after modding that scroll mouse to become like ka razer copperhead with blue LED light !!! shocking.gif
Heehee~ anything can be modded... thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Ryo @ Apr 28 2007, 01:13 AM)
very nice mods thumbup.gif
Thank you rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

QUOTE(2uk3y @ Apr 28 2007, 08:30 PM)
yo pmmonkey.... i'm impress with ur mod !!!! thumbup.gif  notworthy.gif
Thank you too rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

While waiting for the remaining items to arrive... my hands are so hyper they can't wait for it. So here's something I came up with... more lightings!!

This is the ordinary blue leds. (CCFL not on)

Here... with some lights. (CCFL also not on. And... it's not my camera's flash. You can check the picture's exif data)

I've gotta tie my hands before they do anything crazy and blow up the computer.
TSpmmonkey
post Apr 29 2007, 11:10 AM

485 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Apr 28 2007, 09:44 PM)
haha u make me ashamed of myself
There's nothing to be ashamed of lar
Got wear clothes right? laugh.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(peaceofluck @ Apr 29 2007, 02:14 AM)
hope all ur item arive as soon as posible...
wan to c how it goes....
nice light at ur mouse but i c abit darker in internal casing
izzit just it or still waiting the ccfl or s'thing?
For the casing, I haven't fix the CCFL yet because I've cut the wires and later gonna join it with some other lights. I also haven't figure out the best position for the 2 tubes with the best effect.

When the items arrive, wire up... and I'm 100% done.
TSpmmonkey
post May 1 2007, 11:34 AM

485 posts

sad.gif Project on hold... nothing else to do. Then I found this little fan with my brother. brows.gif

He said it was a P2 HSF... so I looked at the size and thought of my mobo.
Cleaned a bit then added some tapes to hold it. Clipped it into a 3 pin connector.

A perfect fit... but the hole is ugly.

So drew a lil flame and cut it out.

Perfect!!

Now with the CCFL

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif another extra fan.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: May 1 2007, 11:38 AM
TSpmmonkey
post May 1 2007, 07:38 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ May 1 2007, 03:23 PM)
nice stuff..salutations
Not sure where my bro got that fan from...

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ May 1 2007, 04:36 PM)
WILL YOU MARRY ME? XD

Good job. I like those little detail on the NB fan.  It turns out really well  in hiding the expose hole. Cute and ganas.  C'mon anyone want to sponsor her like ianho lolz?
laugh.gif laugh.gif
I'm not a serious modder like Ianho... probably can't work under pressure when everyone will be checking up on every single thing I do.

QUOTE(sherren @ May 1 2007, 05:02 PM)
brows.gif  not bad. seems ur hands are very good in DIY brows.gif
Keep it Up!.

Makes Me Feel Wanna Mod Again unsure.gif
Yea... let's mod more!! thumbup.gif

QUOTE(lohwenli @ May 1 2007, 05:22 PM)
What material did you use to make the flame on the NB fan?
brows.gif Try to guess...

TSpmmonkey
post May 3 2007, 11:35 AM

485 posts

So yesterday I went to Times Square, so crossed over to lowyat hoping to see what I want to get. But no, didn't manage to find any of them around. So nevermind cry.gif

Then later that day... me and my bro went to get:
4 Sunon 60mm fans
3 delta 40mm fans
5 Panaflo 120mm fans
1 Sunon 120mm fan
And lotsa fan grilles...

icon_idea.gif I'm already changing plans here... with all the good stuffs lying around.

EDIT: unsure.gif Actually... I'm not putting everything in there... I'll suffer if I do.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: May 3 2007, 11:44 AM
TSpmmonkey
post May 3 2007, 11:48 AM

485 posts

QUOTE(Fomisa @ May 3 2007, 11:47 AM)
aduh, why need to buy so many fans? after your casing becomes helicopter and flies away! ha ha....  thumbup.gif
Never buy... brows.gif
It's a secret where I got them from. Pics later!!
TSpmmonkey
post May 3 2007, 03:26 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(Fomisa @ May 3 2007, 11:50 AM)
ha ha... like that it means you recycle from old casings or dead psu's lar.  rclxms.gif
tongue.gif Ya...

QUOTE(kalakatu @ May 3 2007, 01:59 PM)
man..so many fan  shocking.gif
plus all of them are high performance one..

like Fomisa said, i think ur case will be like chopper and fly away  tongue.gif
Not using all lar... small little iCute don't need all that fans.

FANS!!!

And the tiny Delta fan which I had trouble taking apart.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0240sec    1.06    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:56 PM