Diet plan, TOMORROW!
1,701 posts

post edited

This post has been edited by dj.eRicZzz: Oct 19 2007, 11:03 PM
mwkh_hope
post May 17 2007, 08:42 PM

406 posts

i realize tat pmmonkey like blue color alot. eveything tat can mod definitly is blue...

TSpmmonkey
post May 17 2007, 09:35 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(blessedvillain @ May 16 2007, 10:09 PM)
What brand is this silent fan?
I bought that from Coolice, he got it from uglyvamp.

QUOTE(mwkh_hope @ May 17 2007, 08:42 PM)
i realize tat pmmonkey like blue color alot. eveything tat can mod definitly is blue...
It's not that I like blue alot, it's just for matching...
And this, is because of having extra spray.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Oct 19 2007, 11:05 PM
lohwenli
post May 18 2007, 01:33 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Wah, calculator also not spared.. What's next, the whole house?
r4ydc24
post May 19 2007, 08:29 AM

Level of Noobness
1,067 posts

m i d only 1 here a slow bummer? or did we juz realized dat dj.eRicZzz is pmmonkey's big bro? bwahahahaaha

btw pmmonkey, izzit possible to position the si120 d other way round? d heatpipes gives better result if it is position at the bottom, instead of on top... juz a suggestion tho
AceCombat
post May 19 2007, 03:34 PM

5,434 posts

i'm modding this casing too,excatly the same....hehe.....

TS,the fan not from i-cute casing meh?
TSpmmonkey
post May 19 2007, 03:43 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ May 18 2007, 01:33 AM)
Wah, calculator also not spared.. What's next, the whole house?
Anything which I think I won't destroy in the process.

QUOTE(r4ydc24 @ May 19 2007, 08:29 AM)
m i d only 1 here a slow bummer? or did we juz realized dat dj.eRicZzz is pmmonkey's big bro? bwahahahaaha
btw pmmonkey, izzit possible to position the si120 d other way round? d heatpipes gives better result if it is position at the bottom, instead of on top... juz a suggestion tho
dj.eRicZzz is my lil bro.
About the si-128, I'm not very sure if the bottom position will affect the performance much since the concept of heatpipes is to conduct heat from the hotter side to the cooler side. Which means the angle doesn't affect?

Now correct me if there's another concept behind this thermal conductivity thingy in heat pipes concept. Then I'll gladly learn more.

QUOTE(AceCombat @ May 19 2007, 03:34 PM)
i'm modding this casing too,excatly the same....hehe.....

TS,the fan not from i-cute casing meh?
The fan which came with my iCute casing is not LED fan. It's just a plain black 120mm fan.
lohwenli
post May 20 2007, 06:11 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ May 19 2007, 03:43 PM)
About the si-128, I'm not very sure if the bottom position will affect the performance much since the concept of heatpipes is to conduct heat from the hotter side to the cooler side. Which means the angle doesn't affect?

Now correct me if there's another concept behind this thermal conductivity thingy in heat pipes concept. Then I'll gladly learn more.

There is some effect, as heatpipes conduct heat by the concept of hot fluids flow upwards, and cold fluids flow downwards-a heatpipe is basically a pipe filled with fluid. Better designed heatpipes have a wick/capillaric wall structure to minimise the effect of gravity, but the effect is still present somewhat.
LittleLinnet
post May 20 2007, 06:28 PM

Iophobia
3,593 posts

QUOTE(r4ydc24 @ May 19 2007, 08:29 AM)
QUOTE(lohwenli @ May 20 2007, 06:11 PM)
There is some effect, as heatpipes conduct heat by the concept of hot fluids flow upwards, and cold fluids flow downwards-a heatpipe is basically a pipe filled with fluid. Better designed heatpipes have a wick/capillaric wall structure to minimise the effect of gravity, but the effect is still present somewhat.
As I remember, it is vacuum inside the heatpipe. Thus, I believe there wont be any serious effect.
lohwenli
post May 20 2007, 06:31 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(LittleLinnet @ May 20 2007, 06:28 PM)
As I remember, it is vacuum inside the heatpipe. Thus, I believe there wont be any serious effect.
There is fluid, either liquid or highly compressed gas. Definitely not vacumn. Search allngaps past threads for one on a heatpipe that exploded.
TSpmmonkey
post May 20 2007, 08:43 PM

485 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ May 20 2007, 06:11 PM)
*coughs* Hot fluid doesn't flow upwards. That rule only applies to gaseous.
About the fluid flowing back via capilary action... if that's so, then the orientation of the heatsink really doesn't matter. Otherwise, it's best to position the heatsink whereby the heatpipes are at horizontal level.

QUOTE(LittleLinnet @ May 20 2007, 06:28 PM)
It cannot be vacuum... because vacuum does not conduct heat.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: May 20 2007, 08:45 PM
lohwenli
post May 20 2007, 09:34 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ May 20 2007, 08:43 PM)
About the fluid flowing back via capilary action... if that's so, then the orientation of the heatsink really doesn't matter. Otherwise, it's best to position the heatsink whereby the heatpipes are at horizontal level.
Really? Try this.

Boil water in a clear container using a flame concentrated towards one side of the container. Put a few small pieces of paper in the water (about the size of coins). Tell me what you see.
LittleLinnet
post May 20 2007, 10:46 PM

Iophobia
3,593 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ May 20 2007, 06:31 PM)
There is fluid, either liquid or highly compressed gas. Definitely not vacumn. Search allngaps past threads for one on a heatpipe that exploded.
Guess that i am wrong at that vacuum part.
But then, positioning of the heatsink will only have slight improvement/differences since heatpipes works based on capillary action.
It all depends on the heatpipe fabrication and quality. Some heatpipes just have low capillary action.

"The use of heatpipes also significantly contributes to weight reduction, since they are provided with a thermal conductivity of as high as about 10,000 W/m·K regardless
of their extremely small apparent specific gravity, i.e. approximately 2 g/cm3 for a heatpipe of 6-mm in diameter"
ableze_joepardy
post May 21 2007, 01:07 AM

*w0ot*
1,061 posts

gaseous oso fluid.. fluid mainly divide into two.. liquid state and gaseous state.. n yeah both will flow upward if there's different in temp.. the hotter will move upward but only if in no force condition (steady state)..
TSpmmonkey
post May 21 2007, 01:37 AM

485 posts

rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

So now... what I'm gonna do is... make an experiment of whether the orientation of SI-128 affects the performance. And thus, solve all the arguement. Sit quietly and wait for the results!

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: May 21 2007, 01:40 AM
MetalZone
post May 21 2007, 02:40 AM

2,515 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ May 21 2007, 01:37 AM)
rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

So now... what I'm gonna do is... make an experiment of whether the orientation of SI-128 affects the performance. And thus, solve all the arguement. Sit quietly and wait for the results!
Cool. I'll be watching this. smile.gif

no, seriously. laugh.gif

Added on May 21, 2007, 2:46 am
QUOTE(AllnGap @ May 14 2007, 11:18 AM)
i found the nicest way is to use syringe to apply the glue (be it chlorofoam or super glue).....

but where to find cheap syringe  doh.gif
I know... i saw some ppl using that online...
but... yeah make sure u get one that doesn't end up a meltdown in chloroform! I'd be interested to get one that works well with chloroform. I didn't dare try the normal plastic ones yet.

This post has been edited by MetalZone: May 21 2007, 02:52 AM
TSpmmonkey
post May 31 2007, 12:09 AM

485 posts

It was hard work taking out/fixing in the heatsink. Had to take out the whole mobo because the clips are so freakin hard to be pushed in.

I rotated the heatsink 180degrees so that the heatpipes are at the bottom, like what r4ydc24 suggested. And tested it for one whole week.

And what I got was:
Idle: 44
Load: 51

Before that, it was:
Idle: 45
Load: 49

A little update here on what I've done within the 1 week.
A fan controller.

The components:

Will update on the casing cover later.

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: May 31 2007, 12:46 AM
lohwenli
post Jun 1 2007, 05:42 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(pmmonkey @ May 31 2007, 12:09 AM)
It was hard work taking out/fixing in the heatsink. Had to take out the whole mobo because the clips are so freakin hard to be pushed in.

I rotated the heatsink 180degrees so that the heatpipes are at the bottom, like what r4ydc24 suggested. And tested it for one whole week.

And what I got was:
Idle: 44
Load: 51

Before that, it was:
Idle: 45
Load: 49

Looks like in your case the accuracy of how you mounted the heatsink is a bit inconsistent. Thats a lot of variation even for the same heatpipe orientation. But I guess the point is more or less proven.

Nice work on the fan controller. Using a 78** series regulator?
TSpmmonkey
post Oct 16 2007, 02:48 AM

485 posts

New mod coming really sooooooooon. icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif

Still collecting all the hardware, modding parts/stuffs that I need.
Planning to buy some tools... and hopefully borrow some.
(brows.gif brows.gif hint hint verz)
Instead of creating a new thread then abandon it for a month or so, I decided to put it here first.

Old old old, 8-year-old P3 case.

Emptied

Flattened

Hmm... not sure when I'll be able to mod this full time. cry.gif
But I've already had big plans, written down ideas and drawn sketches.
Best kept unknown for I'm still dreaming about certain things. sweat.gif
Secret link

Concepts and plans have yet to be finalized cos I'm unsure if I can get all the things I need...

This post has been edited by pmmonkey: Oct 16 2007, 02:56 AM

13 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 >Top

0.0235sec    0.92    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:24 PM