54 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Review ASUS RT-AC86U, Feature-packed advanced wireless router

thamch
post Aug 16 2018, 05:18 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(deathninjax @ Aug 13 2018, 08:32 PM)
got this router after researching about it to replace tp link archer c7.
had to return the first unit after 5Ghz wifi became unusable after one day.
so far the 2nd unit is fine except for one problem. its hard for the hypptv stb to connect to the service.
it has the error code 108005. switching the stb off and on will get it working if lucky. already set the iptv service to unifi home in the settings using lan4.
if it does connect, hypptv is usable without any errors. just hard to connect once it is switched on from off state.
even archer c7 is better as it is instant connected. regret spending so much to buy this router with this kind of problem. the seller said to reset the router when i mentioned this problem. same problem after resetting.
wondering if anyone have any fix for this problem.
Maybe you can try the Merlin firmware?
thamch
post Aug 16 2018, 05:19 PM

271 posts

Router had reached China and getting a replacement unit.
Awaiting China to ship back to Malaysia.
deathninjax
post Aug 17 2018, 09:28 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(thamch @ Aug 16 2018, 05:18 PM)
Maybe you can try the Merlin firmware?
Its on the latest merlin 384.6 firmware
x3BabyLemon
post Aug 17 2018, 10:42 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Aug 8 2018, 10:36 PM)
Yup, that's the correct way to install the fan
Yes there are still dusts around the router but take note that the dust is outside of the router
i put suck in leh... sad.gif
x3BabyLemon
post Aug 17 2018, 10:43 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(JayceOoi @ Aug 4 2018, 02:29 PM)
Fan noisy bo?
nope just fine and its really drop the heat
SUSstinky
post Aug 20 2018, 08:31 AM

1,436 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Aug 8 2018, 02:19 PM)
Got a bad news from friend, his China AC86U just died, less than 3 months he using the router, i'm going to help him send back to China since i help him bought from Taobao.
Hi How much is it to send back to China?
Do you need to deal in mandarin?
llk
post Aug 20 2018, 10:43 AM

4,158 posts

QUOTE(stinky @ Aug 20 2018, 08:31 AM)
Finally using Airpak, shipping charge is RM150, asked Yunda (China courier company in Malaysia), shipping charge is RM89 but lot of requirements eg cannot shipped power adapter, Airpak has no question asked. I need to deal with Taobao seller for checking of destination address in China and therefore Mandarin is required.
SUSstinky
post Aug 20 2018, 12:59 PM

1,436 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Aug 20 2018, 10:43 AM)
Finally using Airpak, shipping charge is RM150, asked Yunda (China courier company in Malaysia), shipping charge is RM89 but lot of requirements eg cannot shipped power adapter, Airpak has no question asked. I need to deal with Taobao seller for checking of destination address in China and therefore Mandarin is required.
Thanks for sharing
thamch
post Aug 21 2018, 01:42 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(stinky @ Aug 20 2018, 08:31 AM)
Shipping RM45. And you need write address in Chinese.
SUSstinky
post Aug 21 2018, 01:55 PM

1,436 posts

QUOTE(thamch @ Aug 21 2018, 01:42 PM)
Shipping RM45.  And you need write address in Chinese.
smile.gif I just ordered from Tmall using google translator.

llk
post Aug 21 2018, 02:32 PM

4,158 posts

QUOTE(thamch @ Aug 21 2018, 01:42 PM)
Shipping RM45.  And you need write address in Chinese.
What courier service are you using? I asked few the cheapest is Yunda but still RM89.
thamch
post Aug 21 2018, 06:49 PM

271 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Aug 21 2018, 02:32 PM)
What courier service are you using? I asked few the cheapest is Yunda but still RM89.
Sending from M'sia to China for warranty claim is PosMalaysia RM45.
From China to Malaysia is one of the China Logistic company. Around RM40 also by Air.

This post has been edited by thamch: Aug 21 2018, 06:49 PM
SUSstinky
post Aug 22 2018, 09:02 PM

1,436 posts

I need some help here.
Can anyone help to measure the power connector size for AC86U? I need to purchase an extension cord. What is the original length of the adapter?

If I read correctly, the original barrel port on the ASUS AC/DC adapter is 4.0mm x 1.35mm, but in the market the barrel extension cable available is only 4.0mm x 1.7mm or 3.5mm x 1.35mm. Which one would fit?

This post has been edited by stinky: Aug 23 2018, 09:15 AM

giggs_509
post Aug 30 2018, 12:00 PM

1,475 posts

QUOTE(deathninjax @ Aug 17 2018, 09:28 AM)
Its on the latest merlin 384.6 firmware
any update on this issue? currently considering new router to upgrade
deathninjax
post Aug 30 2018, 02:26 PM

124 posts

I used a tp link switch to separate the internet and hypptv based on blacktubi guide. Working fine now
syyang85
post Sep 1 2018, 04:33 PM

982 posts

Had bad experience with this router that I bought from 11street.my from a shenzhen vendor which I just received last week.

1. 5ghz wifi doesn't work since day 1
2. Updated to latest firmware 3.0.0.4.384.32797 doesn't fix 5ghz discovery problem
3. After i changed region from China to Singapore under advance wifi setting, both wifi and ethernet becomes undiscoverable.
4. After flashing latest firmware with ASUS Firmware Restoration version 2.1.0.1 tool under rescue mode, the router auto restart every 10 second.

Totally gave up on this particular router, requesting exchange. Hopefully the Shenzhen vendor responds. Too bad because I read good reviews from tech blogs but bad feedback in forums.

This post has been edited by syyang85: Sep 1 2018, 04:34 PM
SilentVampire
post Sep 1 2018, 06:37 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(syyang85 @ Sep 1 2018, 04:33 PM)
Had bad experience with this router that I bought from 11street.my from a shenzhen vendor which I just received last week.

2. Updated to latest firmware 3.0.0.4.384.32797 doesn't fix 5ghz discovery problem
3. After i changed region from China to Singapore under advance wifi setting, both wifi and ethernet becomes undiscoverable.
4. After flashing latest firmware with ASUS Firmware Restoration version 2.1.0.1 tool under rescue mode, the router auto restart every 10 second.

Totally gave up on this particular router, requesting exchange. Hopefully the Shenzhen vendor responds. Too bad because I read good reviews from tech blogs but bad feedback in forums.
Could be refurbished or repaired unit. You never know if you bought from an overseas seller.
SilentVampire
post Sep 1 2018, 06:38 PM

Networking Enthusiast
5,714 posts

QUOTE(deathninjax @ Aug 13 2018, 08:32 PM)
got this router after researching about it to replace tp link archer c7.
had to return the first unit after 5Ghz wifi became unusable after one day.
so far the 2nd unit is fine except for one problem. its hard for the hypptv stb to connect to the service.
it has the error code 108005. switching the stb off and on will get it working if lucky. already set the iptv service to unifi home in the settings using lan4.
if it does connect, hypptv is usable without any errors. just hard to connect once it is switched on from off state.
even archer c7 is better as it is instant connected. regret spending so much to buy this router with this kind of problem. the seller said to reset the router when i mentioned this problem. same problem after resetting.
wondering if anyone have any fix for this problem.
If it is China version, it could be a refurbished or repaired unit. You just never know.
gempark
post Sep 1 2018, 06:42 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(syyang85 @ Sep 1 2018, 04:33 PM)

Big dfference with local price set?
CAL V
post Sep 2 2018, 05:26 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(gempark @ Sep 1 2018, 06:42 PM)
Big dfference with local price set?
RM5xx-6xx for China unit (taobao/tmall), RM8xx-RM1k++ for Malaysia unit.

So far only one seller in Lazada is selling Malaysia set at RM8xx, oos currently. Other units selling below RM1k is very likely to be imported sets from China.

This post has been edited by CAL V: Sep 2 2018, 05:30 PM

54 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0155sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:57 AM