7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

Review ASUS RT-AC86U, Feature-packed advanced wireless router

TSJayceOoi
post Jun 10 2019, 03:23 PM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(tiongkeat @ Jun 10 2019, 02:26 PM)
Question,  if the router dead and sent to back to ASUS puchong, do they replace the router on the spot with new unit, or repair the faulty unit?
when i buy the shop tell me 1-1 replace if send to ASUS msia, is this true?
Yes, 1 to 1 replacement for local unit.
TSJayceOoi
post Jun 15 2019, 05:25 PM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(tertiary @ Jun 15 2019, 11:55 AM)
My AC86U died last night. No LEDs on the front, no WiFi, no ethernet, although the USB stick in the back does light up. The PSU is giving 19V as it should. Can't rule out a lightning strike because there was a big storm last night. I wasn't using cooling.

Chinese unit, bought it Oct 18 from Taobao Collection on Lazada. I've read the horror stories about RMA to China - anyone been successful with that?

Tips for a replacement unit? I'd like to have the option to flash Merlin FW, or similar.
AX88U is the next upgrade from AC86U. Much better too. thumbsup.gif
TSJayceOoi
post Jul 17 2019, 01:28 PM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

Yes, cooling does not help to solve hardware issue. But it DOES cool the CPU and make it perform as FAST as possible without throttling.
TSJayceOoi
post Jul 26 2019, 12:12 PM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(se800i @ Jul 26 2019, 11:01 AM)
would this be better than TP - Link which provided by Unifi ?
I have no idea on this TP-Link model. But it should be much better than the free one. tongue.gif
TSJayceOoi
post Aug 12 2019, 11:30 AM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(enteraname1 @ Aug 11 2019, 10:25 PM)
Thanks !
But, should be fine for China set? Rarely see router spoil d.
I guess.
Other Asus model is okay. But this one... Do get local set if have budget. blush.gif
TSJayceOoi
post Nov 15 2019, 07:24 AM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(uberific @ Nov 14 2019, 08:26 PM)
Hi i just bought a unit, now my unifi cant connect even settings are done correctly. WAN led on the router is forever red. Any idea how i fix this?
Did you set ISP profile?

TSJayceOoi
post Jan 22 2020, 03:37 PM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

TSJayceOoi
post Jan 25 2020, 07:58 AM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(nasilemaksedap @ Jan 24 2020, 05:39 PM)
Since the price of the ax88u is so near the ax11000 might as well buy one ax11000 put in the middle of the house I think better.
Yes, if don't need Merlin firmware and using AiMesh. Get AX11000 is better choice. nod.gif
TSJayceOoi
post Jan 28 2020, 02:55 PM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Jan 26 2020, 11:35 AM)
Latest Merlin supports AiMesh if I'm not mistaken
Yeah... 384.13 (31-July-2019) onward supports AiMesh.
TSJayceOoi
post Apr 17 2020, 09:52 PM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(lukweihong @ Apr 17 2020, 09:41 PM)
Hi sifus,

I just got my router today and trying to set it up. (Chinese model)

I entered my Unifi id and password but WAN keeps showing disconnected. Need help. Thanks

TSJayceOoi
post Apr 26 2020, 09:09 AM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(koonghx @ Apr 25 2020, 09:55 PM)
I am inching to get a new router that is 1 step above my current AC86U ( 86u will go to the office to replace the TP-Link from Unifi )

Any recommendations?

I saw the news that Xiaomi AX3600 came out but Chinese forums are saying 86u performs better than the Xiaomi
I will be buying from Taobao. 86U there is about 600RMB which is same as a new AX3600.
Asus RT-AX88U - https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=4705944
TSJayceOoi
post May 9 2020, 10:07 AM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

Version 3.0.0.4.384.81858
2020/05/0456 MBytes
ASUS RT-AC86U Firmware version 3.0.0.4.384.81858
- Improved connection stability.
- Optimized CPU utilization.
- Fixed some UI bugs.
- Fixed login bugs.
- Support router certificate export.

This latest firmware improves range and transfer rate. Do try it!!!
TSJayceOoi
post May 10 2020, 03:57 PM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

TSJayceOoi
post Jun 16 2020, 09:36 PM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jun 16 2020, 04:15 PM)
If you're looking at hardware upgrade, yes, huge improvement over RT-AC86U
But if you're looking at performance upgrade, unknown as there is not much review of this model

Wish blacktubi would review it soon & compare it head to head with RT-AC86U & also RT-AC68U
No need compare with AC68U. It's too old. Even AX56U is better than AC68U. brows.gif
TSJayceOoi
post Jun 17 2020, 08:00 AM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jun 16 2020, 09:50 PM)
But then the RT-AX56U is rather problematic
You can check ASUS thread in the network section of this forum. Lots of complaints about the AX56U
New router is like that. It takes time to fix those bugs. People also complaint about the new octopus RT-AX89X.
TSJayceOoi
post Jul 1 2020, 04:20 PM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Jul 1 2020, 03:45 PM)
Hello JayceOoi

Would like to know whether this ASUS RT-AC86U still having overheating issues without the fan?
Compare this RT-AC86U and ROG GT-AC2900.
ASUS ROG GT-AC2900 is better than RT-AC86U?

Have you tested ASUS RT-AX3000?
If yes, RT-AX3000 or GT-AC2900?

Unless Asus improved hardware and heatsink design in latest revision, else it is the same.
GT-AC2900 == AC86U + RGB lights + gaming features + 160 MHz bandwidth

Love to test AX3000 but ASUSmy didn't want to send it over. sweat.gif
Personally, I will go for AX router.

This post has been edited by JayceOoi: Jul 1 2020, 04:20 PM
TSJayceOoi
post Jul 3 2020, 10:23 AM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Jul 1 2020, 04:45 PM)
One more question here, does the ASUS GT-AC2900 consume more power when the RGB lights is switched on?
For the GT-AC2900 also have overheating issues like ASUS RT-AC86U?

LED lights won't eat much power.
So far didn't see anyone complaint about it yet on GT-AC2900.

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Jul 2 2020, 09:40 AM)
https://www.asus.com/Networking/RT-AX86U/

Does this has better thermal design than the AC86U?
Time will tell. My RT-AC86U is working great since the replacement.
TSJayceOoi
post Jul 4 2020, 07:21 AM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(nikobellic @ Jul 3 2020, 10:02 PM)
If I want to add a AiMesh node to my AC86U, which is a better choice between Asus AX56U or single unit Lyra?
Personally, I will go for AX56U for wired backhaul. Lyra for wireless backhaul since it is 3x3.
TSJayceOoi
post Jul 5 2020, 11:56 AM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Jul 5 2020, 02:07 AM)
Thanks for the info Jayce.
For the GT-AC2900 and AC86U coverage is the same for both routers?
Almost the same. Based on my tests, AC86U is slightly better. Maybe due to different firmware version.
TSJayceOoi
post Jul 13 2020, 02:04 PM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(Nando's @ Jul 13 2020, 01:44 PM)
Having problem on my 86u node, often shows Offline status in Aimesh, but lights are ON, once restart everything works fine.

Anyone here having the same issue?
Using official firmware?

7 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.0564sec    0.83    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:07 PM