Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Bump TopicReply to this topicRSS feed Start new topic Start Poll

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> remote management of router, unifi tm nut (Unifi)

zombie24
post Aug 31 2017, 11:34 PM, updated 2y ago

Enthusiast
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 743

Joined: Jul 2005
From: zombieville..puncakJalil


my dns settings for my unifi router changed from google dns back to tm nut dns.can tm nut do this remotely??last time my firmware also got updated on its own???
SilentVampire
post Aug 31 2017, 11:49 PM

Networking Enthusiast
*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 3,998

Joined: Mar 2007



QUOTE(zombie24 @ Aug 31 2017, 11:34 PM)
my dns settings for my unifi router changed from google dns back to tm nut dns.can tm nut do this remotely??last time my firmware also got updated on its own???
*
Unfortunately yes. They could do that via remote login through one of the open ports in the TM router, assuming that it's the router that TM provided to you?
soonwai
post Sep 1 2017, 12:14 AM


*******
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 4,697

Joined: Oct 2007
From: KL



QUOTE(zombie24 @ Aug 31 2017, 11:34 PM)
my dns settings for my unifi router changed from google dns back to tm nut dns.can tm nut do this remotely??last time my firmware also got updated on its own???
*
Yes, if it's TM's router, via TR069 but you can turn that off. What router are you using?
zombie24
post Sep 1 2017, 02:04 AM

Enthusiast
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 743

Joined: Jul 2005
From: zombieville..puncakJalil


Yeah tm router.dlink dir615.shitz all this while I thought I was safe by changing admin password. didn't think much when they updated my firware.
Anyway I followed what this site said dir 615
True enough there was another admin login...damn...

This post has been edited by zombie24: Sep 1 2017, 02:28 AM
System Error Message
post Sep 2 2017, 03:37 AM

On my way
****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 527

Joined: Jul 2010
even with remote management of dlink dir 615 disabled, it is still vulnerable. Anyone with access to your network can easily access the router without logging in even with remote management disabled.

I advicve you to get a different router (even tp link is better).
zombie24
post Sep 2 2017, 04:12 PM

Enthusiast
*****
Group: Senior Member
Posts: 743

Joined: Jul 2005
From: zombieville..puncakJalil


QUOTE(System Error Message @ Sep 2 2017, 03:37 AM)
even with remote management of dlink dir 615 disabled, it is still vulnerable. Anyone with access to your network can easily access the router without logging in even with remote management disabled.

I advicve you to get a different router (even tp link is better).
*
I actually disabled the wifi on tm router n use another router for my wifi...

Bump TopicReply to this topicTopic OptionsStart new topic
 

Switch to:
| Lo-Fi Version
0.0599sec    5.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th November 2018 - 10:59 AM