Car Spraying undervalue your car value?

TSmitsui_seeker
post Apr 10 2007, 01:17 PM, updated 17y ago

179 posts

Does spraying your whole car (either change car original colour or maintain original colour) makes your car second hand value drop eventhough your car is accident free? hmm.gif
ADVAN
post Apr 10 2007, 01:27 PM

Live Learn Work Play
2,479 posts

Where do u heard about this??
I never heard this before...
Maybe is just ppl thinking and assume that the car accident b4 then respray...
So the second value will drop but the fact is not...
ycfreak
post Apr 10 2007, 02:44 PM

396 posts

QUOTE(mitsui_seeker @ Apr 10 2007, 01:17 PM)
Does spraying your whole car (either change car original colour or maintain original colour) makes your car second hand value drop eventhough your car is accident free?  hmm.gif
Ppl will suspect why you wana change the colour of the car, maybe got scratch or something.
tcting
post Apr 10 2007, 02:44 PM

No more GTI
1,448 posts

Make sure u sprayed a good quality one, at least equal quality with ori one... Dun spray in anyshop at road side where ah beng also can spray...
SUSgogo2
post Apr 10 2007, 02:48 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

yeah, will reduce car price. it happened to me before....
ADVAN
post Apr 10 2007, 03:07 PM

Live Learn Work Play
2,479 posts

If it is an old car then is ok...
If new car not adviceble to do so...
SUSDrifter
post Apr 10 2007, 03:08 PM

1,349 posts

old car dun spray lagi low value
SUSgogo2
post Apr 10 2007, 03:21 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Drifter @ Apr 10 2007, 03:08 PM)
old car dun spray lagi low value
I think i need to make this clear. Change color will undervalue ur car. But spraying the same color is ok lar... biggrin.gif
Azuma-kun
post Apr 10 2007, 03:23 PM

Sayonara Toriyama-sensei
8,414 posts

so to play safe, just spray the same color like ori, right?
hanifw
post Apr 10 2007, 03:38 PM

389 posts

yes.. will undervalue ur car..

cost it will be evaluated as if the car has involved in accident or something like that...
kev da man
post Apr 10 2007, 03:40 PM

super lurker
15,278 posts

if i want to respray with flakes or candy or pearl will the value drop too?
TSmitsui_seeker
post Apr 10 2007, 04:28 PM

179 posts

Thanks for all the feedback..I'm actually surprise spraying your car again will undervalue its second hand value...

U noe lah..these days travel highway so many stones hit the front part of the car..even my roof also kena the small stones..so got some chip marks..that's the reason why I'm thinking of spraying my whole car again..my car is only 5 years old..do you think its wise to spray back the original colour or to just spray the affected parts which is dented?
ADVAN
post Apr 10 2007, 04:37 PM

Live Learn Work Play
2,479 posts

QUOTE(mitsui_seeker @ Apr 10 2007, 04:28 PM)
Thanks for all the feedback..I'm actually surprise spraying your car again will undervalue its second hand value...

U noe lah..these days travel highway so many stones hit the front part of the car..even my roof also kena the small stones..so got some chip marks..that's the reason why I'm thinking of spraying my whole car again..my car is only 5 years old..do you think its wise to spray back the original colour or to just spray the affected parts which is dented?
If u spray the dented part will cost u much too... better spray back to ori colour outside layer only... Just pay a little bit more...
apache_utara
post Apr 10 2007, 05:16 PM

:: 35mm ::
3,326 posts

unless if ur planning to chnage cars in a few years time,
better play it safe..
unlike mine,
2nd hand value iswara also drop like mad
brows.gif
so i'm going to keep it & paint new color just to refresh a bit
aba9785
post Apr 10 2007, 07:45 PM

el aba9785
743 posts

now only i know doh.gif
damn....i spray my car twice already
front bumper/grill/bonnet and right side fender bar
but it look the same

car no value already...next year can buy cheaper car insurance
maybe just put 15k to be insured can already whistling.gif
Beach_Boy
post Apr 10 2007, 08:33 PM

:D
8,453 posts

if u take care of your car well
then u can just spray the affected part
else, your car will become two tone
paint will oxidize and fade under sun's uv exposure biggrin.gif
ckhoong
post Apr 10 2007, 09:14 PM

whatever
627 posts

this is interesting brows.gif

well if you do things below sure decrease the value when selling

1)spray funny color,
2)bad paint job
3)from metallic to solid color
4)respray unpopular color e.g. red, white, brown

different scenario ho.. example a silver perdana v6 respray to black color, you might get better price..

singchaii
post Apr 10 2007, 10:04 PM

~N0 Pa|n,N0 Ga|N~
7,842 posts

I don't think it will lower the car value after you respray it. But I got a problem to share with you all.. Recently I sell off my Iswara for RM7k. As I told him earlier, when I bought this car it had no any accessories include radio player and also speaker. All the stuff is I Install it by my own. After he get my car, he wanna minus RM1k for it. Because no Radio player and Speaker. Huh.. What teori is this? I so fed up with him and now it still not yet settle. Got such thing to happen? Any solution? Somemore that day he saw the car condition is with Cd player with Woofer and I had told him earlier that I not giving those item. And now, He was saying, No cd player, No speaker minus RM1k. What should I do?
egiewan
post Apr 11 2007, 01:22 AM

aL-|ncognito
6,777 posts

Well...for me if the car is sprayed with Glasurit paint, the overall value of the car can be maintained coz the paint is VERY expensive and the quality is very good tongue.gif

This post has been edited by egiewan: Apr 11 2007, 01:23 AM
TSmitsui_seeker
post Apr 11 2007, 11:30 AM

179 posts

I think spraying just the front bonnet and bumper (front and rear) will not affect the second hand car value that much...

0.0183sec    0.35    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 03:09 AM