electric guitar help

RustReaver4D1
post Apr 10 2007, 01:54 PM

1,100 posts

Stefanong's got a good point... the guitar is the foundation of your playing.

An amp with lousy tone is not fun to play with, but a guitar with lousy playability is even worse - especially when you're just starting out.

Hey, we all b!tch about our tone (or lack thereof) and think (at least for me... tongue.gif ) that a better sounding amp will make us sound better. Let's get real, an amp is not going to improve your chops/touch/technique/feel etc. biggrin.gif

A guitar with good playability can help you improve your playing by generally making it easier for you to play. Some plywood knockoff guitar with a neck thicker than a baseball bat can make your life hell - and when you're starting out, you're life is already hell! No joke... we've all been there! tongue.gif

Go for a microcube (decent tone, decent price) and a guitar that's easy to play... the sub-2k Ibanez guitars are a good example of decent priced guitars with good playability. It's not an LP, and it won't sound like an LP... but at least you get humbuckers and a semi-kick@ss neck that will make your first few months of playing bearable, and the next year or so a dream...!

Ok lah, I gotta admit there's a distinct anti-LP, anti-tone-snob, pro-ibanez, pro-roland bias in the above post... tongue.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

0.0152sec    1.09    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:04 PM