QUOTE(piscesguy @ Aug 4 2008, 12:03 PM)
Not considering wall mounting?Home Theatre Your Home Theater pics - Show us !, Inspire and motivate, let's share.
Home Theatre Your Home Theater pics - Show us !, Inspire and motivate, let's share.
Aug 4 2008, 05:06 PM
1,829 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Bolehland |
Nov 3 2008, 10:24 AM
Any of you laid carpet to cover the whole floor of your sound room? Any advantages?
Feb 9 2009, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(djdyks @ Feb 7 2009, 10:36 PM) Recently visited some VIP's home and saw some unbelievable setups Is this the house which TNB also could not promise to deliver such amount of electricity? Sorry for not able to disclose name and post pix for their privacy. Krell power amps from model 300 to 600 (i forgot how many numbers there - minimum 13 above) Samsung 9 series 55"(at least 2 / 3 nos) just for CCTV and Astro only Optoma HD81-LV & another (dun know what model) projector (at least 2 nos) Morel center speakers (2 nos with around 10 speakers + tweeters per pc) - just put in store room) ATC active speakers for surround (at least 5 nos) ATC BIG passive bookshelf speakers (2 used as center - powered by 2 individual Krell power amp) & (another 2 used as front surround) Custom-made side speaker enclosure with around 10nos of ATC drivers x 4 nos Mirage floorstand - put aside no use - probably spare Speaker cables only = easily exceeded RM200k - RM300k (MIT shogun with few boxes - so many pairs laying around) HDMI - Kimber Kable, Wireworld, Van Den Hul ... all hi-end or reference series Power cords = as thick as can drinks = few CD players = Krell Media Servers = dun know what brand but cost more than RM 15k Mark Levinson ... Krell Pre-Amp ... Jadis Tube Integrated (size approx. 2' x 3' in size) ... Utopia Floorstand ... AudioQuest speaker & power cord (as spare cables only) ... Marantz SR8003 ... Mark Levinson AV processors ... blah blah ... blah blah ... And so much more which i can't remember ... The mini theater alone can fill at least 40 ppl The above i saw with my own eyes and its local ! I have heard of this case before in KL. The lucky owner has so many Krell monoblocks and other eauipments that, added up together, they consume too much power until TNB also could not provide the amount of required power. By the way, from what djdyks describde above, I would say "What an incredible set up!!" |
May 13 2009, 09:24 AM
QUOTE(htkaki @ May 12 2009, 11:05 PM) If you go to his house and listen, then you will feel that our setup is miles apart for music. His CDP already abt RM3.5K Sounds interesting... After auditioning, kena poison again. This time, maybe you will buy good CDP, nice cables, a dedicated stereo amp. |
May 15 2009, 08:09 AM
Please don't close this thread..
We get to know so many new HT members here.. We are already getting used to chat in this thread.. |
May 19 2009, 01:47 PM
QUOTE(megatron007 @ May 19 2009, 01:35 PM) Can be said so. Same goes to rooms with double the size of width. These are what I read in these few days. A cubic or perfect square room means that 3 dimensions resonate at the same frequency. Thus, some notes will be louder than the other. In other words, if there are 6 band members playing, you can only feel that 3 are playing. The other 3 are like being eclipsed. http://www.realtraps.com/pmodecalc.htm |
May 19 2009, 02:31 PM
QUOTE(s6xs9x @ May 19 2009, 01:57 PM) mega, 11x11 it's ok la .. you just need some sound traps to balance back the harmony. I thought that my room was good enough but having people visiting once a while for audition, I find that it's better after comments and adjustments. my room is a bout 15' x 11' with one open alley, and I sit smack right to the wall. (this gave me a lot of disadvantages, but was able to counter with rear wall absorption panels. Can't rearrange on the other position as the sliding door is on the path. |
May 19 2009, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(megatron007 @ May 19 2009, 03:02 PM) but no ppl stand at corner all the way to watch the movie from begin till the end rite?? Hmmm.. Try to explain a bit more to you. the boomii effect should be reduced at the target audience position? no? The low frequencies tend to build up more at those corners and resonate to the whole room. This will cause uncontrolled bass. |
May 19 2009, 03:12 PM
May 19 2009, 03:33 PM
QUOTE(Darren Chuah @ May 19 2009, 03:17 PM) I think fabric curtain are not thick enough for corners. Try to do something like arremie said. Roll up a piece of the foam like a tube and place it at corners. If dont want to roll, then just let it stand and cover the corner. |
May 19 2009, 04:10 PM
QUOTE(arremie @ May 19 2009, 04:06 PM) Later I post up pictures when I go back home. U can roll up any foam from packing material. The thicker the foam the better. The one I use meant for acoustic treatment. Fuhyoh.. what a design... Example of packing foam material is like this one my friend use as back support [attachmentid=972988] Your friend needs such a thick absorption panel for his back.. By the way, if possible, try get those audiophile grade foam. Must ensure that they do not contain poisonous material. |
May 19 2009, 04:38 PM
This is the link which shows the ceiling corner foam that I mentioned.
http://www.echobusters.com/cornerbusters.html bro s6xs9x, You can get this ceiling corner foam? This post has been edited by car_o_scope: May 19 2009, 05:20 PM |
May 20 2009, 05:09 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ May 19 2009, 09:23 PM) Bro, so there would be 2nd batch of the acoustic foams? Great. A pair is not enough for my room as the 2 pairs were meant for my bro. It would be great if can get the source for Diffuser as well. I have to fine tune my room. Btw, I am in the midst of sourcing those similar foams that Auralex use. Just chat with the boss about it. I will take my Subdude to show him. Something like this... ![]() http://www.auralex.com/sound_diffusor_metr..._metrofusor.asp |
May 21 2009, 10:30 PM
May 23 2009, 12:23 PM
How you guys stick the absorption foam on the wall?
Double sided tape? I stumbled upon this which the owner is using a tube bass trap for the corners. Very nice system. ![]() Photo courtesy of Wilson Audio. |
May 25 2009, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(s6xs9x @ May 25 2009, 11:55 AM) I've never tried those glue before thou, but the chemical should eat the foams I guess .. maybe I'm wrong .. hehe .. but dunlop on the walls .. sure permit tak lepas. I came across a website which suggested to use Velcro strips so that we can adjust the placement of the foams after tests. But then, how to stick the Velcro strips on the wall leh... same problem |
May 25 2009, 01:33 PM
QUOTE(gocitygo @ May 25 2009, 12:41 PM) Sifu, how do you guys reduce/eliminate the echo sound in your precious HT room? I can hear the high frequency echo sound when clapping my hands at the middle of the room. Mind to share with us the size of your room? I DIY some triangle and rectangle trap using Roxul MPS400 and putting around the 4 corners and still no success to avoid the echo. On the floor, I have put on the carpet. The missing part is on the ceiling. Somehow I got difficulty to put something on the plaster ceiling, first the ceiling cannot withstand heave weight item and second got ceiling fan at the middle Maybe we can figure out and help you with it.. |
May 25 2009, 04:32 PM
QUOTE(rthj @ May 25 2009, 01:55 PM) regarding adhesive.......there's this thing from 3M called Command strips...its double sided tape...there's weight rating on the thing...so you can estimate how much of adhesive to use.....best thing is that it is removable from wall without stripping the paint off....surefire can get approval from HM. This 3M Command Strips are very interesting.. Will try to search for it.. More and more people doing acoustic treatment now. |
May 26 2009, 12:17 PM
Jun 5 2009, 03:05 PM
QUOTE(yfyap69 @ Jun 5 2009, 02:17 PM) Just came back from Homedec Penang. Saw some acoustic foam which is quite cheap. RM70 per pack with 4 pcs of 60x60 cm foam. See website below : http://www.m-pe.com/En_02_products_M_Sorb.html Make sure you grab those that are thick enough.. |
| Change to: | 0.0423sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:44 AM |