The SSD Thread V6, Solid State Drive, Continued.

FatalExe
post Sep 3 2020, 06:29 PM

695 posts

Alamak, I ordered B550M Steel Legend board which has a M.2 heatsink cover that's connected to the chipset.

The PCIE gen 4 SSD i bought, Gigabyte Aorus Gen4 already has integrated copper heatsink. There is no way I can fit the SSD thanks to the motherboard's cover.

Is it safe to unscrew the Aorus copper heatsink and use the integrated motherboard one instead?
FatalExe
post Sep 5 2020, 11:39 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(FatalExe @ Sep 3 2020, 06:29 PM)
Alamak, I ordered B550M Steel Legend board which has a M.2 heatsink cover that's connected to the chipset.

The PCIE gen 4 SSD i bought, Gigabyte Aorus Gen4 already has integrated copper heatsink. There is no way I can fit the SSD thanks to the motherboard's cover.

Is it safe to unscrew the Aorus copper heatsink and use the integrated motherboard one instead?
Anyone can advice?
FatalExe
post Sep 6 2020, 10:17 AM

695 posts

QUOTE(Cold|Drawn @ Sep 5 2020, 11:48 PM)
Usually the SSD comes disassembled, you'll need to peel the plastic off the thermal pad of the heatsink and assemble the SSD onto it yourself.

If you intend to use the heatsink from your mobo, then just keep the Aorus heatsink instead?

skip to 0:36
It's pre-assembled already in the box. So I would have to remove the screws and remove the Aorus heatsink.

I'm still waiting on my PC case and thermal paste to arrive so I haven't done it yet.
FatalExe
post Sep 6 2020, 07:02 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(Cold|Drawn @ Sep 6 2020, 12:18 PM)
Ah okay, perhaps you can see from the video how he assembles the SSD and reverse engineer it?

It should be safe, normally just the SSD resting on the thermal pad.
OK, thanks. I'll give it a try in the next few days when I assemble the new PC haha. Gonna remove my old components and put it into the new one
FatalExe
post Sep 9 2020, 07:39 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(Cold|Drawn @ Sep 6 2020, 12:18 PM)
Ah okay, perhaps you can see from the video how he assembles the SSD and reverse engineer it?

It should be safe, normally just the SSD resting on the thermal pad.
I assembled the new PC, everything works fine. Removed Aorus heatsink and used mobo heatsink without issues. Windows is so fast on this even compared to my previous SATA 3 SSD!

0.0819sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:18 AM