The SSD Thread V6, Solid State Drive, Continued.
TristanX
Jan 14 2019, 04:55 PM
Where is my stars?
QUOTE(AMDAthlon @ Jan 14 2019, 04:00 PM) I'm thinking to buy 240gb SSD for below RM200 for windows drive. Is Transcend MTS820S a good alternative to the Seagate? M.2 SATA, no DRAM cache and 3 years warranty. Get something better... https://www.transcend-info.com/Products/No-749Looks like trash for me.
TristanX
Jan 15 2019, 09:37 AM
Where is my stars?
QUOTE(yaphong @ Jan 15 2019, 09:13 AM) Have anyone bought SSD from Amazon US? I saw Samsung Evo 860 is going for USD350 plus shipping. Seem cheaper than Malaysia. How much is the import tax ya? Assuming that is 2TB, yes it is cheap for RM1,433.88 . $327.99 + $24.22 Shipping & Import Fees Deposit to Malaysia Details This post has been edited by TristanX: Jan 15 2019, 09:38 AM
TristanX
Jan 15 2019, 10:35 AM
Where is my stars?
QUOTE(yaphong @ Jan 15 2019, 10:27 AM) What's your thought on getting it via Amazon? I see local retailer mostly selling at RM2.3k Buying from overseas always has a risk. Especially the warranty part.
TristanX
Jan 15 2019, 11:00 AM
Where is my stars?
QUOTE(yaphong @ Jan 15 2019, 10:55 AM) True. Need to find out more on the warranty part. Do you know how much I need to pay for the Malaysia import tax? Not sure. Didnt buy it yet.
TristanX
Jan 16 2019, 02:38 PM
Where is my stars?
QUOTE(jctechreview99 @ Jan 16 2019, 10:23 AM) Anybody can recommend a 120gb ssd boot drive want to replace my old sandisk x300s with dram and mlc but after so many years, it feels like ssd tech became worse, full of dramless and tlc MLC and DRAM SSD will cost a lot. Only Samsung 860 Pro 512GB at RM799 has the best GB/ringgit.
TristanX
Mar 15 2019, 08:37 AM
Where is my stars?
QUOTE(westernkl @ Mar 15 2019, 02:55 AM) Hi bro, looks like you are Crucial MX500 fanboy. I just bought a new Crucial MX500 500gb. Nope. Its all about value for money. Its the cheapest for SSD with DRAM cache.
TristanX
Mar 15 2019, 09:04 AM
Where is my stars?
QUOTE(westernkl @ Mar 15 2019, 09:00 AM) Ok, would pls answer my question above? I need ur help pls. I dont use third party app to check. Use Crucial Storage Executive. Yes, like horns said. Try updating Crystaldiskmark.
TristanX
Mar 15 2019, 01:46 PM
Where is my stars?
QUOTE(Boldnut @ Mar 15 2019, 01:35 PM) DRAM SSD champion still 250GB Seagate. 480GB got new champion already Kingston UV500 at RM260+ I owned both, no such issue as shuttering. Talking about former. MX500 was the cheapest for 500GB. Yes, UV500 also got DRAM.
TristanX
Mar 15 2019, 02:00 PM
Where is my stars?
QUOTE(Boldnut @ Mar 15 2019, 01:48 PM) I must update forumer, price dropping very fast these days. Always buy the cheapest good ones. Pretty soon 1TB can hit RM300 range.  Adata SX8200 Pro. Hail the M.2 PCIE price/performance champion.
TristanX
Mar 27 2019, 10:42 AM
Where is my stars?
QUOTE(x3Kai @ Mar 27 2019, 10:38 AM) lazada anniversary today: 240GB Kingston A400 RM 114.00 250GB Samsung 860 Evo RM 202.50 75% More Expensive for the DRAM cache and branding hmmm. Worth it? Hand itchy want the Samsung, but my cheapskate mind keep telling me no. A400 has a chance of stutter. 860 Evo doesn't. Seagate Barracuda 250GB is in the middle when it comes to pricing of that two.
TristanX
Jun 29 2019, 04:08 PM
Where is my stars?
QUOTE(kevin23 @ Jun 27 2019, 01:24 PM) How is kingston a400 ssd? Its one of the worst. DRAMless SSD. I don't even want it if it is free. Next time ask first before you buy. QUOTE(lanusb @ Jun 29 2019, 03:31 AM) want to replace my macbook pro 2012 ssd, which is a good one? This will be used as the OS and to host vmware to windows too. I am just a casual user, surfing,streaming,excel, powerpoint presentation. kingston uv500 1TB Apacer Panther AS350 960GB Adata SU800 1TB HIKVision SSD C100 960GB Patriot Burst 960GB Crucial MX500 is RM549 from Viewnet. Ignore the rest. This post has been edited by TristanX: Jun 29 2019, 04:11 PM
TristanX
Jul 22 2019, 03:57 PM
Where is my stars?
I just killed Liteon 900S 256GB for the 4th time. This time no warranty left. Yeah, I will avoid this brand.
TristanX
Aug 13 2019, 02:35 PM
Where is my stars?
QUOTE(Ronin_Amin @ Aug 13 2019, 12:06 AM) I see. So It would be better to get the 970 evo plus? Thanks guys Not for me. Pulled the trigger for Adata SX8200 Pro 2TB:
This post has been edited by TristanX: Aug 13 2019, 02:37 PM
TristanX
Aug 13 2019, 07:42 PM
Where is my stars?
QUOTE(horns @ Aug 13 2019, 06:39 PM) why not wait for a bit and ride the new wave? pci-e 4.0 nvme ssds look promising. i'm waiting for samsung lol edit: wow 2 tb for 1k+?! this is sweet  Not at least 6GB/s and I don't have X570 board yet. Waiting for it to mature. Maybe PCIE 5.0? Who knows. Yup. RM1.1k for 2TB. Its a steal. This post has been edited by TristanX: Aug 13 2019, 07:44 PM
TristanX
Aug 15 2019, 01:14 AM
Where is my stars?
This is my Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB on my other PC.
TristanX
Aug 15 2019, 04:34 PM
Where is my stars?
The poison arrives....
TristanX
Aug 15 2019, 04:55 PM
Where is my stars?
QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Aug 15 2019, 04:50 PM) If and only if my board supports dual NVME SSDs that would be great :/ Looks like I'll have to settle with a SATA M.2 drive instead  Well, if X570 and Intel CPUs or Z370/Z390 isn't overpriced..... Eventually you'll get there. I'm shooting for Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master or Asus C8H. SX8200 Pro 2TB:
This post has been edited by TristanX: Aug 16 2019, 12:32 AM
TristanX
Aug 17 2019, 01:11 AM
Where is my stars?
QUOTE(Benefon @ Aug 17 2019, 12:54 AM) How much u get for SX8200 pro 2TB? RM1.1k from Shopee. I think sold out already.
TristanX
Aug 19 2019, 08:39 AM
Where is my stars?
QUOTE(Benefon @ Aug 19 2019, 07:57 AM) You guys notices about SSD R/W speed can be reduce after installation many thing inside your drive. When new.  After installed many softwares at 180GB of used storage.  Yes, thats normal. The disk map gets bigger everytime you add files to your disk. Background programs may also affect the performance. The only disk with possible increased performance for adding files is Intel Optane 900P/905P. Its extremely pricey. https://www.anandtech.com/show/12136/the-in...0p-480gb-reviewThis post has been edited by TristanX: Aug 19 2019, 08:42 AM
TristanX
Aug 29 2019, 09:23 AM
Where is my stars?
QUOTE(ReaperX @ Aug 28 2019, 05:16 PM) Sorry if this has been asked/shared before, does anyone has experience using the PCI-e gen 3.0 adapter for m.2 (2280)? My rig is more than 6 years old on Intel i7-2600k on msi b75ma-e33 mobo using 128GB OCZ VertexII. Thought of just upgrading to a 1TB m.2 instead of spending more in upgrading the rig. I got one adapter but dont have old board to test it for you. Boot from older boards. Do it at your own risk. https://linustechtips.com/main/topic/592133...r-motherboards/