125 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Bottom

The SSD Thread V6, Solid State Drive, Continued.

Unknown69
post Nov 1 2020, 04:58 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(waghyu @ Nov 1 2020, 04:07 PM)
Get other make, mine DOA this make, 2TB unit.
what you exactly mean by make? variants? means choosing other size than 2TB one or choose other SSD than SX8200 PRO?

This post has been edited by Unknown69: Nov 1 2020, 05:00 PM
gedebe
post Nov 1 2020, 05:01 PM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Nov 1 2020, 04:50 PM)
A400 don't have DRAM, better don't.
You want proven good SSD, Crucial MX500
I am thinking of getting the 512Gb, is the performance as good as 1TB or slower?
waghyu
post Nov 1 2020, 05:07 PM

3,389 posts

QUOTE(Unknown69 @ Nov 1 2020, 04:58 PM)
what you exactly mean by make? variants? means choosing other size than 2TB one or choose other SSD than SX8200 PRO?
Get Samsung or Intel as example. Not necessarily go for fastest model as well.
xxboxx
post Nov 1 2020, 05:33 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Nov 1 2020, 05:01 PM)
I am thinking of getting the 512Gb, is the performance as good as 1TB or slower?
https://www.anandtech.com/show/12263/the-cr...00-500gb-review

Good enough for SATA SSD performance, you want better have to go for Samsung or Intel SSD.
1TB got double the flash chips than 500GB, so it's endurance is also double.
If you got M.2 NVME slot then it's better to go for that instead of SATA.
gedebe
post Nov 1 2020, 06:35 PM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Nov 1 2020, 05:33 PM)
https://www.anandtech.com/show/12263/the-cr...00-500gb-review

Good enough for SATA SSD performance, you want better have to go for Samsung or Intel SSD.
1TB got double the flash chips than 500GB, so it's endurance is also double.
If you got M.2 NVME slot then it's better to go for that instead of SATA.
Crucial mx500 and SanDisk/WD ultra which is better
xxboxx
post Nov 1 2020, 07:42 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Nov 1 2020, 06:35 PM)
Crucial mx500 and SanDisk/WD ultra which is better
Better just stick with Crucial
gedebe
post Nov 2 2020, 08:01 AM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Nov 1 2020, 07:42 PM)
Better just stick with Crucial
the only problem with mx500 is The only caveat to that recommendation is that power efficiency has taken a step backwards with the MX500 from https://www.anandtech.com/show/12263/the-cr...-500gb-review/9

xxboxx
post Nov 2 2020, 11:10 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Nov 2 2020, 08:01 AM)
the only problem with mx500 is The only caveat to that recommendation is that power efficiency has taken a step backwards with the MX500 from https://www.anandtech.com/show/12263/the-cr...-500gb-review/9
Small different only in real life usage, unless most of the time you always left the laptop idle without feeding it power.
I didn't check local Samsung Evo price. If just difference around RM30 then Evo does give more value for money.
gedebe
post Nov 2 2020, 12:10 PM

1,645 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Nov 2 2020, 11:10 AM)
Small different only in real life usage, unless most of the time you always left the laptop idle without feeding it power.
I didn't check local Samsung Evo price. If just difference around RM30 then Evo does give more value for money.
Evo is more expensive by rm100 for 500gb
TristanX
post Nov 3 2020, 12:11 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Nov 2 2020, 12:10 PM)
Evo is more expensive by rm100 for 500gb
RM309 right now.

https://shopee.com.my/SAMSUNG-860-EVO-2.5%E...8462.1554877337
thisisrazin
post Nov 3 2020, 10:00 PM

Samsung 970 evo 1tb, how much can I sell it for? Fairly new, barely used.
gedebe
post Nov 4 2020, 05:27 PM

1,645 posts

do i need to get a bracket to fit with any ssd drive, my notebook is dell latitude 3470
sHawTY
post Nov 5 2020, 01:26 AM

Frequent Reporter
14,908 posts

QUOTE(gedebe @ Nov 4 2020, 05:27 PM)
do i need to get a bracket to fit with any ssd drive, my notebook is dell latitude 3470
You don't need to use a bracket
Your laptop supports 2.5" disk

Just get a 2.5" SATA SSD and you'll be fine
ezoafiq
post Nov 7 2020, 04:34 PM

157 posts

this one consider fast? brows.gif brows.gif
Vincent6596
post Nov 7 2020, 05:27 PM

472 posts

QUOTE(ezoafiq @ Nov 7 2020, 04:34 PM)

this one consider fast?  brows.gif  brows.gif
what drive is this, the speedtest really fast. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
ezoafiq
post Nov 7 2020, 06:27 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(Vincent6596 @ Nov 7 2020, 05:27 PM)
what drive is this, the speedtest really fast. rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
WD black SN850 i think.
yhsiau
post Nov 8 2020, 04:19 PM

790 posts

Dear all sifu..
I am planning to retire my 2tb gaming HDD, which will be replaced by SSD.

My question is what sort of the interface should I get, M2 NVME or the old SATA interface?

xxboxx
post Nov 8 2020, 06:32 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(yhsiau @ Nov 8 2020, 04:19 PM)
Dear all sifu..

My question is what sort of the interface should I get, M2 NVME or the old SATA interface?

m.2 nvme
Right now small improvement on loading time compared to sata ssd, but when DirectStorage become available sata will be bottleneck at 600MB/s while current nvme with pcie gen 3 are 500% faster than sata.
https://devblogs.microsoft.com/directx/dire...s-coming-to-pc/

1TB seem the sweet spot right now for storage size and price. Those that like to have plenty of games installed and feel 1TB not enough space should also have HDD as place to store inactive game.

This post has been edited by xxboxx: Nov 11 2020, 01:42 AM
skylinelover
post Nov 9 2020, 08:28 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,244 posts

QUOTE(thisisrazin @ Nov 3 2020, 10:00 PM)
Samsung 970 evo 1tb, how much can I sell it for? Fairly new, barely used.
Lolz why sell sweat.gif sweat.gif

QUOTE(yhsiau @ Nov 8 2020, 04:19 PM)
Dear all sifu..

M2 all the way

HDD use 2 install bloody old games

Thats what i do whenever i install newer games

Older games will be relegated in to HDD hahahahaha

This post has been edited by skylinelover: Nov 9 2020, 08:29 PM
bristlebb
post Nov 16 2020, 06:06 PM

574 posts

lately i bought a unit of MX500 500GB SATA SSD, while waiting for it to reach my place i realize the seller stated on their page they only provide 3 years limited warranty, whereas other local sellers are giving 5 years warranty, heck i even found the pictures of the ssd box on the internet, it says limited 5 year warranty at the back.
today i asked the seller, and they say 3 years warranty only.
can seller refuse to honor the full warranty period? or the warranty itself should be honored by Crucial instead of seller? rclxub.gif

125 Pages « < 118 119 120 121 122 > » Top

0.0364sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:39 AM