125 Pages « < 111 112 113 114 115 > » Bottom

The SSD Thread V6, Solid State Drive, Continued.

TShorns
post Jul 1 2020, 12:49 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Jun 30 2020, 11:15 PM)
Normally I always goes to sleep but I am not too sure on windows 10 hibernate which put all your savestate from ram to ssd.most default laptop will auto sleep or hibernate if idle over 30 minutes.
Still I will apply a few tweaks on Windows 7 but I think windows 10 is fine since it's optimize for ssd.
yes, like our friend pointed out, it's really optional especially for w10.
@skyhawk@
post Jul 1 2020, 11:55 AM

448 posts

Hi, can recommend which SSD are reliable nowadays? need suggestion for 2 different requirement.

1. Cheap, reliable, worth value for money = for old laptop HDD upgrade to SSD

2. Fast, reliable, Best SSD - to equip with ryzen rig (desktop)
mirage81
post Jul 6 2020, 08:50 PM

338 posts

Hi, would like to seek some advise from u guys..

Hmm currently I had a combo of 256gb WD SN 730 and 2tb firecuda hdd at my laptop. Yet I had another 512gb WD SN550 sleeping at my drawer..
Is it okay to replace my SN 730 to SN 550? Or just maintain like that? Any suggestions? Thanks
SpikeTwo
post Jul 6 2020, 11:54 PM

無敵 PC Elitist
5,464 posts

QUOTE(mirage81 @ Jul 6 2020, 08:50 PM)
Hi, would like to seek some advise from u guys.. 

Hmm currently I had a combo of 256gb WD SN 730 and 2tb firecuda hdd at my laptop. Yet I had another 512gb WD SN550 sleeping at my drawer..
Is it okay to replace my SN 730 to SN 550? Or just maintain like that? Any suggestions? Thanks
why waste bthe sn550? in some cases it even outyperforms the sn750.
mirage81
post Jul 7 2020, 07:00 AM

338 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Jul 6 2020, 11:54 PM)
why waste bthe sn550? in some cases it even outyperforms the sn750.
I'm thinking to clone /fresh install on SN 550 and keep the SN730 as backup but then as SN 550 is a dram-less, not sure about SN 730. So not sure how the performance as an OS boot drive..

Since today 7.7 sales. I plan to upgrade my office old lappy. Is MX 500 500gb selling at RM288 is it good buy? Or Samsung Evo 860 500gb RM329?
chocobo7779
post Jul 7 2020, 09:02 AM

Power is nothing without control
14,673 posts

QUOTE(mirage81 @ Jul 7 2020, 07:00 AM)
I'm thinking to clone /fresh install on SN 550 and keep the SN730 as backup but then as SN 550 is a dram-less, not sure about SN 730. So not sure how the performance as an OS boot drive..

Since today 7.7 sales. I plan to upgrade my office old lappy. Is MX 500 500gb selling at RM288 is it good buy? Or Samsung Evo 860 500gb RM329?
Either the Crucial or the Samsung should do, just pick the one that is cheaper icon_idea.gif
chocobo7779
post Jul 7 2020, 09:02 AM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(@skyhawk@ @ Jul 1 2020, 11:55 AM)
Hi, can recommend which SSD are reliable nowadays? need suggestion for 2 different requirement.

1. Cheap, reliable, worth value for money = for old laptop HDD upgrade to SSD

2. Fast, reliable, Best SSD - to equip with ryzen rig (desktop)
1. Kingston UV500 / Samsung 860 EVO / Crucial MX500

2. Adata SX8200 Pro / Transcend MTE 220s / Corsair MP510
mirage81
post Jul 7 2020, 12:45 PM

338 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jul 7 2020, 09:02 AM)
Either the Crucial or the Samsung should do, just pick the one that is cheaper icon_idea.gif
Bought the Crucial 1tb.. RM487 guess much more value for money compare with the 500gb

Still wanna ask.. how the performance on WD Blue SN 550? Will it stutter as the ssd is dramless?

This post has been edited by mirage81: Jul 7 2020, 12:46 PM
1024kbps
post Jul 7 2020, 09:29 PM

李素裳
6,014 posts

QUOTE(mirage81 @ Jul 7 2020, 12:45 PM)
Bought the Crucial 1tb.. RM487 guess much more value for money compare with the 500gb

Still wanna ask.. how the performance on WD Blue SN 550? Will it stutter as the ssd is dramless?
not really stutter, i don't know why people describe dramless SSD will stutter, there were slower storage device that does not stutter, just being slow.

I can play my game over network storage, the game does not really stutter, just super long loading time, that's all
1024kbps
post Jul 7 2020, 09:36 PM

李素裳
6,014 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jul 7 2020, 09:02 AM)
i think this one not too bad https://www.techpowerup.com/review/hp-ex950...b-m-2-nvme-ssd/
SUSEBBattlefield
post Jul 7 2020, 09:40 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Jul 7 2020, 09:29 PM)
not really stutter, i don't know why people describe dramless SSD will stutter, there were slower storage device that does not stutter, just being slow.

I can play my game over network storage, the game does not really stutter, just super long loading time, that's all
hard drive is consistently slow....
Dramless SSD is like driving ferrari in traffic jam, rather than driving down empty highway.

Sprint, then lag, sprint, then lag.
even if actual speed is faster than hDD.
the feeling of inconsistency is more shit than actual lag tongue.gif
SpikeTwo
post Jul 7 2020, 10:15 PM

無敵 PC Elitist
5,464 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Jul 7 2020, 09:40 PM)
Dramless SSD is like driving ferrari in traffic jam, rather than driving down empty highway.

did you read the new SN550 dramless? it is one of the fastest dramless SSD.

SUSEBBattlefield
post Jul 7 2020, 10:24 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Jul 7 2020, 10:15 PM)
yes, but Dram model price difference RM50.
I can stay away from mekdi for a week tongue.gif
mirage81
post Jul 7 2020, 10:25 PM

338 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Jul 7 2020, 09:29 PM)

Guess i try give a try on the WD SN550 for OS boot drive..as I plan to replace SN 730 and keep it as backup.
mirage81
post Jul 7 2020, 10:37 PM

338 posts

QUOTE(SpikeTwo @ Jul 7 2020, 10:15 PM)
Hmm fast or not can't really compare with their own WD Black.. as it read is 2400mb yet the Black is 3500mb. Read some article.. SN 730 is quite new in SSD market, not much info on it.. as i know is more or less. It is much like the Black SN 750.

I didnt know that Lenovo legion laptop is bundle SN730 inside.. else I won't waste money to buy the Blue.
chocobo7779
post Jul 7 2020, 11:06 PM

14,673 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Jul 7 2020, 09:36 PM)
Wasn't that one is pretty much a SX8200 Pro in a different suit? hmm.gif
1024kbps
post Jul 8 2020, 08:40 AM

李素裳
6,014 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Jul 7 2020, 09:40 PM)

if you're referring to gaming, depends, nowadays 3d games with large map will preload it to RAM, because nowadays RAM and hdd are cheap, that's where the loading screen come from.

earlier gaming load what the game need, and will load some other optional stuff if user trigger the event.

most game has larger files and windows 10 and mobo sata driver already optimized the hdd operation, if the overall game file is not too big, eg 500mb, you will super fast loading even on hdd.
and SSD is excel in small io and random io operation.
1024kbps
post Jul 8 2020, 08:55 AM

李素裳
6,014 posts

QUOTE(mirage81 @ Jul 7 2020, 10:25 PM)
Guess i try give a try on the WD SN550 for OS boot drive..as I plan to replace SN 730 and keep it as backup.
if you have the budget, try not to get dramless ssd, unless no other choice,
when the SLC cache ran out, Windows will stall if you copy or writing, it was based on my experience on early SSD and Windows 8, but windows 8 is one hella buggy os, lol

HDD always comes with small DRAM, 64 or 128mb depend on the size, whoever comes with the dramless SSD needs to get whooped in the ass.
wkc5657
post Jul 8 2020, 09:10 AM

558 posts

sifus, between pny xl8r cs3030 and silicon power a80, which one to get since the pricing and controller similar?

i'll be getting the 1tb version.
adamtayy
post Jul 8 2020, 06:15 PM

1,395 posts

Kingston kc600, 512gb..
Sata ssd..
Got good review?

125 Pages « < 111 112 113 114 115 > » Top