Renovations Electrical Installation Price, Share your price and recommendation

TSstormchaser
post Apr 9 2007, 12:21 PM, updated 19y ago

love your neighbour, help serve society
594 posts

Last weekend, I asked a contractor to quote for the electricity setting for my apartment.
I found out it is way too expensive, and that's why i wanna post here to compare the price with other contractor that u guyz deal with.

Contractor 1 (9/4)
Power Supply : RM80 per socket
Water heater supply : RM300 (From ELCB, which is 30-40 feets away)
TV Cable (Coaxial Cable) : RM300 (From the source, it's just 10 feets away)
Fan Hook & cables = RM240 shocking.gif

Contractor 2 (16/4)
Power Supply : RM90 per socket of 1 source
Power Supply : RM70 per socket by looping (More than 1 at the same place)
Water heater supply : RM150 (From ELCB, which is 30-40 feets away)
TV Cable (Coaxial Cable) : RM50 (From the source, it's just 10 feets away)
Fan Hook & cables = RM70
** Without painting

Air-Cond Installation - RM 200 with bracket

Anyone can recommend good electrician, at cheras area...

This post has been edited by stormchaser: May 10 2007, 02:59 PM
Idzm
post Apr 9 2007, 12:49 PM

153 posts

power supply price a bit high, (normal RM 50 - 80) other price, better u change to other contractor.

I know a few contractor. but can't promise the price will be lower or not. PM me if u want the contact no.
scorgio
post Apr 10 2007, 12:40 AM

4,693 posts

Did the price include drilling of channels in wall & patching it back with cement later?
Or just using casing?

TSstormchaser
post Apr 10 2007, 10:47 AM

594 posts

It's drilling, patching + paint...

hi Idzm, plz pm the contact.. I've a few electrician on-hand now, i'll let them to quote first, if not ok, i'll call yours.. Thanks!!!

??!!
post Apr 10 2007, 04:39 PM

2,548 posts

after tampal tampal, u got to paint the whole wall . Just touch-up sure can see the colour difference. Best is to add on points B4 they do plastering..ie if developer agrees to it.
scorgio
post Apr 10 2007, 06:27 PM

4,693 posts

QUOTE(stormchaser @ Apr 10 2007, 10:47 AM)
It's drilling, patching + paint...

hi Idzm, plz pm the contact.. I've a few electrician on-hand now, i'll let them to quote first, if not ok, i'll call yours.. Thanks!!!
If include patching + paint, the price's somewhat reasonable.
Usually they charge higher for flat, condo & apartment.
Cos there's a risk when they start to drill (they might hit something in the wall).
And they must cart away the rubbish.
Whereas, for landed property, they'd just leave it at your yard or gate.
Plus, materials like cement, sand, patching compound etc are not cheap nowadays.
Anyhow, get several quotes b4 u engage one.

TSstormchaser
post Apr 16 2007, 09:31 AM

594 posts

Second electrician quotation posted..
aaronpang
post Apr 16 2007, 01:05 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

I actually tot of using one of these

http://www.eubiq.com/index.php

Downside is those cost RM600 bucks a for a 1m strip with 3 plugs...

I believe their going to be at Homedec'07 so I hope they're selling at cheaper promo prices.
TSstormchaser
post Apr 16 2007, 02:14 PM

594 posts

hmm... this type should be more useful for offices.
aaronpang
post Apr 16 2007, 03:02 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(stormchaser @ Apr 16 2007, 02:14 PM)
hmm... this type should be more useful for offices.
Actually they're promoting for home use too, they even have a kitchen unit... if only it was cheaper... cry.gif

Right now my house the has 2 to 4 electrical points but typical gadget junkie like me needs at least six in the main living areas and another six in the master bathroom doh.gif

Its even worst in my study 2 PC, 2 laptop, 2 external HDD, BB Modem and my CISCO router(s)... already 8 devices... arrrggghhh rclxub.gif Right now I can only use 3 to 4 devices at one time... hope I dun overload the breakers doh.gif

BTW its great that you're sharing the price for the electrical installations thumbup.gif
TSstormchaser
post Apr 16 2007, 03:08 PM

594 posts

Go and get those high task power supply from Lowyat.. I even saw those multiple plugs with usb lar and lighting protector lar..

I'll probably get the second contractor to do it for me.. I'll save >1k.. kekeke...
Singh_Kalan
post Apr 20 2007, 11:37 PM

2,030 posts

QUOTE(stormchaser @ Apr 16 2007, 03:08 PM)
Go and get those high task power supply from Lowyat.. I even saw those multiple plugs with usb lar and lighting protector lar..

I'll probably get the second contractor to do it for me.. I'll save >1k.. kekeke...
U don't need a genius to tell u that. doh.gif
yewkhuay
post Apr 21 2007, 10:58 PM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

QUOTE(aaronpang @ Apr 16 2007, 01:05 PM)
I actually tot of using one of these

http://www.eubiq.com/index.php

Downside is those cost RM600 bucks a for a 1m strip with 3 plugs...
I believe their going to be at Homedec'07 so I hope they're selling at cheaper promo prices.
rm600 plus installation n everything?
pilotHans
post Apr 23 2007, 12:48 AM

scuderia ferrari pit crew (" ,)
2,525 posts

hi guys......sorry to interupt here......FYI i'm planning to get a double story house in USJ3......the house will need some paintjob.....as i hear here that it's advisable to paint the whole wall after adding plugs....so in my case i'll need to settle all the socket/point before I start my paint job.....

the problem/issue here is.....how do you guys determind/calculate how much plugs/socket you need in our house? basically kithchen how much? location is also important rite? any recommendations? notworthy.gif
yewkhuay
post Apr 23 2007, 03:21 AM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(pilotHans @ Apr 23 2007, 12:48 AM)
hi guys......sorry to interupt here......FYI i'm planning to get a double story house in USJ3......the house will need some paintjob.....as i hear here that it's advisable to paint the whole wall after adding plugs....so in my case i'll need to settle all the socket/point before I start my paint job.....

the problem/issue here is.....how do you guys determind/calculate how much plugs/socket you need in our house? basically kithchen how much? location is also important rite? any recommendations?  notworthy.gif
i guess u oready hav ur plan for renovation n how to arrange ur furniture n electricals, addtional plugs shall be at least sufficient to support all of them .

i would suggest put plugs together like 3in a row ( i understand if u add additional far from another will cost more due to wall hacking...)

put plugs at least 1.5m from ground, just nice for adults to switch on elctricals not children. smile.gif

if u r expecting heavy electrical usage , upgrade ur power to tripple phase.

just my 2cents.smile.gif
scorgio
post Apr 23 2007, 10:30 AM

4,693 posts

QUOTE(pilotHans @ Apr 23 2007, 12:48 AM)
the problem/issue here is.....how do you guys determind/calculate how much plugs/socket you need in our house? basically kithchen how much? location is also important rite? any recommendations?  notworthy.gif
U'll need to work ur interior layout 1st.

Usually for kitchen, u'll need at least 3 sockets. 1 for fridge, 1 for oven, 1 for rice cooker.

If u want to do some basic reno, PM me. I can recommend a contractor for u.
aaronpang
post Apr 23 2007, 04:37 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Apr 21 2007, 10:58 PM)
rm600 plus installation n everything?
Nope just the eubiq unit installation is DIY... simple enuff for me do to DIY IMHO...

QUOTE(scorgio @ Apr 23 2007, 10:30 AM)
U'll need to work ur interior layout 1st.

Usually for kitchen, u'll need at least 3 sockets. 1 for fridge, 1 for oven, 1 for rice cooker.

If u want to do some basic reno, PM me. I can recommend a contractor for u.
3 is minimum... sweat.gif

Dun forget the microwave... blender... extra fridge... toaster... and who knows what other kitchen equipment... washing machine... bla bla bla...
scorgio
post Apr 23 2007, 06:16 PM

4,693 posts

QUOTE(aaronpang @ Apr 23 2007, 04:37 PM)

3 is minimum...  sweat.gif

Dun forget the microwave... blender... extra fridge... toaster... and who knows what other kitchen equipment... washing machine... bla bla bla...
You can have as much as you want.
I was merely stating 3's the minimum.
Reason being, you don't use oven(include microwave) & rice cooker 24/7.
But if u're so lazy to unplug the socket, then different story lah.
Heck, who knows if you need TV & hi-fi in kitchen as well.
yewkhuay
post Apr 23 2007, 10:40 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Apr 23 2007, 06:16 PM)
You can have as much as you want.
I was merely stating 3's the minimum.
Reason being, you don't use oven(include microwave) & rice cooker 24/7.
But if u're so lazy to unplug the socket, then different story lah.
Heck, who knows if you need TV & hi-fi in kitchen as well.
haha , buy fridge with TV built in . rclxm9.gif

TSstormchaser
post Apr 24 2007, 11:45 AM

594 posts

QUOTE(Singh_Kalan @ Apr 20 2007, 11:37 PM)
U don't need a genius to tell u that.  doh.gif
aiyar... there's still a lot out there dunno the difference between ms office and windows... about those power extension, i can only see it in lowyat, but not tesco, carrefour and etc, so just to inform only... as a reference...

This post has been edited by stormchaser: Apr 24 2007, 11:45 AM

0.0188sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:51 PM