Folding Bicycles V6, Folding bicycle discussion

fcuk90
post Jun 27 2020, 03:39 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

Hi guys,

I have a ka1606 trinx, would like to do some upgrade like change to dahon/litepro handlepost , do I need to change the front fork?

fcuk90
post Jun 27 2020, 09:36 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Jun 27 2020, 08:11 PM)
front fork and headset bearings. dahon system is threadless headset and sizing of the fork stearer tube are longer than ur trinx.

if i were u, i upgrade crankset 1st. later wheelset. maintain the handlepost, only need extra tigthen to make it more stiff.
Thanks for the recommendation,
I already got 53t crankset and 9speed system (tiagra) upgraded previously last few year.

I thinking to upgrade the wheelset too, previously upgraded rear hub to novatec but maintain the standard wheel, not sure whether it can clear 349 wheel?

Since u have ka1606 before ,do u think 349 wheel will clear ka1606 frame?

Ya, actually the handle post don't have any issue.

This post has been edited by fcuk90: Jun 27 2020, 09:52 PM
fcuk90
post Jun 27 2020, 10:48 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Jun 27 2020, 10:31 PM)
yup, it can fit 349 wheels nicely with 32mm tyre height. i had scouted and list the tyre choices for u. that is ::
1. schwalbe kojak 32mm
2. joseph kousac 23mm (super pricey!)

where else u cant fit
1. kenda 349 36mm
2. schwalbe marathon 38mm
3. innova pro 349 32mm (cant pump until 100psi, 80psi can fit ur frame rear but not in front)

another thing to consider is long arm vbrake or cbrake. the benefit of 349 is rolling, feels like 406 wheels. while the disadvantages is pricey (most anything related to brompton is pricey), tubes also u cant find at normal bike shop.

happy upgrade to u! laugh.gif
Thanks for the detail tips.

look like kojak + 349 wheelset should be the things to upgrade first.

I am in Singapore, a lot of Brompton here,so tryre and tubes won't be hard to find, but should be more exp than Malaysia.

, btw your fnhon zephyr look very nice!.

fcuk90
post Jun 29 2020, 03:46 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Jun 29 2020, 12:33 PM)
yesterday zephyr lost it liver laugh.gif need to find another shifter
53t+11t cadence around 90rpm+ can get speed 30kmph. not that hamster lah laugh.gif

laju² nk ke mane bujal?hehhehee
My leg can't do 11t + 53 for long time.

Usually do 12 or 13t.

fcuk90
post Jul 5 2020, 03:28 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Jul 2 2020, 09:14 AM)
finish setup another frame. from the frame it said DTFLY. never heard this brand before. from what i can see, the frame buid are good and nearly identical to fnhon tornado i had setup before.

oh ya, this frame came with disc but owner wanted to used rim brake. setup using sram force 10speed groupset
looks really great frame there ,quite similar to your tern
fcuk90
post Jul 9 2020, 06:58 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Jul 8 2020, 07:47 AM)
buy Java Fit for
- good on flat
- good crank (hollowtech crank for new model)
- stick with 9 speed

buy trinx flybird for
- good on climb
- wanna upgrade crankset
- wanna go for 10 speed
Wah trinx flybird so expensive, going for 1.4k, frame look like my trinx ka2024 , same gear set too,

I bought 5 years back , cost only rm950.

fcuk90
post Jul 20 2020, 07:52 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

Last weekend ride with my 16inch foldie.

fcuk90
post Aug 9 2020, 01:48 AM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

hi all,

Can i install this https://bicyclebuysell.com/user/item/468496...teeth-converter

on my trinx ka1606 ,then i can use those threadless handlepost ? like fnhon/dahon/litepro?

thanks laugh.gif
fcuk90
post Aug 9 2020, 11:18 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Aug 9 2020, 04:40 PM)
here u go

Shopee Link
can,. no problemo. my friend done it before bcoz wanna used fold out handlepost on his trinx ka2016. currently, his eyeing on carbon fork after this laugh.gif
Poison never end, hahah

But good thing is, these parts stayed when u want upgrade to new frame. Haha.

fcuk90
post Aug 13 2020, 12:37 AM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Jun 27 2020, 10:31 PM)
yup, it can fit 349 wheels nicely with 32mm tyre height. i had scouted and list the tyre choices for u. that is ::
1. schwalbe kojak 32mm
2. joseph kousac 23mm (super pricey!)

where else u cant fit
1. kenda 349 36mm
2. schwalbe marathon 38mm
3. innova pro 349 32mm (cant pump until 100psi, 80psi can fit ur frame rear but not in front)

another thing to consider is long arm vbrake or cbrake. the benefit of 349 is rolling, feels like 406 wheels. while the disadvantages is pricey (most anything related to brompton is pricey), tubes also u cant find at normal bike shop.

happy upgrade to u! laugh.gif
I am having hard time to search for kojak 349, most of place SG n taobao out of stock.

Do you think aceoffix 32mm can fit? If not I will just try my luck. Haha

fcuk90
post Aug 13 2020, 01:35 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Aug 13 2020, 10:53 AM)
this is innova tyre. my friend using it on his fnhon gust. problem is, the tyre state 32mm height same like kojak, but its more than that. the tyre can inflate until 120ps. my friend using it at rear, and can pump until 80psi only, otherwise this tyre will rub his frame..

but this tyre is good and more comfort than kojak thumbup.gif
Ahh,

I found one seller still got last 3 piece kojak, but at a sky price , S$65 per piece ( equivalent to rm180).

fcuk90
post Aug 13 2020, 08:06 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Aug 13 2020, 01:44 PM)
nowdays.. all laku one.. better hold until stock stable and price are bit reasonable. this panic buy bcoz of this moratorium from bank. after okt, we will see people selling out their bike  hmm.gif
RM180 better buy skin tyre kojak.. add RM100/pieces.. laugh.gif
Skin tyre kojak is the one with skin color one?
fcuk90
post Aug 14 2020, 11:52 AM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Aug 13 2020, 10:53 AM)
this is innova tyre. my friend using it on his fnhon gust. problem is, the tyre state 32mm height same like kojak, but its more than that. the tyre can inflate until 120ps. my friend using it at rear, and can pump until 80psi only, otherwise this tyre will rub his frame..

but this tyre is good and more comfort than kojak thumbup.gif
because i saw at instagram, peoples in Indonesia are using this tyre for their fnhon gust/zephyr with 349 wheelset and this tyre, it can fit, maybe they are pumping at lower psi.

but i scare if i get this acceofix tyre, then cannot fit my trinx frame, then i got reason to change my frame to fnhon frame all together. laugh.gif

fcuk90
post Aug 14 2020, 12:07 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Aug 13 2020, 01:44 PM)
nowdays.. all laku one.. better hold until stock stable and price are bit reasonable. this panic buy bcoz of this moratorium from bank. after okt, we will see people selling out their bike  hmm.gif
RM180 better buy skin tyre kojak.. add RM100/pieces.. laugh.gif
if top up rm100 per piece, i am thinking to might as well go upgrade to 20inch.

Estimated cost to upgrade to 349 wheelset for my trinx

Eiosix wheelset 349 400RMB / RM250
Kojak 349 = RM180 per piece x 2 RM360 or accesofix RM70 per piece x 2 RM 140
Tube : RM 20 for two

total cost : RM630 with kojak / RM 410 with acceosfix tyre but dunno can fit or not.

Or go for upgrade to 20inch frame.

Estimated cost to upgrade whole bike to 20 inch
Eiosix wheelset 406 400RMB / RM250
Kojak 406 = 2 piece RM240
Tube = RM25
new fnhon frame+ handlepost = 1k RMB / RM600
handlebar = RM50
seatpost + seat = RM100
brake -reused
gear-reused
front crank = reuse

total cost : RM1265, additional RM600, i gt new frame + handlepost

hmm.gif

fcuk90
post Aug 14 2020, 06:36 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Aug 14 2020, 03:00 PM)
my friend convert his trinx ka1606 to 349 using kenda 35mm tyre. he had to grind his frame a bit to fit that tyre. i said to him to use kojak, but he in tight budget. so grinding it will be the best solution for him
depends on u actually,. for me, 16 305 is compact and 349 rolling fast and feel like 406 but more compact
wah , so extreme, grind the frame, so he grind the front fork clearance.?

i think I will get the 349 wheelset + accesofix tyre first, later if can't clear frame, I will get kojak tyre again when the price of the tyre stalibilised.

This post has been edited by fcuk90: Aug 14 2020, 08:52 PM
fcuk90
post Aug 14 2020, 06:39 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(jiajge90 @ Aug 14 2020, 02:14 PM)
Hi all sifu-sifu here,
I am totally new to the cycling ecosystem, because I have space and storage concern so am looking into buying a foldie and my requirement is as per below:
1. long distance riding (mayb a little of bumpy road here and there)
2. hill climbing (mostly tar road.. i dont think I will go into juggle trek route)
3. 20 inch (i think this size can fit into my myvi boots?)
4. budget can only go to 1.2 or max 1.5k.. (don't think that is possible to have a below 1k foldie which can fullfill my requirement above?)

Is there any recommendation and suggestion from sifu sifu here please?
Thanks in advanced!
a lot ppl selling veroli/crossmac over 1k,
but i think you should look for fnhon 20inch basic specs (8 or 9 speed / crius bike (not sure whether malaysia got it or not, i think have), should be approx 1.5k

otherwise, it will be like java /trinx?

fcuk90
post Aug 17 2020, 04:21 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Aug 17 2020, 08:26 AM)
last week activities, not yesterday laugh.gif

Very fast.. and the elevation gain. Wow.

My fastest average speed was 17.9kmh last few day on 305 16inch..

Just pull the trigger to order the 349 eosix wheelset + innova tyre + dahon handlepost extension and litepro handlebar to replace the stock t shape handlebar..

Guess I will spend my annual leave in Singapore riding bicycle, since lockdown now, can't go back to Malaysia. Haiz
fcuk90
post Aug 17 2020, 06:59 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Aug 17 2020, 06:14 PM)
not that fast la.. downhill very2 fast

anyway, did u buy litepro handlepost that fold outside?
No. I remain to use the stock handlepost ( Cox I rarely fold the bike anyway) , then change the 25.4mm T bar to dahon stock p8 handlepost extender ( picture attach, I don't know what this call)

Then buy one litepro handle bar 25.4mm

This post has been edited by fcuk90: Aug 17 2020, 07:00 PM

fcuk90
post Aug 22 2020, 04:51 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

currently using square taper crankset , is hollowtech system a lot much better? saw a lot ppl using hollowtech system crankset now, like litepro hollowtech.

fcuk90
post Aug 22 2020, 04:53 PM

ef eg ek es
7,863 posts

QUOTE(alpocot @ Aug 18 2020, 04:58 PM)
Hi All,

Newbie here. I got this Java Ira after reading some recommendation from this long forum  sweat.gif I am using it mainly for exercise purpose. Have a few questions and appreciate it if all the experts can advice me.

1. After riding for almost 9 months. mostly on weekend, the paint on the rim touching the brake seems to came off.
    I notice the rim is DECAF. Most of the rim I saw on Java folding is DECA. What is the different? Is DECAF is knock off for DECA?

2. I am still quite puzzle about the 20" tyre size between 406 and 451. What i understand is 20" is outside diameter of tyre. 406 and 451 is inside dimater of the rim.
    Doesn't mater if you use either rim, the outside diameter is still the same. The 406 tire will be thicker. But when I browse for information some picture when they
    put side by side 451 is visibly bigger. Some say it's 22".

3. Since 451 is more difficult to get and more expensive too, is it recommended for me to I change to 406? Some say 451 will ride faster, but if 20" diameter is the same, I don't think there'll be different, or Am I wrong?. I am not really concern about faster ride since my route is all same 4-5 rounds taman TAR

Thanks in advance
Al

if you only riding 4-5 rounds around taman, why get Java Ira which have chromoly frame + carbon fork? you can settle for something cheaper, biggrin.gif

kenda 451 tyre isnt expensive i believe, guess u can just mantain 451 system

This post has been edited by fcuk90: Aug 22 2020, 04:54 PM

0.1140sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 12:06 AM