188 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Bottom

Folding Bicycles V6, Folding bicycle discussion

gck
post Jan 5 2018, 05:20 PM

36 posts

brompton is heavy weight..

QUOTE(small_fish18 @ Jan 5 2018, 05:10 PM)
Tambah B17, tambah kickstand etc etc become heavy also  tongue.gif
But then if brompton tambah B17 will be gila heavy  biggrin.gif
gataddhin
post Jan 5 2018, 05:27 PM

Cheapest Brompton clone in Thailand

gck
post Jan 5 2018, 05:41 PM

36 posts

they really throw price...
KenC
post Jan 5 2018, 05:49 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(gck @ Jan 5 2018, 05:41 PM)
they really throw price...
Don't really think it's throwing price, it's the honest price of bike of such caliber.
gck
post Jan 5 2018, 05:52 PM

36 posts

true, la neo is a botch up copy of brompton with aluminium frame, i heard people like 3sixty better due to steel frame.
KenC
post Jan 5 2018, 05:52 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(gataddhin @ Jan 5 2018, 05:27 PM)
Cheapest Brompton clone in Thailand

At this price, I would consider buying one. And swap out the IGH to a NuVinci N380.

At this price, 5kg extra just let it be lor… 10kg extra also no complaints. Actually I prefer heavy bikes… more workout in short time… wink.gif
If I really want easy ride, I would swap in a motor hub… smile.gif

This post has been edited by KenC: Jan 5 2018, 05:59 PM
etigge
post Jan 6 2018, 03:50 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(KenC @ Jan 5 2018, 05:52 PM)
At this price, I would consider buying one. And swap out the IGH to a NuVinci N380.

At this price, 5kg extra just let it be lor… 10kg extra also no complaints. Actually I prefer heavy bikes… more workout in short time… wink.gif
If I really want easy ride, I would swap in a motor hub… smile.gif
Weight issue differs from individual to individual. It is not about wanting to ride easier. Some won't mind , like yourself if the only purpose is to sweat it out. While others are critical for portability. Carrying a 13 kg bike compared to a 10 kg bike is a whole lot of difference. Also when riding in groups, a lighter bike, especially the wheelsets gives you a big advantage on completing the ride or not lagging too far behind. With a lighter bike, maybe one can complete a 50 kilometer ride confidently. Off course , one can say it is just a matter of practice, training but an oldie like myself, you can't beat age. Some even struggle to fit the bike into the boot of their cars, especially lady riders.

One point a heavier bike wins over lighter bike is stability though. Also a heavier bike rolls down a slope faster. tongue.gif I ride with my wife most of the time and she rides a 9 kg mini velo while I ride a 12 kg foldie. I may be the stronger rider but I tire out faster than she does. That's where the weight advantage lies. An individual can ride a heavy bike, no problems as he/she can determine when to stop if they are tired. In groups, you have to follow the group on a pre-determined route. You still sweat when riding a lighter bike but it offers more advantage over a heavier one.

This post has been edited by etigge: Jan 6 2018, 03:57 AM
waikikizzz
post Jan 6 2018, 04:41 PM

157 posts

finding touring or folding bike parts? try here
https://www.facebook.com/terbikedotcom/
KenC
post Jan 6 2018, 08:48 PM

78 posts

My love handle weights more than 3kg tongue.gif

Give me a 2kg bike I also cannot catch up with me teenage nephew smile.gif

This post has been edited by KenC: Jan 6 2018, 08:49 PM
gck
post Jan 8 2018, 10:45 AM

36 posts

Finally i am curious and went to get a brompton. find the comparison between Fnhon 16", Tern 20" and Brompton 18"
Still Brompton win in term of folded size.

I am actively testing the bike out for pro and cons.

being a steel frame, and little elasto suspension the ride is comfortable.

handling i still feel FNhon is slightly better than brompton.

folds compact and can wheel around easily.

lazyman@home
post Jan 8 2018, 01:05 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(gck @ Jan 8 2018, 10:45 AM)
Finally i am curious and went to get a brompton. find the comparison between Fnhon 16", Tern 20" and Brompton 18"
Still Brompton win in term of folded size.

I am actively testing the bike out for pro and cons.

being a steel frame, and little elasto suspension the ride is comfortable.

handling i still feel FNhon is slightly better than brompton.

folds compact and can wheel around easily.
the folding of brompton just so neat and tidy. rclxms.gif
superb looking. how much damage?
gck
post Jan 8 2018, 02:00 PM

36 posts

Don't ask, very painful, later my better half check this forum and find out i will be dead meat. sweat.gif

QUOTE(lazyman@home @ Jan 8 2018, 01:05 PM)
the folding of brompton just so neat and tidy.  rclxms.gif
superb looking. how much damage?
lazyman@home
post Jan 8 2018, 02:17 PM

484 posts

QUOTE(gck @ Jan 8 2018, 02:00 PM)
Don't ask, very painful, later my better half check this forum and find out i will be dead meat. sweat.gif
Been there. That's why don't put ur identity easy to be recognized. rclxm9.gif
KenC
post Jan 8 2018, 05:59 PM

78 posts

Try Bike Friday lah, only double of Brompton.
azamunekurone
post Jan 8 2018, 07:52 PM

140 posts

long time no post here, spam 1 pix lah laugh.gif

when all still calculating for brompton or brompton wannabe, i do rode what i haved. 😁
gck
post Jan 9 2018, 10:54 AM

36 posts

you rode what you have, and you have a lot of bikes...

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Jan 8 2018, 07:52 PM)
long time no post here, spam 1 pix lah laugh.gif

when all still calculating for brompton or brompton wannabe, i do rode what i haved. 😁
gataddhin
post Jan 9 2018, 05:45 PM

Lastest reference to bicycles on KTM

KTM BERHAD
http://intranet4.ktmb.com.my/ktmb/index.ph...VlkK1Z5czVGQT09

14.1 KTMB’s Conditions of Carriage:-
i. Animals are not allowed to be carried into ETS or Intercity train.
ii. Bicycles or folding bike or any bicycle components are not allowed to be carried into ETS or Intercity train.
iii. Passengers are allowed to bring only one luggage for free of charge.
iv. Service charge will be imposed for every excess luggage or parcel carried on board the train.
gataddhin
post Jan 9 2018, 05:45 PM

Posted by main administrator on 12/12/2017
small_fish18
post Jan 9 2018, 06:26 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(gataddhin @ Jan 9 2018, 05:45 PM)

KTM BERHAD

ii. Bicycles or folding bike or any bicycle components are not allowed to be carried into ETS or Intercity train.
iv. Service charge will be imposed for every excess luggage or parcel carried on board the train.
Yes my recent trip to north at Nov create a lot of hoohaa when i try to bring along my bicycle.
They kind of blanket banned for any all bicycle.
The official stop me at Kl sentral and i paid extra baggage charges after negotiation. Got my money back after i complaint to the service centre, they told me can bring a bagged foldie and i insist a wrong information is given.

For my trip from Alor star to KL, i spray paint my dimpa bag to non transparent, and just walk in like a boss.
So the trick is go to a less popular station and use a non transparent bag.
small_fish18
post Jan 9 2018, 06:27 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(gataddhin @ Jan 9 2018, 05:45 PM)

KTM BERHAD

But i wonder how they gonna react if i bring a crankset/groupset/ handlebar etc icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif

188 Pages « < 31 32 33 34 35 > » Top

0.0196sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:25 AM