Folding Bicycles V6, Folding bicycle discussion

clickNsnap
post Mar 6 2020, 11:05 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Mar 6 2020, 11:04 PM)
but my advice to u, for long term better change whole wheelset to cassette je…buy from taobao cheaper.

my 16" now stuck with dnp 11-28T freewheel and deckas 54T chainring, the gearing is enough la but the rolling smoothness no lo…
QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Mar 6 2020, 10:55 PM)
it's 7 speed.

shifter is cheap.

rd not sure if compatible or not but it's cheap to change as well.

if u don't want to change both, u can use it as 6 speed 11-24t laugh.gif

u change crankset wont gain u a lot of speed.
Noted and thanks for the advise.

Likely I will opt for 11-28T freewheel with "6 speed 11-24T" for now, don't want to spend much, just want a bit faster on flat road.

Btw, how much did you spent on the upgrade for the your XDS FA-20?

This post has been edited by clickNsnap: Mar 6 2020, 11:07 PM
clickNsnap
post Mar 7 2020, 12:44 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Mar 7 2020, 02:08 AM)
u can get the freewheel from here, the 7 speed freewheel and don't forget to buy the removal tool as well.

https://m.intl.taobao.com/detail/detail.htm...id=524782965694

ya, because u want a bit faster on flat, better change the freewheel.

with ori 48T chainring and 14T freewheel, you could only achieve 55 gear inches.

if u change crankset or chainring, you only can change to maximum 54T (the max without have to change the chain), you could get 62 gear inches.

if u change 11T freewheel, you could get 70 gear inches with ori 48T chainring.
Thank you very much!

clickNsnap
post Mar 7 2020, 10:53 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Mar 7 2020, 07:26 PM)
i really have no idea if the 6 speed rd and shifter will compatible with 7 speed freewheel or not. some said can change shifter je then will work with ori tz rd

https://www.discuss.com.hk/viewthread.php?t...=1#pid337639564

mine is just 7 speed to 7 speed plug n play.

because if not compatible, 7 speed shifter easy to get…just afraid dinosaur 7 speed short cage rd hard to get je…
Thanks again.

I plan to transfer the old 7 speed rd and shifter (from a 20" bike) + new 11t to 28t freewheel to the Trinx 1606.

Get a new 8 speed 11t to 32t freewheel + new 8 speed rd and shifter to the 20" bike.... hope all goes well.
clickNsnap
post Mar 10 2020, 01:02 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Mar 8 2020, 12:03 AM)
make sure the rd doesn't touch the ground when put on 16"
QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Mar 9 2020, 10:30 AM)
last time, i owned ka1606.
what i do, i change the rear hub from freewheel to freehub and change front crank 53/39.
its good setup. enough for mostly route, accept for flat road. feel not enough gearing

so

i change to 55/42 crankset.
a bit heavy, and good enough gear. problem occur is the rolling feel. still feel not enough rolling compare to 20" 406

after that i sold my trinx ka1606,
bought fnhon zephyr 16" frame. i bought 16" 349 wheelset and transfer some parts from my trinx ka1606. im using 53/39 and what i feel, the gearing are enough and feel like 55/42 on 16" 305.

so here an advice.
if u had 16" bike and got some clearance on the frame, go for 16" 349 wheelset.

the 16" 349 wheelset does have advantages on rolling and some enough gearing but also got some disadvantages. that is
1. not much choices on tyre.
the only cheapest tyre u can used is kojak 32mm height. got 25mm height, but that one is joseph kousac price if im not mistaken is around rm250+ for 1 piece

2. tubes are not easy to find like 305
349 tubes are hard to find. and yes u can used back 305 tubes, but need to stretch a bit.

3. compactness
the 349 wheelset are bigger than 305. if u want compact, then 349 are not a good choice
if u had money to upgrade and modified, go straight to 349 wheelset. need some modification on the brakes. other than that u good to go!
i had spend some amount of money to experiment the best gearing for 16". dont compare internal hub gearing, coz im not that expert event to service the gearhub. thats why i adopt the external gearing system.

oh ya,
do you know that brompton also used 48t crankset on 349 wheels?
QUOTE(Bujal.x @ Mar 9 2020, 10:46 AM)
349 + IGH like sturmey archer then 50/34t chainring + 12t flywheel pun dah good enough.
btw through right and good setup a 349 wheelset can always keep up with 406.my 349 paired with sturmey archer 5 speed + 50/34 + 14t flywheel.effortlessly can maintain 25kmj average.
Thanks for sharing! thumbup.gif

clickNsnap
post Jul 9 2020, 11:14 PM

540 posts

Hi all,

I am trying to change my seatpost, can I use back the 'old seatpost seat cramp'? Or I need to buy a new one?

I tried to remove 'old seatpost seat cramp' (pls refer image attached)... but It seems like not removable.

Please advise.

This post has been edited by clickNsnap: Jul 9 2020, 11:16 PM
clickNsnap
post Jul 10 2020, 07:53 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(andrewhtf @ Jul 10 2020, 11:13 AM)
is that part even removeable?

i thought when you buy a new seatpost, the saddle rail clamp would come along. i didnt know the saddle clamp can be removed and swapped.

i bought my litepro seatpost, it came with the clamp

when you first said seatpost clamp i was thinking of this :

Oh, ok, noted. I thought the new seatpost comes without the saddle rail clamp, because I saw some seller selling seatpost only without the rail clamp. Thanks.

QUOTE(pretty23 @ Jul 10 2020, 12:15 PM)
First, you need make sure what you want to change :
saddle ?
seapost ?
seatpost clamp ?
I am looking for seatpost with rail clamp for the saddle. Thanks.
clickNsnap
post Jul 10 2020, 08:59 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(pretty23 @ Jul 10 2020, 09:15 PM)
There are a lot of choices. I think folding bike need use 600mm right ?

I bought 350mm seatpost but at the end I change the bolts.
Yes, looking for 450-500mm x 33.9mm (diameter) seatpost with rail clamp. I am having 550mm seatpost, but don't feel like cutting it. Thanks.
clickNsnap
post Jul 10 2020, 10:10 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(pretty23 @ Jul 10 2020, 10:04 PM)
common use in here :
both design I also use before, depend on what you need.
Thanks for the info!

clickNsnap
post Jul 16 2020, 09:47 PM

540 posts

Hi all,

I am thinking of changing my crank set (Trinx KA1606), looking a tool to remove the screw... can please confirm the right tool to unscrew the crank, please refer images attached.

Thanks!

This post has been edited by clickNsnap: Jul 17 2020, 05:16 PM
clickNsnap
post Sep 14 2020, 11:10 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Sep 11 2020, 09:20 PM)
This is before change the wheelset.
Just installed the wheelset.

But need to grind the backpart of the frame a bit.

Attached here 2 foldie

Trinx ka2024 swapped litepro hollowtech and ruitoo wheelset ( my brother one )

Mine is 1606 swapped 349 wheelset, need to grind the back frame a bit( near to the place where we install the stand).

Aiya. Forget to get a pair long arm v brake..

Looks good, mind to share what you've upgraded and cost of upgrade? Thanks.
clickNsnap
post Sep 15 2020, 11:49 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Sep 15 2020, 02:15 AM)
Recent upgrade
349 wheelset  RM250
Innova 349 tyre RM160
Dahon handlepost extender RM40
Litepro handlebar RM40
Litepro seatpost ( this pic is before changing) RM60

Previous upgrade ( few yrs back)
Tiagra rd
11-28t 9 speed
53t crankset
Avid sd3 brake
Novatech rear hub , swapped to 349 wheelset
Thanks for sharing!

I have a same Trinx 1606 (white) like yours, hope to do some basic upgrade soon.
clickNsnap
post Dec 24 2020, 05:49 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Dec 24 2020, 03:44 AM)
Thinking to get a low spec 14" foldie from taobao.
https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z10....d=596923087424#

Anyone interested in joint purchase with me?
I no charge extra fee, we share the shipping. I'm from KL.

Disclaimer:
This will be my first time buy from taobao using sea freight, we bear the risk, so only for no fussy buyer.
Which one (model) are you looking at? How much it cost for the 14" base unit + sea freight?

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Dec 24 2020, 04:14 AM)
btw...which 14" u bought in the end? or u bought from gck?
I did not buy any 14" bike, after I sold mine. I am having two folding bikes now....16" and 20"

This post has been edited by clickNsnap: Dec 24 2020, 05:54 PM
clickNsnap
post Dec 24 2020, 07:32 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Dec 24 2020, 08:07 PM)
all in price should be around RM860 per bike (estimated).

yea, i also same, now with the 16" and 20". now thinking to try 14", wanna get from local but the price is too absurd.
hope able to fit 14", 16" and a 20" in a small sedan and go ride together in 3 pax.

btw, how's your freewheel and chainring upgrade plan on both of your bikes?
Not too bad, all in cost for a 3 speeds new bike. It is 1/3 price of a Dahon K3 14" thumbsup.gif

Will you consider a single speed 14" bike? Simple set-up and light, maybe can get it around RM500 range.

I was trying to fit 3 bikes (two 20" + one 16") with 4 passengers into one car (hatch back), no luck... end up with having 2 bikes + 2 passengers all the time biggrin.gif

I've the new freewheel (11T - 32T) with me, but not install to the bike yet, because I think the 11T a bit too fast for me.
clickNsnap
post Dec 24 2020, 08:16 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Dec 24 2020, 08:56 PM)
the link i posted also has single speed...but it cost RM600 without shipping...so all in should be around RM725.
if RM600 all in then i will consider single speed too, but too bad it's above RM725, make me incline towards to the 3-speed variant.

some more gck mentioned the 3-speed weight penalty isn't much, so worth to take his words.

he did suggest for 14" foldie best gearing will be 45T+9T la...but i would prefer 45T+10T or 41T+9T if I really want a single speed 14"

single speed need to install chain tensioner to keep the chain not falling after prolonged time. so i think 3-speed is not a bad idea.

no la...the reason install the 11-32T u not necessarily have to use 11T mah...u can use the 13T and the chain will be straighter and smoother than you use 14T of 14-28T
Looks like getting the 3-speed is better deal... at RM860. I am 'itchy' to get it now... hmm.gif

Okay, i will looking into the installation of the 11-32T freewheel again when I am free, it has lying around for a few months...
clickNsnap
post Jan 5 2021, 05:24 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jan 2 2021, 05:54 PM)
eh..i thought u wanna get rid all your 20" bike...how come bought this pulak?  biggrin.gif

btw, i just pulled the trigger on 3-speed Fnhon 14"...kena your poison.
Wow! Increased budget and gets the Fnhon 14", pls spam pixs, once you've received the bike.

Btw, anyone know where to get the 'plastic part' (pls refer uploaded image, marked in red circle) of the handlepost for dahon? The plastic part has a bit of crack, but the handlepost locking function still can be locked properly.

Thanks!

Update: googled and found the 'plastic part' called 'Dahon radius 3 block', now... need to find where to get it.

This post has been edited by clickNsnap: Jan 6 2021, 05:28 PM
clickNsnap
post Jan 7 2021, 07:59 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jan 7 2021, 04:52 PM)
the seller already send me the final built pix...hope can get it in one pcs  sweat.gif
regret paying so much to this la...the price can buy 16" zephyr already.

Nice colour! Looks better than the Dahon K3 thumbsup.gif
clickNsnap
post Jan 13 2021, 12:55 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(2kia @ Jan 12 2021, 01:23 AM)
Eh I'm looking for this part too, pls lemme know if u found it! Thanksss
Sure... I think it is hard to find it locally, maybe we have to find the part from 'bisikal potong' laugh.gif
clickNsnap
post Jan 14 2021, 01:52 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(fatani @ Jan 14 2021, 01:20 PM)
shopee jer..less than rm20
Tried search the item from shopee... cannot find it, mind to share the link please? blush.gif
clickNsnap
post Jan 15 2021, 09:06 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(Venge @ Jan 15 2021, 08:03 PM)
Dont have link since on mobile. Search for dahon head tube sliding block
Thanks! I was searching for "dahon radius block'...found nothing.

QUOTE(2kia @ Jan 15 2021, 09:21 PM)
Yes, this is the one. Just double check with seller... does it fit into your dahon model's handlepost.
clickNsnap
post Jan 16 2021, 08:45 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Jan 15 2021, 10:40 PM)
lot's of hiccups during the shipping, but luckily able to received it in the end. sweat.gif

Nice bike! How much was the damage $ smile.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.1238sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:06 PM