Folding Bicycles V6, Folding bicycle discussion

azamunekurone
post Mar 9 2021, 10:32 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Mar 9 2021, 10:19 AM)
thanks for your detailed explanation, appreciate that.

no la…thought of getting another 1 small folding 16inch…
but after judging from your comment on pikes, looks like those zephyr is more suitable for me.

actually i am looking at something like dahon dove d8 (short wheelbase 16")…but too bad fnhon doesn't clone that frame.
oh ya, another disadvantages of the pikes/brompton are weight. my zephyr weight below 10kg and the pikes,.. aiyya, i think more than 12kg

dahon dove are ok, but i wont buy bike without chainstay. bike with chainstay are more stable when climbing. more stiff and rigid. thats the main reason why i gave my dahon vybe to my sister laugh.gif
BOTAK_WAI
post Mar 9 2021, 10:37 AM

Blow Water First Class
4,142 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Mar 9 2021, 10:32 AM)
oh ya, another disadvantages of the pikes/brompton are weight. my zephyr weight below 10kg and the pikes,.. aiyya, i think more than 12kg

dahon dove are ok, but i wont buy bike without chainstay. bike with chainstay are more stable when climbing. more stiff and rigid. thats the main reason why i gave my dahon vybe to my sister laugh.gif
no no no…not the 14 inch dahon dove…i already got the fnhon breeze

dahon dove d8
Justin.Loong
post Mar 9 2021, 12:48 PM

8,317 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Mar 9 2021, 08:12 AM)
the biggest different in pikes gen1 and gen2 is their handlepost, reach and frame length.
1st gen smaller than the 2nd gen. and handlepost more close to rider, making taller rider like me suffer for a long ride.

the biggest different between pikes gen 2 and brompton is the rear triangle. pikes gen3 are more to cosmetic. i would said its facelift version. the only different is their fork, package bundle on to it.
the rear triangle length are different from brompton, based screw are different and even the tensioner position are different,. i had to mod my litepro tensioner to fit my pikes. besides that, u still can use brompton/after market elastomer, seatclamp, mudguard, racks and also the easy wheel.

and yeah, many pikes user mod their 2nd cog to bigger sized for more wide ratio gearing. as u can see, the internal hub pikes are not the same like brompton. its the same model, but brompton made a special tweak on the hub.

pikes and brompton gave 13t/15t combo of cog. but brompton had wider ratio in their internal hub. to make it possible feel like that and save ur pocket, many of pikes user change their 2nd cog to 19t or 21t is the max. i've tried to put 18t to my setup. but i more prefser closer ratio on all my bike. still adopting this 18t for a while since i had 2 wheelset.

the touring spec i used 18t. and this highprofile wheelset i change to 16t and feel very comfort about it. dont know about u, but i dont like wider ratio since pikes or brompton are limited to 6speed only.

the easiest way without changing the cog is to used double chainring crank either with fd+shifter or manually change it without loosing close ratio and got wider gear option. but still, it wont be nice to put double chainring on my eyes.hahaha...

u seem interested on pikes. are u owning one?
thumbup.gif notworthy.gif rclxm9.gif thumbsup.gif
nas445
post Mar 9 2021, 04:28 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Mar 9 2021, 08:12 AM)
the biggest different in pikes gen1 and gen2 is their handlepost, reach and frame length.
1st gen smaller than the 2nd gen. and handlepost more close to rider, making taller rider like me suffer for a long ride.

the biggest different between pikes gen 2 and brompton is the rear triangle. pikes gen3 are more to cosmetic. i would said its facelift version. the only different is their fork, package bundle on to it.
the rear triangle length are different from brompton, based screw are different and even the tensioner position are different,. i had to mod my litepro tensioner to fit my pikes. besides that, u still can use brompton/after market elastomer, seatclamp, mudguard, racks and also the easy wheel.

and yeah, many pikes user mod their 2nd cog to bigger sized for more wide ratio gearing. as u can see, the internal hub pikes are not the same like brompton. its the same model, but brompton made a special tweak on the hub.

pikes and brompton gave 13t/15t combo of cog. but brompton had wider ratio in their internal hub. to make it possible feel like that and save ur pocket, many of pikes user change their 2nd cog to 19t or 21t is the max. i've tried to put 18t to my setup. but i more prefser closer ratio on all my bike. still adopting this 18t for a while since i had 2 wheelset.

the touring spec i used 18t. and this highprofile wheelset i change to 16t and feel very comfort about it. dont know about u, but i dont like wider ratio since pikes or brompton are limited to 6speed only.

the easiest way without changing the cog is to used double chainring crank either with fd+shifter or manually change it without loosing close ratio and got wider gear option. but still, it wont be nice to put double chainring on my eyes.hahaha...

u seem interested on pikes. are u owning one?
That wheel to be custom built or procure directly somewhere? Tempted to try internal gear hub after this...
azamunekurone
post Mar 9 2021, 06:06 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Mar 9 2021, 10:37 AM)
no no no…not the 14 inch dahon dove…i already got the fnhon breeze

dahon dove d8
oh this model. quite ok lah.. its compact

QUOTE(nas445 @ Mar 9 2021, 04:28 PM)
That wheel to be custom built or procure directly somewhere? Tempted to try internal gear hub after this...
hahaha... i just bought used. the rear hub originally from pikes gen 2. but the wheel are litepro brand and front hub is dahon 74mm qr type

u can get the internal hub online. shopee also had. if u dont bother extra gearing, try to use sram automatix. im using it with my dahon dabike. 2 speed auto, no need shifter and ur bike became neat and tidy
nas445
post Mar 9 2021, 07:23 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Mar 9 2021, 06:06 PM)
oh this model. quite ok lah.. its compact
hahaha... i just bought used. the rear hub originally from pikes gen 2. but the wheel are litepro brand and front hub is dahon 74mm qr type

u can get the internal hub online. shopee also had. if u dont bother extra gearing, try to use sram automatix. im using it with my dahon dabike. 2 speed auto, no need shifter and ur bike became neat and tidy
thank you for the info...interesting info on the sram automatix...can consider for my next project build...learn a lot building the gust from scratch, setting and indexing the rear deraileur really not my cup of tea...sometime you wonder how they design such bike with really low tolerance between the crank and rear vbrake.

This post has been edited by nas445: Mar 9 2021, 10:35 PM
azamunekurone
post Mar 9 2021, 09:57 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(nas445 @ Mar 9 2021, 07:23 PM)
thank you for the info...interesting info on the sram automatix...can consider for my next project build...learn a lot building the gust from scratch, setting and indexing the rear deraileur really not my cup of tea...sometime you wonder how the design such bike with really low tolerance between the crank and rear vbrake.
my friend had the same expirience like you with his gust. later he upgrade his rear brake to caliper brake and problem solved.
nas445
post Mar 9 2021, 10:33 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Mar 9 2021, 09:57 PM)
my friend had the same expirience like you with his gust. later he upgrade his rear brake to caliper brake and problem solved.
I have extra tektro brake caliper, but somehow the rear anchor hole is slightly offset with the tyre..read somewhere it's a common problem with gust..hope you can find out what model he install

Send the bike to my local bike shop and saw another gust on sale...priced at almost what my total cost spent to-date, although I'm using better parts.. surprisingly most of the foldies sold nowdays come with mx9 parts

Hope the parts price will normalize after this .. even tiagra fetch good price nowdays...previously not even on buyers radar, except for budget build..

Earlier was planning to build/buy a small foldies for my trip to Japan last year and cycle from osaka to kyoto..Just found out about shimanami-kaido and maybe I do that instead.. need to book my tickets by june & fly by Dec this year..😭 should have bought pikes or 3sixty...would have been less headache to travel with...

This post has been edited by nas445: Mar 9 2021, 10:48 PM
BOTAK_WAI
post Mar 10 2021, 12:24 AM

Blow Water First Class
4,142 posts

QUOTE(nas445 @ Mar 9 2021, 10:33 PM)
Earlier was planning to build/buy a small foldies for my trip to Japan last year and cycle from osaka to kyoto..Just found out about shimanami-kaido and maybe I do that instead.. need to book my tickets by june & fly by Dec this year..😭  should have bought pikes or 3sixty...would have been less headache to travel with...
for japan road condition, i will suggest have a look at fnhon retro 14" 3 speed with 39/42/45t chainring.
azamunekurone
post Mar 11 2021, 12:48 PM

140 posts

afternoon everyone. its bike to work today!

Justin.Loong
post Mar 11 2021, 02:51 PM

8,317 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Mar 11 2021, 12:48 PM)
afternoon everyone. its bike to work today!

Ko keje shift mlm ker? hmm.gif
rsliew
post Mar 11 2021, 03:36 PM

174 posts

Hi sifus, im planning to buy a folding bike just to cruise around taman, what is the biggest size i can go for if i would want it to fit in a civic boot. I'm quite big size, 120kg

*edited: i forget the golden question, budget rite? I think less than rm800?,

Please assist. Thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by rsliew: Mar 11 2021, 03:41 PM
azamunekurone
post Mar 11 2021, 04:33 PM

140 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Mar 11 2021, 02:51 PM)
Ko keje shift mlm ker?  hmm.gif
tak.. pkl 6.30pg dh kuar rumah tongue.gif
BOTAK_WAI
post Mar 11 2021, 07:15 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,142 posts

QUOTE(rsliew @ Mar 11 2021, 03:36 PM)
Hi sifus, im planning to buy a folding bike just to cruise around taman, what is the biggest size i can go for if i would want it to fit in a civic boot.  I'm  quite big size, 120kg

*edited: i forget the golden question, budget rite? I think less than rm800?,

Please assist. Thanks in advance.
don't waste time looking for folding bike. most ppl with such weight in the end go for mountain bike.
rsliew
post Mar 11 2021, 07:26 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Mar 11 2021, 07:15 PM)
don't waste time looking for folding bike. most ppl with such weight in the end go for mountain bike.
Understood, then i need to shop for bike rack either on roof or at boot d. Haha
BOTAK_WAI
post Mar 11 2021, 07:35 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,142 posts

QUOTE(rsliew @ Mar 11 2021, 07:26 PM)
Understood, then i need to shop for bike rack either on roof or at boot d. Haha
not sure if just use quick release on front wheel can fit your boot or not.
Justin.Loong
post Mar 12 2021, 09:56 AM

8,317 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Mar 11 2021, 07:15 PM)
So means anybody over 100kg isn't suitable for foldie due to the maximum weight capacity? hmm.gif
BOTAK_WAI
post Mar 12 2021, 11:20 AM

Blow Water First Class
4,142 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ Mar 12 2021, 09:56 AM)
So means anybody over 100kg isn't suitable for foldie due to the maximum weight capacity?  hmm.gif
folding mtb maybe suitable. but he mentioned his budget only rm800, do u have any confidence to recommend him any folding bike that have good quality folding hinge to support his weight? sweat.gif

need to read clearly the spec lo…u can check on your folding bike mah…some seatpost rated for 85kg, frame and handlepost rated for 115kg.

not to say discriminate on overweight ppl…but if bike manufacturer put such indication like that, it's for safety purpose.
Justin.Loong
post Mar 12 2021, 11:36 AM

8,317 posts

QUOTE(BOTAK_WAI @ Mar 12 2021, 11:20 AM)
folding mtb maybe suitable. but he mentioned his budget only rm800, do u have any confidence to recommend him any folding bike that have good quality folding hinge to support his weight? sweat.gif

need to read clearly the spec lo…u can check on your folding bike mah…some seatpost rated for 85kg, frame and handlepost rated for 115kg.

not to say discriminate on overweight ppl…but if bike manufacturer put such indication like that, it's for safety purpose.
Don't get me wrong from my post, I'm not trying to insinuate anything. sweat.gif
Because I think that some newbies (and also shops salesman) are also not aware of the weight limitations. whistling.gif unsure.gif
pixelrider
post Mar 12 2021, 06:46 PM

83 posts

Hi all, I'm planning to get an electric folding bike for my parents. So far I got Himo Z20 on my radar, do you guys have any other suggestion? Budget is around 3k.

Also anyone tried ordering a whole bike from taobao before? There seems like a lot more options there but I'm not sure whether I will run into trouble when ordering such a big item from oversea, especially when batteries and motors are involved.

188 Pages « < 182 183 184 185 186 > » Top

0.0237sec    0.81    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:46 PM