20 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Folding Bicycles V6, Folding bicycle discussion

KenC
post May 16 2018, 08:57 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(Justin.Loong @ May 16 2018, 04:40 PM)
I thought so too. But this is not the case. MTB tyres 26", yes, I found several.

Yup, done the BBS website as well.  nod.gif
After exhausting that option, I contacted directly Rodalink and Schwalbe Malaysia to find out more.  mega_shok.gif
If you are thinking about getting road racing 26" tires, sure no joy.
451 and 406 got better selection than 26" 650A, 650B, 650C, 27.5... Etc.

35 wide supple tires are very rare, even with 700c, 451 still can find.

This post has been edited by KenC: May 16 2018, 08:58 PM
KenC
post May 29 2018, 04:38 PM

78 posts

Tcb2010 ask for owner review, not where to buy.
KenC
post May 31 2018, 11:48 PM

78 posts

Wow, you are picky with your brake cable. I change my chap ayam cable annually. What you said I really don't bother.
KenC
post Jun 5 2018, 03:49 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(tcb2010 @ Jun 2 2018, 02:55 AM)
Finally gotten my litepro crankset...looks wise thumbs up, weight plus bb, almost 0.5kg lighter overall compared to all needed stuff for my old square taper cranksset. However, drive train got noisier when pedalling harder..Hopefully its just new chainring not wear in yet with existing old chain.
Sorry, this is 2018. No such thing as chainring not worn in… it is either poor chainring quality or poor tuning.
KenC
post Jun 7 2018, 01:01 PM

78 posts

Mini velo seems minimal maintenance.
KenC
post Jun 14 2018, 04:42 PM

78 posts

Selamat Hari Raya and a happy WorldCup season!

This post has been edited by KenC: Jun 14 2018, 08:45 PM
KenC
post Jun 18 2018, 03:32 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(fatani @ Jun 16 2018, 11:06 PM)

BIKE FITTING REALLY IS A TIME CONSUMING PROCESS, ESPECIALLY WHEN YOU DECIDED TO DIY.

I recently switch to a dropbar for my cap ayam bike. So, once you change a part to your existing frame, means that you'll mess up your previous riding geometry as well. At first, the fitting was done at my LBS, all in all i was quite ok with it, since the riding position was set up for comfy, which means it was an upright position. However, when i got home, and saw the video of me riding it, i wasn't quite satisfied with the outcome. I could not fully use the drop without having my back curled. So, i decided to diy my fitting. It all started with changing the stem. From 50mm to 70mm to 100mm 17°. Still curling at my backside, like a turtle.

Then i tried a bike fitting app. Paid rm20 for it. Didnt exactly help much, but it did give advice on what im suppose to adjust, though the measurement is not really helpful, since that app was made for rb fitting. But, nonetheless, i got the message. I started experimenting with the saddle position and the seat height. The ride position improve, but it's still not perfect.

Searching online,i finally stumbled upon a website where it can measure your body angle either from a video or a photo. What a great help it was. I finally achieved a much better backside. Yess!

Photos :
(Top Left) a reference of what im trying to achieve
(Top Right) 100mm 17° without adjusting saddle and seatpost.
(Bottom Left) 100mm 17° after saddle and seatpost adjustment.
(Bottom right) I flipped the stem!! and look at how much difference it made to my backside. And i think i got closer to what im trying to achieve (top left photo)..Woohoo!

It really is impressive to know even minor adjustment to your bike can affect your riding position so much.

Now, only thing left to do is to test ride it on the road and see if there are still adjustments that needs to be made. *feeling anxious*
Tell la the website name… potong steam ler… 😅
KenC
post Jul 23 2018, 10:35 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(pixelrider @ Jul 16 2018, 01:29 PM)
Hi sifu, I got a folding bike from my uni back when I was still completely clueless about bike in general. Thanks to my student discount it only cost me RM99  blink.gif  but it comes with a "asalkan boleh jalan" ride quality as well. Here are the pics of the bike

https://imgur.com/a/NSKDftm

However, I think with some upgrade this should make it a fine commuter bike for me (~6-8km daily), I'm thinking of replacing that atrocious wobbly stem to one that could be fitted with different type of bars, would something like this works?
https://bicyclebuysell.com/item/445888/lite...-head-tube-stem

The brake lever and shifter too are screaming for replacement, 7 speed groupset is ok so far but I think a 9 speed one would feel better for sure, however at that point I'll have to change the wheelset as well which could be costly for a student like me. Maybe I'll do this once I have more spare cash to spluge.

I'd like to hear some thoughts from sifu before I start changing anything, cheers!
Since you are on shoe string budget, why not do some paint job or graphics. "Street Cred" your sikal... Etc.

Since you are young, the leg power rules, equipments only help old geezer like me…

2~3 cans of Samurai spray cans still below 50bucks. Don't forget to top it off with a coat of 2k clear coat.

It's great to have a bike which you don't care much for to trash and whack around for fun.

This post has been edited by KenC: Jul 23 2018, 10:42 PM
KenC
post Jul 25 2018, 02:40 AM

78 posts

Wide gear range is for weak and old geezers riders like me… young and strong ride fixies.

This post has been edited by KenC: Jul 25 2018, 02:42 AM
KenC
post Jul 25 2018, 08:48 PM

78 posts

Fixie don't have RD tuning problem, totally tuning free! tongue.gif
KenC
post Jul 26 2018, 04:32 PM

78 posts

Finally can buy REAL functional bike GPS with ANT+ connectivity at below RM200 (way below RM200). Hunted around for Ant+ Cadence sensor and HRM strap. Total just over RM 300 (308)… iGPS20e...
Now, this is really sensible price.
No, it's not power meter ready (but lasy year I sweared by my ancestors grave that I will never use power meter )
Got realtime gradient display, and all the bell an whistle of Bryton unit.
For syok sen diri factor I when for a Garmin HRM, the older design, RM100 only!
Nope, no navigation. I always carry my phone.

This post has been edited by KenC: Jul 26 2018, 04:51 PM
KenC
post Jul 26 2018, 05:48 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Jul 26 2018, 05:18 PM)
Ken,
if u had extra money, buy also the speed sensor. as i compare before with my friend igps head unit, sometimes the igps lost signal though some tree and over the mountain/hills
The cadence/speed sensor is under RM40.
All GPS devices will have signal problem under canopy and cloud. Hence not worth more than rm166 which I paid for. More interested to have power saving Ant+ HRM and cadence sensor…
Nowadays I done cycle in the rain and stare at the speedometer. Only look at average speed after the ride. No bothered with top speed… no point ler, old geezer can go how fast?

This post has been edited by KenC: Jul 26 2018, 05:58 PM
KenC
post Jul 26 2018, 05:57 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(Lavitz @ Jul 26 2018, 05:29 PM)
Hi guys,
been into mtb but now tempted to get one foldie
can anyone suggest a good folding bike range 1.5k.. been tempting to buy java fit but since no longer in production maybe java pro 3..
how well the fold mechanism on java bike?
any other brand to suggest?

tried my friend mongoose 27speed, quite a good specs for the price but the bicycle not sturdy enough as btwin foldie bike i tried in decathlon for the same price but half the specs.
More speed gear won't make you go faster. And you won't be doing off-road with your foldy.
1.5k got a lot of choices.
Between mongoose and and Btwin. Btwin anytime for me.but since there are sooooooooo many choices at around 1.5k, I will let other sifu to give their words of wisdom.
Careful, for bicycle salesman, they think in USD and pound Stirling, when you say RM1.5k, they will sell you 1.5k USD or pound Sterling. And yet you still has to spend more to buy helmet, shoes, saddle, bags lights, blinkers… and a whole walldrod of matching color shirts… yes, they will tell you your MTB stuff can not use.

This post has been edited by KenC: Jul 26 2018, 06:06 PM
KenC
post Jul 26 2018, 06:41 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(Lavitz @ Jul 26 2018, 06:39 PM)
thanks man, got all the side accessories covered, just need a foldie and im good to go..

MYR1.5K btw  nod.gif
Be STRONG! Stand your RM1.5k ground!
KenC
post Jul 26 2018, 08:09 PM

78 posts

BTW, mongoose 21sp usually goes around RM500~700.
https://mobile.facebook.com/story.php?story...122325771473570
KenC
post Jul 27 2018, 12:21 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(azamunekurone @ Jul 26 2018, 10:10 PM)

eh ken,
u still waxing ur chain?

All my chains are wax lube. No more oil for me… forever…

This post has been edited by KenC: Jul 27 2018, 11:23 AM
KenC
post Jul 27 2018, 07:19 PM

78 posts

I scare die, the HRM is for making sure I don't die on the bike over worked. The cadence is for making sure I torture myself enough.
Average speed is for making sure I get home before the gate is locked…
KenC
post Jul 29 2018, 01:07 AM

78 posts

Very overshot ooooo! When I was in better condition, I try to stay with +/- 20bpm of average.
KenC
post Jul 29 2018, 10:06 PM

78 posts

Max heart rate = 220 - age
This is for non-active people...
One can go deeper into heart rate zone details but if one is not bothered at least know your max heart rate.
One can also measure your max heart rate after one attain a heart rate monitoring device.
At the least watch out for your engine rev redline.

This post has been edited by KenC: Jul 29 2018, 10:07 PM
KenC
post Jul 30 2018, 01:43 PM

78 posts

QUOTE(tcb2010 @ Jul 30 2018, 12:10 PM)
wah..What magic special wax u guys using?
Im trying the Adreno wax and its works good so far..only not so cost effective for price/ml per bottle.

Keen to try out the SquirtLube soon..price /ml seems cheap compared to other lubes.

Speaking of the Heart rate sensor thingy...im not into this stuff yet, and have not much idea what the purpose of it for cycling. RB frens use them, just didnt thought foldie kakis use them too.
To our heart rate training zone and  not to overblown fuse?
Homebrew Wax Chap OlangTua. Wax is very cost effective (free) but it looks like preparing the chain (Degreasing) is too expensive for the general public. So far only 3 takers in over 1.5years of free waxing offering. (One of them donated the complete bike immediately after I go all the way to install my used waxed chain on the bike. Test pun x test)

All hectic sport are dangerous… HRM is your engine rev meter…

Cycling is a hectic sport. If you treat it as a sport la.
If all one do is leisure rolling to the mamak stall and kedai runcit without breaking a sweat, the danger is running down by cars and not heart failure.

20 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.1368sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:22 AM